Sony KV-34XBR910 HDTV - power supply - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-05-2012, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
golf98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a technican come over and look at my set. He said that it needs a power supply. The problem I was having with the TV was after having it on during the day it would not turn on the following day.After being off for 36 to 48 hours it would turn on and play all day.The next day the same problem and I would have to wait again for 36 to 48 hours.I was getting a flashing red light on front panel that would blink six times stop for a second or two and than blink six more times, etc.Do you think it is the power supply and if it is the power supply is it still made and avaiable.smile.gif
golf98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-05-2012, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
6 blinks is the dreaded "Low B" error, indicating a power problem related to the digital circuitry. There are two boards with related power supplies as well as the digital board(s) that could be the problem. Trial and error replacement of the boards is usually needed to track down the culprit. Hopefully you are dealing with a Factory Authorized Service Company who will only charge you for the actual board needed and not every one they have to try to get it going again.

And yes, it will be expensive, and there is a possibility that factory boards may no longer exist.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-08-2012, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 19
That sounds like a failed MCZ3001D chip. Nearly all failures of these TVs seem to be caused by that one problem. See these links
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1366567/sony-trinitron-wega-rlod-twenty-dollar-repair-guide
http://k0lee.com/2011/05/fixing-a-sony-wega-with-6-or-7-blink-code/

Replacing the whole power board if it is just a MCZ3001D chip failing would be expensive overkill. 2 MCZ3001DB chips and sockets costs less than $20.

It is possible the problem isn't with the MCZ3001Ds but that just isn't very likely.
homerging is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-08-2012, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Often DIYers would buy a dozen (or so) of the chips along with the sockets and swap them until the set starts working. When it stops working again, they go through their box of ICs and change them until it starts back up. Often, the previously "bad" IC might work again.

Sony seems to have designed the circuits (running at 250 KHZ) around perfect versions of the IC but any drift of components and it stops working and the manufacturer of the chips doesn't seem to have tight enough production QC.

That said, those ICs usually cause an H-Stop or V-Stop error occasionally but with power supplies running at insane speeds, the Micro is just quessing at times as to the cause of a shutdown.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-20-2012, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
golf98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had another techician come over and he took the board out and brought to his store and ran some tests on it. He said it was the 2 MCZ3001DB chips. He replaced them and ran the test for a few days. Brought it back and put the board back in and everthing is running great. thanks for the info:)
golf98 is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off