36XS955 - safe distance from subwoofer/power conditioner? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-27-2009, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PublicSectorTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, I have a Sony 36XS955 and I just got an APC power conditioner (H15) and a Starfire sub (10 inch). With the power conditioner directly below the TV, the tube showed some signs of magnetic interference (green/black blobs at the bottom of the screen). So I moved it about 3 feet back and left from the TV but I still see a little bit of interference on the right hand side, which is the opposite side from the power conditioner. However, the sub is on that side.

The sub manual says to put at least 2 feet of distance between the CRT and the sub, and I have, but I can't go any further than that. Do you think I need to radically rearrange my system or is there some way to detect and mitigate these problems?

Let me know your thoughts.

Twitter: Gizzmonic
PSN: Gizzmonic
PublicSectorTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-27-2009, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have always had my sub at least 3 feet from any set I have owned and surround speakers at least a couple of feet also. Now I have in wall speakers. Never have had any problems.
theroys88 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-27-2009, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PublicSectorTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theroys88 View Post

I have always had my sub at least 3 feet from any set I have owned and surround speakers at least a couple of feet also. Now I have in wall speakers. Never have had any problems.

What about with power conditioners? My friend says I'm nuts and that a power conditioner shouldn't give any magnetic interference, but moving it away really did help.

Twitter: Gizzmonic
PSN: Gizzmonic
PublicSectorTech is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-27-2009, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The power conditioner may have transformers in it, so there's a magnetic field, also, just move the sub farther away as a test. The degauss circuit may need a chance to work a few times to clear the magnetism from your TV.
jdre is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off