nonworking component for Sony KV27FS120? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-10-2013, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
natchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Retro-Metro
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I searched and couldn't locate an answer regarding the component on KV-27FS120. Sources include D*TV, and separate Magnavox DVR. Apparently there is only scrambled horizontal lines. I tried three different component cables to rule out the cable. All three showed the same horizontal distortion on Video 4, the only one available for component.
The yellow composite cable works on video 2. is there a specific fix? Thanks in advance.
natchie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-11-2013, 04:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,454
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 285
make sure the source components (DVR) video output is set to 480i.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-13-2013, 06:03 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
natchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Retro-Metro
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh no...ok. There are no 480i sources nor converters at this point. Thanks for confirming my fear.
natchie is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-13-2013, 02:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,454
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 285
What's to fear?
Check the video settings of the D* tuner and the Magnavox DVR. There should be an option to set the video output to 480i.
Ratman is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-14-2013, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Indeed, I wondered if he checked for that option as it seems those devices should have that capability. Could be in the menu, a button on the remote, or in the case of my odd DTV tuner only on the front panel (I've heard some older devices have switches on the back). Check for names like Format and Video Format. Also make sure the device isn't set for Progressive if it's 480i/480p-only if that TV can only accept 480i.

Floydage is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-14-2013, 12:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,454
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post

...only if that TV can only accept 480i.

According to the TV's manual:
Quote:
Y, PB, PR Inputs — A component video input connection for a superior picture quality (480i only).
Ratman is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-14-2013, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

According to the TV's manual:

Good for me to know too, thanks. I got the little one (KV-20FS120) for free but its manual left off the (480i only) part off that sentence. I looked deeper within the manual to where it describes a DVD connection via component and sure enough it states 480i only. I've only got a converter box hooked up to it at the present but unfortunately this size didn't come with an s-video input. Cool little TV with the 16:9 Enhanced feature though.

Floydage is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off