540p/60hz! ANYONE GET THIS MODE WORKING ON A CRT HDTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-13-2013, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RetroFan786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As the title suggests...has anyone been able to get this mode successfully working on a CRT HDTV? How does it look?

Do you get scanlines like in 240p mode on SD CRTs?

Anyone with a Panasonic CRT HDTV TAU series? How does the 540p mode look on that if you got it working?

Anyone with a Lumagen Visionpro video processor? How are the results with 540p/60hz on that processor?
RetroFan786 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-15-2013, 01:49 AM
Member
 
hoffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a Toshiba 30HF66 that has 540p mode. It only works over component or HDMI and only when sending a 480p source signal (at least on this TV). No 480p source = 1080i even with 540p selected. I've found 1080i looks better and tend to use it more. I only use 540p (480p) when using my Wii console for gaming. 1080i looks better for HD video sources and upscaled DVD.
hoffo is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-23-2013, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RetroFan786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump

Does that Toshiba show scanlines (the black lines) between each drawn line that the T.V displays for the Wii?
RetroFan786 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-24-2013, 12:41 PM
Member
 
hoffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't believe it does but it's been a while since I used it last. Aren't scanlines something you'd only see with 240p content?

This page might be of interest to you: http://scanlines.hazard-city.de/
hoffo is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-30-2013, 01:46 PM
Member
 
homeomnimax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: midwest USA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A friend had a 540p mode working with the output of an ATI card onto a 32 inch HD CRT Sony, there were no scan lines or jitter, it looked very nice. I don't have the details because I don't have contact with that person anymore but they used it as a computer monitor at the time.
homeomnimax is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off