Sony KV-2565MTJ Convergence Issue? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-07-2013, 03:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
downindm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a Sony Trinitron on the cheap... Model KV-2565MTJ. Odd little beast... have not seen one like this before. It has on it "Hyper-Band Cable Ready" and the antenna jack has a plastic ring around it. It also has a knob on the inside flip-down panel that is labeled "Color System" and you can set it to Auto or PAL. It appears to have a convergence issue I think - see pictures below. I've tried using the standard codes to get in to service mode with no luck.

[PWR OFF] - [DISP], [5], [VOL+], [PWR ON]
-or-
[PWR OFF] - [DISP], [5], [PWR ON]

When I hit 5 the TV cuts on, hitting power after it turns it right back off. Anyone ever seen one of these beasts or know how to get in to service mode? I think this might be a TV imported from Japan (as it says Made In Japan on the back and I saw a reference elsewhere where it also mentioned this model as being an import). I'd just like to get this thing back to a nice picture.

downindm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-07-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Ah made in Japan like the old days! Sounds like a European or multi-national set. If you're up to it you might try playing with the knobs on the rear HV transformer. I've seen that sort of problem with computer monitors and they have horizontal and vertical focus pots but normally TVs are focus and screen.

Floydage is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-07-2013, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
downindm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like there is a cable that runs from the A board (which is labeled as HV out) going to the C board (RGB out). Looks like Pin 1 - 1000V, Pin 2 - 200V, Pin 3 - GND. I can check those without too much hassle as well as the voltage on the 2nd anode - but can't seem to find that V listed as to what it should be. I do have a Fluke HV probe.
downindm is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-07-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I was just referring to the pots/knobs on the big high voltage transformer with the thick wire (often red) that plugs into the side of the picture tube. Those knobs usually point out to the back or side of the set and sometimes there's even access holes in the cover to get a tool through (small flathead or philips head). Note the original positions first and only turn each a little bit each way until you get a feel for what it does. Also, there's often a little F for Focus, S for Screen (but may be called something different), H for Horizontal, and V for Vertical.

Floydage is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off