2008 Samsung DLP's Discussion (HLxxA650/A750) - Page 67 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:13 PM
Member
 
ztkp01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owasso, Oklahoma
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moss312 View Post

It fixed the SRS not staying on issue when I updated mine. It didn't fix my Xbox 360 having problems at 1080p over component though. I can live with 1080i as long as the power cycle issue is fixed, and no new issues pop up.

I asked what this fixed resolved and was told 2 things:
- Power cycle issue
- Surround sound reset issue when TV power off and back on
ztkp01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:25 PM
Member
 
kirr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to give an update. Since installing the firmware, we have had no issues with the ps3 playing blu ray. We have not played any games on it yet and do not know if it will power reset with games. We let the TV play two movies back to back on the ps3 and so far...no problems.

On another note, if you need to find out where to get the firmware, read the previous page. You have to call Samsung and ask for the upgrade. You can tell them which upgrade you need by letting them know the upgrade version (all listed on the previous page).
kirr is offline  
post #1983 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EHUPP01 View Post

That is interresting. That is the same date they released firmware for the A650 with the same type of issue. Hmmmmmmmm I wonder?

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ne...ype=&model_nm=

Just to clarify, this is the LCD A650, not the 650 DLP series.
jhferry is offline  
post #1984 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:28 PM
Newbie
 
mcnamarar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, a lot of posts with a lot of reset issues. It was Post #1623 which commented on my post about the SRS issue. Every 750 I've tested has this problem and with the new posts it might be corrected with this firmware.
mcnamarar4 is offline  
post #1985 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:36 PM
Member
 
ztkp01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owasso, Oklahoma
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ztkp01 View Post

I was told that no fix available but suddenly they found it after asking about whether they acknowledge the issue. Getting setup for it now! I'm heading home to apply it soon.

Patch applied! No restarts yet! (but it's only been 2 minutes so far)
ztkp01 is offline  
post #1986 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:40 PM
Member
 
JD44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirr View Post

Just wanted to give an update. Since installing the firmware, we have had no issues with the ps3 playing blu ray. We have not played any games on it yet and do not know if it will power reset with games. We let the TV play two movies back to back on the ps3 and so far...no problems.

On another note, if you need to find out where to get the firmware, read the previous page. You have to call Samsung and ask for the upgrade. You can use my reference number or you can tell them which upgrade you need by letting them know the upgrade version (all listed on the previous page).

I appreciate that. I just got off the phone with one ECR and after finally getting him to admit that the firmware existed, he said the only way they could send it to me was on a flash drive via postal mail.

I told him repeatedly I have a flash drive, I have internet access, I have an email address, could you please send the firmware (or a link) via email and he said no, the only way is thru postal mail.

I'm on hold again with another support person. I may have to use your case number.

Thanks again.
JD44 is offline  
post #1987 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:43 PM
Member
 
JD44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD44 View Post

I appreciate that. I just got off the phone with one ECR and after finally getting him to admit that the firmware existed, he said the only way they could send it to me was on a flash drive via postal mail.

I told him repeatedly I have a flash drive, I have internet access, I have an email address, could you please send the firmware (or a link) via email and he said no, the only way is thru postal mail.

I'm on hold again with another support person. I may have to use your case number.

Thanks again.

Doh! The csr just sent me an email (not here yet, still waiting). I was on the phone all of five minutes. Sigh.
JD44 is offline  
post #1988 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
kbernard75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called back and got someone else, but he didn't want to give it to me, but i insisted and he emailed it to me, no restarts, no screen drop outs. yeah!!!!!
kbernard75 is offline  
post #1989 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 04:57 PM
Member
 
rkm20151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ztkp01 View Post

I asked what this fixed resolved and was told 2 things:
- Power cycle issue
- Surround sound reset issue when TV power off and back on

I called Samsung again today but CSR was rude and had know understanding of this issue except saying there is no update.
I called again with case # posted in this forum and this time CSR sent did sent me firmware in e-mail (URL with some other case# and pwd).
I downloaded in USB drive and updated. So for no problem. Let us see how for we go.

Thanks everyone to update details and helping each other.
rkm20151 is offline  
post #1990 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 05:27 PM
Member
 
RedBaron420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called up Samsung, spoke to "Rebecca" and she put me on hold for about 2 minutes then came back with the good news. She emailed me the update, I applied it, and here's hoping
RedBaron420 is offline  
post #1991 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
golferbradbest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
why cant they just post it on their downloads at www.samsung.com
golferbradbest is offline  
post #1992 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 05:45 PM
Member
 
erdamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called Samsung when I got home from work. Immediately told the agent that I had a A750 with the power cycle issue. Told them that the avs forums had mentioned firmware 1004 had been released today. Took about 5 minutes to get it emailed to me.

About half way thought First Blood on Blu-Ray without a power cycle. So far so good.

Also just test the SRS reset issue and it seems to be resolved.
erdamon is offline  
post #1993 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by golferbradbest View Post

why cant they just post it on their downloads at www.samsung.com

Why Samsung doesn't post firmware updates has always been questionable. Guess they just don't want that rare service call that you have bricked your display because of not following a simple procedure. Other display vendors post their firmware online.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #1994 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 06:08 PM
Member
 
JD44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone is on and has it in their good heart to send me the firmware, I'd much appreciate it. Even though I was told it was being sent, I never got it in about an hour and a half wait.

I called back, and the next rep said it didn't look like it was sent. He put me in the queue, but I may not get it until tomorrow. I lack patience...if you would be willing, send me a PM.

Thanks.
JD44 is offline  
post #1995 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 06:23 PM
Member
 
justinj229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hear you on that, I would like it as well, and if I get it your the first person I will PM JD...
justinj229 is offline  
post #1996 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 07:02 PM
Member
 
JD44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinj229 View Post

I hear you on that, I would like it as well, and if I get it your the first person I will PM JD...

Likewise. No luck tonight, everyone must be enjoying their TV's.

Hopefully I'll get it tomorrow.
JD44 is offline  
post #1997 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 07:15 PM
Member
 
justinj229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm supposed to be getting it later tonight lol we shall see if that happens...
justinj229 is offline  
post #1998 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 07:53 PM
Member
 
kirr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, Now that I have the firmware all uploaded and no more power reset issues, I have noticed that the TV is bowing slightly on the lower right hand corner. It is not much. Is there anything I can do about this other than return the TV? I would rather buy a more expensive TV at this point than to deal with all of these problems. Is there a way to fix the slight bowing?
kirr is offline  
post #1999 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 08:20 PM
Member
 
justinj229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question for people with the new firmware, was this the file name T-AQMAUSC.exe ?
justinj229 is offline  
post #2000 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 09:05 PM
Member
 
jonish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would also appreciate the firmware. Can't seem to get it from samsung so far. Would one of you who has it PLEASE upload it and post a link? Some of us aren't able to get it as Samsung is really giving us trouble.
jonish is offline  
post #2001 of 5059 Old 04-16-2008, 09:10 PM
Member
 
ztkp01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owasso, Oklahoma
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinj229 View Post

question for people with the new firmware, was this the file name T-AQMAUSC.exe ?

Yes, but this is a self-extracting file that creates a folder called T-AQMAUSC with the approrpriate files.
ztkp01 is offline  
post #2002 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 05:41 AM
Member
 
Teknomedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a good reason no one is willing to upload the new firmware for the rest of us? It seems getting it through Samsung is luck of the draw at best right now.

If you're worried about us bricking our TVs... I think we'd all be OK with clicking a link that said "use at your own risk".

Also, some of us here are getting very close to the end of our return periods.

I know I might be making a fuss about this... but I don't even have the TV yet and I won't buy it until I know for sure that the new firmware fixes the screen blank, power off and SRS issues... and the only way to know for sure is for everyone here to test the firmware... and the easiest way for that to happen is by helping the others here get it.

This isn't some joe-blow message board... this is AVS... I think most of us here know what we're doing and what the risks can be.


Please... upload the firmware.

TK
Teknomedic is offline  
post #2003 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 05:47 AM
Newbie
 
JinSyracuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about we start an official "owners" thread. This thread is 63 pages of speculation and one page of actually useful information. I really think we need a new thread for those of us who own this set to share information and calibration information.

Picked my set up yesterday at CC. They were able to price match to an online price, well almost match. I ended up with a 61A750 and a 58 inch stand THC PTV583B, gloss black with glass shelves. No extended warranty and no delivery. Paid 8% sales tax and total cost was just less than the MSRP of the tv alone! I thought this was a good deal. This tv will not fit in the back of a tahoe without laying it down on its back!

So far I am extremely impressed. Slight, very slight bowing on top. Nothing I would complain about, especially on a 5 foot tv that cost < $2k. When compared to the 52 inch Sony XBR I was looking at this thing is a steal.

So far it would seem that the sharpness really needs to be dropped to a setting of 15 or less to avoid SSE. Also the brightness of this set needs to be turned down a lot. Especially at night. This thing is extremely bright, to the point that it strains my eyes. Still waiting on my HDMI cables that I ordered from monoprice. I can't believe what a rip off those things are at retail.
JinSyracuse is offline  
post #2004 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 05:55 AM
Member
 
wjlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wherever the Army sends me. Currently: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknomedic View Post

Is there a good reason no one is willing to upload the new firmware for the rest of us? It seems getting it through Samsung is luck of the draw at best right now.

If you're worried about us bricking our TVs... I think we'd all be OK with clicking a link that said "use at your own risk".

Also, some of us here are getting very close to the end of our return periods.

I know I might be making a fuss about this... but I don't even have the TV yet and I won't buy it until I know for sure that the new firmware fixes the screen blank, power off and SRS issues... and the only way to know for sure is for everyone here to test the firmware... and the easiest way for that to happen is by helping the others here get it.

This isn't some joe-blow message board... this is AVS... I think most of us here know what we're doing and what the risks can be.


Please... upload the firmware.



I agree.
wjlane is offline  
post #2005 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 05:56 AM
Member
 
finsmaniac02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JinSyracuse View Post

So far it would seem that the sharpness really needs to be dropped to a setting of 15 or less to avoid SSE. Also the brightness of this set needs to be turned down a lot. Especially at night. This thing is extremely bright, to the point that it strains my eyes. Still waiting on my HDMI cables that I ordered from monoprice. I can't believe what a rip off those things are at retail.

I would agree we need a new thread for calibration/tweaks, etc. I have my sharpness down to zero, but nothing will get rid of SSE; its always gonna be there. I posted the settings I use a page or 2 back, they seem pretty good so far. Still waiting on definitive answers for gamma level and color settings (warm1,standard,etc). I do notice myself tinkering around with brightness/LED adjust almost every time I sit down, and I would like to not have to do that anymore... but I might always have to I suppose; I just don't remember doing this as much on my old DLP
finsmaniac02 is offline  
post #2006 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 07:06 AM
Member
 
RedBaron420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the self-extracting firmware package that I was sent and so far no problems.

I'm not responsible if you brick your set, so use at your own risk!

http://www.ubermicro.com/a750/T-AQMAUSC.exe

If someone else wants to host/mirror it as well that would be cool.
RedBaron420 is offline  
post #2007 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 07:15 AM
Member
 
harps500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBaron420 View Post
Here is the self-extracting firmware package that I was sent and so far no problems.

I'm not responsible if you brick your set, so use at your own risk!

http://www.ubermicro.com/a750/T-AQMAUSC.exe

If someone else wants to host/mirror it as well that would be cool.
Just got mine too. Before starting know these steps and then the attachment!

How to download firmware:
1.\tConnect a blank USB memory drive to your PC.
2.\tClick [Download Firmware] and then click [save]
3.\tIn the "Save in" field, select the USB memory drive and click [Save]
4.\tClick [Open Folder] and double click the Zip File.
5.\tClick [Run] and an extractor window will open.
6.\tClick [Browse] to once again select the USB memory drive and then click unzip. You should see a dialogue box indicating that the files have been unzipped successfully. Click [OK] A folder containing the firmware files has been added to your USB memory drive.
7.\tSafely disconnect the USB memory drive by right clicking the green check mark on the taskbar and then left click "Safely Remove".
8.\tClick F/W Update Guide (Right) and carefully read the instructions before proceeding with the firmware update.

Enjoy!

 

Firmware_upgrade_Guide.pdf 218.0908203125k . file
harps500 is offline  
post #2008 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
CyberCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll ask again, maybe someone can help:

What is the power consumption of the HL56A650 and HL61A650. Currently I cannot download the manuals to find out, as my computer is giving me trouble.

The HL61A50 uses 230 watts in use, right?
CyberCT is offline  
post #2009 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 07:32 AM
Member
 
harps500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberCT View Post

I'll ask again, maybe someone can help:

What is the power consumption of the HL56A650 and HL61A650. Currently I cannot download the manuals to find out, as my computer is giving me trouble.

The HL61A50 uses 230 watts in use, right?

Here's the link. It's 32 megs so your computer is going to take awhile to download it.

http://org.downloadcenter.samsung.co...2Lang_0211.pdf
harps500 is offline  
post #2010 of 5059 Old 04-17-2008, 07:34 AM
Member
 
RedBaron420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by harps500 View Post

Here's the link. It's 32 megs so your computer is going to take awhile to download it.

http://org.downloadcenter.samsung.co...2Lang_0211.pdf

If your browser tries to automatically open Adobe to view it when clicking, you can always "right-click, save as" to have it download as a normal file so you can at least see the download progress.
RedBaron420 is offline  
Reply Rear Projection Units

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off