2007 Mitsubishi WD-XX73X and XX831 Owner's Thread - Page 308 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9211 of 9416 Old 05-09-2010, 06:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
1. What is the latest firmware for the tv? Mine has Version FW: V33 008.00

V8.04 is the latest and it has to do with TVGOS and I believe CC compatibility.
Quote:
When I watch movies that do not fit the aspect ratio of the tv and tv shows that are 4:3 I see like a small thin white glow of light at the edges. I only see this line when the aspect ratio of what I'm watching doesn't fit the entire tv. I guess this is called the "halo effect"?

I doubt it's the 'halo effect'. Can you post some screen shots?
Quote:
Should I even consider cleaning the inside of the tv at all?

Possibly the rear fan depending on how dusty your environment is. Kids, cats, dogs, smokers, location of the set??
Quote:
I feel like I don't want to mess with the insides considering how long the first lamp lasted me which came with the tv and considering that it was a display tv.

How many hours? If you really want to 'clean' the set, consider the lens cleaning routine as has been previously posted.
Quote:
Does the TV not register Dolby digital signal or DTS through the HDMI and sending out the signal through the coax to my receiver?

If I remember correctly, many sets including this one do not pass digital audio to a audio receiver. Point is, HDMI is overrated as far as the benefit. Send audio to the receiver and video to the TV. Period.
Quote:
it seems the 57731 missed the boat on being 3D ready

3D is still new and there is no real standard yet. Example; one manufactures glasses won't work on another manufactures sets. Look at the inputs this set has and then look what Mits (or anyone else) now offers. Only one RF input, many don't have S-video anymore. One component (maybe two if you are lucky) only one composite input (two if you are lucky). No TVGOS option except for Sony and possible a couple of others.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9212 of 9416 Old 05-09-2010, 06:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
I see that the C9 is a step below the 737 but some of the options are indeed there.

Those were sold through certain retailers (CC I believe). A few features were disabled in the SM from what I remember when scanning through those menus. Also, they might be lacking a input or two.

The biggest downside of this series is standby power consumption, especially in the 'Fast power on' mode. Using the 'Low power' mode increases 'boot' time by an additional 50 seconds. Those are the most annoying negatives. The other is noise. The video is nosier than the Samsung DLP it replaced which I already knew by a excellent review.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9213 of 9416 Old 05-09-2010, 08:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
I know this is a older thread, but I have two DVR2160's for sale. One operates 100%, but the other has a bad interface board that I confirmed by swapping boards between the two.
Both drives have a copy of HD Net's test patterns (a 15 minute segment). Both also have very low hours. These work off of older Samsung, Mits and Toshiba TV's with 1394 ports.

The one with the bad interface board could easily be modified for a external HDD enclosure for a PC.

PM me if interested.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9214 of 9416 Old 05-13-2010, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
davwin133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Videobruce, I have a few questions for you. I recently read your thread abotu disassembling the unit to clean an inner lens due to halo effect. I have the 57731 and recently, I noticed the picture being very grainy and the contract/light ratio has been really difficult to get right in the settings. It does seem to have the halo effect with white on black, but not to an unwatchable extent. i was curious, before I tackle your very detailed lens cleaning solution:

1. Is the 57731 procedure the same as the one you listed?

2. Is there another source to clean which may be causing the grainy look?

Recently, I noticed there was a large build up of dust all around the tv. So I grabbed a can of compressed air and sprayed it into the vents on the right side of the unit, by the lamp housing. A HUGE amount of dirt/dust shot out of there. It was amazing. I also shot at the other vents on the other side of the tv. I thought that would have fixed it, but actually ,the picture looks worse in my opinion. I opened up the side ports, and with a microfiber cloth, wiped the screen, the lens, and the mirror. The picture still looks pretty grainy. On a program like American Idol, which has always looked almost demo quality for HD, looked really bad. (grainy, halos, image not sharp at all)

What should I do first? This TV has never let me down, and its always had a fantastic picture until recently.
davwin133 is offline  
post #9215 of 9416 Old 05-14-2010, 06:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:


I grabbed a can of compressed air and sprayed it into the vents on the right side of the unit, by the lamp housing.

HUGE mistake!
Why would you blow air into something? That's worse than women using feather dusters to dust furniture.

All that does is blows dust around just to settle elsewhere. You should of removed the rear panel, used a new, round, soft bristle paint brush (or equivalent) and a canister vacuum cleaner to 'suck out' the dust. You probably have dust on the inner surface of the screen which would have to be removed to clean, and a layer on the outer surface of the upward facing lens for starters assuming the mirror is clean.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9216 of 9416 Old 05-14-2010, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
davwin133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont even know what I was thinking when I did it!! I plan on opening it up this weekend, and giving it a good cleaning. Will report the difference in picture quality.
davwin133 is offline  
post #9217 of 9416 Old 05-26-2010, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
After almost 4 years and 4503 hours, I had the bulb changed today on my WD-57731. What a difference. The picture had gotten so dim, even cranking up the brightness did not help. Now it feels like I have a brand new TV.
I was going to attempt the lens cleaning, but after the new bulb was installed, the picture looks great. I don't notice any blurriness or halos.
My house has no carpets, just hardwood floors and ceramic tile, and it has central heating and A/C. I think this helps cuts down on the dust in and around the TV.
mikepier is offline  
post #9218 of 9416 Old 05-28-2010, 12:37 PM
Member
 
meverly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

Last year after cleaning my lenses for the halo effect (2nd time), I noticed a blob (for a better word) on the screen after reassembly. I figured I'd put up with it until the next cleaning.

Well, just this week I installed a new lamp, and cleaned the lenses for the halo effect, and I found my "Blob". It is on the main big lens attached to the Light Engine (the one that sticks through to the front enclosure). To describe it, I would say it looks like a small bug squash would look on a windshield. It does not appear to be a scratch, as such. I'm guessing that when I reinstalled the assembly last year, I "nicked" the lens while pushing it into the rear of the unit, possibly damaging the lens coating?

So..............any suggestions? Is there a safe way to polish this out?

Looking at my service manual, there seems to be no way to order a replacement lens, just the whole Light Engine.

Does anyone here have 57831 they retired that they want to sell the lens or the light engine?

Thanks for any suggestions you can offer!

Mark
meverly is offline  
post #9219 of 9416 Old 05-29-2010, 07:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Did you take a pic of it? I can't imagine the lens getting 'nicked' just by reinserting the LE back into the chassis.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9220 of 9416 Old 05-29-2010, 01:38 PM
Member
 
meverly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Did you take a pic of it? I can't imagine the lens getting 'nicked' just by reinserting the LE back into the chassis.

I tried taking pictures every way I could, but could not get the flaw to show.
I'm just "guessing" that I nicked it putting it into the case, I really don't know
how it happened, but it is there. If you can imagine what paint looks like when it "puckers", or a "spider crack" in a car finish, this is what I'm seeing on a small scale.

Perhaps heat caused the coating to malfunction? It just seems there's no way to fix it.

I was hoping someone got tire of there set and replaced it, and perhaps kept the old one in the basement. (That's what I will do when I finally get fed up with maintaining this thing, and I'm real close)
meverly is offline  
post #9221 of 9416 Old 06-02-2010, 07:25 PM
Member
 
ck007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, not the much documented blinking green light of death as seen in other forums, but when powering on the set, the green status light blinks rapidly as if a reset has been performed, then it stops, pauses for about two seconds and turns on. Did a system reset which cured it for a day, but now back to the rapid blinking before powering up. Anyone have the same or similar issue and if so, can it be resloved without a service call. Thanks in advance.
ck007 is offline  
post #9222 of 9416 Old 06-03-2010, 04:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
There are no separate parts listed for the Light Engine. It's all one assembly.

I would do a Internet and Craigslist search for dead sets that are available for parts. I would also look up independent Mits Service Centers to see if they have any 'bad' sets you could get a LE off of. Not necessarily local, since the LE can be shipped easily. Tell them all you need is the outer lens which should be able to be removed without sending the whole LE.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9223 of 9416 Old 06-14-2010, 07:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Anyone contemplating a lamp change, take a look here;
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1256432

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9224 of 9416 Old 06-28-2010, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
mbalodis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Everyone

need help.
all of the sudden my TV is making a clicking noise. I have a Mits 73833
it makes a clicking sound when I change channels using my Directv and also when it fades to black. Like going from commericals to a show and vice versa
There is no lamp light coming and I have reset it. I am looking for the lamp code. The TV is about 2 years old now. So I might be the lamps. That is what I am thinking. I have a extended warranty with ultimate electronics.
I just want to be informed before I talk to the service people and they try to side track me.

Thanks for all the help
mbalodis is offline  
post #9225 of 9416 Old 06-29-2010, 04:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
1. Have you tried another input?
2. Have you hooked up a antenna and tried OTA?

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9226 of 9416 Old 08-04-2010, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Podium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My original lamp went out last night after 5893 hours. I installed the replacement tonight. No problems on the install and the new lamp produces a great "like new" PQ.
Podium is offline  
post #9227 of 9416 Old 08-16-2010, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
bandrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Podium View Post

My original lamp went out last night after 5893 hours. I installed the replacement tonight. No problems on the install and the new lamp produces a great "like new" PQ.


I'm hoping that mine issue is as simple. However, I'm pretty sure the LE is starting to go out. Like the poster above, it's not to the point of being un-watchable just irritating. Anyone experience an issue like this? If so, what was done? If it is the LE, what could be causing it besides the build-up.

BTW, I did the cleaning and I'm confident that I could replace the LE if need be. Where do I get one?

When I first turn on the TV I get a great image:




However, after 5 minutes or so I get this highly digitized image..

bandrada is offline  
post #9228 of 9416 Old 08-18-2010, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
bandrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick UPDATE:

Mits (Vigil White ) has agreed to have a technician look at the TV for free as no one seems to know what is causing my issue. It could be a number of things according to the engineers and they appear to very interested in an official diagnostic.

Contrary to popular opinion, the communication with these guys has been VERY positive. They have responded within the time frames that were promised; and, to be honest I'm surprised that they have gone to the lengths they have in order to resolve my issue, considering it is outside of the extended warranty period. Granted, a TV with only 2500 hrs (regardless of it being only 3 1/2 years old) should not cost more to fix than what it was worth new...IMO.

I will update this thread as we proceed. Thanks to everyone who has provided information. As consumers, we have an added responsibility these days to be informed. Not only to our wallets but to the environment. The "throw-away" mentality that is so prevalent was created by industry at the hands of consumers. Which means we also have the power to reverse it.

Cheers~!
bandrada is offline  
post #9229 of 9416 Old 08-29-2010, 11:37 PM
Newbie
 
crazydavez28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a 57732 yesterday from a guy who had upgraded to a plasma. It had terrible halo problems and from talking to him i could tell it was from lack of care/maintenance. After vacuuming all the dust off of the grills I still had halos so i stumbled across this forum in my search for answers and found everything i needed to fix my problem. About two hours later, after cleaning the lens inside the LE (which was incredibly cloudy) I have a like new 57" 1080p HDTV for about $10 in cleaning supplies. THANKS FOR BEING HERE!!!!
crazydavez28 is offline  
post #9230 of 9416 Old 09-28-2010, 12:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Audiophiliac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just thought I would post my most recent experience with a 57831 I purchased in october 2006. I had the thermal sensor issue right off the bat. Easy fix.

I had the Halo issues early on and had 2 replacement light engines (both under warranty) before I discovered the real problem. I cleaned it and was happy. Halo came back again.

So this past weekend, I tore it apart again and cleaned the lens. I also had noticed a spec of what I thought was dust that got into the lens assembly while I was putting it back together the first time I cleaned it. Well after cleaning it this second time, the same spec was in the same spot. So I looked closer....somehow a spider had gotten between the 2 screens. So I had to take out a billion screws just to get that stupid bugger out of there.

But now my TV looks like new again.

However, I think my lamp is on its way out. The image will randomly dim and brighten quite noticeably. This is only my second lamp and it was used when I got it (pulled it from a floor model we donated to an auction for charity....gave them a new one...I took the old one for free). I cannot complain about finally having to buy a lamp after 4 years.

Looks like $100 or so will get me back into business with a virtually new TV.
Audiophiliac is offline  
post #9231 of 9416 Old 10-08-2010, 09:12 PM
Member
 
steinfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just dug around this site and all over the place online and cannot find anything out about my problem. I have a Mitsubishi WD-65734 that I love but I just upgraded my old receiver and now I'm very upset. Looks like my tv does not support HDMI switching.

I have a Onkyo TX-SR608 and I connected everything properly set up the on screen menu, configured all settings for PS3, DVR, and Blu-Ray player. Then I tested the Dolby True HD and DTS HD and went to bed happy. The next day I fired the tv up and get snow (ANT-1). I tried to change the input on the remote and nothing.....I unplugged the HDMI cable connecting the TV to receiver from HDMI-1 input to HDMI -2 input on back of TV and get this message...............

Quote:


Auto input sensing connection detected for hdmi for a device which may be compatible w/net command. The device is audio system.

Hdmi switching thru the av receiver is not supported, Please connect to tv digital audio out.

Press exit key to watch tv.

Does anyone know if there is a fix to this....maybe a firmware update or something like that. I can get it to work but after the tv is turned off everything resets itself and then gets snowy(ANT-1) again. The only way to get it to work is unplug it from HDMI plug everytime.

I have a HDMI switchbox that I'm not using if this will help please let me know.
steinfire is offline  
post #9232 of 9416 Old 10-10-2010, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steinfire View Post

I just dug around this site and all over the place online and cannot find anything out about my problem. I have a Mitsubishi WD-65734 that I love but I just upgraded my old receiver and now I'm very upset. Looks like my tv does not support HDMI switching.

I have a Onkyo TX-SR608 and I connected everything properly set up the on screen menu, configured all settings for PS3, DVR, and Blu-Ray player. Then I tested the Dolby True HD and DTS HD and went to bed happy. The next day I fired the tv up and get snow (ANT-1). I tried to change the input on the remote and nothing.....I unplugged the HDMI cable connecting the TV to receiver from HDMI-1 input to HDMI -2 input on back of TV and get this message...............



Does anyone know if there is a fix to this....maybe a firmware update or something like that. I can get it to work but after the tv is turned off everything resets itself and then gets snowy(ANT-1) again. The only way to get it to work is unplug it from HDMI plug everytime.

I have a HDMI switchbox that I'm not using if this will help please let me know.

Have you tried changing the following settings to "OFF" on the A/V Receiver?
Code:
HDMI ->
        Audio TV Out
        HDMI Control (RIHD)
        Audio Return Channel
        Power Control
        TV Control
Power all equipment/components off, turn them on and see if that fixes it.
bwall23 is offline  
post #9233 of 9416 Old 10-11-2010, 04:58 PM
Member
 
steinfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no but I will try that tonight


I talked with Mitsubishi support for over an hour today and it was not fun.

I did find out that I may need to disable the consumer electronic control(CEC) on the TV or receiver.


Thanks for your help and I will post back the results of different order power off and on.
steinfire is offline  
post #9234 of 9416 Old 10-14-2010, 02:07 PM
Member
 
dlclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally replaced my WD-65831 with a Panasonic plasma. In four years it has had the thermal sensor reseated, two light engines, three bulbs and the light engine cleaned. It is working fine now but it was time to move on. My dilemma now is to sell for next to nothing or hold on to it in case Mits owns up and offers credit or replacement.
dlclark is offline  
post #9235 of 9416 Old 10-14-2010, 06:40 PM
Member
 
steinfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fix for the WD-65734 HDMI switching problem

I received my firmware update in the mail today. Mitsubishi sent me a usb drive to plug in to the tv and get the latest version for my tv.

I updated and hooked everything back up and has the same results.....after power off the tv would not keep the HDMI input setting, it would change to ANT-1 input and I would have to unhook the HDMI cable and start the installation all over.

Well after a total of about 5 hours on the phone with Mitsubishi over the past few days I fixed the problem in 5 steps

1. turn off tv and unplug all devices from back of tv except power

2. turn tv on and press menu

3. press 1-2-3 on remote

4. select netCommand HDMI control

5. select disable

that is it......turn off tv and plug in your HDMI to receiver then connect your other devices to receiver

when you turn the tv back on it keeps the HDMI setting

whoo hoo

now I get to clean up the wires, push this huge wall unit back, and get my Audyssey set up on the speakers
steinfire is offline  
post #9236 of 9416 Old 10-14-2010, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steinfire View Post

fix for the WD-65734 HDMI switching problem

I received my firmware update in the mail today. Mitsubishi sent me a usb drive to plug in to the tv and get the latest version for my tv.

I updated and hooked everything back up and has the same results.....after power off the tv would not keep the HDMI input setting, it would change to ANT-1 input and I would have to unhook the HDMI cable and start the installation all over.

Well after a total of about 5 hours on the phone with Mitsubishi over the past few days I fixed the problem in 5 steps

1. turn off tv and unplug all devices from back of tv except power

2. turn tv on and press menu

3. press 1-2-3 on remote

4. select netCommand HDMI control

5. select disable

that is it......turn off tv and plug in your HDMI to receiver then connect your other devices to receiver

when you turn the tv back on it keeps the HDMI setting

whoo hoo

now I get to clean up the wires, push this huge wall unit back, and get my Audyssey set up on the speakers

steinfire, good to hear you got it working and I'm surprised to hear Mits Support actually helped you on your voyage! I guess it all depends on the phone# you call and what their agenda for the day is. It's been a mixed bag of results for all us Mits owners. You either Love Mits, or you Hate Mits. And that seems to change faster than the seasons.

P.S. Thanks for posting that TIP on this Forum, as I'm sure others will benefit from it. Just wish mfgr's had as helpful a website (like they did in the good old days).

P.P.S. What firmware version did they send you?
bwall23 is offline  
post #9237 of 9416 Old 10-14-2010, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlclark View Post

I finally replaced my WD-65831 with a Panasonic plasma. In four years it has had the thermal sensor reseated, two light engines, three bulbs and the light engine cleaned. It is working fine now but it was time to move on. My dilemma now is to sell for next to nothing or hold on to it in case Mits owns up and offers credit or replacement.

I'd say trash it. Just call me with advance notice before you put it out on the curb. I have relatives in your area that will be happy to handle your e-waste recycling, no charge to you ;-)

P.S. yours is a 65" and mine is a 57". I'm still happily using mine. Did your's wear out 'cause it's bigger? or is it 'cause those IL winters are colder?
bwall23 is offline  
post #9238 of 9416 Old 10-15-2010, 04:26 AM
Member
 
steinfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwall23 View Post

P.P.S. What firmware version did they send you?


I 'm not in front of the TV now but I will check when I get home. I think it was 9.06. I had 9.01.

When they finally decided that it could be a firmware issue they said it would be 5 to 7 business days before I could get the update sent to me. Luckly it was sent out of Georgia and I live in Georgia.

I agree about having a website to get the updates yourself. I mean they put a usb port on the front of the tv.
steinfire is offline  
post #9239 of 9416 Old 10-16-2010, 05:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:


I finally replaced my WD-65831 with a Panasonic plasma.

Enjoy watching your electric meter spin. Your power utility will thank you.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9240 of 9416 Old 10-16-2010, 11:32 AM
Member
 
dlclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Enjoy watching your electric meter spin. Your power utility will thank you.

The specs on the Panasonic is 214 watt consumption and the Mitsubishi is 250 watt consumption.
dlclark is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off