Don't dump your CRT RPTV! - Page 417 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12481 of 12490 Old 07-10-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 58
bgeese:

Did read my PM to you on Tuesday where I said:

"This morning I ran across more material of people with CRT-based televisions who have experienced the exact same kind of dotted lines. In most cases these lines come from interference of some sort, which might even include faulty cabling to your TV. From my own experience I know that audiovisual cables do wear out after time.

I would start by having someone move the cabling around while you're watching to set, as sometimes this shows that the cabling is sensitive."

As I've stated previously on the forum, I reached the conclusion that the dotted lines were not your TV, but had to do with signal coming into your inputs.

Last edited by taichi4; 07-10-2014 at 06:53 PM.
taichi4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12482 of 12490 Old 07-10-2014, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by tw40f80 View Post
Bob email me next time you are near Tampa, Fl. I have 2 - 65813. One was calibrated by Craig Rounds but the other I fixed myself (blinking green light) and needs to be calibrated. I am sorry I missed you in May but I have been away from this site for a few months.

On an aside I would never part with my mits.
We are on the same page there, old buddy! Me neither.

Did Craig install his anti-ringing mod for you? I don't know if it improved my set or not, as Mit threw me a curve.

In the 65813 model year, for which the mod was created, all 3 of the caps involved were the same value. The object of the mod was to install trimmer caps to replace the fixed caps and each color fine tuned on that amount of capacitance in that particular part of the circuit.

On my set I did the mod before I saw the values of the caps, which were all 3 DIFFERENT! So Mit had already done some research - hopefully because of reading Craig's white paper on the subject (which incidentally he had asked me to proofread and edit for him).

If it turned out that the mod would not have been needed on my set because Mit had been there first, then nothing was really improved and my set was as crisp out of the box as it is now. If Mit changed the values to values that were not aligned with Craig's directives on handling that IC, then there was a definite improvement. I would not know without removing each trimmer and comparing the amount of capacitance on it - using a cap checker - to the values of the fixed caps in the service manual. Which is too much work to consider these days. It's as crisp as it gets, I know that. You might want to check and see if yours is.

To answer your question, I went to FLA because I had one free flight with Southwest that had not been used, on the old program which flew you anywhere in the continental states that SW flies. On the way I had a chance to trim up Dave Prazak's set in PHX on that 3 hour layover. Did one other cal in Davie, but with a very limited budget. That was all. Would have loved to do your set.

But now I have no reason to be there except for calibrations. Will be glad to work it out with you and perhaps a few fellow afficianados in your area. Will keep your request in the hopper in case other reasons to go there crop up of course, but the only way to get me there for sure is to fly me in.

b

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com
www.projectiontvtroubleshootingadvice.com
YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen


Last edited by Mr Bob; 07-10-2014 at 10:54 PM.
Mr Bob is offline  
post #12483 of 12490 Old Yesterday, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 58
So you're saying, then Bob, that the anti ringing mod may have been done by Mits after the model year that the 65813 came out?
taichi4 is offline  
post #12484 of 12490 Old Yesterday, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yes, it's a distinct possibility. The end product of that mod anyway. Otherwise they would have simply left the values of the 3 caps alone, all identical but none optimized for its own particular circuit, like they did out of the starting gate on the 65813.

Which is how Craig found it on the 65813, all 3 identical. In my set's model year, 2 years later/the last year ever for Mit CRT/the 73517, each cap/each color had its own separate and distinct value.

Luckily he evidently knew the characteristics of the IC each of those caps goes to (same IC on all 3), and that it had the capacity for that particular cap involved in it to be altered for improved performance. He evidently got out his trusty o'scope and started fiddling around and came up with his mod for that circuit.

The circuit itself - in the drive phase of the CRT socket boards - is the same on all 3 colors, same IC is used on all 3 of the boards, same circuitry for all 3 except for the value of that one cap. But each color's image has different needs in that application, and that cap value controls and alters the characteristics of that IC, thereby altering the amount of edge enhancement that gets to its own particular gun.

b

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com
www.projectiontvtroubleshootingadvice.com
YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen


Last edited by Mr Bob; Yesterday at 02:13 PM.
Mr Bob is offline  
post #12485 of 12490 Old Yesterday, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Does the 65813 pass Dolby surround through its outputs?

If it does, does it use the peculiar digital audio out, and can it be converted to optical?

Thanks

Last edited by taichi4; Yesterday at 03:17 PM.
taichi4 is offline  
post #12486 of 12490 Old Yesterday, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
No idea. See if it has digital outputs, like fibre optic or coaxial.

Seems like only the HD tuner would output anything, tho, as I believe this was before HDMI.

b

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com
www.projectiontvtroubleshootingadvice.com
YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen


Last edited by Mr Bob; Yesterday at 04:55 PM.
Mr Bob is offline  
post #12487 of 12490 Old Yesterday, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bob View Post
No idea. See if it has digital outputs, like fibre optic or coaxial.

Seems like only the HD tuner would output anything, tho, as I believe this was before HDMI.

b
Your link didn't work. It wants me to post. Heh.
phildaant is offline  
post #12488 of 12490 Old Yesterday, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
So THAT'S what the writing being in blue means. Had no idea, it just came out that way this time. You'd think after 9000 posts this kind of thing woulda happened before!



Corrected. Thanks -



b
phildaant likes this.

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com
www.projectiontvtroubleshootingadvice.com
YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen

Mr Bob is offline  
post #12489 of 12490 Old Yesterday, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Turnbough's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mr.Bob (or anyone else) what model blu-ray player do you have that allows 1080i over component with no HDCP issues? I have a Sony s380 and it has component out it was the main reason I traded a new blu-ray player for it with a friend but its locked at only 480p. I run everything through my edge via HDMI to reduce overscan to 0% and be able to hookup any new HDMI only tech to my 813. I'm interested in seeing how good blu-ray looks over component compared to HDMI if its a big enough difference I'll deal with the the 8-9% overscan. I can always reduce it later if needed
Turnbough is offline  
post #12490 of 12490 Old Yesterday, 11:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
UofAZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The Sony S300 and S350 will output component at 1080i also if you can find an older Sony PS3 (the fat kind) I still use mine on my Pioneer Elite 620 and it does 1080i beautifully.
UofAZ1 is online now  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Panasonic Tc P65v10 65 Inch 1080p Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off