New PS3's will no longer display Blu-Ray HD video over component - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 07-13-2011, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CRTFTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.shacknews.com/article/692...3-sku-drops-hd

Ridiculous on so many levels.

It looks like all of us with our old HDTV's will also have to rely on old Blu-Ray players. I just hope this doesn't mean that the next generation of consoles (Wii U, etc.) will abandon component video altogether.
CRTFTW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 07-13-2011, 06:45 PM
Member
 
hoffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That stinks. At least there are still HDMI to Component converters out there as a means to bypass that problem.
hoffo is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 07-13-2011, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoffo View Post

That stinks. At least there are still HDMI to Component converters out there as a means to bypass that problem.

Where the heck can I get something like that? I've been needing an hdmi to component converter forever now.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 07-13-2011, 07:49 PM
 
schan1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently there are still people out there that haven't heard of the Analog Sunset...

http://www.extron.com/company/articl...analogsunsetwp
http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/10/a...ill-only-outp/
http://www.osnews.com/story/22897/20...omponent_Video

And those are just the first three that come up when you google...

Analog Sunset
schan1269 is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 07-14-2011, 01:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Russell Burrows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: no mans land aka mexican dmz
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cassettes, vcr tapes, Svideo, component, dialup, mono audio on tv shows, composite video,etc.

Technology advances and old stuff falls by the wayside.

Its complete but obsolete, tomorrows become yesterday
It was elite and now obsolete
the future day is yesterday.


I hear new lcd and plasma sets have hdmi with no problem.

DIY beats store purchased.
Russell Burrows is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 07-14-2011, 04:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RalphArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockville MD
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

Where the heck can I get something like that? I've been needing an hdmi to component converter forever now.

Try googling "moome external" or hd fury


But these will set you back more than the ps3 costs so would seem cheaper to buy a used ps3 if the new ones block component
RalphArch is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 07-14-2011, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
neccrttv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^ Or if you know a bit about soldering and electronics, you can make your own. Especially if it's just for movies (720p, 1080i, 480p) See my thread
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1322574
neccrttv is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 07-14-2011, 10:54 AM
Member
 
P719C1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Western Hemisphere
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by neccrttv View Post

^ Or if you know a bit about soldering and electronics, you can make your own. Especially if it's just for movies (720p, 1080i, 480p) See my thread
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1322574

Did you say that HDCP should be no problem with that? I admire the ingenuity greatly, but am concerned about what would happen if old HDCP keys are revoked.

Hey, I never said I wanted everything digital.
P719C1 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 07-14-2011, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by RalphArch View Post

Try googling "moome external" or hd fury


But these will set you back more than the ps3 costs so would seem cheaper to buy a used ps3 if the new ones block component

The old ones will block component too once new Blu-ray discs start receiving the Image Constraint Token next year.

HDCP key revokation isn't very likely because the converters share HDCP keys with a ton of LCDs, the last I heard. There would be pandemonium. Besides, the HDCP master key has been leaked. What CRTTV links to is a an internal card from inside Sony televisions so nobody is going to be revoking HDCP keys for that.

Expect 2160p and 4k televisions to come with an HDCP mark II and the process to repeat all over again.
homerging is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 07-15-2011, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
neccrttv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HDCP should not be a problem with my home-made DVI/HDMI to Component converter since the UD board in the DA4 chassis in Sony XBR's supported it.
Page 7 of this SM of the XBR's
http://www.justanswer.com/uploads/av...0_L5_TM_sm.pdf

But it required a buffer for standard TV's (mentioned in post) since the output had low signal
neccrttv is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 07-25-2011, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Tonepoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerging View Post

The old ones will block component too once new Blu-ray discs start receiving the Image Constraint Token next year.

HDCP key revokation isn't very likely because the converters share HDCP keys with a ton of LCDs, the last I heard. There would be pandemonium. Besides, the HDCP master key has been leaked. What CRTTV links to is a an internal card from inside Sony televisions so nobody is going to be revoking HDCP keys for that.

Expect 2160p and 4k televisions to come with an HDCP mark II and the process to repeat all over again.

That is going to be something of a downer but do note not all new titles will have the image constraint token bit actually set.

Also do note that there are statements out by Sony that the change won't effect games since they're not AACS protected content... if you can still trust Sony's word on anything anyway.
Tonepoet is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 07-25-2011, 03:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 657
Have not given much thought to component for several years, although I know this was coming .. audio alone is worth the use of HDMI with a PS3 ..

And, don't you need a special set of component cables for use with a PS3 .. ?? I never noticed any R/G/B out's on either of my units .. ??

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 07-25-2011, 10:58 PM
Member
 
andy2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell Burrows View Post

Cassettes, vcr tapes, Svideo, component, dialup, mono audio on tv shows, composite video,etc.

Technology advances and old stuff falls by the wayside.

Its complete but obsolete, tomorrows become yesterday
It was elite and now obsolete
the future day is yesterday.


I hear new lcd and plasma sets have hdmi with no problem.

The problem is that component isn't going away due to advancing technology, it's being forced out in the name of preventing piracy. Considering that there are lots of hdmi to component converters available, and that it's child's play to make a perfect digital copy of a Blu-ray, it seems pointless to continue with the analog sunset. They aren't even dropping component from the PS3, they're just turning it off for blu-ray.
andy2000 is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 07-27-2011, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

Have not given much thought to component for several years, although I know this was coming .. audio alone is worth the use of HDMI with a PS3 ..

And, don't you need a special set of component cables for use with a PS3 .. ?? I never noticed any R/G/B out's on either of my units .. ??

The PS3 uses the AV MULTI OUT cable for component video.

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening https://vimeo.com/63119329
Blasst is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 07-27-2011, 07:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post

The PS3 uses the AV MULTI OUT cable for component video.

This is an optional item .. ?? Don't think one came with either of my PS3's ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 07-27-2011, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
neccrttv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, it was an optional cable. It's worth 15-30 bucks at any electronics store (walmart, etc). But the best about the cable is that it works on the PS2 too so if you have a PS2 and games that won't work on the PS3 (DQ8, etc) it's the best. Also, Gran Turismo 4 was 1080i on the PS2 and this cable is the only way to have it on a HDTV.
What I can say about all this thing about cutting component is that well, if possible, don't let your PS3 or Blu-ray get updates, especially if there not needed (like 98% of the time).
Component is as good as HDMI, except for sound. And for old TV's it's much better. Having a CRT monitor that accepts 1080p through component and not through my HDMi to Component converter I can tell you that I won't be updating my things if component will be cut.
neccrttv is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 08-18-2011, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
uni_panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neccrttv View Post

Yes, it was an optional cable. It's worth 15-30 bucks at any electronics store (walmart, etc). But the best about the cable is that it works on the PS2 too so if you have a PS2 and games that won't work on the PS3 (DQ8, etc) it's the best. Also, Gran Turismo 4 was 1080i on the PS2 and this cable is the only way to have it on a HDTV.
What I can say about all this thing about cutting component is that well, if possible, don't let your PS3 or Blu-ray get updates, especially if there not needed (like 98% of the time).
Component is as good as HDMI, except for sound. And for old TV's it's much better. Having a CRT monitor that accepts 1080p through component and not through my HDMi to Component converter I can tell you that I won't be updating my things if component will be cut.

They won't cripple existing players through a firmware update. You can find this info by looking up more details about analog sunset. What you could see in the future though is discs that come with the image constraint token in play. The individual discs themselves with an ICT flag will output 480i SD in pre-analog sunset players. Firmware will have nothing to do with it. Updating won't matter.
uni_panther is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 08-31-2011, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
dcorban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neccrttv View Post

the best about the cable is that it works on the PS2 too

I have the Sony PS2 component cables. Are you suggesting they should also work on the PS3? Hmm, that could help me in selling this thing.
dcorban is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 08-31-2011, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
neccrttv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Are you suggesting they should also work on the PS3?

Pretty sure it will work since it's the same AV multi out connector. And I have to say that it really makes a difference over composite if you have a TV with lots of precision. Believe me, i know.
neccrttv is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 09-01-2011, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Mloot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I bought my PS3, I used the component cable setup from my PS2 and it worked just fine in the PS3.
Mloot is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off