Analog CRT Video Wall - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2012, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
old_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know very much about video wall technology, so I am putting this out there to see if it is even possible.

I read that crts due to their technology have very little lag for playing old video games like something in nano seconds. Unfortunately crts are limited in size, I think the biggest was the 40 inch trinitron.

I want to be able to hook up an old game system and have the image spread out over multiple tvs, but I don't want there to be any lag.

So my question is: is it possible to have a crt video wall that doesn't have any input lag?
old_nerd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2012, 11:20 PM
Member
 
hoffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I always wondered what equipment was used to do that. How do you process the image and split it up for each TV?
hoffo is offline  
Old 04-25-2012, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
LiquidSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You are looking for a videowall engine. If you stick with only analogue signals then there is no reason to ever have any lag. I only say this because some of the newer ones may accept and/or mix with DVI sources.

While this is the solution that you are looking for, you should realize the immensity of expense to produce the device you are talking about, i.e. I seriously doubt you will be able to get one of these for what you would probably feel is a reasonable cost to you. They don't just fall off of trucks, due to their industrial nature and the market that demands them.
LiquidSnake is online now  
Old 04-25-2012, 11:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
old_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Liquid snake, thank you for letting me know it is possible.

Could you direct me to a company that has the product for sale and I could then directly ask them for specs and cost.

I didn't know it could be done through analog only, knowing that makes me happy =)
old_nerd is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
My neighbor bought a fancy computer for his home business that does something like that, he could drag documents across the 3 monitor screens as if they were one. Made by HP.

Floydage is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
old_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Floydage, I appreciate the help, but more than likely your neighbors wasn't analog and so would introduce input lag in the ms.

I'm still waiting on LiquidSnake to post a reply for the last few days. I hope he wasn't just making stuff up.
old_nerd is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 06:58 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
gregzoll is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 06:59 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

My neighbor bought a fancy computer for his home business that does something like that, he could drag documents across the 3 monitor screens as if they were one. Made by HP.

Any computer with multiple video cards, or video cards with more than one video output can do that. The software on the computer for the video card is what allows your friend to do that. Not the same thing as a Video wall, but it can be done if you have enough video interfaces on a powerful enough computer.
gregzoll is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

Any computer with multiple video cards, or video cards with more than one video output can do that. The software on the computer for the video card is what allows your friend to do that. Not the same thing as a Video wall, but it can be done if you have enough video interfaces on a powerful enough computer.

Good to know - thanks!

Floydage is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:28 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
If you stick with only analogue signals then there is no reason to ever have any lag.

These signals wil need to be digitized before they can be remapped, and then converted back to analog, introducing a processing delay.
SAM64 is offline  
Old 06-12-2012, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
xdominguez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to the boards. I resuerface this thread because I need something that sounds a lot like this.

I have four CRT TV that I want to mount into a 4x1 video wall in which there should be a single animation displayed through all four TVs. Well, I've been looking on internet and consulting and everything I find is too expensive. I am kind of confused now, and a little help would be appreciated.

I don't have most of the techincal specifications of the TVs, but they must be about 13-15".

Thank you very much.
xdominguez is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off