The Official Sony 2006 KDS-(XX)A2000 [NO PRICE TALK] SXRD Owner's Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 6,913
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfgacek View Post

SD imho looks ok especially at decent viewing distances of say 6-7 ft+ but one can see blockiness up close say 2-3 feet or so and especially on paused tv. It looks good though with normal tv viewing at longer viewing distances.

First pics attached.

cheers,
tim

Those are SD pic's aren't they? Not bad if they are. I know I don't get Comedy Central in HD here.

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Payton3485's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking the same thing. It looks very much tolerable to me!!! I can't wait to get my tv delivered!!!
Payton3485 is offline  
post #33 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
misterjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the lamp brightness look about the same as the XBR1's, or is it brighter or darker?
misterjensen is offline  
post #34 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 06:56 PM
Member
 
copybeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brandon, Mr. foo, and tfgacek... do you guys have 360s? I know my question isn't nearly as technical or representative of much as opposed to the others. However, I'm thinking about getting the 50 inch version and was wondering how the 360 (720p native) looks on the tv. If you have time and could take pics or give a description of flaws/benefits with the 360, I'd greatly appreciate it.
copybeaver is offline  
post #35 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 06:58 PM
Member
 
JAY102269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=rnowicki]New Owners,
Those of you that are computer savvy, please connect your computer to the TV via either the VGA or the HDMI and let us know about overscan/underscan issues.


Eagerly awaiting arrival of my A200, I downloaded the owners manual form Sony. On page 19 it says not to connect PC to HDMI input. But to connect it to the PC IN (RGB). Using this with my HTPC, I was going to run 1080P with my ATI card thru DVI-HDMI. Now I wonder if this will cause any problems with the set. I will probably end up calling Sony tomorrow to clear up this issue.


Brandon, Does the TV have a protective screen? With two little munchkins running around, I might have to erect some sort of electric fence

TIA,
Jay
JAY102269 is offline  
post #36 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maximum360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How's the black level and SSE (sparkles on light scenes) on the A2000?

"Guns? Guns are easy."
maximum360 is offline  
post #37 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lipcrkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KPAX
Posts: 4,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=JAY102269]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnowicki View Post

New Owners,
Those of you that are computer savvy, please connect your computer to the TV via either the VGA or the HDMI and let us know about overscan/underscan issues.


Eagerly awaiting arrival of my A200, I downloaded the owners manual form Sony. On page 19 it says not to connect PC to HDMI input. But to connect it to the PC IN (RGB). Using this with my HTPC, I was going to run 1080P with my ATI card thru DVI-HDMI. Now I wonder if this will cause any problems with the set. I will probably end up calling Sony tomorrow to clear up this issue.


Brandon, Does the TV have a protective screen? With two little munchkins running around, I might have to erect some sort of electric fence

TIA,
Jay

If you call Sony they will tell you that connecting to a computer using HDMI/DVI will accelerate global warming, so take it with a grain of salt. I made a post in the other thread about this same topic.
lipcrkr is offline  
post #38 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 07:09 PM
Member
 
Hoof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not bad for SD. Can anyone take some HD shots? Id like to see what this tv is really capable of.
Hoof is offline  
post #39 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
fade23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by copybeaver View Post

Brandon, Mr. foo, and tfgacek... do you guys have 360s? I know my question isn't nearly as technical or representative of much as opposed to the others. However, I'm thinking about getting the 50 inch version and was wondering how the 360 (720p native) looks on the tv. If you have time and could take pics or give a description of flaws/benefits with the 360, I'd greatly appreciate it.

On the same front, can somebody try outputting a game system at 480i and comment on the lag?
fade23 is offline  
post #40 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
fade23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAY102269 View Post

Eagerly awaiting arrival of my A200, I downloaded the owners manual form Sony. On page 19 it says not to connect PC to HDMI input. But to connect it to the PC IN (RGB). Using this with my HTPC, I was going to run 1080P with my ATI card thru DVI-HDMI. Now I wonder if this will cause any problems with the set. I will probably end up calling Sony tomorrow to clear up this issue.


Brandon, Does the TV have a protective screen? With two little munchkins running around, I might have to erect some sort of electric fence

TIA,
Jay

The party line from most manufacturers is not to connect a PC over DVI/HDMI; it doesn't mean it won't work, it just means that they don't want to support it. Too many variables, too much hassle on a support call.
fade23 is offline  
post #41 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrandonJF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Brandon, Does the TV have a protective screen? With two little munchkins running around, I might have to erect some sort of electric fence

No - and I'm in the same boat. The old Pioneer PRO-710 had a protective screen that generally had handprints all over it. I'm thinking of telling them the new tv is a monster that will eat them if they get too close. That should do it. Monster TV. Like "Monster House", but different.
BrandonJF is offline  
post #42 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mr. Foo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys - I am almost done putting the stand together. I have to break to put the kiddies to bed and will have the tv up and running shortly thereafter (if my wife is able to lift it with me from the floor to the stand top).



For those that I asked about HD-DVD and Xbox 360 (and I just glanced through the posts briefly), I have both units and can do tests for you when I get everything configured. If there is anything specific that you'd like me to do please post or pm and I will try and accomodate. Thanks.
Mr. Foo is offline  
post #43 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 07:55 PM
Member
 
DBEX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Foo View Post

Guys - I am almost done putting the stand together. I have to break to put the kiddies to bed and will have the tv up and running shortly thereafter (if my wife is able to lift it with me from the floor to the stand top).



For those that I asked about HD-DVD and Xbox 360, I have both units and can do tests for you when I get everything configured. If there is anything specific that you'd like me to do please post or pm and I will try and accomodate. Thanks.

Mr. Foo ~ What is your feeling with regards to the display of SD (480i) on this set? Try a few SD channels to compare...thanks!
DBEX is offline  
post #44 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:00 PM
Member
 
DBEX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfgacek View Post

SD imho looks ok especially at decent viewing distances of say 6-7 ft+ but one can see blockiness up close say 2-3 feet or so and especially on paused tv. It looks good though with normal tv viewing at longer viewing distances.

First pics attached.

cheers,
tim

Is the second picture "stretched" SD ?
DBEX is offline  
post #45 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:13 PM
Member
 
JAY102269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonJF View Post

No - and I'm in the same boat. The old Pioneer PRO-710 had a protective screen that generally had handprints all over it. I'm thinking of telling them the new tv is a monster that will eat them if they get too close. That should do it. Monster TV. Like "Monster House", but different.

Thanks for the info. Upon hearing this my dear wife just gave an estimated life span of 2 months before the screen is damaged. The finger prints don't bother me. Its the airborne toys and limbs that scare me. I hope the screen is at least semi-durable. I might do some research on an accidental screen damage waranty. If one exists.
JAY102269 is offline  
post #46 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
misterjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Foo View Post

Guys - I am almost done putting the stand together. I have to break to put the kiddies to bed and will have the tv up and running shortly thereafter (if my wife is able to lift it with me from the floor to the stand top).



For those that I asked about HD-DVD and Xbox 360 (and I just glanced through the posts briefly), I have both units and can do tests for you when I get everything configured. If there is anything specific that you'd like me to do please post or pm and I will try and accomodate. Thanks.

Crap. I guess I won't be going to bed tonight At least my wife is gone for the weekend so I won't have to hear her constant screams of "Let it go! You'll get your own in a couple weeks!"
misterjensen is offline  
post #47 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:18 PM
Member
 
SalvatoreLucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HAHAHA...I get that all the time too MisterJensen...

Cant wait to see pics of Mr. Foo's setup on stand...and reports of SD PQ...
SalvatoreLucian is offline  
post #48 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:23 PM
Member
 
treberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its a wonderful day!!!!

It's not TV unless it's HDTV.
treberg is offline  
post #49 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:27 PM
 
spider4re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
could you check in the diagnostics to see which verson of DRC the tv has? Can I sue Sony over the fact that I bought this tv sight unseen because the website said it has P & P and foo has said it does not? (sarcasm)
spider4re is offline  
post #50 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RudyMeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterjensen View Post

Crap. I guess I won't be going to bed tonight At least my wife is gone for the weekend so I won't have to hear her constant screams of "Let it go! You'll get your own in a couple weeks!"


ROFL....Let's go get a cup of java
RudyMeister is offline  
post #51 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:36 PM
Member
 
treberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have we confirmed that this set uses drc 1? If someone know could you tell the owners how to use the on screen menu's to find the version. Sorry if this isn't a relevant question.

It's not TV unless it's HDTV.
treberg is offline  
post #52 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:36 PM
Member
 
lenbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you PLEASE measure the base dimensions ?

Later Lenbo
lenbo is offline  
post #53 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lipcrkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KPAX
Posts: 4,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks, i think we need the owners to answer the most important question and worry about all the other stuff later. The fact is it's well known that the 2005 SXRD's had color uniformity issues so i think it's important to establish just how the A2000 approaches this issue. I have a feeling the people who now have one at home may not know what i'm getting at. But i'll ask it anyways.
For those of you with the A2000 do you see any green haze upon startup and if yes when (hopefully) does it go away?
Also, many 2005 SXRD's had blacks with some bluesh/purple tint, are the blacks pure black or do you see a mixture? Do you see green on a grey background screen at any point in time? On a dark background does it seem consistant from the center to the edges?
We need to establish whether or not Sony addressed this issue that plagued many 2005 models.
My feeling is if Sony did correct the color issues then the next major quest is to make sure the A2000 properly deinterlaces and doesn't throw any resolution away. If yes to both of these we have a winner and it will destroy the DLP's.
lipcrkr is offline  
post #54 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:49 PM
Member
 
treberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lipcrkr, Will we be able to answer your questions this early? Did the xbr1's have color issues out of the box? Not being sarcastic, I would also like your ?'s answered.

It's not TV unless it's HDTV.
treberg is offline  
post #55 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 08:51 PM
Member
 
treberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if BB will have these by the 24th. I have a 12% coupon that is good until then.

It's not TV unless it's HDTV.
treberg is offline  
post #56 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 09:03 PM
Member
 
treberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the guy that posted a "to good to be true" deal on an a2000 at 1stopplasma.com. I think you'll find this interesting.

http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/h0240.htm

It's not TV unless it's HDTV.
treberg is offline  
post #57 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hockeynut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 53" pioneer just fried on me today. Convergence board I think.

I am really interested in this TV. I'm curious to know how good HD-DVD or Bluray looks on this TV. Can't wait to start reading some good honest reviews.

Mike
hockeynut is offline  
post #58 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jason30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by treberg View Post

For the guy that posted a "to good to be true" deal on an a2000 at 1stopplasma.com. I think you'll find this interesting.

http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/h0240.htm


LOL I think that's the greatest site ever. A friend asked me to look into an online shop awhile back and I found a picture of the place on that site. It looked like it was in a warzone. Needless to say my friend bought elsewhere.
Jason30 is offline  
post #59 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lipcrkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KPAX
Posts: 4,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by treberg View Post

Lipcrkr, Will we be able to answer your questions this early? Did the xbr1's have color issues out of the box? Not being sarcastic, I would also like your ?'s answered.

Sony has maintained that seeing a green haze upon startup is normal and should dissipate within 30 minutes. Many owners had various anomolies regarding the actual time the green haze was no longer evident on a normal picture. The problem was there was no consistancy, for some people it never went away, or, it faded to a point of not being noticable etc.etc. I'm trying to establish from the few owners so far whether or not each set is doing the same thing or if it's random. I will try to find the service bulletin so that the owners can respond to what it says.
lipcrkr is offline  
post #60 of 14280 Old 07-20-2006, 09:15 PM
Member
 
tfgacek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBEX View Post

Is the second picture "stretched" SD ?

Yes. Both front screen pics are "stretched SD". or Wide Zoom per the menu which is the "stretched with minimal distortion".

Pics are SD from a DirecTV Tivo DVR using the S-Video connector which is the best connector that has. Getting at least a component video cable for my DVD player (sorry folks no HD DVD as the TV has delayed that purchase) and am also interested in seeing it but I already see a difference in blockiness between even DirecTV SD and normal DVD with the DVD looking slightly better without being nit picky technical.

Brightness to me does not seem to be an issue at all as mine is at 50% there for those pics and I played with it somewhat and it seems like it can get to be too much without going much higher than even 55 to 60 tops.

Also trying to get a hold of a connector to hook up my dell inspiron 8600 widescreen laptop to see what that looks like.

cheers,
tim
tfgacek is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off