Sony DA4 Chassis Owners (HD Tube TVs from 2002-2004~) I need your help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 08-12-2008, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alowdownshame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I accidentily reset my MID NVM data a while back but using the initial/average defaults listed in my service manual has yet to get 480p and above to display on the tv.

Luckily I found that enabling HDPT will bypass all mid settings while dealing with a 1080i signal allowing it to display on my tv from either DVI or Component Sources.

There have been others who have dealt with this kind of issue but they appear to no longer be active all attempts to contact them on my part have resulted in failure.

So for those of you who own a Sony HD Tube in the HS510, HS410, and XBR-9xx families or a model close to them could you please share with me your MID settings?

(I backed up only the first four MID 3 values before the wipe but they aren't giving me anything of values so I believe its the settings other than Hsiz, Vsiz, Hpos, Vpos that are causing my problems)
alowdownshame is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 08-12-2008, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raouliii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ponchatoula, LA.
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have a service manual for your set? Not just the spreadsheets but the actual manual? What set do you have? If you have the actual service manual, have you set all the values to their defaults?

Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin
raouliii is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-13-2008, 12:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alowdownshame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I do have the proper service Manual for my model(KV30HS510) but following the Initial settings for all of the entries hasn't been advantageous in all circumstances.

For Example
480p, 720p, 1080i, and index/favorites/twinview did not work at all with default values.

I found through dumb luck at first that turning on HDPT allows 1080i to bypass MID entries this made 1080i work again. Bypassing MID to get 1080i back informed me that my problems were in MID.

Just a few minutes ago I have come a little bit closer to fixing those issues. MDLO which is recommended to be 12 by all DA4 chassis service manuals have read. A MDLO setting of 12 only causes visual garbage and some times a 1 second capture of RF to appear on screen when ever I access Component, DVI or the secondary display in twin view basically anything that refers to MID Data.

right now I have MDLO set to 0 and I find that 480p now works for the first time in weeks albeit imperfectly I bet some geometry fine tuning will fix that 720p and the secondary video view.

If I could get someone elses mid setting I'm sure I could do this quicker
alowdownshame is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 08-13-2008, 12:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 32HS510, that is under construction. It is not a widescreen model, which mids do you need? There are a LOT in my service manual!
jdre is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-13-2008, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alowdownshame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^thx jdre

the mid 1 through mid 3 settings that are actually in use on your tv would be nice


Woot I got 720p back!! 1080i with or without HDPT I also have 480p back but it looks super washed out for some reason

I owe a bit of thx to a poster I tried to help http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...32&postcount=1

If not for getting the service manual for his model I would have never found out what all the acronyms meant and I would have never figured out how to fix things myself.
alowdownshame is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-13-2008, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will take a look, and write them down on the service chart. Might take a day.
jdre is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 08-13-2008, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raouliii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ponchatoula, LA.
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alowdownshame View Post

Yes I do have the proper service Manual for my model(KV30HS510) but following the Initial settings for all of the entries hasn't been advantageous in all circumstances.
.......Just a few minutes ago I have come a little bit closer to fixing those issues. MDLO which is recommended to be 12 by all DA4 chassis service manuals have read. A MDLO setting of 12 only causes visual garbage and some times a 1 second capture of RF to appear on screen when ever I access Component, DVI or the secondary display in twin view basically anything that refers to MID Data.

right now I have MDLO set to 0 and I find that 480p now works for the first time in weeks albeit imperfectly I bet some geometry fine tuning will fix that 720p and the secondary video view.

If I could get someone elses mid setting I'm sure I could do this quicker

FWIW, the KV34HS510 service manual indicates MID1/MDLO=6 for all covered models (US KV32, 34 & 36HS510)

Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin
raouliii is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 08-13-2008, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alowdownshame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by raouliii View Post

FWIW, the KV34HS510 service manual indicates MID1/MDLO=6 for all covered models (US KV32, 34 & 36HS510)

lol that is like the only service manual for models close to mine that i didn't bother checking

the xbr 910 data sheet, hs420 sm, kv30hs510 sm, xs955-xbr960 SM all suggest an mdlo of 12 and not having a clue about what it did I didn't second guess it.

Seriously Sony need better checking for their manuals between that and entries where the suggested value exceeds the range its a wonder that the techs were even able to calibrate them at all
alowdownshame is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 08-14-2008, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still need to get to the settings, might be a few days.
jdre is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 08-17-2008, 12:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KV32-HS510, running over the air regular TV, no, HDTV signals available

MID1

0 DHPH 111
1 DVPH 20
2 DHAR 240
3 DVAR 135
4 DHPW 55
5 DVPW 5
6 DYCD 3
7 DYSD 4
8 MDHP 0
9 MDVP 30
10 MDHS 240
11 MDVS 120
12 MLHP 31
13 MLVP 30
14 SDHP 167
15 SDVP 5
16 SDHS 115
17 SDVS 79
SKIPS 18-21
22 DPSW 0
23 MDLO 6
24 BCOL 1
25 DYSS 1
26 OSDH 32
27 OSDV 16

MID2

0 DRHP 117
1 DRHS 180
2 DRVP 37
3 DRVS 120
That is all it had in MID2

MID3

0 VDHP 74
1 VDHS 161
2 VDVE 19
3 VDVS 135
4 VDV0 0
5 VCPO 40
6 VCWD 3
7 VYCD 0
8 VSTP 144
9 VSTT 0
10 VHSC 130
11 VFRV 0
jdre is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 08-18-2008, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Were the settings any help?
jdre is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off