HL-T7288W...First impressions - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 259 Old 07-05-2010, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Newfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slinger45 View Post

what are the glasses and emitter you speak of, do they come with the Panny Blu Ray player....any word if this set will work with D* 3D?

I bought my glasses when I 1st bought the TV. The glasses and emitter I purchased from Tridef but they do not seem to be selling them now. It looks like this place has them http://www.edimensional.com/product_...roducts_id=127 You may be able to find other places also.

This set will not work with D* 3D. Mitsubishi is making an adapter for their set that will allow their older 3D sets to work with D* but it checks the manufacture ID in the HDMI handshake and will not work for non Mits TVs. There are threads in this forum that have information on how to fool the adapter into thinking it is hooked to a Mits when it is actually hooked to a Samsung. The Mits adapter is not available yet. Some info on that here http://www.tru3d.com/products/view_product.php?id=31003

A review of the glasses and emitter http://www.bedfordbraces.com/reviews...1000review.htm

I just read that the xpand x102 glasses will work with the older 3D DLP sets without the emitter.
AVS Forum > 3D Central > 3D Tech Talk>3D Shutter DLP Glasses: REVIEWS?
Newfi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 259 Old 07-19-2010, 02:57 PM
Member
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newfi View Post

I bought my glasses when I 1st bought the TV. The glasses and emitter I purchased from Tridef but they do not seem to be selling them now. It looks like this place has them http://www.edimensional.com/product_...roducts_id=127 You may be able to find other places also.

This set will not work with D* 3D. Mitsubishi is making an adapter for their set that will allow their older 3D sets to work with D* but it checks the manufacture ID in the HDMI handshake and will not work for non Mits TVs. There are threads in this forum that have information on how to fool the adapter into thinking it is hooked to a Mits when it is actually hooked to a Samsung. The Mits adapter is not available yet. Some info on that here http://www.tru3d.com/products/view_product.php?id=31003

A review of the glasses and emitter http://www.bedfordbraces.com/reviews...1000review.htm

I just read that the xpand x102 glasses will work with the older 3D DLP sets without the emitter.
AVS Forum > 3D Central > 3D Tech Talk>3D Shutter DLP Glasses: REVIEWS?


wow. Thanks for the info and the legwork on this . I will definitely check out the link you posted. You just extended my tv's life. lol
RockyZ is offline  
post #243 of 259 Old 07-19-2010, 08:51 PM
Member
 
Newfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockyZ View Post

wow. Thanks for the info and the legwork on this . I will definitely check out the link you posted. You just extended my tv's life. lol

I just bought a pair of Xpand x102 glasses last week from amazon and they work without the emitter.
Newfi is offline  
post #244 of 259 Old 09-21-2010, 09:42 AM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so the ps3 just updated to allow blu ray 3d movies, will that work on this tv and if so what needs to be done?
slinger45 is offline  
post #245 of 259 Old 12-26-2010, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sepen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Does anyone know how to check the bulb hours on this? I have had it for 3 years now and it seems quite a bit dimmer than it used to be. Thanks.

Figured it out, 15441 hrs, has to some sort of record!
Sepen is online now  
post #246 of 259 Old 02-08-2011, 12:05 PM
Member
 
jrdunwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the HL-T7288W, and I just ordered the Mitsubishi 3DC-100S, 3D starter kit directly from Mitsubishi. Note that the product deescription says it works for the HL-T7288S, but I asked Samsung on a live chat and they confirmed it works for the HL-T7288W.

If you haven't heard this kit should allow you to watch 3D movies from your service provider, or from a 3D bluray player, with no other hardware or modifications. You can review the capabilities from the Mits website if you type the model #. If you do a search, there are other threads which give you information about what other people were attempting before Mitsubishi offered this kit.
jrdunwoody is offline  
post #247 of 259 Old 02-08-2011, 12:07 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ive been monitoring the 3d threads as well, let us know how it works jr
slinger45 is offline  
post #248 of 259 Old 02-26-2011, 09:35 AM
Member
 
jrdunwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've set-up the Sammy 3D player and watched my first movie (Alice in Wonderland) and my wife and I loved it. I've seen on another thread the people were talking about a red hue, but I didn't see that. What I did see though is that my 4 year old lamp which looks OK otherwise, looks dim (I guess because of the 3D glasses). Anyway I bit the bullet and ordered a new lamp ($143 tax/delivery) from Discount Merchants. I'm hoping this will help.
jrdunwoody is offline  
post #249 of 259 Old 04-02-2011, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
jets9988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question for you all. I have a HL-T7288W and was wondering if anyone has successfully configured 5.1 audio out via optical. The manual is a bit confusing on this.

Thanks
jets9988 is offline  
post #250 of 259 Old 04-15-2012, 06:09 AM
Newbie
 
shaaawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone! I am having an issue with my HL-T7288W... it is the dreaded Samsung white dot issue. I was wondering if anyone else has had this issue with this particular set, and if so, was it just the DLP chip as it has been with other Samsung models? I don't really want to spend the money on replacing the chip (which I would be doing myself) it that isn't the problem. If anyone out there has had this issue with their set, can you confirm what part you used to fix the problem? Thank you SO much in advance! Attached is an image of the problem I am having...
shaaawn is offline  
post #251 of 259 Old 04-15-2012, 06:57 AM
Member
 
killashandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow, that's bad. The DMD chip is handled under a defective product recall. Call up Samsung and tell them what you're seeing. I had the same problem and they came out and replaced the chip with no charge.

Though check the video after they're done, when he was in there in mine I had an extra 'reflection' off the light engine somewhere so had to call them back out.
killashandra is offline  
post #252 of 259 Old 04-15-2012, 02:34 PM
Newbie
 
shaaawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by killashandra View Post

wow, that's bad. The DMD chip is handled under a defective product recall. Call up Samsung and tell them what you're seeing. I had the same problem and they came out and replaced the chip with no charge.

Though check the video after they're done, when he was in there in mine I had an extra 'reflection' off the light engine somewhere so had to call them back out.

I called Samsung and was told that my model isn't covered and it's due to normal wear and tear... So you say they replaced the DMD chip? Is the DMD chip the same thing as the DLP chip? Does anyone have a part number for what I need to get? Thanks!
shaaawn is offline  
post #253 of 259 Old 04-15-2012, 03:35 PM
Member
 
killashandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it was part of a class action lawsuit:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1257506

The DMD is the chip itself (mirrors) what you have there is that the mirrors are stuck and can't move. Normally this is due to heat from what I've gathered.
killashandra is offline  
post #254 of 259 Old 04-15-2012, 05:54 PM
Member
 
jrdunwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shaaawn:

Starting about last June, I had white dots start to appear. They increased 2-4 per week, and by the time September rolled around it was bad, but not as bad as yours. I did quite a bit of internet research and decided it was the DMD. I bought Samsung 4719-001985 and it fixed the problem. When I replaced the chip I also took out the thermal blanket Samsung had behind the chip, and replaced it with a high grade thermal paste. One of the threads from other Samsung models had recommended this and it seemed a wise thing to do.

I either found or bought assembly/dis-assembly instructions and found them to be very cleaar and easy to follow. Using the instructions I had it dis-assembled, repaired, and re-assembled in under an hour, and 15 minutes of that was cleaned the old thermal blanket gunk off the board and applying the thermal paste. Note that the instructions talks about three alignment screws that shouldn't be touched (so don't).

When I turned the set back on, the alignment of perfect and no more white dots.

If you can't find the instructions on-line, email me and I'll send them to you, they are essential to doing it right.

I also spent 5 minutes on-line looking up prices and found the cheapest on Amazon, I bought mine from TVserviceparts.com which claimed they had the part in stock and then sent me an email saying it was back-ordered.

Hope this helps, John

PS I also called Samsung and they told me my set wasn't covered
jrdunwoody is offline  
post #255 of 259 Old 04-16-2012, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
shaaawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really appreciate the help! If you wouldn't mind sending me those instructions I would greatly appreciate it! I'll PM you my email address.
shaaawn is offline  
post #256 of 259 Old 04-22-2012, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
shaaawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jrdunwoody,

did you use the manual that can be found in the DMD board replacement thread? I know that manual is for a different set but will it work? Can you possibly just email me the manual to shawn.rimmer@gmail.com? Thanks!
shaaawn is offline  
post #257 of 259 Old 06-20-2012, 06:51 PM
Member
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks, hoping you all can help me out. I recently ordered the high powered emitter last week from 3dglassesunlimited.com. Granted I only ordered the emitter and no glasses, so this may be incomplete but I was thinking that the process should still work.

I am using the emitter with the Samsung HL-T7288W and the "slim" PS3 with updated firmware (4.11 I think it is). The PS3 is directly connected into the TV HDMI port. I did as the instructions said to do , the TV recognized that the emitter was present and allowed me to switch the options between ON-STD GLS or ON-INV GLS in DLP 3D/Dual-View menu. The power light on the emitter turns on and I can see the screen change 3D modes.

Seeing that emitter was on, I went into the PS3 display settings to activate the 3D function as instructed in these directions: http://manuals.playstation.net/document/en/ps3/current/settings/videooutput.html
When the PS3 scans the available display resolutions, it should pick up but doesn’t that the TV is in 3D mode. It seems likes it the TV turns off the 3D function when it scans for the resolutions. So it doesn’t give me the option of setting the screen size like it does in step #5.

I also connected an LG 3D blu ray player from a bundle I got in November, which I know works displaying 3d, to see if it would get the Samsung TV displaying but no dice. It will boot up the disc but the menu screen is the default "you need a 3d tv to display 3d content."

Any thoughts to what I am doing wrong?
RockyZ is offline  
post #258 of 259 Old 10-01-2012, 07:48 AM
Member
 
RedshiftAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrdunwoody View Post

Shaaawn:


Starting about last June, I had white dots start to appear. They increased 2-4 per week, and by the time September rolled around it was bad, but not as bad as yours. I did quite a bit of internet research and decided it was the DMD. I bought Samsung 4719-001985 and it fixed the problem. When I replaced the chip I also took out the thermal blanket Samsung had behind the chip, and replaced it with a high grade thermal paste. One of the threads from other Samsung models had recommended this and it seemed a wise thing to do.


I either found or bought assembly/dis-assembly instructions and found them to be very cleaar and easy to follow. Using the instructions I had it dis-assembled, repaired, and re-assembled in under an hour, and 15 minutes of that was cleaned the old thermal blanket gunk off the board and applying the thermal paste. Note that the instructions talks about three alignment screws that shouldn't be touched (so don't).


When I turned the set back on, the alignment of perfect and no more white dots.


If you can't find the instructions on-line, email me and I'll send them to you, they are essential to doing it right.


I also spent 5 minutes on-line looking up prices and found the cheapest on Amazon, I bought mine from TVserviceparts.com which claimed they had the part in stock and then sent me an email saying it was back-ordered.


Hope this helps, John


PS I also called Samsung and they told me my set wasn't covered

I've got the dreaded white dot problem just starting. It was one dot until last night, now it's 3. I'm sure it will get worse - I'll search the part, but can you send me the instructions for replacement and also info on where to get the replacement thermal blanket you used?

Thanks.
RedshiftAVS is offline  
post #259 of 259 Old 10-21-2012, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Geekgranny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Big D USA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
REPORTING IN...... 15k PLUS HOURS ON SAMMY HLT7288 and just recently having issues.

I'm really short on time right now. I'll research and post more details later and seek assistance. We've now had the Sammy HLT7288 for five years.

We have never had any major issues until recently. At first we thought it was the failing Dish DVR but after replacing it we are sure it is the Sammy. In addition same thing, to a lesser extent, is happening with Direct DVR on another HDMI input.

We figure we have >15K hours on original lamps and color wheel!!!!!!

Our environment is EXTREMELY dusty; microscopic "cementous" dust. (We don't dust here; has to be vacuumed.)

About 3 months ago images started abruptly getting patchy while watching or turning on sometimes. Occasionally picture would deteriorate abruptly to only greens and blacks. A little more rarely picture would go to all frozen mass of "pixels." Sound from live or recorded would continue. Restarting TV (and DVR) several times would improve the color distortion but when full screen of mixed up and frozen pixels occurred a reboot of the Dish DVR would restore almost normal picture, interestingly. It has been progressively increasing in frequency in past 3 months.

We've never had that happen when source is from PC, interestingly.

I've been told that the color wheel needs replacing. There is no noise btw from TV. AND I'm sure I need to replace the lamps. >15K hours is a long time especially with so much dust. Also, going to do a good dust clean out of innards and inside screen, lamp assemblies, and anywhere else I can get dust out.

I'll be asking, when I have more time, about assistance and comments AND I wanted to report our satisfaction with the performance and durability of our Sammy.

Alice
Geekgranny is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off