Dark Picture - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-08-2011, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cwpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have Panasonic AV-27D303 the picture is dark no matter how you adjust it. A while back while doing other repairs to tech adjusted it with service menu got it a lot better but still not right. Has slowly gotten dark again, how do I get into service menu and what should I adjust?
cwpl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-08-2011, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
neccrttv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's common in those Panasonic CRT's. You have to adjust the screen. The screen adjust is located on the flyback transformer.
Here's a pic

Of course this should be left to a tech.... High Voltage = dangerous
Take off the cover and locate the flyback. Plug the TV and set the brightness to the middle. Get an image or signal that has black bars (16:9) or some DVD and turn the screen adjust clockwise. Make it so that the bars are not grey, but black. Try adjusting it slowly until the black becomes grey and turn it down a notch so it becomes black. All other pics should now be okay.
You can then adjust brightness(black level) in the menu for fine adjust(your liking).
If the adjust is turned too high, you will have retrace lines. Turn it down counterclockwise.

Good luck! AND DON'T TOUCH THE WIRES COMING OUT OF THE FLYBACK.
neccrttv is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-09-2011, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cwpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, now that you mention it he did take back off for brightness used service menu for color adjustment. I assume that transformer is for feeding the tube high volts.
cwpl is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-09-2011, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
neccrttv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, it's not that your tube is bad, it's just that at the factory they put adjusted the screen too low. Turn it up a notch and you'll see that your TV is good as new.
neccrttv is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-12-2011, 04:01 AM
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Are you sure it isn't a JVC

What exactly does the Screen Adjust / G2 do?
homerging is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-14-2011, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cwpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerging View Post

Are you sure it isn't a JVC

What exactly does the Screen Adjust / G2 do?

Damn did not notice that till saw your post, indeed is JVC. Is surrounded by Panasonic equipment guess why I did that.
cwpl is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off