Samsung HLS-5679W LED DLP Owners Thread (*NO PRICE TALK) - Page 97 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 2944 Old 02-18-2012, 09:25 AM
Newbie
 
ccctbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today I talked to Quadaisha at ECR (I called 1-800-SAMSUNG, 1-800-7267864).

My complaint today included- that I was never notified of the Class Action even though I am a member of the class. I have previously paid for $xxx + $xx a light engine replacement... which was possibly not required (Power supply issues) and have DIY the power-supply caps repair and a replacement of the main unit board (Tuner quit working).

Samsung is happy to set me up with a repair but is not offering any consideration with regard to this lemon.

I don't think you should have to repair your TV every six months.

Last edited by ccctbb; 07-15-2014 at 03:23 AM.
ccctbb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 2944 Old 02-22-2012, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
guestspeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Jarsil, Cool fix. The cooling will probably extend the life of all the components in there. But there may be a more sinister reason than just heat behind all the problems we've been having with this tv. Check out this wiki artical: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague
guestspeaker is offline  
post #2883 of 2944 Old 02-23-2012, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wesley Hester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Selma, Alabama, USA
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm sure most owner's of Samsung HDTV's with capacitor issues knows about this:

Samsung to pay customers up to $650 over broken LCD (Plasma and DLP too) TVs

Samsung Settlement page

This covers the HLT models of DLP.
Wesley Hester is offline  
post #2884 of 2944 Old 02-23-2012, 06:15 PM
Member
 
stans39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see the HLS-5679W on the settlement list. Hopefully, they will include all the LED DLPs.
stans39 is offline  
post #2885 of 2944 Old 02-23-2012, 11:39 PM
Newbie
 
guestspeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Stans39, The settlement, as far as I'm aware, happened two years ago. The HLS's are included in the settlement, http://www.samsung.com/us/dlptvsettlement/ but the settlement strategically doesn't cover any of our problems. I've read the settlement and none of the problems mentioned in this forum are mentioned in the settlement. Go to an earlier part of this thread to read about members first receiving a notice about the settlement: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...709624&page=89
guestspeaker is offline  
post #2886 of 2944 Old 02-26-2012, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
kpypk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I've had it with this TV.

Two years after I bought it, I had the power cycling problem (out of warranty at this point) and like an idiot I paid to have the main power board replaced rather than getting a new TV. Two years later, I now have a problem where I have sound but no picture.

On start-up, the LED indicator on the TV's power button flashes for quite a bit of time and the screen flashes from off to blank screen (not really perceptible). Then I get sound, but the picture is as if the TV is off. I can change channels and switch inputs but no picture.

I'm about ready to sell this thing as a fix-me-up and pick up a new TV. (anyone interested in salvaging parts?)

Is more than 4 years really too much to ask out of a product that I spent over $1k for?
kpypk is offline  
post #2887 of 2944 Old 03-14-2012, 10:09 AM
Member
 
CEL2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 5679W is still in perfect shape and works great. I took it down about a year ago and replaced it with a 55 inch LCD. Now it sits in the box waiting for the electronics graveyard on March 24th. If anyone is interested in picking up this set for free before its gone just let me know. I am in Northern NJ outside of NYC. Otherwise it goes bye bye.

Thanks,

CEL2004
CEL2004 is offline  
post #2888 of 2944 Old 03-14-2012, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
johnd12491's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem keeping Movie mode active. After I set up in Movie mode and return to normal, the mode will jump to Dynamic after 10 or so minutes. Any idea what I need to do to stop this?
johnd12491 is offline  
post #2889 of 2944 Old 03-14-2012, 09:10 PM
Member
 
a68oliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New Castle, IN
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recall that there was a problem with a firmware update for some models that wouldn't let the desired mode "stick". It would revert to "store demo" mode after a power down. A firmware upgrade fixed the problem. The other cause is if the TV is set to store demo mode instead of the customer mode. Sorry, I don't recall exactly what the terms are or where they are accessible in the menus.

Try searchig the forum or another member may chime in with the specifics.

Although, those solutons may have applied to the xx87/89 series. Not sure if they work here.

Alan Oliver
Tivo user since May 2000
a68oliver is offline  
post #2890 of 2944 Old 03-15-2012, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
johnd12491's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. I believe I was in Shop Mode. I must have pushed the Menu button on the TV for more than 3 seconds while I was trying to adjust the volume. I got it out of Shop Mode by pressing the Menu button again for 3 seconds and now it stays in Movie Mode.

Thanks
John
johnd12491 is offline  
post #2891 of 2944 Old 05-06-2012, 10:48 PM
Member
 
stans39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought my tv in early July 2007. Although it doesn't always come on the first try for the past few months, it still works and it looks like I will probably make it to 5 years which must be a record for this tv. I realize that sooner or later (probably sooner), I will have to replace the capacitors.
stans39 is offline  
post #2892 of 2944 Old 05-19-2012, 07:38 AM
Member
 
azaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My brother and I both purchased this tv. A few years ago I replaced the board (capacitor issues) and now the tv is showing green waves (both tv's). I have not looked through this forum yet to see what the issue is. Nonetheless I am thoroughly disappointed with what a lemon this thing turned out to be. I have a 12 year old Triniton that works like new and my father has a 20+ big screen still working. Just recently I bought a new tv as well as appliances and skipped Samsung. I don't doubt that they make excellent products but this TV was too much of a dud for me to give them my money again. I am avoiding all of their products if I can (even though I understand they are making screens and many other components for a lot of other companies).
azaze is offline  
post #2893 of 2944 Old 05-24-2012, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
Streacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have an HLS 5679wx/xaa. Brought it home few years back, had mainboard replaced first day, one year later, PS went bad. Samsung replaced it. This lasted 6 months, then I did the capacitor thing, has worked perfect since then. Except now, when i turn the channel the picture washes out. At first, I thought it was red only, but I have since seen red, green, and blue in the unusually lightened image. The colors show up more pink than red, the blue and greens are light in color as well. I can get it to work by power cycling it, but as soon as I change the channel, it washes out. Any ideas?
Streacks is offline  
post #2894 of 2944 Old 05-27-2012, 01:02 AM
Newbie
 
guestspeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Streacks, I can't be sure without seeing pics of your tv but this sounds like the DMD board has gone bad. The part# is: BP41-00267A Here is a link to some photos and repair tips: http://imgur.com/a/TS6kU#oq5HR good luck, Mike
guestspeaker is offline  
post #2895 of 2944 Old 06-29-2012, 02:37 PM
Member
 
stans39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I first turn my tv on there is no sound. If I turn it off and then turn it on again I have sound. I assume it may be a capacitor problem, but wonder if anyone else has had this problem and what was the fix.
stans39 is offline  
post #2896 of 2944 Old 07-10-2012, 06:31 PM
Newbie
 
nickconforti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found myself lost in pages of problems.

My TV started displaying half picture and half multicolored stationary pixels on the right side.

Sometimes it starts up green for a split second.

Any suggestions? I've seen other green screen issues but none like mine.

I have no pictures atm I'm on my kindle...
nickconforti is offline  
post #2897 of 2944 Old 08-29-2012, 09:59 PM
Member
 
stans39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently had problems with my tv not coming on the first try, and sometimes coming on with no sound. I was using the remote to turn on the tv. I recently bought a Newpoint Advanced surge protector and use it to turn the tv on and off and have had no more problems.
stans39 is offline  
post #2898 of 2944 Old 09-07-2012, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
SuperTrouper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What does this mean? (I've already done the PS mod about a year ago).
Not there on warm up but every input exhibits this noise on lower half of screen.
SuperTrouper is offline  
post #2899 of 2944 Old 09-13-2012, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
impostor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody had all the picture options greyed out? I cant even adjust the picture mode, and I dont know how long it's been like this. The picture is OK.
impostor is offline  
post #2900 of 2944 Old 10-12-2012, 12:28 PM
Member
 
jhisey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two functioning DMD boards for this TV if anybody is in the market...
jhisey is offline  
post #2901 of 2944 Old 10-16-2012, 05:58 PM
Newbie
 
Uromastyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Central Alabama
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I've got a new one.

Our house took a lightning strike that knocked out our Cable / DVR box. Upon replacement, the TV won't display anything on HDMI1, HDMI2 or Component. Air, Cable and AV1 inputs work fine.

I've tried different HDMI cables, and Different HDMI sources (like my tablet) that work fine on other TVs, just not the Samsung.

Any suggestions?
Uromastyx is offline  
post #2902 of 2944 Old 10-18-2012, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
RMMEDIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The left side of my screen just went out this Monday... Depending on highlights or shadows it turns bright PINK or GREEN hues splashing all over the image on the left side.

I believe this problem is the DMD board. How much are you selling the boards for?

I've had this TV since early 2007 and had to repair in 2 times out of warranty. Both times due to the much documented capacitor problem on the power supply. I'm not really willingly to spend much more on this TV set.....

If the DMD fix appears beyond my capabilities and threshold for costs... I may have to just call it quits.

The funny thing is my Sony CRT I bought 10+ years ago still runs perfectly fine... They sure don't make stuff like they used to.
RMMEDIT is offline  
post #2903 of 2944 Old 11-04-2012, 06:30 AM
Member
 
jhisey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one DMD board left. I'm not a TV repair guy so I can't tell anyone it will fix their problem but if you know it will, or want to give it a try, $25 + $7 shipping and the last one is yours.
jhisey is offline  
post #2904 of 2944 Old 11-05-2012, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
mbrucedogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone else has a DMD Board, I would be interested in buying it. Please send me a personal message if you can help me out.
mbrucedogs is offline  
post #2905 of 2944 Old 11-07-2012, 08:06 AM
Member
 
stans39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, my 5679 tv finally died. I am sure it is the power supply board. I can't seem to locate a new one, and am not surprised as all these tvs seem to have that problem sooner or later. In my case it was later. I got 5 years and four months out of my power supply which might be a record. Does anyone know where I can find a power supply board? If not, I guess I will have to try to find someone who can solder on some new capacitors.
stans39 is offline  
post #2906 of 2944 Old 11-20-2012, 06:07 AM
Newbie
 
WannabeRepairman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jhisey doesn't have any more dmd boards. If anyone wants to sell one, shoot me a PM!
WannabeRepairman is offline  
post #2907 of 2944 Old 11-25-2012, 09:38 AM
Member
 
stans39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jhisey, I haven't heard from you. Did you receive the message I sent concerning the used part you had for this tv? If you still have it, please message me.

Take care,
John
stans39 is offline  
post #2908 of 2944 Old 12-07-2012, 06:42 PM
Newbie
 
smithenhiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone.

I too have this model TV. It's been sitting in the basement unused for a couple years now. I did the cap fix on the power supply, then the picture started going bad (it would completely discolor the right side of the screen, while the left side appeared OK), my research indicates a failing DMD board.

I have no desire in fixing it, as I've since replaced it with a LED flat panel TV,

If anyone needs parts, I would be happy to sell you something you might need at reasonable prices. I'd rather someone get some use out of it's parts (and me recoup a fraction of my 'investment' in this Tv) than to set it on the curb for the garbage man. If someone is skilled enough to fix it, I could sell it whole, I'm located around the Pittsburgh PA area.

If interested, please send me an email: jtp336@gmail.com

Thank you,
Jason.
smithenhiven is offline  
post #2909 of 2944 Old 12-23-2012, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
smithenhiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, as a follow up to my post above, here's a picture of the TV, plugged in and "working", I use that term loosely, as it powers up so it does work, but something else inside does not.

I'll be honest, I have not scrolled through the 97 pages of this thread to determine the exact problem, but I "think" the problem is a faulty DMD board, would anyone care to agree or disagree? That or a light engine, but I doubt that would be it, since the entire screen lights up (I think if it were the light engine, half the screen would be black, correct?).

smithenhiven is offline  
post #2910 of 2944 Old 02-19-2013, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
davesasw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just replaced my DMD board 3 days ago and am now getting a "check fan no.4" message. Any suggestions? Which fan is Fan no.4?
davesasw is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off