Magnavox horizontal hold - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-11-2012, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
AColdStArnolds79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Magnavox that has developed a problem with the horizontal hold. There is no adjustment anywhere on this television for horizontal hold. One weird thing is that if I put it on a channel with cartoons it works fine but as soon as it goes to a commercial it loses control.
The tv is old but has a great picture.
Any ideas on a fix for this? Or s it time to replace?
AColdStArnolds79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-30-2012, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
AColdStArnolds79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So no one has any fix for horizontal hold on this old set?
AColdStArnolds79 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-31-2012, 05:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 283
If there are no "user" adjustments (knob or access holes) on the front, sides or back), you probably will have to take the back off of the set. There is probably a trim pot somewhere on a board.

Note: Be very careful messing around due to shock hazard... even if the set is unplugged.

You may want to take a careful look inside and then post a picture once you think you've located the likely adjustment location before attempting any changes. wink.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-31-2012, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
AColdStArnolds79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took 7200 volts and got to spend two months in a hospital when I was in college.
I think I'll just get a new TV!biggrin.gif
AColdStArnolds79 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-01-2012, 02:44 PM
Member
 
CRTGAMER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AColdStArnolds79 View Post

I took 7200 volts and got to spend two months in a hospital when I was in college.
I think I'll just get a new TV!biggrin.gif
Popping the back cover is not risky as long as you know what to be careful of. Just keep clear of the connections at the back of the Tube and the thick wire going to the Flyback Transformer. Look for potentiometers at the base to adjust, keep track of the starting position.
CRTGAMER is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-12-2012, 02:43 PM
Member
 
videodoktor2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do not know which model or chassis you have but there may be a leaky capacitor in the 130 volt line to the horizontal drive circuit.
I have seen many older Maggies do this and been so long to have repaired one. Look for a capacitor fairly small in size an electrolytic
that may have its top swollen you symptom matches the repair caps cost just a few cents or a dollar for the value you need.
As the other poster state unplug the set from AC the CRT can hold a charge for a loooong time and it is possible to get zapped and believe me
it really hurts. I am 99% sure this is your problem can you supply model and chassis as we have may older Philips/Magnavox schematics still in
our store and repair house.
videodoktor2 is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off