Bright red flashes from my CRT - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 03-31-2012, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an HP A7217A (Sony FW900 - the king of all CRT monitors) that I've been using daily since about 2007. The picture on it is still really good but I'm afraid the monitor is dying.

About 2 years ago or so, I started getting an occasional bright red flash or two when I'd first turn on the monitor. That turned into 3 or 4 flashes and over time slowly got worse and worse. Then blue started acting up - I'd get super bright blue and red flashes upon turning on the monitor. The monitor would always stabilize within a few minutes and then I'd be good to go.

Well, the problem has gotten so bad now that when I turn on the monitor, I get no red colors at all, and sometimes after it warms up 5-10 minutes the red will all of a sudden come on and start flashing like crazy. It often shuts the monitor off. Now I'm to the point of multiple restarts and sometimes 20 minutes of tinkering (turning the monitor on and off) to get this thing to stabilize. And even then, maybe once an hour or so, I still get the random red flash of light.

Is it hopeless, is my monitor on its death bed? Or is there possibly an easy fix? I've contemplated just leaving it on 24/7 but I don't really want to do that.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-01-2012, 10:12 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
You could try touching up the soldering points on the neck board, sometimes they can brake lose and cause the problems you described.

This may or may not fix the problem, but it's worth a shot...
post #3 of 6 Old 04-01-2012, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13