The Official Sony 2007 KDF-(XX)E3000 Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 466 Old 10-23-2007, 12:16 PM
Member
 
LV246hicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual list component as 1080i only. All information from the manual and specs on the sony website state 1080p/24 thru HDMI only.
LV246hicks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 466 Old 10-23-2007, 05:35 PM
Member
 
autoboy70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was under the impression that motion blur is a result of slow response time. 1080p/24 is the framerate of film based content (movies) and will only benefit TVs that can display a multiple of 24 like 48hz, 72hz, or 120hz. Since the E3000 only outputs at 60hz then you will still have to pad 24fps material with 3:2 pulldown and you will still get jutter on film based material. Only the A3000 with it's 120hz framerate will help with 24fps material. Even though the E3000 can accept 1080p/24, doesn't mean it is much of an advantage.

I can only think of one advantage for a 60hz display to accept 1080p/24, and that is to skip an inherently bad 1080p/60 output device like the Toshiba A20 HD-DVD player. The Toshiba does a 1080p24->1080i30->1080p60 step to output 1080p60 and it does the 1080i30->1080p60 step poorly and introduces interlacing artifacts into the picture. Setting the Toshiba to output 1080p24 fixes this problem as long as the E3000 does not do the same crappy conversion the Toshiba did to get to 1080p60
autoboy70 is offline  
post #93 of 466 Old 10-23-2007, 05:38 PM
Member
 
autoboy70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LV246hicks View Post

The manual list component as 1080i only. All information from the manual and specs on the sony website state 1080p/24 thru HDMI only.

Out of all the major manufacturers I have come across, it seems that only Samsung has TVs that accept 1080p over component. Not all do, but many of the newer ones do.
autoboy70 is offline  
post #94 of 466 Old 10-23-2007, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
brittonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys! Well I was at frys to get my monitor from service and thought "I'll go see if there are any deals on the dlps yet." Got to looking around and noticed they were having some huge sales. Came across the 50e3000 $1099.99. I couldn't resist. I had to buy it for that price. So far geometry issues are non existent and the pq is friggin awesome so far but im going to mess around with the settings a bit. for 1099.99 and 18 months no interest and no payments I just couldnt walk away and ive been looking for 6 months now so I think im glad I waited. I do however have the hum noise in the back, but you have to really be paying attention to hear it.
brittonal is offline  
post #95 of 466 Old 10-23-2007, 11:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brittonal View Post

Hey guys! Well I was at frys to get my monitor from service and thought "I'll go see if there are any deals on the dlps yet." Got to looking around and noticed they were having some huge sales. Came across the 50e3000 $1099.99. I couldn't resist. I had to buy it for that price. So far geometry issues are non existent and the pq is friggin awesome so far but im going to mess around with the settings a bit. for 1099.99 and 18 months no interest and no payments I just couldnt walk away and ive been looking for 6 months now so I think im glad I waited. I do however have the hum noise in the back, but you have to really be paying attention to hear it.

Yea the set rocks I got mine for about 400 more than yours but still a good deal and cheaper than the Samsung. I compared both pictures Sony set on vivid and the samsung on dynamic just to see how poppy the colors are and the blacks, overall they were equal color wise but the Sammy's black was a bit better but the Sony I believe shows better details, where the Sammy's deep black blots out some details. I think the Sony's blacks are pretty good for the price.
kicks is offline  
post #96 of 466 Old 10-24-2007, 07:27 AM
Member
 
phillipsolorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by autoboy70 View Post

I was under the impression that motion blur is a result of slow response time. 1080p/24 is the framerate of film based content (movies) and will only benefit TVs that can display a multiple of 24 like 48hz, 72hz, or 120hz. Since the E3000 only outputs at 60hz then you will still have to pad 24fps material with 3:2 pulldown and you will still get jutter on film based material. Only the A3000 with it's 120hz framerate will help with 24fps material. Even though the E3000 can accept 1080p/24, doesn't mean it is much of an advantage.

I can only think of one advantage for a 60hz display to accept 1080p/24, and that is to skip an inherently bad 1080p/60 output device like the Toshiba A20 HD-DVD player. The Toshiba does a 1080p24->1080i30->1080p60 step to output 1080p60 and it does the 1080i30->1080p60 step poorly and introduces interlacing artifacts into the picture. Setting the Toshiba to output 1080p24 fixes this problem as long as the E3000 does not do the same crappy conversion the Toshiba did to get to 1080p60

It is my understanding that when the TV recieves a 1080p/24 signal it displays the film at 24 frames per second like it was originaly recorded therefor removing any artifacts from the image.
phillipsolorio is offline  
post #97 of 466 Old 10-24-2007, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anybody know the response time for this set? I can't find it in the manuel
kicks is offline  
post #98 of 466 Old 10-24-2007, 12:28 PM
Member
 
phillipsolorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kicks View Post

Does anybody know the response time for this set? I can't find it in the manuel

Your prolly looking for a real answer but I though I would through it out there, I have used this TV for a week now of heavy gaming and the response has never been an issue whatsoever.
phillipsolorio is offline  
post #99 of 466 Old 10-24-2007, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
brittonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else have any calibrations for this set?
brittonal is offline  
post #100 of 466 Old 10-24-2007, 09:59 PM
Member
 
phillipsolorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching beerfest today on blu ray and I decided to get up real close to the screen, I noticed that on the right side of the screen there are numberous green "dots" the size of one pixel. It got me wondering so I started looking very close all over the TV and noticed many other tiny "dots" around. I wouldnt think it is possible for dust to settle that much within the first week, is it???? This is really worrying me.
phillipsolorio is offline  
post #101 of 466 Old 10-25-2007, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillipsolorio View Post

I was watching beerfest today on blu ray and I decided to get up real close to the screen, I noticed that on the right side of the screen there are numberous green "dots" the size of one pixel. It got me wondering so I started looking very close all over the TV and noticed many other tiny "dots" around. I wouldnt think it is possible for dust to settle that much within the first week, is it???? This is really worrying me.

green dots, wow that doesn't sound good, was there a scene in the movie with alot of green or anything, all i can think is maybe those pixels got stuck
kicks is offline  
post #102 of 466 Old 10-25-2007, 07:13 PM
Member
 
phillipsolorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes its not, and I know of any "extreme" green scenes, its possible that I may have left my 360 on the green blade for a while however I doubt that happened.. I was unable to get a picture of it earlier today but I will try again later today.
phillipsolorio is offline  
post #103 of 466 Old 10-25-2007, 10:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Some pics for anybody on the fence on this set
Xbox 360 settings & pics

Picture Mode- Standard

Advanced Iris- Auto 1

Picture- 78

Brightness- 50

Color- 48

Hue- G1

Sharpness- 18

Color Temp- neutral

Noise Reduction- low

black counter- low

gamma- low

clear white- low

live color- off







other pics of PS3, HD, upconvert DVD and SD coming soon
kicks is offline  
post #104 of 466 Old 10-26-2007, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
brittonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of tv stand is that?
brittonal is offline  
post #105 of 466 Old 10-26-2007, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brittonal View Post

What kind of tv stand is that?

I don't remember the brand but I got it at Best Buy a little over a year ago, I checked their site but I don't see it there. It had 3 glass shelves I recent;y removed the 3rd one and put my center speaker there because my new tv's back is too slanted and I can't mount it with my center speaker mount as I did with my last set. Honestly I think it's not all too great to be mounting speakers atop your tv. I believe I got it for like $100-$120
kicks is offline  
post #106 of 466 Old 10-28-2007, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
brittonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd79 View Post

Picture Mode- Cinema

Advanced Iris- Low

Picture- 65

Brightness- 49

Color- 51

Hue- G1

Sharpness- 20

Color Temp- Warm 1

Noise Reduction- Off

Everything else OFF..... And these are my settings I calibrated w/ DVE for viewing films and such in a darkened room(looks fantastic).....


I have these settings right now and after a couple of movies or so, to me it feels a little dark overall. Not sure how to explain it but its like the overall image is kinda muted. Could this be changed by raising the gamma? I have bad eyesight so it feels a little dark or toned down to me.
brittonal is offline  
post #107 of 466 Old 10-28-2007, 10:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brittonal View Post

I have these settings right now and after a couple of movies or so, to me it feels a little dark overall. Not sure how to explain it but its like the overall image is kinda muted. Could this be changed by raising the gamma? I have bad eyesight so it feels a little dark or toned down to me.

Yea is it a bit darker, if you do want a brigher picture turning gamma to medium or high would give you a brighter picture, but might push the colors especially red. I haven't gone into the service menu on the set. I only have it set like so to try and improve the blacks and so far not really working. I may return the set for a Samsung HL-T5076S I saw it at the store a few ties now and the blacks are noticeably better and it has better colors. That was the original set I wanted but being an impatient guy like I am I settled for the Sony because it was $200 cheaper.
kicks is offline  
post #108 of 466 Old 10-29-2007, 02:49 AM
Member
 
FattyLumpkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had this TV for a week and so far the only real problem I see is the silk screen effect. I should have noticed it in the store but I guess I was so excited to get a 47" 1080p TV for such a low price that I didn't stop to consider the disadvantages inherent in rear projection TVs.

From what I've seen, most rear projection TV's have the silk screen effect to some extent. I would describe it as a sparkly effect that gives a texture to whatever is behind it. It's most visible when there are solid colors on the screen. The effect doesn't move around but when you move your head, it seems to shimmer - kind of like the prism effect of water droplets on a TV screen. I honestly didn't notice it for the first few minutes I used the TV but after a while, I can't NOT see it. It's really starting to get on my nerves so I think this TV is going back - just as soon as I can decide what the replacement will be.

For the money, if the silk screen effect doesn't bother you, I think this is a killer TV. I love the menus and with game mode on, Wii and Xbox 360 look fantastic with no noticeable delay.
FattyLumpkin is offline  
post #109 of 466 Old 10-29-2007, 04:08 AM
Member
 
FattyLumpkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by autoboy70 View Post

Out of all the major manufacturers I have come across, it seems that only Samsung has TVs that accept 1080p over component. Not all do, but many of the newer ones do.

The Sony XBR4 series supports 1080p over component - according to the manual found at the following address:

esupport.sony.com/US/perl/model-documents.pl?mdl=KDL46XBR4&LOC=3

(the address is case sensitive, so if you get an error, check the case)
FattyLumpkin is offline  
post #110 of 466 Old 10-29-2007, 07:32 AM
Senior Member
 
brittonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kicks View Post

Yea is it a bit darker, if you do want a brigher picture turning gamma to medium or high would give you a brighter picture, but might push the colors especially red. I haven't gone into the service menu on the set. I only have it set like so to try and improve the blacks and so far not really working. I may return the set for a Samsung HL-T5076S I saw it at the store a few ties now and the blacks are noticeably better and it has better colors. That was the original set I wanted but being an impatient guy like I am I settled for the Sony because it was $200 cheaper.

Do you know how to get into the service menu? I wanted an samsung originally but EVERY single one I saw at a different store had horrible geometry issues. That stuff drives me nuts. For 1099.99 which is what I got this tv for I think this tv is very nice. I do see the silk screening a bit, which I only seem to notice on white a little and my tv squeels/hums do to fan or bulb in the back.
brittonal is offline  
post #111 of 466 Old 10-29-2007, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brittonal View Post

Do you know how to get into the service menu? I wanted an samsung originally but EVERY single one I saw at a different store had horrible geometry issues. That stuff drives me nuts. For 1099.99 which is what I got this tv for I think this tv is very nice. I do see the silk screening a bit, which I only seem to notice on white a little and my tv squeels/hums do to fan or bulb in the back.


when the tv is off press

1. Display top left on your remote.
2. Press the number 5 on your remote.
3. Press Volume up once on your remote.
4. Press the power to turn on your tv on your remote.

remember to press them on right after the other.
kicks is offline  
post #112 of 466 Old 10-29-2007, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
brittonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Kicks, any new pics of upconversion? Im curious to this as this is the way im going till the war is over.
brittonal is offline  
post #113 of 466 Old 10-29-2007, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brittonal View Post

Thanks Kicks, any new pics of upconversion? Im curious to this as this is the way im going till the war is over.

Dude I returned the Sony for a Samsung from last years model line, best decision I have made in a while. I got a 56" 1080p Samsung for the same price as the Sony. Blacks are way better and so is the color accuracy.

Model HL-S5687W and the set gets 1080p over component unlike the Sony.
The blacks on the Sony bothered me so much it had to go. I was wondering why Sony was selling the set for so low.
kicks is offline  
post #114 of 466 Old 10-29-2007, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
brittonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont see an issues with the blacks.. ?? How did you know how to get into the service menu. No idea how to navigate around.
brittonal is offline  
post #115 of 466 Old 10-29-2007, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brittonal View Post

I dont see an issues with the blacks.. ?? How did you know how to get into the service menu. No idea how to navigate around.

I had a Sony KDFE42A10 before this Sony and they usually keep things like that the same. The only issue I see with the Smasung is slith bowing when viewing 4:3 pulldown, other than that it's perfect.
kicks is offline  
post #116 of 466 Old 10-30-2007, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
brittonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else on Calibration?
brittonal is offline  
post #117 of 466 Old 10-30-2007, 04:43 PM
Member
 
phillipsolorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does entering the service menu void the warranty? Is the TV able to track it if I ever do enter the service menu? Also should I go out and buy a calibartion dvd or wait for the Blu Ray - HD-DVD ones to come out?
phillipsolorio is offline  
post #118 of 466 Old 10-30-2007, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillipsolorio View Post

Does entering the service menu void the warranty? Is the TV able to track it if I ever do enter the service menu? Also should I go out and buy a calibartion dvd or wait for the Blu Ray - HD-DVD ones to come out?

I think there is a way to put them back to default, I will investigate for you how to do so. But yea if they find out you did change them your warrenty could be voided.
kicks is offline  
post #119 of 466 Old 10-30-2007, 06:22 PM
Member
 
phillipsolorio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmm that is interesting. I am assuming when a ISF guy comes for a professional calibration, he uses the service menu.. is that a fair assumtion? if he accesses the menu is the warranty voided as well?
phillipsolorio is offline  
post #120 of 466 Old 10-30-2007, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillipsolorio View Post

hmm that is interesting. I am assuming when a ISF guy comes for a professional calibration, he uses the service menu.. is that a fair assumtion? if he accesses the menu is the warranty voided as well?

Well if your tv breaks ISF guy isn't going to fix it. You are gonna deal with a Sony guy, and according to Sony or any other tv company the only tools you need to better your picture are your run of the mill picture mode settings (color temp control, iris, sharpness so fort) Which is why you don't get instructions on how to access the service menu in your tv manuel it's something your aren't supposed to be doing.
kicks is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

Tags
Sony , Sony Kdf 50e3000 Kdf50e3000 Lamp With Housing Xl2500 , Sony Kds 50a2020 Kds50a2020 Lamp With Housing Xl5200
Gear in this thread - 50a2020 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off