KD34XBR960- Cablecard- Verizon FIOS - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-23-2011, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hollypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KD34XBR960- Cablecard- Verizon FIOS

Has anybody gotten a Motorola M Stream cablecard to work with Verizon FIOS.

I switched from RCN but now the Verizon Fios cablecard is not working.

When inserted the cablecard screen pops up with"Copy Protection Error"

I understand this has to do with Verizon implementing -Simulcrypt-

Does anyone know of a workaround so that I don't have to get a set top box (STB) ?
hollypop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-24-2011, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RalphArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockville MD
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollypop View Post

KD34XBR960- Cablecard- Verizon FIOS

Has anybody gotten a Motorola M Stream cablecard to work with Verizon FIOS.

I switched from RCN but now the Verizon Fios cablecard is not working.

When inserted the cablecard screen pops up with"Copy Protection Error"

I understand this has to do with Verizon implementing -Simulcrypt-

Does anyone know of a workaround so that I don't have to get a set top box (STB) ?

Mine is working with an Motorola M Stream card on Verizon FIOS. The technician had to come back twice to get it working. (I knew it could as I had previously had COMCAST single stream card. Finally got a card that worked (the tech indicated these particular cards which worked in the older tuners were hard to come by).

About 6 months ago I received notice from Verizon that they were changing their signal and my card would no longer work. When the day came nothing changed and it still worked - but the notification also stated they would no longer support such older cards.
RalphArch is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-24-2011, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hollypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To clarify with the Motorola M card I only get the broadcast channels (cbs nbc fox etc) I don't get USA ESPN CNBC etc or cable and premium channels.
hollypop is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-24-2011, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RalphArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockville MD
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollypop View Post

To clarify with the Motorola M card I only get the broadcast channels (cbs nbc fox etc) I don't get USA ESPN CNBC etc or cable and premium channels.

Of course I get all the encrypted premium channels I am subscribed to. If you are only getting the clear QAM channels the cable card is doing nothing for you. You can accomplish the same thing by hooking the coax up without the card and using the built-in QAM tuner solo.

Actually that sounds like exactly what is happening - to test it just pull the card out - you will still get those channels. Save yourself the $3 monthly rental fee and return the card
RalphArch is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off