Samsung RS232 Port Specifications - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2006, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sixdoubleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody have ANY technical information on the Samsung DLP's RS232 port? Even as far back as the HLN's or hell...even an old Samsung CRT set that had RS232....any Samsung TV ever that has had an RS232 port.

I know the manual states that it is a "service only" port, but I have a hard time believing that. I bet we can send a command to it and make it switch modes and do whatever.

I am a developer and want to write a command line utility for scripting various TV functions (mainly Source/Volume/Mute/Power/Sleep)

A google search of "samsung dlp rs232" produces lots of reviews stating the RS232 is for CONTROL. Not what the manual says though.

Anybody have anything?

Dave
sixdoubleo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2006, 09:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sixdoubleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I found this:

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-ZlEgxNV...o&i=305HLR5078

In the little side bar thing that says "What's Included?" right at the bottom, it says:

"Procedures for Controlling a DLP DTV using an RS-232 Connection"

That was just last year's model. Anybody with one of these TV's have this document?

Dave
sixdoubleo is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sixdoubleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bingo....

Hah...gotta love the Internet. That crutchfield site above had the HLR5078 manual for download. Low and behold in the index was what I need.

I really have a hard time believing that Samsung changed anything on the RS232 port since last year. Wonder why they took it out of this year's manuals.

I'm gonna hook a laptop up and try to query the port. With any luck I should have a utility available for anybody who's interested.

If this works, this will be really cool. I see on the spec sheet that there are commands for setting Contrast, Brightness, film modes, etc. One could easily switch between preferred calibration settings by selecting them on an HTPC menu. Also it could provide a possible workaround for the people wanting a "Set Overscan OFF" macro...etc. I'll report back.

Dave
sixdoubleo is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
jbInPhx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: phoenix
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixdoubleo View Post

I really have a hard time believing that Samsung changed anything on the RS232 port since last year. Wonder why they took it out of this year's manuals.

Reviving an old thread to see if anyone's had luck controlling a Samsung DLP via their "service only" RS-232 ports?

Saw an HL-S6167W last week at Sam's Club for $2100, but without RS-232 control beyond "service only", it's out ...
jbInPhx is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
midiman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I made a cable for the 61A750 and wrote a very small PBWin program and was able to control the TV.

The TV end is a 3.5mm stereo plug. The PC end is a female DB-9.

The main sleeve of the 3.5mm plug connects to the DB-9 pin 5.
The small sleeve connects to pin 3.
The tip connects to pin 2.

Communications consist of a 7 byte request to the the TV and a 3 byte response from the TV.

A list came with the TV showing the functions and codes for each. My problem is that some of the functions I wan't are not in the list. Like setting the LED level or controlling the power on light.

If anyone's interested I can provide these but another thread referenced a Crutchfield's manual that has all of them in it.

The reason I started on this quest today was because my TV seems to do a power-on reset occassionaly and the settings I want revert to some default value.

So I used a voltmeter and figured out how to make a cable and wrote a short basic program to set the one's that I could to the values I want. Works great!

I've notified Samsung but haven't received a response. Cycling power also causes the values to revert to the defaults. It doesn't seem to save these values to flash. Hope they respond soon.
midiman1 is offline  
Old 08-14-2008, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
freddan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!

Midiman, could you please send me this application, and if it's ok, include the source code? Thanks

My e-mail is freddan85@gmail.com

thanks!

EDIT: Also, what list of commands do you have? I've attached two .gif pictures with some commands and a "drawing" of how the cable should be pinned
LL
LL
freddan is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 02:36 PM
Member
 
mholgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Help someone!
I've wired my cable correctly and plugged it into to my Samsung Series9 LCD TV (LE46A956) but it's not responding to anything.
I'm trying to communicate to it by sending a few commands as a test using these simple commands in the command prompt:

mode com3:9600,n,8,1
echo v>com3

..but nothing happens!
Do I need to enable the 'Service port' by doing something in the Service menu, or did the port just work with factory settings for you guys?
mholgate is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 11:35 PM
Member
 
usernotfound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Purdue University
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old thread, but is the closest I could find to an active discussion. I have an hl50a650, and have set up the serial communications, as well as hotkeys on my media PC keyboard to trigger the commands.

However, i did all of this on a plane ride, without being able to test on the TV. I get home, everything works, except the TV only spits back 0x03 0x0C 0xFF, which is the 'fail' response. I should be getting 0x03 0x0C 0xF1 if the command succeeded.

I have no idea why following their rs232 spec ( http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Man.../30550A650.PDF ) doesn't work...I am clearly communicated between my PC and TV, but the commands aren't working. Has anyone gotten this to work??

--
Waiting to move to get a TV...
usernotfound is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 09:48 PM
Newbie
 
grep-v_BS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by usernotfound View Post

I know this is an old thread, but is the closest I could find to an active discussion. I have an hl50a650, and have set up the serial communications, as well as hotkeys on my media PC keyboard to trigger the commands.

However, i did all of this on a plane ride, without being able to test on the TV. I get home, everything works, except the TV only spits back 0x03 0x0C 0xFF, which is the 'fail' response. I should be getting 0x03 0x0C 0xF1 if the command succeeded.

I have no idea why following their rs232 spec ( http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Man.../30550A650.PDF ) doesn't work...I am clearly communicated between my PC and TV, but the commands aren't working. Has anyone gotten this to work??

Hi usernotfound,

I have a HL67A750 and have the serial control working. The protocol is exactly the same as the HLxxA650 models. It is possible that your check sum calculation is incorrect. The example in the manual is wrong. The example check sum should be 0x6f not 0x70. Here is a sample C implementation of the check sum.

Code:
#include 
int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
    int i;
    char cmd[] = "\\x08\\x22\\x0b\\x02\\x00\\x5a";
    unsigned char cs = 0;
    for(i=0;i
Also, don't forget that 0x00 is a valid command byte not a NULL terminator.

Hope this helps.
grep-v_BS is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a couple Samsung TV's I want to control w/ RS232.

one is a LN40B550 and the other LN26B360.

I tried downloading the RS232 spec from the crutchfield site but it's either down or no longer available.

Does anyone know an alternate source to get the RS232 specs for the above TV's?

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try this link:

http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Man.../30561A750.PDF

This is the user manual at the crutchfield site. Starting at page 116 are the RS232 docs.

Now, can someone supply me with some code for this interface. I too have built the cable, but have been unable to get any responses from the TV, using various terminal software.
Lee Bailey is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From what I've read you can't turn a Samsung on via RS232 which is a no go for me (unless someone has figured it out ).

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiasco View Post

From what I've read you can't turn a Samsung on via RS232 which is a no go for me (unless someone has figured it out ).

Well, the docs clearly show there are RS232 commands for it on the A750.
Lee Bailey is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From everything I've read thus far, when the Sammy goes into power saving mode or power off it shuts down the RS232 port preventing powering on the set over RS232.

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 04:04 PM
Newbie
 
grep-v_BS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiasco View Post

From everything I've read thus far, when the Sammy goes into power saving mode or power off it shuts down the RS232 port preventing powering on the set over RS232.

Hey Fiasco,

I don't know about the LN40B550 or LN26B360 but I know for a fact that the HL67A750 does turn on via RS232 power on command. I use this feature all the time.
grep-v_BS is offline  
Old 11-24-2009, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
ryan_mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
id like to control my tv with serial i have a cable but need some kind of software could someone point me in the right direction or share what your using ?
ryan_mc is offline  
Old 11-24-2009, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I use a combination of a eventghost (free) running on a HTPC and CommandFusion remote interface (CF iViewer $150ish license, can do 1 page flip (2 page remote) for free)(can't give this remote building GUI tool enough props) on my iPhone and GUC232A USB->serial adapters ($12-16 each).

You end up w/ a remote featuring your own artwork, set up exactly the way you want that gives feedback on the state of the various devices under it's control (power state, frequency, channel, listening modes, lighting modes ect)

nirvana....
LL

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 11-25-2009, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Now... how to generate the checksum for the panny in python....

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 11-25-2009, 10:39 PM
Newbie
 
ryan_mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you use the serial plugin for eventghost or how do you do it ? i use eventghost already so that would be perfect but i was unsuccessful using the serial plugin.
ryan_mc is offline  
Old 11-25-2009, 11:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I write my own plugins.

You can use the Serial thread though.

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 11:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I spoke w/ a rep from samsung and he pointed me to this RS232 spec file for 2008-2009 Samsung TV's for RS232 control

Unfortunately there is no mention of the checksum, ack responses ect.

The commands appear to be different then those listed in the DLP manual linked in this thread.

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 11-27-2009, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
ryan_mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fiasco,
the eventghost plugin you made is working really good with my
hl-61a750 thank you.
Ryan
ryan_mc is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 11:42 PM
Newbie
 
stbluesrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had any luck controlling samsung LCD TV's over rs232?

I have the spec sheet from samsung for the 2008-2009 TV's. However, I'm unable to send any commands to the TV.
stbluesrul is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stbluesrul View Post

Has anyone had any luck controlling samsung LCD TV's over rs232?

I have the spec sheet from samsung for the 2008-2009 TV's. However, I'm unable to send any commands to the TV.

yup, thats what the last four or five posts in this thread were about.

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 01:41 AM
Newbie
 
stbluesrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spoke with Samsung and they stated that the ex-link port can receive RS232 commands by default. So I shouldn't have to change anything in the service menu. I have built my serial to stereo cable correctly but I'm unable to get the TV to respond. I'm just sending a volume up command to see if I can get it working and nothing happens. I'm inputting hex 0x01 0x00 0x00 0x01 into my terminal program and its a no go. Is the there a prefix or suffix I am missing? Because its not listed on the RS232 control codes page. See below:

h**p://ars.samsung.com/customer/usa/jsp/faqs/faqs_view_us.jsp?SITE_ID=1&PG_ID=0&AT_ID=135932&PROD_SUB_ID=0&PROD_ID=41

This is the last device I'm trying to get serial control working on. I already have it going for my Yahama and the DirecTV HR-23.
My Sammy is a LN46A750. Should have gotten a Sharp in hindsight.

Thanks.
stbluesrul is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You are missing the checksum and prefix

Here is how I calculate a checksum in python

Code:
def generatechecksum(value):
    data = value.decode("hex")
    sum = 0
    for byte in data:
        sum += ord(byte)
    print "Two's complement:", hex((~sum + 1) & 0xFF)
    data = hex((~sum + 1) & 0xFF)
    data = str(data)[2:]
    if ( len(data) < 2 ):    
       data = '0' + data
    print "checksum " + data
    return data
So, for the volume up command (01000100) the checksum is d4 and for the volume dn command (01000200) the checksum is d3. All commands are prefixed with 0822

volume up 082201000100d4
volume dn 082201000200d3
pwr standby 082200000001d5
pwr on 082200000002d4

ect ect

St Louis, MO - Lutron certified
www.jag-es.com
Fiasco is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 01:37 AM
Newbie
 
stbluesrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fiasco,

Thank you so much. Finally was able to get the TV to respond. Power On and Off works and so does the volume. However, just one more question. How do I calculate the checksums for the different commands? I don't really have a solid understanding to go about doing that and I'm not much a of a programmer.
stbluesrul is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
euclidez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had anyone could turn on the LN40B550 Samsung LCD with rs232 "service port"?

Thanks al lot.
euclidez is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
htpcnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a new htpc and am discovering how great eventghost is. ryan_mc mentions an eventghost plugin by fiasco for controlling samsung via ex-link rs232, but I don't see a link to it. also, i've got the usb-rs232 cable but not the one that goes into the ex-link mini-plug. Is there a pin-out diagram somewhere? Or do they sell them pre-made online or otherwise?
htpcnoob is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Fiasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Fiasco is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off