Problem with Sony Grand Wega, Blue Tinge on Screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 22 Old 12-09-2007, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My father in law bought a 60" Grand Wega 3 years ago, it had a problem with a blue tinge on one side of the screen, so he replaced the bulb, it didnt fix the problem, now the entire screen is has a blue tinge apart from the centre with has a dark oval shape which has line through it like cracks being projected????

Can you give some advice, I am very new to rear projection and am trying to help him out

Hope you can help

Porjecktor 1 - Down Under
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 12-09-2007, 10:36 PM

Projektor 1...sounds like the "Blue Blob" or optical block which may require replacement of the light engine. Here in the U.S., Sony extended the free replacement period for certain Sony Grand Wega sets. Call Sony and see if your particular model of Grand Wega is covered. I had the light engine on my Sony KDF-60XBR950 replaced about four months ago.
post #3 of 22 Old 12-09-2007, 11:54 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks Pinkey, I have done a bit of web browsing, and I must admit it scared me that there are so many problems with this "blue blob" problem, I have emailed Sony Australia and hope that they extend the repairs to this model, the tv cost him 7.5K AUD, and it looks like it costs 3.5K to repair the optical engine, I cant believe it.
IF he has to pay 3.5K he may as well buy a 50"LCD or PLASMA, and I can guarantee it won't be a SONY unless they come to the party over here in Australia.

We will wait and see,
heres hoping !
post #4 of 22 Old 12-11-2007, 10:58 AM

A message from Sony Electronics...

Posted: 12/11/2007

2003 Model Year Grand WEGA™ Televisions

Models: KDF-60XBR950, KDF-70XBR950, KF-42WE610, KF-50WE610 and KF-60WE610