Don't dump your CRT RPTV! - Page 419 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12541 of 12616 Old 07-17-2014, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post
Yes it will do it, and at a entry level cost of $6,966.00, for it to do so!

http://www.kosmic.us/weiss-dac-202.html
You left out the free shipping.
barrelbelly likes this.
taichi4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12542 of 12616 Old 07-17-2014, 11:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
You left out the free shipping.
Gee such a deal, then you should probably buy two of them, just so you can have a spare one on hand.....
Johnla is offline  
post #12543 of 12616 Old 07-18-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post
Gee such a deal, then you should probably buy two of them, just so you can have a spare one on hand.....
I would, but then that just gives my girlfriend one more thing to dust, and I'm not that kind of guy.
taichi4 is offline  
post #12544 of 12616 Old 07-18-2014, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 47
My gf would dust me for buying ONE of them!



b

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen

Mr Bob is offline  
post #12545 of 12616 Old 07-18-2014, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bob View Post
My gf would dust me for buying ONE of them!



b
I don't think so. If she were so inclined she would have done so long ago for your collection of RPTVs.

All in all, she must be a very tolerant person.
taichi4 is offline  
post #12546 of 12616 Old 07-18-2014, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I see there is going to be a recycle truck in my neighborhood next week taking TVs any size.
Brian Conrad is online now  
post #12547 of 12616 Old 07-18-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,566
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bob View Post
And they spoke of it as if CRT already had the perfect gamma, and that digital is struggling to emulate that.
This is a very interesting discussion between Scott Wilkinson and Joel Silver of gamma and the new recommendations (BT1886):
All About Gamma
barrelbelly likes this.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #12548 of 12616 Old 07-18-2014, 06:44 PM
Member
 
AVReader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Interesting here locally someone just recently opened a TV repair shop. They interviewed the owner and he pretty much summed it up that a lot of people are tossing their CRT's when they probably could have been fixed and saved the owner the expense of buying new.
AVReader is offline  
post #12549 of 12616 Old 07-18-2014, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
I don't think so. If she were so inclined she would have done so long ago for your collection of RPTVs.

All in all, she must be a very tolerant person.
I dunno... Everything I have in my home sys, magnificent as it admittedly is (despite having bought wisely and not having had to pay an arm and a leg for it) would not add up to the cost of one of those buggers -



b

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen

Mr Bob is offline  
post #12550 of 12616 Old 07-18-2014, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVReader View Post
Interesting here locally someone just recently opened a TV repair shop. They interviewed the owner and he pretty much summed it up that a lot of people are tossing their CRT's when they probably could have been fixed and saved the owner the expense of buying new.
I'm not even going to touch that one! I rest my case -



b

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen

Mr Bob is offline  
post #12551 of 12616 Old 07-23-2014, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
This is a very interesting discussion between Scott Wilkinson and Joel Silver of gamma and the new recommendations (BT1886):
All About Gamma
Great link Michael. Totally enjoyed the conversation. I actually have a decent layman's understanding about Gamma now. Alas...this new knowledge may actually be dangerous to me with my CRT right now. It'll likely start a whole new round of tweaking.
barrelbelly is offline  
post #12552 of 12616 Old 07-23-2014, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,566
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 245
BT1886 is interesting. It slopes down slightly (lighter) at the dark end, which, I think, brings out more detail in the blacks.
Apparently, though, it will only be really helpful when the SOURCE follows the same specs.
Something like that, anyway.
I have mine set up like that now, and I like it. Subject to change at whim, of course.
Glad you got something (besides confused) out of the chat.
Michael
barrelbelly likes this.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #12553 of 12616 Old 08-02-2014, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
New isn't always better.

For the past few years I've been using Time Warner cable very successfully on my 65813, using the component output on the box going into the component input on my TV. It's been delivering very good quality 1080i. I prefer using component from the box to the TV, as that leaves free the DVI port for my Blu-Ray player.

Yesterday I had to replace the box, and they gave me a slightly newer model. Originally I had a Motorola DCX 3200, and this one is a DCX 3200M.

Besides having far more cumbersome menus on the new box, the image quality has become much softer, less sharp, less vibrant.

Has anyone had a similar experience with a new Time Warner box?
taichi4 is offline  
post #12554 of 12616 Old 08-03-2014, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 4,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Maybe it is stepping you down to 480i (or downrezzing to that but outputting in 1080i). Warner Bros were responsible for blocking the HDFury in the US so I wouldn't be surprised if they have made the boxes do that. Check the TWC support. They're probably afraid of the cheap component to USB capture gadgets that available.
Brian Conrad is online now  
post #12555 of 12616 Old 08-04-2014, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
For the past few years I've been using Time Warner cable very successfully on my 65813, using the component output on the box going into the component input on my TV. It's been delivering very good quality 1080i. I prefer using component from the box to the TV, as that leaves free the DVI port for my Blu-Ray player.

Yesterday I had to replace the box, and they gave me a slightly newer model. Originally I had a Motorola DCX 3200, and this one is a DCX 3200M.

Besides having far more cumbersome menus on the new box, the image quality has become much softer, less sharp, less vibrant.

Has anyone had a similar experience with a new Time Warner box?
I am not sure what they are doing, but if there's any chance you can return that one and get one of the older replacement boxes just like yours rather than one of the newer ones, don't let any grass grow under your feet! See if they still might have one they can get ahold of, even if it's from an alternate location, before they are gone.

B
Mr Bob is offline  
post #12556 of 12616 Old 08-04-2014, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Trust me, Bob, I'm doing just that. I've already made one foray to swap out the box, and got a box slightly older than the one I yielded up. That was marginally better than the newest one, but still one peg down. Today I'm going to make another jaunt, and see what I can do. Unfortunately, Time Warner, in a grand celebration of customer service, say that they have no way of knowing what inventory their local vendors have.

Ain't that great?
taichi4 is offline  
post #12557 of 12616 Old 08-04-2014, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 47
In the meantime try and see what's going on with that unit. I think there's merit in that last comment, about possibly being reverted back to 480.

I know flat screens rarely put any r&d into designing their component input circuits anymore. On some, the component input section is just miserable. I hope TW is not following suit on their output circuits-



b

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen

Mr Bob is offline  
post #12558 of 12616 Old 08-05-2014, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I have no way of knowing whether these units are down converting to 480, and then re-converting to 1080i.

My original unit had more user accessible settings than either the older one I now have, or the newer ones I returned. However, in all cases I was able to set the output of the box to 1080i, and my Mitsubishi shows that I'm watching 1080i. Nevertheless, the picture is degraded from what I'm used to.

Interesting how little the otherwise pleasant Time Warner representatives are regarding component video. I was told flatly by one of them that component cannot pass 1080i. "Why don't you connect it with HDMI?" Gee, buddy, what a great idea. Thanks a lot.

I'm willing to buy one, but there's no way of telling if private sellers are unscrupulously selling non kosher boxes. I don't see any for sale on AVS Forum, but maybe I'm looking in the wrong place.
taichi4 is offline  
post #12559 of 12616 Old 08-05-2014, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Just make sure there's a return policy and you can try ebay, craigslist and amazon. Maybe even angieslist, tho I have never tried that one.

The Hitachis did an end run around actually having pure HD on their built-in "HD" tuners after a certain model year, where what you got was NOT true HD. Perhaps some Hitachi owner on this thread could flesh that out for me.

Michael? Leo?

BTW, the HD Fury II as become amazingly affordable lately now that they are selling all their new stuff, with 3D and scaling forewards and backwards so that you can use 1080p-only sources with our 1080i sets. The II would solve your problem, perhaps less expensively than getting another cable box. Just use it to implement HDMI from the cable box into your equation. THEN if it still looks degraded you have them by the...oops, by their earlier statement.

b

Last edited by Mr Bob; 08-05-2014 at 08:33 AM.
Mr Bob is offline  
post #12560 of 12616 Old 08-05-2014, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,566
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Lee Bailey was the authority when it came to that question:
What does the Hitachi 57F59 do with a 720p signal?

Downloadable FREE demo discs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #12561 of 12616 Old 08-05-2014, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
So I lucked out. I planned to visit two or three TWC offices, and somehow, miraculously, at the first location found a slightly different version of my previous cable box, but which has, nevertheless, restored my picture quality.

I did talk to someone in the know from a company that actually provides refurbished cable boxes to the industry, and he confirmed what many of us thought, that the newer boxes are designed to pass the best signal through HDMI. The component output stage of the new boxes was obviously deemphasized.

By the way, the customer service at the particular location that I visited today was extremely good, with the representative understanding my situation, and locating the box quickly.
taichi4 is offline  
post #12562 of 12616 Old 08-05-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,566
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
By the way, the customer service at the particular location that I visited today was extremely good, with the representative understanding my situation, and locating the box quickly.
Don't tell us, tell Time Warner. I'm sure they'll be very glad to get good feedback for one of their centers for a change (and the center will probably appreciate it, too).
I admire your persistence.
Michael

Downloadable FREE demo discs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #12563 of 12616 Old 08-05-2014, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Don't tell us, tell Time Warner. I'm sure they'll be very glad to get good feedback for one of their centers for a change (and the center will probably appreciate it, too).
I admire your persistence.
Michael
As a representative was activating the box I complimented the reps at that location, profusely, as well as complimenting an extraordinarily helpful, and friendly greeter at another location.

I also had a frank exchange with the rep on the phone about the clumsy notion that TWC reps can't even call a local store for any reason, nor check inventory. The rep agreed, telling me taht he and some other reps are trying to convince corporate to make those changes.

Then I posted the felicitous news to my pals on this thread.

And thank you, lastbutnotleast.
taichi4 is offline  
post #12564 of 12616 Old 08-05-2014, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Compliments

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Don't tell us, tell Time Warner. I'm sure they'll be very glad to get good feedback for one of their centers for a change (and the center will probably appreciate it, too).
I admire your persistence.
Michael
As a representative was activating the box I complimented the reps at that location, profusely, as well as complimenting an extraordinarily helpful, and friendly greeter at another location.

I also had a frank exchange with the rep on the phone about the clumsy policy notion that TWC reps can't even call a local store for any reason, nor check inventory. The rep agreed, telling me that he and some other reps are trying to convince corporate to make those changes.

Then I posted the felicitous news to my pals on this thread.

And thank you, LastButNotLeast.

Last edited by taichi4; 08-05-2014 at 06:50 PM.
taichi4 is offline  
post #12565 of 12616 Old 08-09-2014, 01:26 PM
Member
 
jb23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Altos, CA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pioneer Elite Pro 730-HDI 65" available in SF Bay Area

We bought this Pioneer Elite Pro 730-HDI brand new about 11-12 years ago. Black piano gloss finish and the screen are both perfect. It's a great picture, but we decided to put in some built-in cabinets and go with a 4K thinner screen. I exchanged emails with Bob Jones from Image Perfection and he suggested I post here. To quote Bob: "Cleaned and fully dialed in, it will soundly trounce most everything out there available today, and will continue to last far longer than what's available today. I recommend you have me in to restore it, I promise I will make your jaw drop by making it look better than new."

If anybody is interested, please let me know asap. It will go to the best offer or if there are no offers, I'm going to donate to charity for the tax write-off. If you do end up buying it, I'd recommend contacting Bob for a cleaning and calibration. I'm located in Los Altos, CA and you'll need some strong people to come get is since it's about 300 lbs.

PM me with your best offer by Saturday 8/16/2014 5pm.

Thanks!

Joe
jb23 is offline  
post #12566 of 12616 Old 08-09-2014, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 47
It may be 300 lbs, but being on wheels makes it float like a feather.

Somebody please come and grab up this set! It is fully operational! And the x30 series - the PRO 530HD, PRO 630HD and PRO 730HD - are not subject to the cold solder joint issues of previous models. They had their own issues with streaking, which required changing out of the CRT socket boards and realigning the grayscale, which Pioneer lost a class action suit over and took care of their customer base properly for a couple of years before that ruling expired and owners of sets that had not showed that issue yet had to then pay for that out of their own pockets. But nothing else other than the typical convergence ICs needing to be replaced later on in life - which was standard issue for CRT RPTV tech and not nearly as expensive to take care of as replacing lamps on later tech like DLP - nothing else was an issue for those x30 sets.

This set is a real find, for the person who winds up with it. I'd jump on it myself if my CRT needs were not already met. If I had a big house with many rooms, oh yeah. I would have jumped on it already.

b

Last edited by Mr Bob; 08-10-2014 at 09:49 AM.
Mr Bob is offline  
post #12567 of 12616 Old 08-11-2014, 09:37 AM
Member
 
IK84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

Got a few questions about my Mitsubishi VS-80803

Question 1 : What would cause the tv to have better picture through IRIS mode vs NO IRIS mode. When I say better I mean, the alignment or something is amiss (text is illegible with IRIS off) This was never a problem till the TV's convergence chips were replaced just now. (the front plastic panel is not on the tv currently) that usually covers the iris.. but that shouldn't make a difference when the IRIS is off.

Question 2 : If an idiot screwed up the color through the focus pot, can that be fixed by obtaining a color calibrator ( eye-one , etc) and dialing it back in?

Question 3 : When in convergence mode, (again after the new convergence chip installation) the convergence can sometimes (key word being sometimes) get squirmy or wavy looking. This wavy appearance on the convergence ONLY seems to happen when in the convergence settings.

Id like to make this a tv capable of enjoying movies on again, but if that cant happen, I'll just have to use it for exercise till I'm ready to do something with it. I'm just scared that the squirmy and iris issues are foreshadowing something more.
IK84 is offline  
post #12568 of 12616 Old 08-11-2014, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 47
1. I have never heard of IRIS affecting convergence. Perhaps the sensor has been disco'd or covered up, or even shorted out. Could you send in pix of your issue?

The new chips will need 100 hours before they will be stable again. I call this their drift period. Any reconvergence you give it now will help since the new chips will have slightly different characteristics from the old ones you replaced, but it will drift off again before the first 100 hours of use has been completed.

Keep in mind that all CRT RPTVs regardless of brand will drift a bit during their first 45 minutes on, after being powered up from dead cold. Calibration on convergence is never done to a fine pitch by a videophile or calibrator until the set is completely warmed up. Same is true for any really critical viewing I intend to do on my set. If I don't want to be watching it during that first 45 minutes, I select up an unused input and let it cook on a blank screen for those 45 minutes.

2. Yes, but Mit's have a special procedure for that, since they have built in compensation circuits. Feel free to consult with me on that by phone. And it's not the focus pots, but the screen pots on the focus block. I can usually coach owners into getting their sets back to reasonable status without them having to buy a color analyzer to do so.

DO NOT CHANGE THE POSITION OF ANY OF THE OTHER POTS!
If only one of the 6 pots on the focus block was altered, and we can keep to getting it back where it was before, the job will go infinitely faster. Don't be a cowboy in there. Now is not the time to begin a learning curve that will turn into grabbing a tiger by the tail if you don't approach things correctly RIGHT NOW. DON'T EXPERIMENT. Back away from the set, please.

3. This is a fairly normal phenom for internal test patterns, and as long as it's not an issue during viewing of content, don't worry about it. I have seen this kind of thing often on built-in grids and convergence circuits, and I pay it no mind whatsoever as long as THERE, in convergence mode, is the only place you see it. If it's not there while you're watching your content, it's not a worry.

The Pioneers of this time period actually had internal grids - in service mode - that were blank at the top several inches, so that there were no lines to use to converge, on any of the 3 colors. Unless you sent in your own grid to use and pressed the Yellow button on the remote while in convergence service mode to make external content appear on the screen, you had nothing to converge with in that upper area.



Workarounds can be a life saver!



Keep your set. Aside from this IRIS thing, which is still up in the air, your set appears to be working just fine.



b

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen


Last edited by Mr Bob; 08-11-2014 at 11:33 AM.
Mr Bob is offline  
post #12569 of 12616 Old 08-11-2014, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Cables (and cable boxes).

I have a question about component cables.

When my good cable box melted down, and I was forced into a series of replacements, most of them with bad picture quality, I finally wound up with a version of my previous model which had been "streamlined" in some respects. The picture quality in terms of punch, color, and contrast are as good as my original cable box. But sharpness has suffered a bit.

I have had my Monoprice component cables for about as long as my Mitsubishi 65813. Those cables have been inserted in both the TV and the cable box for years. Only recently did I detach and reattach the component cables. I know that's cables oxidize. It's usually spoken of in terms of the connectors, but it may be reasonable to consider that the inner copper core of the cables might also oxidize over time, possibly aggravated by micro gaps in the rubber insulation/shielding click.

So I will clean the oxidation on the connectors, or possibly get new component cables, likely from CALRAD.

My question really is, is it possible that my cables, when somewhat oxidized, might still pass a colorful, contrasty image, but impair sharpness to a degree?

Thanks
taichi4 is offline  
post #12570 of 12616 Old 08-11-2014, 12:24 PM
Member
 
IK84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the prompt reply Bob. When I get home from work, I'll let the tv sit for a while, and also keep in mind the 100 hour period. In regards to the Focus/Screen pots... sadly that ship has sailed. Since they all have been messed with I doubt much can come from a consultation. I regret messing with it, but it was a moment of panic...Wasn't till after messing with it I learned about the convergence chips and how to replace them. I really do feel bad...

On another note I do enjoy this big monster, its true they are made to last. We had a LCD (2009) Sharp that was working fine, and then suddenly without warning went out, no amount of resets or internet logic could fix it. Yet the Mitsubishi has lasted from 2000-2013 with no hiccups (till the convergence issue). If I had the budget Id love to have a tech do a full work up on it, but just not in the cards right now (that and seems nobody in Chattanooga, TN area or close does it)
IK84 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Panasonic Tc P65v10 65 Inch 1080p Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - P65v10 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off