Official Sony XBR2 (60" & 70") Owner's Thread - Page 3 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > Rear Projection Units > Official Sony XBR2 (60" & 70") Owner's Thread

Rear Projection Units

KoolKolo's Avatar KoolKolo
06:39 AM Liked: 10
post #61 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 7
Joined: May 2005
@the happy owners :

Can you hook up an HTPC / Notebook to your XBR2 and use 1920*1080 60Hz via VGA???

Does the picture fill the whole screen?
-> Screenshots from this mode?

Is the picture from the XBOX360 via VGA Cable in 1280*720 or 1366*768 fullscreen?

Thanks in advance!

Greetings from germany...

Kai
mlpetrozelli's Avatar mlpetrozelli
06:43 AM Liked: 10
post #62 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 341
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:


I think you have a predisposed disposition against Sony.... and why dont you explain why INYHO the directv stuff looked better on the XBR1..in what way? I think it is hilarious how Sony hatters come on these threadz to do a little bashing...Oh by the way everyone I cant decide betwwen the 60XBR2 and the new JVC 110 incher...I mean I know its like comparing Benz's to Hyundai's but....

DuDe, did you miss the parts where he mentions driving 160 miles roundtrip to not only see the TV, but give an unbiased review? Or how he went to ANOTHER store just to verify initial doubts? Or BOUGHT a BluRay disc (made by SONY btw) to confirm? Waaaaa...someone found something negative about a TV I like, waaaaaaa....Where's your hands-on review btw? Big Kahana? More like Big Dummy.
JimP
07:02 AM Liked: 253
post #63 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 15,751
Joined: Sep 2002
I thought the DRC mode thing was about standard definition that the networks upscale to HD as it has different frequencies in need of sharpening than things shot in HD.
HappyFunBoater's Avatar HappyFunBoater
07:27 AM Liked: 10
post #64 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 1,992
Joined: Aug 2006
Yeah, it sounds like that's what DRC is for - upscaling SD. But I read earlier that having it turned on for HD will slightly degrade the HD signal. So it sounds like Sony expects me to turn it on and off as I move between SD and HD channels.

I really hope that's not the case. That behavior is far from user friendly.
scsiraid's Avatar scsiraid
07:36 AM Liked: 10
post #65 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 1,887
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyFunBoater View Post

Yeah, it sounds like that's what DRC is for - upscaling SD. But I read earlier that having it turned on for HD will slightly degrade the HD signal. So it sounds like Sony expects me to turn it on and off as I move between SD and HD channels.

I really hope that's not the case. That behavior is far from user friendly.

I believe that it would be more accurate to say that DRC is for managing interlaced inputs which would include 480i SD as well as 1080i HD. Non film source interlaced inputs need good processing to manage potential motion artifacts when displayed on a progressive display.
TAGATAYA's Avatar TAGATAYA
08:04 AM Liked: 10
post #66 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 48
Joined: Sep 2006
[quote=Mixdoctor]The only time I have started up today it took a long time over a minute, but that may be because I just turned it off.


Also, can you check an SD source in a 4:3 aspect ratio? Do the vertical black bars look straight? How does the picture quality of a 4:3 DVD (if you one available) or SD look compared to your XBR1? Thanks!
pbmpharmacist's Avatar pbmpharmacist
08:15 AM Liked: 12
post #67 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 1,802
Joined: Oct 2005
Owners,
Any color uniformity issues (especially green)? Any issues with tilt? I hadn't thought much about tilt until that A series owner with the Chad B calibration post where his set was all misaligned.
Hoof's Avatar Hoof
08:22 AM Liked: 10
post #68 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 183
Joined: Nov 2005
Mr. Foo since you now have a 70" XBR2 and mentioned you have an xbox 360 do you mind turning it on and taking some pics for us?
crazyhorse_aba's Avatar crazyhorse_aba
10:38 AM Liked: 10
post #69 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 2006
what would you consider the max height for the stand?
DVD Freaky's Avatar DVD Freaky
10:43 AM Liked: 10
post #70 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 966
Joined: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlpetrozelli View Post

DuDe, did you miss the parts where he mentions driving 160 miles roundtrip to not only see the TV, but give an unbiased review? Or how he went to ANOTHER store just to verify initial doubts? Or BOUGHT a BluRay disc (made by SONY btw) to confirm? Waaaaa...someone found something negative about a TV I like, waaaaaaa....Where's your hands-on review btw? Big Kahana? More like Big Dummy.

Hehe....thx Petrozelli...I agree....clearly KAHANA has an axe to grind....some people are a bit sensitive to anything that might remotely even hint of anything negative about their favorite products. Clearly he didn't read about the many very positive things I had to say about the tv later in the review!
CharlesSchwab's Avatar CharlesSchwab
11:15 AM Liked: 10
post #71 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 22
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolKolo View Post

@the happy owners :

Can you hook up an HTPC / Notebook to your XBR2 and use 1920*1080 60Hz via VGA???

Does the picture fill the whole screen?
-> Screenshots from this mode?

Is the picture from the XBOX360 via VGA Cable in 1280*720 or 1366*768 fullscreen?

Thanks in advance!

Greetings from germany...

Kai

This is a good question that I would appreciate someone's response.
Dresden's Avatar Dresden
11:27 AM Liked: 10
post #72 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 85
Joined: Aug 2006
Does the KDS-R**XBR2 allow for DD 5.1 passthrough?


Dresden
EZ4U2SA's Avatar EZ4U2SA
11:52 AM Liked: 10
post #73 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 37
Joined: Aug 2006
Any comments on convergence. Going from store to store, I see a lot of unit to unit variation on A2000s. Is there any indication that the XBR2s will be better?
KTTV Images's Avatar KTTV Images
12:22 PM Liked: 10
post #74 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 601
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyFunBoater View Post

Regarding the DRC setting:

Am I hearing that I need to manually change the setting depending on whether I'm viewing SD or HD? I'll have one HDMI cable running from the cable box to the TV, and when my family channel surfs no one will want to tweak the DRC setting as they go from SD to HD to SD to HD channels.

I was really hoping that the DRC setting would be sticky based on the input signal seen by the TV.

That is a very good question. I do not have any idea yet as to what the XBR2 will do when it is displaying HD vs SD from the same input format (1080i) and the DRC is set to mode 1.

Perhaps a new owner can figure this out. Stay tuned.

KT
KTTV Images's Avatar KTTV Images
12:48 PM Liked: 10
post #75 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 601
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsiraid View Post

I believe that it would be more accurate to say that DRC is for managing interlaced inputs which would include 480i SD as well as 1080i HD. Non film source interlaced inputs need good processing to manage potential motion artifacts when displayed on a progressive display.

I think you are correct, but there is another function of the DRC that you may have missed.

It is also designed to allow image enhancement, or improve subjective sharpness of the image. It can actually improve the sharpness of excellent HD shows such as Conan O'Brion. This is true of the XBR1and XBR2 but is impossible with the a2000 since on that set the DRC is inactive with 1080i inputs.

Further to my point is the fact that the XBR2 (if the manual is correct) allows the use of the DRC with 720P inputs -certainly not an interlaced input. This is exciting from my point of view because I have found high quality ABC -720p HD shows (Academy Awards etc.) look better at 720p than they do at 1080i if the DRC is not used for 1080i.
On the other hand they look even better on 1080i if I use the DRC at a setting of say 50/1 or 70/1. Now, it appears with the XBR2 I will be able to have the benefit of 720p input --and the use of the DRC at the same time. I see this as a potential win-win situation for the XBR2.

KT
KTTV Images's Avatar KTTV Images
12:53 PM Liked: 10
post #76 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 601
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

I thought the DRC mode thing was about standard definition that the networks upscale to HD as it has different frequencies in need of sharpening than things shot in HD.

I believe you are partly right. But only if you are talking about the new XBR2 Mode 2 used with SD sources upscaled to 1080i and inputted over the HDMI.

There are other uses for the DRC intended to sharpen the image with 720P and 1080i sources.

KT
pengilly's Avatar pengilly
12:53 PM Liked: 10
post #77 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 703
Joined: Oct 2005
Which version of HDMI does this set have? How does HDMI version 1.3 play into this if this set doesnt use it yet? Will it even matter?
Thanks
DVD Freaky's Avatar DVD Freaky
01:14 PM Liked: 10
post #78 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 966
Joined: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by cankster View Post

DVDFREAKY is an idiot. If you havent been in threads with him posting you would not know that. So I can understand your confusion with the poster calling him a Sony basher. But unfortunatly I have. He leans heavy towards being a Sony basher from my experience and is certainly an idiot.

Cankster

P.S. I think that was the first time I have ever seen anyone defend him. LOL. Mostly it is people blocking his posts.

You're a joke. I am not a Sony basher by any measure. I have posted tons of messages, anticipating the new SXRD with great excitement. I happen to own and love the PS2. I'm still considering getting the XBR2. I don't need a total moron like you to tell me what products I do or do not like.

And I now have you on ignore. Go waste someone else's space. Goodbye.
BJBBJB's Avatar BJBBJB
01:24 PM Liked: 10
post #79 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 168
Joined: May 2002
Mixdoctor,

Did you notice that the XBR OSD banner pulls program info from SD Sat. over S-video?

Not sure how useful it is as you would use the sat grid mostly but it surprised me when it popped up.

BJBBJB

(PS. I don't care whose thread does what, just interested in sharing info on the set).
Mixdoctor's Avatar Mixdoctor
02:28 PM Liked: 29
post #80 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 1,956
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJBBJB View Post

Mixdoctor,

Did you notice that the XBR OSD banner pulls program info from SD Sat. over S-video?

Not sure how useful it is as you would use the sat grid mostly but it surprised me when it popped up.

BJBBJB

(PS. I don't care whose thread does what, just interested in sharing info on the set).

No I didn't notice that yet. I have to check it out.


I watched the Chronicles of Riddick on HDDVD last night. Wow this is where this TV really shines. I also watched an SD movie, "Red Eye", and while the movie sucked the picture was very clean and ...at least for my wife "good enough".
The colors were pretty good , although I think there is a little red push going on.
Detail and 3d effect were there. I was happy.

Ok a little bad. Since I am a convergence freak, I can see the colors occasionally separate especially when watching football. Nothing major here I am talking maybe seeing the red separate from the yellow when looking at the goal post. Wife didn't notice, but like I said I am a convergence freak, so much sso I just can't own a CRT RP any more. I might have to go into the SM to see what's going on. Is there a convergence pattern in the SM on the SXRD sets ?
belvista's Avatar belvista
03:25 PM Liked: 10
post #81 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 76
Joined: Oct 2005
Can one of you owners tell us where exactly the inputs are on the back of the 70 inch. Thanks in advance.
Belvista
TAGATAYA's Avatar TAGATAYA
03:44 PM Liked: 10
post #82 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 48
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by belvista View Post

Can one of you owners tell us where exactly the inputs are on the back of the 70 inch. Thanks in advance.
Belvista

See page 23 of the owner's guide...

http://www.sonystyle.com/intershopro.../60_70_xbr.pdf
gatorhoops's Avatar gatorhoops
03:47 PM Liked: 10
post #83 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2006
I am still thinking the base dimensions of the new 60xbr2 will allow using the stand from the 60XBR1 (SU-GW12) . Check out this pic I found on crutchfield. It clearly shows a gap around the base of the 60 when it is in the stand. Anyone out there with dimensions of the 60XBR2 base. Mine has made it from PA to FL and should be delivered tomorrow or tuesday. I got a clearance SU-GW12 at BB and am still hopeful it will function. Check out the pic.
LL
Mixdoctor's Avatar Mixdoctor
03:47 PM Liked: 29
post #84 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 1,956
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by belvista View Post

Can one of you owners tell us where exactly the inputs are on the back of the 70 inch. Thanks in advance.
Belvista

The input location is a little wacky. The components and other inputs are to the left, as you are facing the TV. The HDMI, PC inputs are separate and towards the right deep enough inside so that you have to pull the TV from the wall a couple of feet to get back there.
dhan's Avatar dhan
03:50 PM Liked: 12
post #85 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 1,011
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by belvista View Post

Can one of you owners tell us where exactly the inputs are on the back of the 70 inch. Thanks in advance.
Belvista

User manual link
TAGATAYA's Avatar TAGATAYA
03:56 PM Liked: 10
post #86 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 48
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorhoops View Post

I am still thinking the base dimensions of the new 60xbr2 will allow using the stand from the 60XBR1 (SU-GW12) . Check out this pic I found on crutchfield. It clearly shows a gap around the base of the 60 when it is in the stand. Anyone out there with dimensions of the 60XBR2 base. Mine has made it from PA to FL and should be delivered tomorrow or tuesday. I got a clearance SU-GW12 at BB and am still hopeful it will function. Check out the pic.

I just measured the XBR2 at the store. It is 4" wider and an inch deeper, the same pedestal as the 70. I plan on using the XBR1 stand for the stand with the 70 with a little modification. See http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&page=33&pp=30 post 975 for more info.
KTTV Images's Avatar KTTV Images
05:37 PM Liked: 10
post #87 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 601
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohlson View Post

KT
Did you forget that our friend did play Crash Blu-ray too?

Also is not rather important how you set DRC in relation to the quality of your source. This is surely a learning curve here and some personal preference is important.

He played Crash on a Sony prototype player. I did not forget that.

I agree with you about the learning curve . Adjustments will be source dependant and a matter of personal preference.

However my points have been addressed to some of the new owners -who like all the Magazine reviewers to date -may have not have understood the purpose of the new Mode 2 on the V2.5 DRC. I am hoping this new mode will help in the XBR2 handling of SD sources.

KT
gatorhoops's Avatar gatorhoops
05:54 PM Liked: 10
post #88 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2006
Any theories as to why there is a gap in the cutout when the 60xbr2 is in its stand? This is in a photo I posted previously. I have seen several more replies stating that the base is the same as the 70xbr2 but cant explain the gap in the photo. I am starting to think it is either the location where Jimmy Hoffa is buried or it is the gappy knoll that someone hid behind to shoot kennedy. i guess I am just getting goofy now that I am down to the last 24 hours and want to know the few hundred bucks I spent on last years stand was not a total waste. Give me some theories!!!!
paddlefoot's Avatar paddlefoot
06:02 PM Liked: 10
post #89 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 331
Joined: Aug 2006
All I really care about is whether Mr. Foo and the others prefer it to the A2000 (minus defects) or Mitsubishi 831 series.

I am looking (not in the literal sense) very hard at the 60" A2000, 60" XBR2 and 57 or 65 Mits 831.

With my main viewing being 1a) HD programming 1b) video games (NES to PS3) 2) HD movies

Which is why Mr. Foo's analysis is very appropriate for me, as he does all three

I WILL end up getting whichever set I buy ISF'ed if that means anything.
TAGATAYA's Avatar TAGATAYA
06:32 PM Liked: 10
post #90 of 12088
10-01-2006 | Posts: 48
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorhoops View Post

Any theories as to why there is a gap in the cutout when the 60xbr2 is in its stand? This is in a photo I posted previously. I have seen several more replies stating that the base is the same as the 70xbr2 but cant explain the gap in the photo. I am starting to think it is either the location where Jimmy Hoffa is buried or it is the gappy knoll that someone hid behind to shoot kennedy. i guess I am just getting goofy now that I am down to the last 24 hours and want to know the few hundred bucks I spent on last years stand was not a total waste. Give me some theories!!!!

Not sure. It could be an XBR1 in the pic. In any case, the stand grew a few inches this year and if you plan to use the XBR1 stand, which I think will look good, you'll have to modify it. But, it can be done.
Tags: Sony , Sony Bravia Xbr Series Kdl V32xbr2 32 Inch Lcd Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Displays

Gear in this thread - V32xbr2 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Rear Projection Units

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3