Hitachi 57F59A - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4703 Old 06-12-2006, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brunsbm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just had a couple of quick questions for you guys. I recently purchased the hitachi 57 inch projection tv. got it for a great price. Anyways i was reading another thread on here about getting better picture qaulity by adjusting the settings from the factory settings. i was just curious if anybody else has this tv and what percentages you are using for contrast, and the other picture quality settings. thanks for any help.
brunsbm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4703 Old 06-12-2006, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
thebigdaddye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i have this tv. here are my settings off the top of my head that i know. contrast is 40% brightness 48 or 50% color is 43%, color enhancement is standard, black edge enhancement is off, edge enhancement is low. sharpness is around 15%. i also have the virtual hd setting set to 540p and the noise reduction off. try these and see what you think. i get a very good picture overall on these settings for analog cable, digital cable channels and HD LOOKS AWESOME of course. let me know what you think of these if you try them. i got a great deal as well on mine and for the size, price, and picture quality you can't beat it. i forgot to say that if you have cable set you box to 1080i as i have found this give the best picture compared to 480,720 ect..
thebigdaddye is offline  
post #3 of 4703 Old 06-12-2006, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jones07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phila Pa.
Posts: 4,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good settings

WeÂre doomed. It will never work
jones07 is offline  
post #4 of 4703 Old 06-12-2006, 04:22 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could I ask a huge favor of you guys? Those of you that have this set, could you post up come digicam pics of it in action? If you could show HD and/or Xbox360 in action that would rock! I'm about |---| this close to pulling the trigger and picking one of these up

Thanks so much!

Matt
mattford11 is offline  
post #5 of 4703 Old 06-12-2006, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ballz2TheWallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattford11 View Post

Could I ask a huge favor of you guys? Those of you that have this set, could you post up come digicam pics of it in action? If you could show HD and/or Xbox360 in action that would rock! I'm about |---| this close to pulling the trigger and picking one of these up

Thanks so much!

Matt

I would but my set washes everything out. even with thebigdaddys settings
Ballz2TheWallz is offline  
post #6 of 4703 Old 06-12-2006, 06:24 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mattford11 is offline  
post #7 of 4703 Old 06-12-2006, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
thebigdaddye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
here is an hd picture from discovery HD. sorry for some glare i'm not a camera expert so understand the camera picture doesn't do the real tv picture justice. here you go. http://img222.imageshack.us/my.php?i...ture0196ih.jpg http://img222.imageshack.us/my.php?i...ure0214jo1.jpg
thebigdaddye is offline  
post #8 of 4703 Old 06-12-2006, 08:53 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sexy indeed! I pulled the trigger and picked it up for 1318.xx from Circuit City I should have it by the weekend
mattford11 is offline  
post #9 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 05:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brunsbm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i changed the settings last night. just note i am just hooked up to regular cable. havn't switched over to digital or hd yet. What a big difference it made. I had to tweek some of the adjustments a little differnt , but overall it's close. for those of you guys thinking of getting one of these, do it. It's worth the $$$.
brunsbm is offline  
post #10 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 02:39 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Getting TV tomorrow. I'll try to post up some pics once I recieve it. I really think this will be a killer set. I'm upgrading from a 30" Sony HD WS CRT - HS-420
mattford11 is offline  
post #11 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Livin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just brought mine home... CC price matched sears online @ 1139 then I got the 10% difference discount... OTD for 1206

now my only problem is that the optical digital output (sux that they did not use coax!) and I now need to make a long run so I will need to buy a long optical cable. crap!


thanks everyone for the info on this and other threads... for 1206 I could not beat it! Especially since I sold my 5 year old SD RPTV for 650!


thebigdaddye,
what are you other settings for color temp and the mode: night/day ?
I looked at 1080i vs 540p and on SD and DVD material could not see a difference (have not tried HD yet) - what is your thought on using 540p?

________
Ltek

my setup: XBMC, Windows Media Center, Z-Wave/Insteon automation, Paradigm-Parasound-Onkyo-Velodyne Home Theater, 110" DIY Screen & BenQ W1070
Livin is online now  
post #12 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ballz2TheWallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Livin View Post

I just brought mine home... CC price matched sears online @ 1139 then I got the 10% difference discount... OTD for 1206

now my only problem is that the optical digital output (sux that they did not use coax!) and I now need to make a long run so I will need to buy a long optical cable. crap!


thanks everyone for the info on this and other threads... for 1206 I could not beat it! Especially since I sold my 5 year old SD RPTV for 650!


thebigdaddye,
what are you other settings for color temp and the mode: night/day ?
I looked at 1080i vs 540p and on SD and DVD material could not see a difference (have not tried HD yet) - what is your thought on using 540p?

the 540p mode is virtual HD for SD content only I prefer 540p personally

And color temp depends on the source but i use standard, and do not use pre set night and day modes because they are both torch modes for the set
Ballz2TheWallz is offline  
post #13 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wytchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LaPlace, La.
Posts: 4,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 40
My settings for my own house lighting is as follows.

Night (pretty much for 99% of my DVD viewing)

Contrast 40%
Brightness 54%
Color 50%
Sharpness 50%
Color Standard
Black E. low
Edge E. low

During the summer I have my set turn on these settings at 7:30PM Winter months ill change it to 6pm or so.

All connections are into my receiver to my TV via component. Cable Box & DVD at 1080I.
Wytchone is offline  
post #14 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 05:48 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Livin View Post

I just brought mine home... CC price matched sears online @ 1139 then I got the 10% difference discount... OTD for 1206

now my only problem is that the optical digital output (sux that they did not use coax!) and I now need to make a long run so I will need to buy a long optical cable. crap!


thanks everyone for the info on this and other threads... for 1206 I could not beat it! Especially since I sold my 5 year old SD RPTV for 650!


thebigdaddye,
what are you other settings for color temp and the mode: night/day ?
I looked at 1080i vs 540p and on SD and DVD material could not see a difference (have not tried HD yet) - what is your thought on using 540p?

Found it! Sweet, I ended up getting the set for 1215.00, so i'll PM this and save even more! Thanks!
mattford11 is offline  
post #15 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
thebigdaddye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Livin View Post

I just brought mine home... CC price matched sears online @ 1139 then I got the 10% difference discount... OTD for 1206


thebigdaddye,
what are you other settings for color temp and the mode: night/day ?
I looked at 1080i vs 540p and on SD and DVD material could not see a difference (have not tried HD yet) - what is your thought on using 540p?

re =other settings my color setting is at standard, the night mode is pretty much the same as day except the brightness is turned down a couple percent to like 45 or 48%. the 540p is for virtual HD setting so standard definition in upconverted to 540p and dvd's are as well. set your dvd player if you have an upconvert one to 1080i. you can probably get away with turning down the contrast a bit as well, i have mine at 40% as this gives me the best overall setting for all content. you could turn it down another 5 to 10% and not lose to much contrast. like i said i like mine on 40%. also what are you using to connect your cable/sat and dvd? if you can use hdmi on dvd if you have one that supports it. enjoy your set i know i do. for the price size and pic quality you can't beat this tv.
thebigdaddye is offline  
post #16 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 06:21 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish one of you had an xbox360, id love to see that before tomorrow ) I'm just way too anxious
mattford11 is offline  
post #17 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ballz2TheWallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattford11 View Post

I wish one of you had an xbox360, id love to see that before tomorrow ) I'm just way too anxious

Like i said before i'd take a pic but i got a lemon and the picture is downright ******

Edit: this is the only decent pic i have of the dash.
LL
Ballz2TheWallz is offline  
post #18 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 08:57 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats not so bad, at least from a digital camera point of view I just got my call, 9-11am
mattford11 is offline  
post #19 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 09:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Livin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigdaddye View Post

re =other settings my color setting is at standard, the night mode is pretty much the same as day except the brightness is turned down a couple percent to like 45 or 48%. the 540p is for virtual HD setting so standard definition in upconverted to 540p and dvd's are as well. set your dvd player if you have an upconvert one to 1080i. you can probably get away with turning down the contrast a bit as well, i have mine at 40% as this gives me the best overall setting for all content. you could turn it down another 5 to 10% and not lose to much contrast. like i said i like mine on 40%. also what are you using to connect your cable/sat and dvd? if you can use hdmi on dvd if you have one that supports it. enjoy your set i know i do. for the price size and pic quality you can't beat this tv.

My Sources and Connections:
Dishnetwork DVR : S-Video, no other choice until I make the jump to HD on my Dish.
XBOX (DVDs) : Component and since it runs XBOX Media Center (XBMC) it will output movies in 1080i over component.

I do not have anything with HDMI yet, I'll be putting together an HTPC with a videocard that outputs via HDMI once they start showing on the market. Then I will run everything through it and use Descaler to scale everything to 1080i which should kill the internal Hitachi upscaling (though it does a pretty good job).

________
Ltek

my setup: XBMC, Windows Media Center, Z-Wave/Insteon automation, Paradigm-Parasound-Onkyo-Velodyne Home Theater, 110" DIY Screen & BenQ W1070
Livin is online now  
post #20 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 10:07 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, does this set sit on casters, so i can roll this tv around if needed?
mattford11 is offline  
post #21 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 10:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
thebigdaddye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
it has wheels and moves very easy even on carpet. once the guy's from cc brought it inside the door they pushed it the rest of the way.
thebigdaddye is offline  
post #22 of 4703 Old 06-13-2006, 11:50 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet! Its funny, i havent even seen the back of the TV so I have no idea what kind of hookups and configuration its in :/ I read what i could off the CC.com site. I think its got more than enough. Although, i thought I heard someone saying something about a coax out!?
mattford11 is offline  
post #23 of 4703 Old 06-14-2006, 10:52 AM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone get an enourmous amount of over scan on SD channels? I cant barely see the score of the world cup on SD Espn2?!
mattford11 is offline  
post #24 of 4703 Old 06-14-2006, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ballz2TheWallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattford11 View Post

does anyone get an enourmous amount of over scan on SD channels? I cant barely see the score of the world cup on SD Espn2?!

Yeah i do, i go into the service menu and adjust to see what i need to see, i didnt see anything in there to actually correct overscan itself though all there was was white balanace for the colortemperatures and horizontal and vertical screen positioning.

just incase your wondering, menu-menu-8-select , write down settings before you change them trust me and never click on factory reset i did it went to a green screen and i had to unplug my set and lose my settings lol
Ballz2TheWallz is offline  
post #25 of 4703 Old 06-14-2006, 11:24 AM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thebigdaddye: did you adjust your settings @ all for SD overscan?

Oh, and anyone thats programmed this set with a Comcast remote, how do you change the inputs? :/ the menu comes up, but wont let me hit "select" or ">"
mattford11 is offline  
post #26 of 4703 Old 06-14-2006, 11:58 AM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mattford11 is offline  
post #27 of 4703 Old 06-14-2006, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ballz2TheWallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

i got excited because i thought CC would beat sears price by %10, but they are only going to do it by $25, i almost had a 57inch....so close but i do not have $175 ******** i say ********

nvm that would be $250 difference after tax 14yr olds only have so much money. I think im just going to exchange my current set for the 51F59 because mines a defective one anyway.
Ballz2TheWallz is offline  
post #28 of 4703 Old 06-14-2006, 12:40 PM
Member
 
Cameron3395's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northeast AR
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Congrats on your new HDTV. I have to wait until end of August to get mine.
Cameron3395 is offline  
post #29 of 4703 Old 06-14-2006, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ballz2TheWallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Matt can you take some pics of PGR3 if you have it for me?
Ballz2TheWallz is offline  
post #30 of 4703 Old 06-14-2006, 12:47 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sure will bro. Let me go run out for a minute or 30 and i'll post em up
mattford11 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off