Official 2007 Mitsubishi WD-xx73X/WD-xx831 Settings & Tweaks Thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 774 Old 01-31-2009, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Bangedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need help!

My lamp went out on my WD-57732 and a couple of days ago I received a new replacement from Mitsubishi and my picture is horrible! The colors are off due to the blooming from the new lamp. I have my contrast down to 00 and I can still see the blooming. I have used AVIA and DVE to calibrate my set, however no matter what I do the picture sucks. I don't know if Mit's used a different manufacture on the lamp or what. I don't have the money to get my TV ISF calibrated. Does any one have a fix for this issue?

"I AM WE TODD IT....I AM SOFA KING WE TODD IT." -Albert Einstein
Bangedup is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 774 Old 01-31-2009, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
fiveok9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whotony View Post

it's been mentioned before the bulb doesnt reset the hours,
the number shown is hours the tv has been used all bulbs totaled up.

also why is it tweeters fault?

I'm just venting I guess. Tweeter sold me an "open box" "NEW TV" at a slight discount. Now they are out of business. Based on the number of the bulb life, it would have to have run 320 day 24hrs a day!
When my 1st bulb went out after 2 months, they told me they couldn't do any repairs under the warranty I purchased until the Mitsu 1yr warranty expired. Mitsu haggled over the bulb, and finally sent it for me to replace. Bulb went again last month, same song.
Now it sounds like optical engine!? I am concerned it will take an act of Congress to get this fixed soon. The people on the Tweeter service contract paperwork said they never received it from Tweeter yet.
Get a lawyer, and get in line. 7000 hrs!?
fiveok9 is offline  
post #753 of 774 Old 04-06-2009, 10:14 AM
Member
 
MARS08's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if everyone who purchased their sets from Tweeter is aware that Service Net (http://www.servicenet.com) has picked up the Tweeter extended warranties now that they've gone belly up.

I've had my light engine replaced 2 times for the blooming issue and thought I was SOL when Tweeter went bankrupt. I called Service Net (800-343-4441) to see if they covered the 5 yr warranty on my 65831 and they did. Looks like I'll be getting a 3rd light engine when I get the call from the local service tech.

This fix seems to last me approx 6 months to a year before I really start to notice and need a new one. After my 5 yr's is up...this thing's going out on the curb.
MARS08 is offline  
post #754 of 774 Old 04-06-2009, 09:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARS08 View Post

This fix seems to last me approx 6 months to a year before I really start to notice and need a new one. After my 5 yr's is up...this thing's going out on the curb.

Let me know where you live and when it's going to the curb. I'll be there as part of the Keep America Beautiful Campaign and make sure it doesn't litter the curb

Have you checked out the posts about cleaning the lens?
bwall23 is offline  
post #755 of 774 Old 04-07-2009, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
opus312's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwall23 View Post

Have you checked out the posts about cleaning the lens?

Happen to have a URL for those posts? Thanks!
opus312 is offline  
post #756 of 774 Old 04-07-2009, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by opus312 View Post

Happen to have a URL for those posts? Thanks!

Nope, not handy. It's in one of the Mitsubishi DLP-RP threads here...
bwall23 is offline  
post #757 of 774 Old 04-08-2009, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by opus312 View Post

Happen to have a URL for those posts? Thanks!

Check the 2007 Mitsubishi WD-XX73X and XX831 Owner's Thread for lots of info. Search blooming and lens cleaning. Here are a few links to specific posts I found useful.
Good luck.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post14110641
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post15264195
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post15350722
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post15896325
Tom Thomas is online now  
post #758 of 774 Old 04-26-2009, 06:49 PM
Member
 
lazzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased my 65831 on Sep '06. Pretty much have the same issue you are describing....allready gone through 2 light engines with the latest one already experiencing the blooming issues after about 6 months, on top of that the lamp on this thing seems to last about as long as the light engine, my 3rd lamp blew last weekend.

Got fed-up and rather than calling my extended warranty folks (which are terrible), I got on the phone and called Mitsu and explained them my situation. They seemed genuinely interested in working with me and making me a satisfied customer; even though the TV is out of warranty they sent my local repairman to verify that it is indeed the light engine giving me issues again (which I am 100% sure it is), I should get a call from them early this week with the next steps they are willing to take to resolve my issue. I will post what happens once things get settled.

If you have recurring light engine/lamp issues with this TV model call Mitsu, maybe I got lucky, but they really do seem to want to help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARS08 View Post

Not sure if everyone who purchased their sets from Tweeter is aware that Service Net (http://www.servicenet.com) has picked up the Tweeter extended warranties now that they've gone belly up.

I've had my light engine replaced 2 times for the blooming issue and thought I was SOL when Tweeter went bankrupt. I called Service Net (800-343-4441) to see if they covered the 5 yr warranty on my 65831 and they did. Looks like I'll be getting a 3rd light engine when I get the call from the local service tech.

This fix seems to last me approx 6 months to a year before I really start to notice and need a new one. After my 5 yr's is up...this thing's going out on the curb.

lazzz is offline  
post #759 of 774 Old 06-04-2009, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Majeskty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Everyone if you still monitor this posting.

Previous postings I mentioned that two lamps had burned out at 2300 hours and 2100 or so hours. Had it repaired from Mits with a new ballast (power unit) and they also gave me a new lamp.

Well I am over a year since that repair in Feb/Mar of 2008 and I now have 3,771 hours on the lamp. Working pretty good this far. But I have been taking the lamp out once a month to blow off any dust build up. Just too bad I had the problems with it at the beginning and all the phone calls to Mits. But hats off to Mits they did fix it for me.

Best to all
Majeskty is offline  
post #760 of 774 Old 06-04-2009, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
bad8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 65731 and it is 1080P. I am trying to set up my PS3 and my tv won't play it at 1080P it will only do it at 1080i. What is going on please help!
bad8 is offline  
post #761 of 774 Old 06-06-2009, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad8 View Post

I have a 65731 and it is 1080P. I am trying to set up my PS3 and my tv won't play it at 1080P it will only do it at 1080i. What is going on please help!

If your PS3 is connected to the Mits via HDMI you shouldn't be having a problem. In the Video Output Settings menu for the PS3 you should be able to select the output format you desire.
Rudy1 is online now  
post #762 of 774 Old 06-06-2009, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Majeskty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad8 View Post

I have a 65731 and it is 1080P. I am trying to set up my PS3 and my tv won't play it at 1080P it will only do it at 1080i. What is going on please help!

Yes if the connection is through HDMI there is no problem with our PS3. Now if you use component input I believe that limit is only 1080i.
Majeskty is offline  
post #763 of 774 Old 03-07-2010, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
six862m6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, hope I can get a response to this on here as it looks like it's been awhile since anyone has posted to this thread it looks like. I have a WD-73734 and I need to know if there is anyway in the service menu that I can change the size of the screen (IE "stretch or shrink it)? The picture shown is slightly too large for the screen no matter what input is being used. (laptop either HDMI through the receiver or HDMI straight to the TV, PS3 through the receiver, etc...). I have no idea what all of the abbreviations in the service menu stand for or mean and I can't seem to find that info anywhere on the net either. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
six862m6 is offline  
post #764 of 774 Old 03-07-2010, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Majeskty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by six862m6 View Post

Hi guys, hope I can get a response to this on here as it looks like it's been awhile since anyone has posted to this thread it looks like. I have a WD-73734 and I need to know if there is anyway in the service menu that I can change the size of the screen (IE "stretch or shrink it)? The picture shown is slightly too large for the screen no matter what input is being used. (laptop either HDMI through the receiver or HDMI straight to the TV, PS3 through the receiver, etc...). I have no idea what all of the abbreviations in the service menu stand for or mean and I can't seem to find that info anywhere on the net either. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

If it is a HIDEF signal 1080p their is little you can do. But other signals use the format switch on the remote and that will change the picture size. If you have your owners manual or get one from the web site and it should show you some options.

Best of luck
Majeskty is offline  
post #765 of 774 Old 03-10-2010, 09:29 AM
Member
 
chuck657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida Space Coast
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh No!!! Dead mirror, stuck pixel, or otherwise teensy glaring white spot on my WD-Y657. How annoying.

I tried doing a little looking about, and found both praise and horror stories for "pixel fixer" videos. They all seemed to be aimed at LCD, though.

Is there any verified fixing of DLP stuck/borken mirrors? The set is ~2 years old, and I'm sure it isn't under warrantee any longer. It is clearly a single pixel, you can even faintly see the beam of light behind the face of the TV. kinda interesting, but not so good for watching !
chuck657 is offline  
post #766 of 774 Old 02-15-2011, 07:07 AM
Member
 
agthad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm adding this link for anyone who stumbles across this thread and is looking to fix the halo effect (I believe this is the same as some refer to as blooming). Videobruce's detailed lens cleaning procedure can be found here. I did this on my WD57732 and it made a world of difference.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1148792

- agthad
agthad is offline  
post #767 of 774 Old 03-06-2012, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Zebo51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm posting this in a few different threads since they are all pretty old. In the service menu looking at the Overscan alignment, I can only see yellow and cyan completely. Green I can barely see on the sides and not top/bottom and I can't see white or red at all. How do I fix this? It seems I need to shrink my screen some how.

Thanks
Zebo51 is offline  
post #768 of 774 Old 03-07-2012, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
cid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You cant "shrink the screen". There is over scan on these sets and that's just the way it is.
cid67 is offline  
post #769 of 774 Old 03-12-2012, 08:52 AM
Member
 
Zebo51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cid67 View Post

You cant "shrink the screen". There is over scan on these sets and that's just the way it is.


Thanks, I have it lined up best I can and looks pretty good.
Zebo51 is offline  
post #770 of 774 Old 03-12-2012, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Zebo51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just want to note as I reference this thread time to time for settings. I replaced my lamp with a philips and I also did the lens cleaning documented very well by videobruce. I have my mode set to natural, but while watching immortals some of the scenes was very very dark and I couldn't make out anything. I switched it to Brilliant and wow it was great, so much detail that I could never see before. Almost makes me want to go back and watch a lot of movies with dark scenes .

Anyway, I keep it on natural for normal TV and most movies, because it actually gives me headaches if I leave it on that bright. But for movies with dark scenes I will be switching to Brilliant.
Zebo51 is offline  
post #771 of 774 Old 03-12-2012, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zebo51 View Post

Just want to note as I reference this thread time to time for settings. I replaced my lamp with a philips and I also did the lens cleaning documented very well by videobruce. I have my mode set to natural, but while watching immortals some of the scenes was very very dark and I couldn't make out anything. I switched it to Brilliant and wow it was great, so much detail that I could never see before. Almost makes me want to go back and watch a lot of movies with dark scenes .

Anyway, I keep it on natural for normal TV and most movies, because it actually gives me headaches if I leave it on that bright. But for movies with dark scenes I will be switching to Brilliant.

Try adjusting the Brightness control instead of switching to Brilliant. The Brightness control sets the level at which the darkest objects become visible.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
 
Augerhandle is offline  
post #772 of 774 Old 03-28-2012, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I got a notice in the mail yesterday concerning several models of this TV.

There has been a decision in a class-action lawsuit concerning capacitors and lamp problems. You can look up Civil Action No. 3:09-cv-01899 (RNC) or check this link http://settlement.mdea.com/ to see if your model qualifies.

If you have one of these models, this could be good news for you.

For the capacitor problem: (V26 or V30 chassis)
Option 1: You can receive a repair of your television with no charge for parts and labor.
Option 2: You have the opportunity to purchase a 2011 Mitsubishi DLP television at the dealer cost. Mitsubishi will ship the new television to you and will take your previous Mitsubishi television away, as required by the settlement.

For the models with the lamp problem: (V33 or V34 chassis)
If you own or have owned any of the models listed under the V33 or V34 chassis, from Table 1, that has not already received a free new mesh design lamp from Mitsubishi and has experienced a failure of the original lamp between April 1, 2011 and September 30, 2011, you are eligible to receive a free, new mesh design, replacement lamp. This new lamp will be warranted for three (3) months from the date it was shipped to you from Mitsubishi.
Tom Thomas is online now  
post #773 of 774 Old 03-28-2012, 11:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Posted in a separate thread;
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1401687

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is online now  
post #774 of 774 Old 09-29-2012, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
imaginecomputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a WD-73734 and before I was able to right down the #60=??? my child change it and I don't know what the default setting is can anyone help? thank you
imaginecomputer is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off