How are RCA F38310 owners doing? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1202 Old 07-16-2003, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just checked odometer at 19,520, I have the J4 model made in early 2001. I ran a service test and all came back OK.


Yours?
Captain Nemo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1202 Old 07-17-2003, 10:28 AM
Member
 
lemmy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: East TN
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is at 1800 hours. It was a refurb bought in Jan 2002. It is a JX2 Made in 2000. My TV had to have a coil replaced because of a 15.7khz squeel, and a fan got noisy which I replaced myself. The only other complaint I have is how the Fill mode stretches by 50% in the vertical direction instead of the 33% that it is supposed to. I am thinking of building a chipper check interface box to see if I can fix the problem. I just ordered the service manual on CD and it is on the way.
lemmy999 is offline  
post #3 of 1202 Old 07-17-2003, 05:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
m1fuller68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Captain,

How do you run a service test? I've had that RCA model for 15 months with no problems...very happy...

thanks
m1fuller68 is offline  
post #4 of 1202 Old 07-17-2003, 11:44 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On top of the HDTV there are a number of buttons. Correct sequence is Info, Menu-OK and right side of volume (plus). Put your 3 fingers on these buttons at one time, if you did it right you will see a darker color of grey, in towards the middle.



Take your purple button in center of remote and with what ever color you 'chose'(Blue, Green etc) push right arrow. Hit OK button and HDTV will start doing its own diagnostic tests. One by one if alright you will see OK in caps.


Odometer reading of hours used, go back to Button to left. Odometer, 'again' choose right arrow and hit OK button. Hours used will be displayed. Get out of Service Menu at 'any' time hit clear on lower right purple button your using.


Print and USE these instructions until it becomes second nature to you.
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #5 of 1202 Old 07-18-2003, 12:29 AM
Senior Member
 
bootz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine seems to be OK (open box from Dec 2002) with one exception. The set has developed a vertical line about 4 inches from the left side of the screen. The line is not completely straight but it is static (probably not a ground loop problem.)

It is normally only visible on a reddish background, however it is becoming very annoying. Here's hoping it is being caused by some electrical interference and not a picture tube problem. :/
bootz is offline  
post #6 of 1202 Old 07-18-2003, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had no problems since I bought the 2 week old floor model, off of a local dealer not a CC or BB. I would buy it all over again, for none of the Plasma, LyCOS, or L.C.D. models have my 1280 x 1080, pitch .65!


It is my contention although they are big and heavy, they make it up in performance. I can either have, my wide screen movie or my I8500 Dell Laptop if I wanted it on my HDTV, by using a Component Adapter to the component input to have a full HTPC


My laptop has a WSXVGA+ view towards a flat built in 16 X 10 L.C. D. screen on my laptop.F38310 for a crystal clear view without having to use my HDTV.


P.S. Edit I am taking WebTV off, for DSL is my choice.
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #7 of 1202 Old 07-18-2003, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had mine for almost a year I obtained mine directly from the Thompson factory I have had no problems to date.
wward is offline  
post #8 of 1202 Old 07-18-2003, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have done so much DVD watching in the last two years and the F38 has performed admirally. I would buy it al over again at $2999, which is what I paid for a showroom tweaked out unit. ISF calibration was performed on all of his showroom models. From all that I read at AVS a lot had problems the first day or 2 weeks from day one.


Have all of you measured your F38, I have and my diaginol is 39 inches not 38. A figure of 39" which gives me a height of 19 9/16 and width of 34.5. Is it just my F38 or does anyone else have the *in glass* configuration that my HDTV has?
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #9 of 1202 Old 07-18-2003, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
jwheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey captain, please tell me more about using the PC with this set. What brand component adapter are you using and at what resolution do you have your puter set at? I am very interested in hooking my PC up to my set and would like some feed back from others who have doen this with the F38310.

By the way my set is a YX5 and was purchased in December 02 open box at CC for $1250.00 with 96 hours on the clock. It now has 5237 hours and has worked fine with the exception of an audio problem that I have yet to get fixed. One channel is out over the internal speakers and through the RCA outputs. The Optical still works so I havent messed with it for fear the RCA techs might drop the set when they pick it up. Need to get it resolved before the 1 year manufacturer warranty expires even though I have an extended CC warranty. I just dont trust CC to work on this set.
jwheeler is offline  
post #10 of 1202 Old 07-19-2003, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would not recommend it with this HDTV. Here are my reasons:

Laptop has upgrade WSXVGA+ 1,680 X 1,050 which in terms of pixels 1,764,000, the LT has more than the F38310 in the 15.4 inch with a *.197* dot pitch. Contrast is 300:1 with 17.6 million colors available in the Wide Screen 16 x 10 15.4 inch diaginol L.C.D. display


F38310 has a 1,280 x 1,080 or 1,382,400 in a 20 inch high by 34.5 inch width, with a *.65* dot pitch.


IMHO the pixels are spread too far apart to get the same picture as the laptop.


For proof you can find the details on www.dell.com and www.rca.com
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #11 of 1202 Old 07-19-2003, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDTV888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Fran Peninsula
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Captain Nemo
I have done so much DVD watching in the last two years and the F38 has performed admirally. I would buy it al over again at $2999, which is what I paid for a showroom tweaked out unit. ISF calibration was performed on all of his showroom models. From all that I read at AVS a lot had problems the first day or 2 weeks from day one.

Have all of you measured your F38, I have and my diaginol is 39 inches not 38. A figure of 39" which gives me a height of 19 9/16 and width of 34.5. Is it just my F38 or does anyone else have the *in glass* configuration that my HDTV has?

Never even thought of measuring my TV, but you are right, 39"!
$2000 from Sears, Thanksgiving 2001. Happiest $2000 I've ever spent. Just the Salt Lake Olympics alone was worth the purchase.
No other TV can compare with this set in PQ. Only gripe is that 38" just isn't quite big enough.
No problems at all, I must be extremely lucky.
HDTV888 is offline  
post #12 of 1202 Old 07-20-2003, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Surprise 39 inches, most fall short but this one has a bit bigger diaginol. I agree this HDTV should be at least 50 inches and a couple of million more pixels, than the 1280 X 1080= 1,382,400 that the F38 has.


My Dell I8500 lap top has a 1680 x 1050 or 1,764,000 pixels on a 15.4 inch diaginol, 382,000 more than the F38 to be exact. To have the same amout of display I would gather it needs at least 3 times the amount shown, that would give it 46.2 inches.


3.5 times would give it the WSXVGA and 4.5 times would give it a 1920 X 1200 = 2.3 Million pixels and a dot pitch of .172 WUXVGA the best rate for computer and HD-DVD viewing IMHO.
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #13 of 1202 Old 07-20-2003, 10:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All good here.

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
post #14 of 1202 Old 07-20-2003, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
locomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Captain Nemo,
I'm a little confused. In one post you connect a "I8500 Dell Laptop on my HDTV by using a Component Adapter ".
In another "I would not recommend it with this HDTV". I was wondering like jwheeler which component adapter etc. you were using.
Myself, I bought a "no box" YX5 at CC 30 days ago and other than a couple of "dirty fingerprints" have been extremely pleased.
locomo is offline  
post #15 of 1202 Old 07-20-2003, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
jwheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah i was a bit confused by your answer too Captain. You said it has a crystal clear view. If so then why dont you recomend it as an appropriate display? I understand a program called Powerstrip can do wonders with resolution problems as well.
jwheeler is offline  
post #16 of 1202 Old 07-20-2003, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Men I think you believe I have a HTPC, I was saying that I could have a HTPC *if* I bought a VGA/component adapter. When I found out the tiny lap top had more pixels than my F38310 in the 15.4 diaginol measure. I realized it would be better not to try it with this model, maybe a future model with a lot more pixels to lower the high dot pitch of .65 the F38 has.


I have the free upgrade of WSXVGA+ that is 1680 X 1050 or 1,764,000 pixels, dot pitch is .197! F38 is 1280 X 1080= 1,382,400 pixels and dot pitch of .65. I have put them side to side and you get a whopping clear picture with the WSXVGA, but a HDTV needing more pixels than it has to give, you can't expect the same clear view.


The maximum the Inspiron 8500 you can order is the WUGA which has 1920 X 1200= 2,300,000 pixels and a dot pitch of .172! F38310 is great for watching movies, but not so great as HTPC as you can see above. Proof www.dell.com and www.rca.com


P.S. I am sorry if you misread my post.
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #17 of 1202 Old 07-21-2003, 05:50 PM
mdv
AVS Special Member
 
mdv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Captain Nemo, you aren't by chance the fellow who used to post as Hob are you?

Mark
mdv is offline  
post #18 of 1202 Old 07-21-2003, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mdv
Captain Nemo, you aren't by chance the fellow who used to post as Hob are you?

Mark



Mark I am sure there is more than one hob in the world. The subject is the RCA F38310 got one if so how are you doing with it?
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #19 of 1202 Old 07-22-2003, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
reybie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had mine since uhm... less than a year I think... wait, no I'm sure because I have 18months to pay it or I suffer the consequences (accrued interest! LOL).

I haven't had any problem with it and I love it so far. I dunno what production model it is or something like that because the back is too close to the wall and the damn thing is heavy as heck.
reybie is offline  
post #20 of 1202 Old 07-22-2003, 01:18 PM
 
ThumperBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Notice Captain Nemo didn't deny he is THE HOB! Hob is definitely back!
ThumperBoy is offline  
post #21 of 1202 Old 07-23-2003, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
wdcoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Oviedo, FL US
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have had mine for about 2 1/2 years and still love it. Had a friend calibrate it about a month ago and looks even better. Mostly watching HD & regular TV on it. Got a Z1 projector in February and watch all my DVD's with it on a 100" screen in the back bedroom.

Don
wdcoy is offline  
post #22 of 1202 Old 07-24-2003, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know many characters on the internet, and hob is one of them. Would you like me to contact him and come back to the AVS forum?
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #23 of 1202 Old 07-24-2003, 01:25 PM
 
ThumperBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes of course we all loved HOB! But it is obvious HOB is already here, Capt Nemo, as you well know!
ThumperBoy is offline  
post #24 of 1202 Old 07-24-2003, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I copied his style for posting he didn't provoke anyone until he was provoked. He also didn't get the full picture of 4:3. Home Theater talk was about 16 X 9. Like the movie "Primal fear" with Richard Gere, Laura Linney, John C. Mcginley, and others of the movie "Jade" and the term hysterical blindness.


Living by himself for over 18 years with no friends or anyone to talk to is hard on him. He lives in a elderly and disabled apartment building, and rarely ventures out except for food.


Not much of a life for a man who retired at age 38, now 56 and nothing has changed.
He is still crippled and his mother only has a few years to live. The guy is resourceful he will find a way to keep his HDTV, whether it's name is RCA or some other name and not 38 inches but 50 inches or a bit more. He's still thrilled to own the F38310JX4 and 4 DVD changers filled connected to the F38 by this neat 6 to 1 conversion of a device into one component.
http://www.inlineinc.com/products/matrix/3506.htm
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #25 of 1202 Old 07-24-2003, 03:23 PM
 
ThumperBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You reveal yourself Captain, since only HOB would know all that detailed information about him! Glad to see you back under your new name!
ThumperBoy is offline  
post #26 of 1202 Old 07-24-2003, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumperboy hob was kicked off AVS, anyone stating he is hob, their account would be terminated. I am Captain Nemo alter ego of hob he's my best buddy, we keep in mental contact.


You know he has some problems not running on all cylinders is one, but I judge that to 18 years of seclusion for the unwanted crippled man. He has spent more time tweaking that F38 than a lot of guys, he unhooked the VSM to not have to turn down the sharpness to 0 all the time.


He must have his share of brilliance and lonliness, now he's got his own computer.
You see he must have goals he sets every day to complete. Like Hyper-threading
keeping two programs running, one stops he starts another and this goes on week after week, year after year all by himself. For him there is no holidays, weekends or vacations. His favorite saying is there is no holidays those days are simply like a sunday, a day without mail.
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #27 of 1202 Old 07-24-2003, 07:33 PM
 
ThumperBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keep on going there HOB - keep up the good fight against those darn outdated FoolScreens!
ThumperBoy is offline  
post #28 of 1202 Old 07-24-2003, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
 
Captain Nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ThumperBoy Hob started that one and it's going all around the internet, Hobs contribution to Full Frame ignorance. He tried to get people to realize that when all is digital, there will be 4 sides of the hated by them black bars on 4:3 DVD.


To us there is only 2, and we turn the lights out like the 2 movies I watched in a row, on the F38310. Carrie 2: The Rage and Leviathan really make you feel your at a movie theater! 19 9/16 inches high and 34.5 inches wide in glass measurements.
Captain Nemo is offline  
post #29 of 1202 Old 07-25-2003, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
dicko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mine is giving me problems, though technically its not really the TVs fault. Fox owns 2 tv stations in the Chicago area, Fox and WB networks. On both of them they've decided to transmit some erroneous signal on the PSIP that causes the F31380 to immediately switch over to the associated analog channel. So no digital reception for Fox or WB in Chicago if you own one of these sets. Same goes for owners of DTC-100.
dicko2 is online now  
post #30 of 1202 Old 07-25-2003, 05:30 PM
Member
 
RandD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is running great! One year in service today.
RandD is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off