KD-30XS955 has no blue on HD Inputs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-08-2009, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lordhumungus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope someone here has a suggestion or some insight. Recently my KD-30XS955 is having an issue where it does not display the color blue (everything has an orange and green tint to it) on any of the HD inputs (HDMI and Component). This issue only occurs with actual HD content however as when I switch my DTV receiver that is hooked up to the Component connections from an HD to an SD channel the problem goes away and everything looks good. Occasionally, the colors will display correctly but then the TV starts flickering after a few minutes and eventually drops the blue gamut again. Does anyone have any insight as to what might cause this? If it's not something insane to fix, I'd like to have it fixed as I love this TV, but all the repair places are going to charge an arm and a leg just to diagnose the problem. Also, it's a monster, so I don't want to drag it around if it's not necessary or not worth it to fix. Any help you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated. I've been coming here for years and I know someone here knows something I don't about this problem

P.S. If anyone has any suggestions to change the thread title, let me know. It's the best I could think of at the time.
Lordhumungus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-08-2009, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If HDTV reception is lacking blue, Analog from same tuner to same input on TV with same cables, is good, TV is probably OK. How's SD through the HDMI? If good also, I think it's in your tuner box. Might be easiest to swap or wiggle cables, however.
jdre is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-08-2009, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lordhumungus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting the exact same problem with HD over HDMI, but I've not tried SD over HDMI. I know for sure it's got nothing to do with the Sat tuner as it was doing this before I got it.
Lordhumungus is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-12-2009, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lordhumungus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone? Please someone give me some hope
Lordhumungus is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-14-2009, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WJonathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only thing I can suggest is to go through the complete series of input/resolution tests, record pass/fail modes, and get a service manual for your set that will show basic signal routing through the boards. You should be able to isolate the problem to a specific board or IC that way.
WJonathan is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-27-2009, 03:25 PM
Newbie
 
moogle2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lordhumungus View Post

I hope someone here has a suggestion or some insight. Recently my KD-30XS955 is having an issue where it does not display the color blue (everything has an orange and green tint to it) on any of the HD inputs (HDMI and Component). This issue only occurs with actual HD content however as when I switch my DTV receiver that is hooked up to the Component connections from an HD to an SD channel the problem goes away and everything looks good. Occasionally, the colors will display correctly but then the TV starts flickering after a few minutes and eventually drops the blue gamut again. Does anyone have any insight as to what might cause this? If it's not something insane to fix, I'd like to have it fixed as I love this TV, but all the repair places are going to charge an arm and a leg just to diagnose the problem. Also, it's a monster, so I don't want to drag it around if it's not necessary or not worth it to fix. Any help you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated. I've been coming here for years and I know someone here knows something I don't about this problem

P.S. If anyone has any suggestions to change the thread title, let me know. It's the best I could think of at the time.

I had the same problem with that tv a few years ago- luckily I had bought an extended service plan on it.. from best buy. They cam and took the tube out- that didn't work. Tried a whole bunch of things... for months, they'd come over and either say there was nothing wrong with it, or they'd take it apart and try and fix it... Finally, I had complained so much and finally got to the right lady on the phone and they issued me a $1,000.00 dollar credit. Over the months I had learned how to combat the problem with a swift hit to the side of the T.V. I kept the T.V and bought a GPS, vacuum, and other goodies. So... try hitting it!
moogle2 is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off