Official Toshiba 65HM167 and 57HM167 Owner's thread - Page 105 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3121 of 3131 Old 06-20-2014, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
wish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrylegado View Post
My TV would not power up. It was stuck with the blinking lights. I followed the instructions exactly and TV is still working great. The TV does not need to be able to power up to receive firmware update. If you are dealing with the same blink code I did and follow the instructions to a T I'm certain this will remedy it. Good luck
Seems simple enough but its not working for me. Maybe the card has something to do with it. I'm using a Sandisk 8gb ultra SD. Its the same size as the older generation SD card but maybe the TV can’t read it because its ultra SD or because its 8gb.
wish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3122 of 3131 Old 06-20-2014, 03:33 PM
Newbie
 
larrylegado's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wish View Post
Seems simple enough but its not working for me. Maybe the card has something to do with it. I'm using a Sandisk 8gb ultra SD. Its the same size as the older generation SD card but maybe the TV can’t read it because its ultra SD or because its 8gb.
You must use the proper SD card stated in the instructions. I went to 3 different places before finally finding at Walmart. Use the correct size card and I'm certain you will have success.
larrylegado is offline  
post #3123 of 3131 Old 06-24-2014, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
wish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrylegado View Post
My TV would not power up. It was stuck with the blinking lights. I followed the instructions exactly and TV is still working great. The TV does not need to be able to power up to receive firmware update. If you are dealing with the same blink code I did and follow the instructions to a T I'm certain this will remedy it. Good luck
Do you know what class card you used? The instructions say that a 2GB card works but doesn't say anything about the class and I would think that would have more to do with it working than the size. I still haven't been able to find a 2GB locally so I tried a class 4 8GB card and it still didn't work. Class 4 is pretty low so at this point it means that the size is a critical criteria OR my TV has other issues (i.e. light engine is toast). I'm going to hunt for a 2GB class 4 card but if that doesn't work I think I have to accept that it has other more serious issues that aren't worth fixing.
wish is offline  
post #3124 of 3131 Old 06-24-2014, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
wish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found a 2GB class 4 card. No go. Acts like there isn't even a card in the slot. It was certainly worth trying but it looks like mine is the same 3 yellow light blink symptom but a different root cause (I'm guessing the dreaded light engine).
wish is offline  
post #3125 of 3131 Old 06-24-2014, 10:28 PM
Newbie
 
larrylegado's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wish View Post
Do you know what class card you used? The instructions say that a 2GB card works but doesn't say anything about the class and I would think that would have more to do with it working than the size. I still haven't been able to find a 2GB locally so I tried a class 4 8GB card and it still didn't work. Class 4 is pretty low so at this point it means that the size is a critical criteria OR my TV has other issues (i.e. light engine is toast). I'm going to hunt for a 2GB class 4 card but if that doesn't work I think I have to accept that it has other more serious issues that aren't worth fixing.
The one I used was 2 gig class 4 that is backwards compatible with class 2. Below is a link to exactly what worked for me. Walmart had it in-stock. Also, make sure you after you unzip you transfer all files to card. I seem to remember reading a post where that was the problem one person was having.

http://mobile.walmart.com/ip/PNY-2GB-Premium-Secure-Digital-Memory-Card/11078643
larrylegado is offline  
post #3126 of 3131 Old 06-25-2014, 04:27 AM
Member
 
dj99wa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem with any card over 2GB is that it is the newer SDHC standard which our TVs don't know how to handle. The class refers to transfer speed and shouldn't make any difference.
dj99wa is offline  
post #3127 of 3131 Old 07-01-2014, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
wish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrylegado View Post
The one I used was 2 gig class 4 that is backwards compatible with class 2. Below is a link to exactly what worked for me. Walmart had it in-stock. Also, make sure you after you unzip you transfer all files to card. I seem to remember reading a post where that was the problem one person was having.

http://mobile.walmart.com/ip/PNY-2GB...-Card/11078643
I found that one at my local WM and tried. No such luck...same result. The TV seems DOA other than the 3 blinking lights. I'm was thinking the next likely culprit was the light engine but now leaning towards the power supply. I'm going to take a volt meter and test the voltage on the power supply board (Service Manual says it should have 5 volts on PB80 pins 6 & 7). If not I see used ones on eBay for $65 and will likely give that a shot.

If anyone else on the board has had issues with the power supply board that resulted in the 3 yellow blinking lights I would be very interested to hear!
wish is offline  
post #3128 of 3131 Old 07-15-2014, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
wonderdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have an Toshiba 46LX177 which quit working last Thursday, 7/8. I tried the SD card repair method with a 1 GB Sandisk SD card and a 8 GB Sandisk SD card. Both didn't work. For the heck of it, I found a 512MB Sandisk SD card on Ebay for $10 and purchased it.

Received the SD card today, 7/15 and checked to be sure it was formatted FAT. Followed the instructions to unzip the download and copy those files to the 512MB Sandisk SD card. Unplugged the lcd, removed the service cover, inserted the card, plugged back in the lcd. The light flashed yellow a couple of times and then went green and yellow. Unplugged the power cord, removed the 512MB Sandisk and then plugged back in the power cord. Push the button on the LCD and everything is back to normal. I guess that new 4K led will have to wait.

Thank you guys for the repair info.
wonderdawg is offline  
post #3129 of 3131 Old 08-17-2014, 08:33 PM
Member
 
Fishman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Texas
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, the set has had a problem with the DMD board but has played nice for a while. Today it was showing the mosaic picture, but then went to black and white stripes then wider black than white stripes. So I changed the DMD which I had for a while already. The chip was changed about a year ago. After the change-out I put everything back and fired it up. I got no lamp start. The fan on the DMD housing doesn't start either. Then after 3 attempts it goes to a flashing red and blue led error message (bus error). Could this be the ribbon cable malfunctioning? It has a pretty good crimp in it above the inserted portion and that bend is fairly weak and limp.

I put back the original board and got the steady blue with flashing yellow, but no fire up..

Last edited by Fishman1; 08-21-2014 at 05:36 AM.
Fishman1 is offline  
post #3130 of 3131 Old 08-21-2014, 03:46 PM
Member
 
Fishman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Texas
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishman1 View Post
Ok, the set has had a problem with the DMD board but has played nice for a while. Today it was showing the mosaic picture, but then went to black and white stripes then wider black than white stripes. So I changed the DMD which I had for a while already. The chip was changed about a year ago. After the change-out I put everything back and fired it up. I got no lamp start. The fan on the DMD housing doesn't start either. Then after 3 attempts it goes to a flashing red and blue led error message (bus error). Could this be the ribbon cable malfunctioning? It has a pretty good crimp in it above the inserted portion and that bend is fairly weak and limp.

I put back the original board and got the steady blue with flashing yellow, but no fire up..
"bump"
Anybody home? Testing...testing...1.2.3...
Fishman1 is offline  
post #3131 of 3131 Old 08-23-2014, 10:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
65HM167 - Need help or it's Gone!

I had the yellow light flash three times, again, and again, and again...you get the picture. I tried the SD card fix with no success. Aside from the flashing yellow light nothing was powering on (none of the fans, etc). Kept reading all over that it was either the Seine boot was corrupted (SD card fix) or the board itself was bad.

For the folks that used the SD card fix and it worked....Was anything else powering up before you tried the fix (fans, etc)?

I even tried to use that site "Just Answer It"....$28 bucks down the drain to have some guy who claimed he has repaired TV's for 30 years tell me I needed to have a technician check it out. I like the TV, but I don't want to sock a lot of $$$ into fixing it. Any help would be appreciated to fix it otherwise I'm going to part it out. Thanks!
Redd5721 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Toshiba , Panasonic , Lcd Hdtv , Sony

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off