Will plugging my XBR960 into a line conditioner reduce on-screen noise/static? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-05-2012, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jameslieb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright first of all is it natural for there to be a little bit of noise on the screen? There is a small amount of noise on-screen and I'm hoping it's not an issue with the TV's hardware. That being said, I'm wondering if plugging the TV into a line conditioner will reduce the noise. If so how many volts/watts would it need to be? I don't want to buy a really expensive one, hoping to keep it under $50. Any recommendations are welcome. Thanks.
jameslieb1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-06-2012, 05:31 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
I'm wondering if plugging the TV into a line conditioner will reduce the noise.

No one has ever been able to explain how this could possibly work, and I've never seen it work.
Filtering noise out of the AC that feeds a DC power supply is pointless. The power supply has so much filtering in it the output isn't even AC anymore. wink.gif
SAM64 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-06-2012, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Indeed should have stellar filtering unless filter caps have failed on the TV.

Or if the line is that noisy need to get the line fixed.

Floydage is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-06-2012, 10:53 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Indeed should have stellar filtering unless filter caps have failed on the TV.

"filtering " the AC input won't change this.
SAM64 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-13-2012, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Yes. A tv like the 960 shoulder be on a line conditioner / surge protector at all times.
I use a Richard Gray Pro 400 on my set. It is dead silent and has a gorgeous picture to boot. Well worth the money, IMO.
JA Fant is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-14-2012, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,631
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA Fant View Post

Yes. A tv like the 960 shoulder be on a line conditioner / surge protector at all times.
I use a Richard Gray Pro 400 on my set. It is dead silent and has a gorgeous picture to boot. Well worth the money, IMO.

So you can pause the BR player and unplug the TV from the 400 and plug it into the wall where the 400 is connected your pause picture is visual different??

Doug

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

airscapes is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 12-14-2012, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
LiquidSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think it is not a bad idea to have a clean power source of any kind, and you will notice, CRTs are especially susceptible to electrical noise problems. However, for the most part, just a decent surge suppressor and not using your CRT while you are vacuuming the room will accomplish this. Knowing some of james' threads here, I do not think that the visual problems he has noticed would go away just by moving the tv to a line conditioner. The things he has come across are almost certainly due to other little problems with various causes and fixes.
LiquidSnake is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-16-2012, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Yes.
JA Fant is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off