2007 Mitsubishi WD-XX73X and XX831 Owner's Thread - Page 313 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9361 of 9416 Old 05-07-2012, 02:45 PM
GEP
Advanced Member
 
GEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Also keep in mind that Mitsubsihi does not use Phillips lamps in their TVs, they use Osram lamps so it is possible that a Phillips lamp does not perform 100%.
GEP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9362 of 9416 Old 05-12-2012, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
gypsy0901's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a current owner of a Mitsubishi Rear Projection TV Set, V33 Chassis, model number WD-52631 which is broken due to a blown lamp. Due to final outcome of lawsuit against Mitsubishi, I am entitled to receive a free new mesh design replacement lamp. According to the court order, I am supposed to take photos of the serial number and model number labels and call in to the phone number listed in the notice I received in the mail. Well, I called thaqt phone number and was told to fax in the photos of the labels as well as a photo of the blown lamp. I have the photos now but do not have a form to fill out to fax in with the photos. the person answering the phone at 1-855-842-8248 is so incompetent. She tells me to fax in the photos and gives me the fax number but how will Mitsubishi know where to send me the new lamp? Shouldn't there be some type of document I should complete and fax in with the photos? the woman answering the phone doesn't know anything. So I just typed up a letter addressed to Mitsubishi and will fax in that with the required photos. Hopefully, this is all that is required by Mitsubishi as I wasn't told of any form needed to fill out and mail or fax in to Mitsubishi.

Does anyone know of a document that I need to fill out and fax in as well as the photos in order to receive the free replacement lamp? HELP!!! I am without a TV now and would like to get it repaired.

My TV is only 4 years old and I have had to replace the lamp twice on my own and this will be the 3rd time I replace it.

I swear I will never purchase another Mitsubishi TV set EVER AGAIN!!!
gypsy0901 is offline  
post #9363 of 9416 Old 05-12-2012, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by gypsy0901 View Post

I am a current owner of a Mitsubishi Rear Projection TV Set, V33 Chassis, model number WD-52631 which is broken due to a blown lamp. Due to final outcome of lawsuit against Mitsubishi, I am entitled to receive a free new mesh design replacement lamp. According to the court order, I am supposed to take photos of the serial number and model number labels and call in to the phone number listed in the notice I received in the mail. Well, I called thaqt phone number and was told to fax in the photos of the labels as well as a photo of the blown lamp. I have the photos now but do not have a form to fill out to fax in with the photos. the person answering the phone at 1-855-842-8248 is so incompetent. She tells me to fax in the photos and gives me the fax number but how will Mitsubishi know where to send me the new lamp? Shouldn't there be some type of document I should complete and fax in with the photos? the woman answering the phone doesn't know anything. So I just typed up a letter addressed to Mitsubishi and will fax in that with the required photos. Hopefully, this is all that is required by Mitsubishi as I wasn't told of any form needed to fill out and mail or fax in to Mitsubishi.

Does anyone know of a document that I need to fill out and fax in as well as the photos in order to receive the free replacement lamp? HELP!!! I am without a TV now and would like to get it repaired.

My TV is only 4 years old and I have had to replace the lamp twice on my own and this will be the 3rd time I replace it...

I'm sorry you seem to be having so much trouble. How many hours does your set have on it? Depending on your hours of use, 3 lamps may or may not be excessive. The lamps in DLPs are supposed to be replaceable, and that is a good thing, as you get a like new picture with just a new lamp. The older lamps typically last 2000-4000 hours, but in newer sets they are reported to last 4000-6000 hours.

The WD-52631 is a 2006 model, which makes it 6 years old. Did you buy it used?

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #9364 of 9416 Old 05-13-2012, 06:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,358
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 161
There is a separate thread regarding that lawsuit.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #9365 of 9416 Old 05-23-2012, 03:50 PM
Member
 
MagicPotatoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
does anyone know if the wd-65831 work with m-cards? i've tried 2 different ones and each one gave me different error message.
MagicPotatoes is offline  
post #9366 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 06:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,358
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Mits had firmware updates on some of their older sets for that issue. I don't know if yours would be included. Contact them.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #9367 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've been looking for a quality replacement lamp for my WD-57831. It uses a 915P049020 housing with a 180w bulb. Prices are all over the place and I need to know where to go to get an OSRAM or equivalent at a good price.

I've researched and have found numbers P-VIP 150-180/1.0 E22H and 69440.

I have tried the cheaper lamps and they just don't last. Any help would be appreciated.
Tom Thomas is offline  
post #9368 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 11:46 AM
Member
 
MagicPotatoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i also have tried several cheap ones, one blew up the first time i fired it up, another one turned yellowish after a few months, i got one from ebay for $49 and after 1000 hours still works and i keep as backup. http://www.discount-merchant.com/Mit...49020-lamp.htm is the one i use now. its too bright but i guess that's normal when they're new, i just set the brightness to 16
MagicPotatoes is offline  
post #9369 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicPotatoes View Post

i also have tried several cheap ones, one blew up the first time i fired it up, another one turned yellowish after a few months, i got one from ebay for $49 and after 1000 hours still works and i keep as backup. http://www.discount-merchant.com/Mit...49020-lamp.htm is the one i use now. its too bright but i guess that's normal when they're new, i just set the brightness to 16

Thanks for the link. That one looks good.
Tom Thomas is offline  
post #9370 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 03:04 PM
Member
 
MagicPotatoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
the original osram part number is p-vip 150-180/1.0 ASP, it has a different glass (convex shape on the side facing the reflector) than the osram p-vip 150-180/1.0 e22h that i got from amazon which has a flat glass on both surfaces.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1645935/IMG_20120524_140922.jpg
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1645935/IMG_20120524_140941.jpg

the 1.0 is spark gap, e22h is the reflector type, so the ASP is still e22h but with a different glass to focus the light a little better i think
MagicPotatoes is offline  
post #9371 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicPotatoes View Post

the original osram part number is p-vip 150-180/1.0 ASP, it has a different glass (convex shape on the side facing the reflector) than the osram p-vip 150-180/1.0 e22h that i got from amazon which has a flat glass on both surfaces.

Good info, thanks. I'll check my old lamp and see which one I had originally. I wasn't aware there were such differences.
Tom Thomas is offline  
post #9372 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
ChuckF.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicPotatoes View Post

the original osram part number is p-vip 150-180/1.0 ASP, it has a different glass (convex shape on the side facing the reflector) than the osram p-vip 150-180/1.0 e22h that i got from amazon which has a flat glass on both surfaces.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1645935/IMG_20120524_140922.jpg
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1645935/IMG_20120524_140941.jpg

the 1.0 is spark gap, e22h is the reflector type, so the ASP is still e22h but with a different glass to focus the light a little better i think

I would like to know how to decode the Philips lamp information if anyone knows. What is the E (vs P on some)? What is the 22? Focal length of the reflector? That doesn't look right though. H?

Why does the printing on the lamp itself not translate to the common ordering information? Your lamp might say something like "TOP 252 B6" on it. How does that translate to an ordering number like 1.0 E22H?

BTW this is the first time I've seen 'ASP'. Perhaps it stands for Aspheric.
ChuckF. is offline  
post #9373 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 05:06 PM
GEP
Advanced Member
 
GEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckF. View Post

I would like to know how to decode the Philips lamp information if anyone knows. What is the E (vs P on some)? What is the 22? Focal length of the reflector? That doesn't look right though. H?

Why does the printing on the lamp itself not translate to the common ordering information? Your lamp might say something like "TOP 252 B6" on it. How does that translate to an ordering number like 1.0 E22H?

BTW this is the first time I've seen 'ASP'. Perhaps it stands for Aspheric.

Mitsubishi used only Osram lamps. On models that listed "Turbo Lamp" they used special variations to the standard lamps. Not using the lamp specified by Mitsubishi may cause incorrect fits for that reason. There is no guarantee any Phillips lamp will work correctly in the Mitsubishi cartridge assembly or with the Mitsubishi lamp ballast.

I understand the desired to save money but if you do not get the official Mitsubishi lamp, at least get the Osram lamp that has the same markings. The cost of bad lamps, returns etc. may not make up for the difference in original price.
GEP is offline  
post #9374 of 9416 Old 05-24-2012, 11:08 PM
Member
 
MagicPotatoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Mits had firmware updates on some of their older sets for that issue. I don't know if yours would be included. Contact them..

thanks videobruce, i contacted them and they are unwilling to send me a firmware update. i have v33 008.01. wonder why i cant just download them from their website like firmwares for some of the other models.
MagicPotatoes is offline  
post #9375 of 9416 Old 01-13-2013, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Darthswan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone receive a notice about this class action? My 73831 is doing the same thing. First the bulb went out, then after I replaced it, it powers up then shuts down. I got the TV in jan 06, and life was good up to the new year. I should I attempt to fix this myself, call a tech, or scrap the TV?
Darthswan is offline  
post #9376 of 9416 Old 01-14-2013, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthswan View Post

Did anyone receive a notice about this class action? My 73831 is doing the same thing. First the bulb went out, then after I replaced it, it powers up then shuts down. I got the TV in jan 06, and life was good up to the new year. I should I attempt to fix this myself, call a tech, or scrap the TV?

There has been a class-action suit which included lamp failures. Videobruce started a thread on it.

Mitsubishi class action lawsuit concerning capacitor failures
Tom Thomas is offline  
post #9377 of 9416 Old 06-18-2013, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
timaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

I am new to AVS and am finding a lot of information regarding my 2006 WD-73831, THANK YOU.

Here is my problem:

I went through and did the lens cleaning through the LE, turned the set on and had a almost new like picture. Except now the TV shuts off after 10 minutes with the front panel LED error code #46. Can someone tell what the error code is and what is needed to correct?

Many thanks in advance

timaud
timaud is offline  
post #9378 of 9416 Old 06-18-2013, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by timaud View Post

Hello All,

I am new to AVS and am finding a lot of information regarding my 2006 WD-73831, THANK YOU.

Here is my problem:

I went through and did the lens cleaning through the LE, turned the set on and had a almost new like picture. Except now the TV shuts off after 10 minutes with the front panel LED error code #46. Can someone tell what the error code is and what is needed to correct?

Many thanks in advance

timaud

That code is listed as: DT connector (DMD Temperature sensor) disconnected. (73" only)
You may want to go back and check the connections.
timaud likes this.
Tom Thomas is offline  
post #9379 of 9416 Old 06-18-2013, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
timaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that was my assumption while thumbing through all the posts. The DT connector goes to the blue switch on the Lamp door at the rear of the TV . I have checked the connection visually as well as physically it appears to be OK. Could the switch possibly have gone bad?
timaud is offline  
post #9380 of 9416 Old 06-18-2013, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
timaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Thomas View Post

That code is listed as: DT connector (DMD Temperature sensor) disconnected. (73" only)
You may want to go back and check the connections.

Thank you, you were absolutely correct. Upon further examination I found the mistake was mine. I interchanged the CD & the DT connections. After correcting, it appears everything is fine now.

Thank you for the information

timaud
timaud is offline  
post #9381 of 9416 Old 06-18-2013, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Glad it worked out and that's all it was.
Tom Thomas is offline  
post #9382 of 9416 Old 07-09-2013, 08:40 PM
Newbie
 
suphawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having an issue that i haven't seen reported anywhere online. When i turn on my WD-73831 it fast flashes the green timer light. The manual says this is a normal light code for initializing but it never did it before. And when I do get it to turn on it always shows a message that power was lost. This seems like a possible capacitor issue but i'm not sure which ones to look at. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks
suphawk is offline  
post #9383 of 9416 Old 07-11-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 71
You could be losing power at night

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #9384 of 9416 Old 07-11-2013, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
suphawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish it was that simple. I did another search on this thread for "power loss" and there were 2 other reports with these symptoms, I PM'd one of them and they said the TV dies 6 months later, never fixed, replaced. I guess 6 years was a good run for this TV, one light engine replaced under warranty, but I bought a bulb anticipating having to replace it and I haven't used it. After this one and the last WS-55511 Mits TV's I'm done with Mitsubishi frown.gif
suphawk is offline  
post #9385 of 9416 Old 07-12-2013, 10:18 PM
Newbie
 
alk4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 2009 WD-73C9 that I am having a strange issue with. The tv has worked fine until now. I recently canceled my cable service as I don't watch it much anymore. I bought an antenna so I could still get OTA news and sports. In activity mode I switched from cable to antenna, searched for channels, and everything seemed to be working fine. However, the tv will now turn off after ~5 minutes while watching tv with the antenna. This does not happen when my xbox is hooked up through HDMI or when my laptop is hooked up. I tried using a different antenna, the problem persists. I timed how long it took for the tv to turn off when watching with the antenna and times were always about 5 minutes. I tried searching through the menus to see if there was some sort of sleep timer but couldn't find anything. I'm at a loss. Any suggestions?
alk4life is offline  
post #9386 of 9416 Old 07-13-2013, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by alk4life View Post

I have a 2009 WD-73C9 that I am having a strange issue with. The tv has worked fine until now. I recently canceled my cable service as I don't watch it much anymore. I bought an antenna so I could still get OTA news and sports. In activity mode I switched from cable to antenna, searched for channels, and everything seemed to be working fine. However, the tv will now turn off after ~5 minutes while watching tv with the antenna. This does not happen when my xbox is hooked up through HDMI or when my laptop is hooked up. I tried using a different antenna, the problem persists. I timed how long it took for the tv to turn off when watching with the antenna and times were always about 5 minutes. I tried searching through the menus to see if there was some sort of sleep timer but couldn't find anything. I'm at a loss. Any suggestions?

The TV shuts off after 5 minutes if it doesn't receive any signal on the HDMI input. I've never had an issue with cable or antenna, though. I'm sure it's related somehow.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #9387 of 9416 Old 07-13-2013, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
colour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fenton, Mo.
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
You might be able to change the auto shut off in the service menu.
colour is offline  
post #9388 of 9416 Old 07-13-2013, 04:30 PM
Newbie
 
alk4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the antenna hooked up through coax, not hdmi. How do I access the service menu? I've tried googling, but all I could find was the service menu geometry settings. Thanks for the help.
alk4life is offline  
post #9389 of 9416 Old 07-14-2013, 08:47 PM
Newbie
 
alk4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, I fixed the problem. I did some searching and found a few other people who had similar issues. I updated the firmware to the latest version and the problem seems to have been fixed. I never did find how to get into the service menu (other than geometry service) though.
alk4life is offline  
post #9390 of 9416 Old 09-14-2013, 06:43 AM
Newbie
 
AVKurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Towson, MD
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I consider myself fortunate after reading the constant horror stories about these sets over the years!

I bought my 57831 in 2006 and have only had the 'airflow sensor' problem. Luckily, I have never had an issue with the screen image/LE. Have gone through 3 lamps which is expected, but now have a problem I can't seem to diagnose..

TV was working fine last week but then had the 'blinking green light' issue. Got the Error Code '66', never getting a red light nor the code for a bad lamp. The bulb looked fine and it seemed like the ballast didn't arc at times, so decided to replace the ballast first. After installing the new ballast, I did see the arc, but that didn't solve the problem; I still received the same error code after the TV shut off after trying to ignite the lamp 3 times, as is usual. Old lamp never turned on.

I then decide to get a new, inexpensive OEM lamp to make sure the problem isn't with that. Well, put that in and it did light!... but a few seconds afterwards it turns off, then the TV shuts off right away. No lights and cannot get a code from it. I left the TV plugged in last night and now do have a flashing yellow light for a bad/no lamp, but after a reset and getting it started again the same thing happens- lamp turns on for a moment, then the entire tv shuts down.

Has anybody had this experience with this or have any ideas what the culprit might be?

I don't know what my next course of action is besides getting rid of the tv.....anybody in the Maryland area need a Mitsubishi factory stand or a 'slightly' new ballast? wink.gif
AVKurt is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off