Correcting overscan on Philips PA2527? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-05-2009, 01:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a Philips PA2527 CRT TV (date of manufacture 1992) that i just received from the neighbors downstairs. there is quite a bit of picture being cut off both the top and bottom and a little on the sides.

is there a way to get into the service mode for this set, and if so, how do i get into it to reduce the overscan?
hitbyambulance is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-05-2009, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here you will find the service menu codes. One of them will work with yours.

First, let the set warm up for at least 20 minutes. Second, once you get in the menu note down all values.

The parameters you are looking for will have H (horizontal) or V (vertical) in their names. Once again, please note all values down before changing, Philips sets have some funky geometry controls in the service menu which can really mess things up. If you need to fix the geometry too, shrink the H and V sizes until there is 2-3cm of black border around the sides, then use the geometry controls (especially EWW).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Beaver
The nice thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-05-2009, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post

* Press {0} {6} {2} {5} {9} {6} {MENU} on the remote.

that one worked! but now i'm not sure how to actually adjust the various values displayed on screen, or what they do. is there some sort of guide you can point me to that will tell what values pressing different buttons will affect?
I've found that pressing the MENU button will cycle through four screens:

"3 A 10 21"
"3 B 10 21"
"3 C 12 30"
"128 D 25 E" (this one displays a totally black screen - for setting black level, i assume)

and pressing the four directional buttons will adjust those four values (along with the Channel +/- buttons).

it displays "GR2B+PV 612929-1" on each screen.

there were some numbers displayed at the very top left corner of the screen, but those were cut off by overscan and i couldn't really read them, and they have disappeared now. something like "D6 11" or possibly "D6 H"... not sure.

thanks much!
hitbyambulance is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-05-2009, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This sounds like a rather primitive service menu, i haven't seen any of those. The parameters don't look like anything useful... I suspect that this set has the controls inside, as actual physical knobs. Mmmm knobs. You'll have to remove the back of the set and take a look inside.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Beaver
The nice thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-07-2009, 03:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
okay, ... that's what i feared. too much for me to deal with - i'm going to post it on the local Freecycle list and go back to the old Samsung 19" CRT. thanks for your input.
hitbyambulance is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-27-2009, 10:48 PM
Member
 
sicbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitbyambulance View Post

okay, ... that's what i feared. too much for me to deal with - i'm going to post it on the local Freecycle list and go back to the old Samsung 19" CRT. thanks for your input.

Yeah, I think that's the best thing to do. Unfortunately.
sicbud is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off