Official JVC HD-xxFH97 HD-xxFN97 HD-xxFC97 Owners Thread - Page 104 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Cynic821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gb33 View Post

Come on, there has got to be more user adjustments than just the RGB drives. I have read several reviews for this tv where they describe taking down the brightness (light output) and adjusting in different shades of the grayscale. Maybe there is something wrong with mine if I see the green-yellow in the highlights and skins?

have you looked through the service manuals provided ?

JVC HD-56FN97 (4th Times A Charm)
PS3, Wii, Xbox 360 + HD-DVD
Motorola DCT6412 III HD/DVR Reciever (Comcast SF Bay Area)
Cynic821 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
lowenbotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm actually using all my inputs with the defaut "Standard" video display setting and am quite pleased with the picture. Looks really good to me. Love the picture.
lowenbotten is online now  
post #3093 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Cynic821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed standard looked great too, but i did mess with it a little, my brightness is down around -10 and picture around +5. Gives amazing contrast ratio.

I had some great Wii Settings on my first 56FC97, ill try and replicate this weekend and post my settings.

JVC HD-56FN97 (4th Times A Charm)
PS3, Wii, Xbox 360 + HD-DVD
Motorola DCT6412 III HD/DVR Reciever (Comcast SF Bay Area)
Cynic821 is offline  
post #3094 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 10:26 AM
Member
 
RickRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is a good aftermarket remote? The I dislike the JVC one.
RickRock is offline  
post #3095 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Cynic821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Logitech 880 is a nice universal remote.

JVC HD-56FN97 (4th Times A Charm)
PS3, Wii, Xbox 360 + HD-DVD
Motorola DCT6412 III HD/DVR Reciever (Comcast SF Bay Area)
Cynic821 is offline  
post #3096 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Dennis Heller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To go cheap, and if you have a simple system, I've found the Logitech 520 to be quite good in the short time I've used it.

"Too often, the Academy ignores movies that aren't good."
Dennis Heller is offline  
post #3097 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 11:12 AM
Member
 
Frobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I confused? When I am using my Dish 622, does the JVC know if the signal is hi-def or does the 622 convert everything to 1080i so it all looks the same to the JVC? Therefore are the standard def settings applicable only to DVD signals (mine doesn't upconvert) and VCR signals. It seems that I want different settings for SD from the 622 than for HD. Should I change the mode so that I can have different settings for the 622, one mode for HD and one for upconverted SD? Does this make any sense to anyone?
Frobbo is offline  
post #3098 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
dponeill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brook Park, Ohio
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickRock View Post

What is a good aftermarket remote? The I dislike the JVC one.

The Harmony remotes are great. They all work the same way so find one in your price range with a button layout that you like and buy it.

Dennis
dponeill is offline  
post #3099 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
dponeill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brook Park, Ohio
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frobbo View Post

Am I confused? When I am using my Dish 622, does the JVC know if the signal is hi-def or does the 622 convert everything to 1080i so it all looks the same to the JVC? Therefore are the standard def settings applicable only to DVD signals (mine doesn't upconvert) and VCR signals. It seems that I want different settings for SD from the 622 than for HD. Should I change the mode so that I can have different settings for the 622, one mode for HD and one for upconverted SD? Does this make any sense to anyone?

If you have the 622 set to output everything at 1080i, then the JVC sees it as a HD signal. It could be advantageous to have the 622 just pass the signal and let the JVC deal with it, but that's one of those things that you just have to try and see if you like the results. The JVC can store separate settings for HD and SD so that could add flexibility too.

Dennis
dponeill is offline  
post #3100 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 11:39 AM
aod
Advanced Member
 
aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On location
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking of remotes, I asked this in a thread concerning the new JVC HD-58S998 / HD-65S998 TV's. Does anyone know if their remotes will work with the current gen JVC's? They have direct (discrete) access to the inputs on their remotes and I want to get this. No, I don't want a Harmony (or similar) remote. I just want the OEM one. I've already got a universal learning remote. The current gen JVC's support the use of discrete codes, but the remotes do not have them. I'm thinking these just might be an update to current ones and hope they work.

aod is offline  
post #3101 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
pepco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why does these sets loose settings when unplugged or when you have a power loss?? I noticed the speaker settings (treble,bass) keep their settings but the picture settings reset to factory. Any ideas????
pepco is offline  
post #3102 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Cynic821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aod View Post

Speaking of remotes, I asked this in a thread concerning the new JVC HD-58S998 / HD-65S998 TV's. Does anyone know if their remotes will work with the current gen JVC's? They have direct (discrete) access to the inputs on their remotes and I want to get this. No, I don't want a Harmony (or similar) remote. I just want the OEM one. I've already got a universal learning remote. The current gen JVC's support the use of discrete codes, but the remotes do not have them. I'm thinking these just might be an update to current ones and hope they work.

Thats a great question/point aod. Hopefully someone will answer. Then i will order a remote from the JVC website if it has the same capabilities as the 56FN97 remote. While i dont care about cycling through the inputs, it would still be cool.

Someone answer.

JVC HD-56FN97 (4th Times A Charm)
PS3, Wii, Xbox 360 + HD-DVD
Motorola DCT6412 III HD/DVR Reciever (Comcast SF Bay Area)
Cynic821 is offline  
post #3103 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyJeff View Post

How bad is it? Can you photograph it?


I will try and see if it shows via photo. I think I have a good example or 2 of it recorded.
gb33 is offline  
post #3104 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aod View Post

Speaking of remotes, I asked this in a thread concerning the new JVC HD-58S998 / HD-65S998 TV's. Does anyone know if their remotes will work with the current gen JVC's? They have direct (discrete) access to the inputs on their remotes and I want to get this. No, I don't want a Harmony (or similar) remote. I just want the OEM one. I've already got a universal learning remote. The current gen JVC's support the use of discrete codes, but the remotes do not have them. I'm thinking these just might be an update to current ones and hope they work.

I will say that yes they do work. Because I noticed that those had discrete input keys in a magazine picture I saw. So when I programmed my Harmony I told it that I had the aformentioned TV set, wich came with the discrete remote, and it works great. Jumps right to the inputs.
Now I just need to go find that "lock your pic settings" thread, and 2 of my 4 complaints of the tv will be bypassed.
gb33 is offline  
post #3105 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
dponeill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brook Park, Ohio
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gb33 View Post

I will say that yes they do work. Because I noticed that those had discrete input keys in a magazine picture I saw. So when I programmed my Harmony I told it that I had the aformentioned TV set, wich came with the discrete remote, and it works great. Jumps right to the inputs.
Now I just need to go find that "lock your pic settings" thread, and 2 of my 4 complaints of the tv will be bypassed.

I'll have to give that a try. I've been having problems with my Harmony using the FN97 codes. Even though they list the correct inupts, they don't work.

Dennis
dponeill is offline  
post #3106 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 01:47 PM
Newbie
 
MPI_Painter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
micromain;i went the easy route,radioshack for a pair of composite y patch cords.....they work
MPI_Painter is offline  
post #3107 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 01:54 PM
Member
 
bozzaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gb33 View Post

I will say that yes they do work. Because I noticed that those had discrete input keys in a magazine picture I saw. So when I programmed my Harmony I told it that I had the aformentioned TV set, wich came with the discrete remote, and it works great. Jumps right to the inputs.
Now I just need to go find that "lock your pic settings" thread, and 2 of my 4 complaints of the tv will be bypassed.

I'm curious ... When I go to add one of the newer TVs (HD-58S998 for example), my Harmony software asks me what TV my TV is similar to. Logitech doesn't seem to have the newer TVs in their database yet. What model number did you use that didn't ask what TV yours was similar to? (When you get that question, the Logitech software just uses the codes for the other TV, not the new one)
bozzaj is offline  
post #3108 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 03:34 PM
Member
 
sjr14221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dponeill View Post

The Harmony remotes are great. They all work the same way so find one in your price range with a button layout that you like and buy it.

How sturdy are the Harmony remotes? I read one user review on amazon (maybe) that said they were kind of flimsy. Based on user opinions here, I was all set to buy the 880, however, I drop my remote at least several times a week from the couch onto a porcelain tile floor (never said I wasn't clumsy )! Should I stay away?

Thanx
please forgive- this is not an fx97 question
sjr14221 is offline  
post #3109 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Cynic821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjr14221 View Post

How sturdy are the Harmony remotes? I read one user review on amazon (maybe) that said they were kind of flimsy. Based on user opinions here, I was all set to buy the 880, however, I drop my remote at least several times a week from the couch onto a porcelain tile floor (never said I wasn't clumsy )! Should I stay away?

Thanx
please forgive- this is not an fx97 question

nothing to forgive, this is all relative to perfecting our Fx97 experience

ive held one before and it didnt feel to flimsy, and i think the added cost of the remote will FORCE you to be more careful since its 200 bucks.

JVC HD-56FN97 (4th Times A Charm)
PS3, Wii, Xbox 360 + HD-DVD
Motorola DCT6412 III HD/DVR Reciever (Comcast SF Bay Area)
Cynic821 is offline  
post #3110 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 03:52 PM
Member
 
neneloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickRock View Post

so for all the 61FN97 owners..... are you happy with your purchase? Was it worth the money you paid for it?

NO. I got the JVC 61FN97 after I exchanged 2 SOny KDS60A2000 and the picture quality is worse on the JVC. There is no green tint but overall PQ is not acceptable to me.

The pic looks blurry and too much artifacts. I did notice that cable box had to be set at 720p for HD sources to look good. I have Time Warner Cable.

Maybe I have to set focus but I am not going to mess around taking things apart and risk chance of breaking set.

JVC tv is going back to bestbuy and I will pick up Mitsubishi WD65732.
neneloco is offline  
post #3111 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Cynic821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neneloco View Post

NO. I got the JVC 61FN97 after I exchanged 2 SOny KDS60A2000 and the picture quality is worse on the JVC. There is no green tint but overall PQ is not acceptable to me.

The pic looks blurry and too much artifacts. I did notice that cable box had to be set at 720p for HD sources to look good. I have Time Warner Cable.

Maybe I have to set focus but I am not going to mess around taking things apart and risk chance of breaking set.

JVC tv is going back to bestbuy and I will pick up Mitsubishi WD65732.

Sounds like you had the same problem that i had with my 56FN97 from Best Buy. I returned it and got one with a MUCH greater picture. twice as sharp. and much brighter as well with better blacks.

BUt its possible that the focus ring is not aligned correctly, see the service manual. Its rotated by hand none the less. But i didnt mess with the ring either, i just did an even exchange for a new one and now i actually smile when i get home and enjoy some HDTV and HD-DVD/BD movies.

But in any case, you should be able to get a tech to fix it soon as well for free.

Not a major reason, but a reason i stayed with the 56FN97 when i returned it most recently to best buy was the price. 1540 before tax.

JVC HD-56FN97 (4th Times A Charm)
PS3, Wii, Xbox 360 + HD-DVD
Motorola DCT6412 III HD/DVR Reciever (Comcast SF Bay Area)
Cynic821 is offline  
post #3112 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
kgoetz97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hampton Roads, VA (Smithfield)
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neneloco View Post

NO. I got the JVC 61FN97 after I exchanged 2 SOny KDS60A2000 and the picture quality is worse on the JVC. There is no green tint but overall PQ is not acceptable to me.

The pic looks blurry and too much artifacts. I did notice that cable box had to be set at 720p for HD sources to look good. I have Time Warner Cable.

Maybe I have to set focus but I am not going to mess around taking things apart and risk chance of breaking set.

JVC tv is going back to bestbuy and I will pick up Mitsubishi WD65732.

I first had the JVC and returned it for the Sony A2000 and both my wife and I thought that the Sony was noticeably worse...so it went back and we have a JVC and love it!

Life is good...
kgoetz97 is offline  
post #3113 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
IndyJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gb33 View Post

I will try and see if it shows via photo. I think I have a good example or 2 of it recorded.

Or, if you're on the north side, come on over and take a look at mine and see how it compares...
IndyJeff is offline  
post #3114 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyJeff View Post

Or, if you're on the north side, come on over and take a look at mine and see how it compares...

Funny. Creepy, but funny. Just kidding man. Actually I am. Fishers 96th & 69.
gb33 is offline  
post #3115 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgoetz97 View Post

I first had the JVC and returned it for the Sony A2000 and both my wife and I thought that the Sony was noticeably worse...so it went back and we have a JVC and love it!

I came oh so close to doing this 2 days ago. HH Gregg had an open box 50A2000 for $1350 which is what I thought I wanted all along. But I didn't pull the trigger. Although HH is where I got my JVC (by the way I am a 52FA97, please dont kick me out, I like you guys) I just hate how they make you feel if you don't buy their 5yr plan for $400. Sorry I was not going to pay nearly 50% more just to get your service plan. And when I was looking at the Sony, of course that is the first thing the guy starts in with.
Any ways, i still have my JVC.
gb33 is offline  
post #3116 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
IndyJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gb33 View Post

I came oh so close to doing this 2 days ago. HH Gregg had an open box 50A2000 for $1350 which is what I thought I wanted all along. But I didn't pull the trigger. Although HH is where I got my JVC (by the way I am a 52FA97, please dont kick me out, I like you guys) I just hate how they make you feel if you don't buy their 5yr plan for $400. Sorry I was not going to pay nearly 50% more just to get your service plan. And when I was looking at the Sony, of course that is the first thing the guy starts in with.
Any ways, i still have my JVC.


Hmm... I wonder if the 52FA97 is more prone to greenish or yellowish tints. The pic on the FN is really stunning, IMO.

The service plan at HH includes new lamps. We'll see if it pays off (they talked me into it...).
IndyJeff is offline  
post #3117 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
lowenbotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyJeff View Post

Hmm... I wonder if the 52FA97 is more prone to greenish or yellowish tints. The pic on the FN is really stunning, IMO.

The service plan at HH includes new lamps. We'll see if it pays off (they talked me into it...).

You can get plans on line for lamp replacements. I found a 5-year lamp replacement by RepairMaster that costs $140 which I plan to purchase in the future.
lowenbotten is online now  
post #3118 of 6628 Old 01-26-2007, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Cynic821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowenbotten View Post

You can get plans on line for lamp replacements. I found a 5-year lamp replacement by RepairMaster that costs $140 which I plan to purchase in the future.

140 is suspiciously low

JVC HD-56FN97 (4th Times A Charm)
PS3, Wii, Xbox 360 + HD-DVD
Motorola DCT6412 III HD/DVR Reciever (Comcast SF Bay Area)
Cynic821 is offline  
post #3119 of 6628 Old 01-27-2007, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
logangreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I made the leap last night. Bought the JVC HD56FN97 from BB. I had a Sony all picked out and was actually getting ready to sign off, when I made the switch. Sony was 350 dollars more and only 55". To me the Sony and JVC had equal PQ so I went with the lower price. It's refreshing to know that a site like this exists. My set gets delivered on Wed (31st) and I'm sure I'll have several questions. Thanks in advance!!!
logangreg is offline  
post #3120 of 6628 Old 01-27-2007, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Bepaof8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW -

I have a HD-61FN97. I read posts suggesting an Omnimount mount for a center-channel speaker so I got one, placing it on top of the middle of the screen (I have a Paradigm CC-370 center ~ 25 lbs). After around 90 days, I have noticed the center of the screen sagging by about 1/4 inch. I removed the Omnimount/center channel, putting the speaker on a shelf below the TV. I manually stretched the screen's center vertically some. Now it's off by less than 1/8 of an inch. "Lesson Learned" about the strength of the screen's framework.

Pete
Bepaof8 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off