sd tv question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-04-2011, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
meet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a jvc 27 inch sd set.I also have a dish hd reciever with component outputs.When I try to connect them to my sd set the screen goes all blue.Is s-video connections the best I can get? Thanks for any info.
meet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-04-2011, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raouliii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ponchatoula, LA.
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As long as the HD rcvr output is set to 480i, your SD tv should be able accept it on component. It will NOT accept HD resolutions.

Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin
raouliii is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-11-2011, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
EEngineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DVD player that you have to switch to activate the component outputs. If I turn it off the screen is all blue like you mention because one of the three outputs is putting out a composite signal and the others are dead.

So I would look in the manual to see if you have to turn on the component outputs somehow.
EEngineer is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-06-2011, 09:38 PM
Member
 
P719C1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Western Hemisphere
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'd check the manual to find out how to disable progressive scan. Sounds like it may be outputting 480p resolution which your TV can't handle.

Either that, or the Dish receiver can only output video out of S-video OR component at a given time. I once owned a Aiwa DVD player that was like that. I had to use the composite video output to see what I was doing when I made this adjustment on the on-screen menu, to select component instead of S-video.
P719C1 is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off