HTPC to Denon 4520 to Sony KV-34XBR910: Screen Resolution Problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-22-2013, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
herbg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for help in resolving a screen resolution problem between my HTPC (WIN 8.1PRO), the Denon AVR-4520, and my (vintage?) Sony KV-34XBR910.

At this point, I don't know if the problem lies with the 4520, the Sony XBR, or the HTPC.

While other video sources - connected through the 4520 - look fabulous on the XBR, I can't seem to get the right resolution for the HTPC.

In it's current setup, the display extends beyond the bezel of the TV so that icons, menus, windows, taskbars, etc - anything on the periphery of the display - cannot be seen. It's a very frustrating experience.

Furthermore, when trying to change the resolution on the HTPC from 1920 X 1080 to something lower, the only other choice is 1280 x 720. WIN 8.1 PRO shows the display as "DENON-AVRHD" which makes sense since the HDMI cable is connected via the 4520.

The XBR has a 16:9 display at 1080i resolution. As mentioned, my Cable HD-PVR and other HD sources all scale correctly with no "overscan".

I should mention that I am using an HDMI cable from the 4520 to connect to a HDMI-to-DVI adapter on the Sony.

The Sony manual states the follow about the DVI connection:

Digital Visual Interface (DVI): Can accommodate a copy-protected digital connection (HDCP*) to other devices (such as digital set-top boxes) that have compatible interfaces.
The DVI-HDTV input terminal is compliant with the EIA-861 standard and is not intended for use with personal computers.

The reference to use with PC's is interesting. Not sure why that would be a problem.

Any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

Thanks,
Herb...
herbg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-22-2013, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
LiquidSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
There is no reason you can't use your PC with this TV, it will work fine. But, it is not likely reporting back to your PC to correct for its overscan, and not every video card has drivers that tweak for overscan so well. I know that nvidia's driver includes a control panel that gives lots of extra control over this, so if you have an nvidia card of any kind, update the driver and then go to the nvidia panel to get your image sized and positioned as you like it.

For other video cards, I don't know what to tell you. The few times I needed such a feature with alternate hardware, the prospects were slim.
LiquidSnake is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-23-2013, 06:04 AM
Member
 
Slosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have my HTPC connected to a 34XBR370 (bedroom system). Initially I used DVI-to-HDMI until I needed to free up an HDMI input and switched to component video instead (I'm using an old HIS Radeon X1950 Pro 8X AGP GPU). I'm running in clone mode (1920 x 1080) and ATi's software is automatically setting my component output to 1080i. ATi's Catalyst Control Center allows me to pick an HD resolution (ie 1280 x 720p or 1920 x 1080i) and manually resize the secondary display, but the results are worse than just running it in straight 1080i mode. Oh, and FWIW, I see no difference on this TV with component video vs. DVI.

These TVs have about 5% overscan from the factory and for good reason. When I go into the service menu to lessen the overscan I get horrible geometry errors that cannot be corrected with service menu adjustment alone. I just accepted that's the way it is. These TV's aren't good for web pages and such anyway, but look great with my uncompressed blu-ray rips and games (I'm not a gamer but a friend of mine is and has a 34" Sony connected via DVI to his PC).
Slosh is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-23-2013, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
herbg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the vote of confidence on the Sony. It looks like the problem is with the GPU. I'm using the latest Intel 4600 chipset but the graphics Toolbox doesn't seem to include adjustment for the overscan. So now I'm exploring a quiet, low heat discrete graphics card that will include software for this adjustment.
herbg is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-23-2013, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
LiquidSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slosh View Post

These TVs have about 5% overscan from the factory and for good reason. When I go into the service menu to lessen the overscan I get horrible geometry errors that cannot be corrected with service menu adjustment alone. I just accepted that's the way it is.

But this overscan does not help a computer display in any way, even if it has geometry errors. Overscan has nothing to do with the presence or potential of geometry errors. It is a historical broadcast concession made for a setup entirely removed from modern display technology.
LiquidSnake is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-23-2013, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
herbg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidSnake View Post

But this overscan does not help a computer display in any way, even if it has geometry errors. Overscan has nothing to do with the presence or potential of geometry errors. It is a historical broadcast concession made for a setup entirely removed from modern display technology.

Problem solved!! In the end, it was a video scaling issue, as suggested. However, the Intel Graphics 4600 Toolbox didn't have adjustments for overscanning. I solved the problem by purchasing a passively-cooled ASUS 2GB GT260 discrete video card.
Nvidia has an excellent toolbox that addresses overscanning issues with older displays and CRT's. Problem solved, thanks to NVIDIA.
herbg is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off