Samsung TXM 2796 or Zenith C27V22? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2002, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Big East's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have decided to purchase a 27 inch hdtv to replace my recently departed Tera. I had originally purchased the Akai clone of the Samsung 2791(non-HDTV) but it and another I tried out had serious convergence problems(colorations around lettering etc). Based on positive comments of the Samsung TXM 2796 I brought that unit home and have been generally pleased with it. However, I have discovered one flaw which has led me to consider bringing home the Zenith C27V22. The Samsung exhibits a faint 1/2 inch vertical line running down the center of the screen approx.on the 2 tuner PIP break(the Samsung TXM 2796 is not supposed to have PIP but it can be turned on via the service menu-only works on composite inputs though). I checked 2 floor models out at Sears and Best Buy and they both exhibited this flaw as well. Many people would not notice this right away depending on the source material. I have to decide whether I can live with this or not. That is why I am considering the Zenith. It has some additional features not found on the Samsung(an extra S-video input and both on the back as opposed to the one on the side of the Samsung, an RGB input, 3D comb filter and PIP-S video inputs I believe). However I have not read anything about it anywhere. In addition, I do not know how to access the service menu on the Zenith nor do I know if VSM can be turned off. Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks!
Big East is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2002, 08:56 PM
 
DonBerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would avoid any model HDTV set that can't be adjusted with a service menu. They all need geometry and overscan adjustments!
DonBerg is offline  
Old 07-23-2002, 12:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Rackon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the line visible only when using PIP?
Rackon is offline  
Old 07-23-2002, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Big East's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I do not use the PIP. It is visible in all modes.
Big East is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off