27" HDTV Recommendations - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 215 Old 08-28-2003, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Tripp1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help.

OK, first I bought the Samsung TXN2775HF. There were several dislikes. The first is PIP. None available. The second thing is that when I wanted to switch video inputs, I would have to press two different buttons, and maybe a few more keystrokes to get the right input. No way to turn off inputs.

Then I exchanged it for the Zenith C27V22. A better TV so far, but only one progressive input. The other component is 480i.

So this sux now, I have a progressive scan DVD player and my ReplayTV has Progressive out, so I can't use both without getting a switch or something.

Is there anything else out there as I need 2 480p component inputs. I need a 27" because it is going into an armoire. If not, then I will probably take it back and wait a while for more HDTV's. I wish Sony had a 27"

Thanks!
Tripp1269 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 215 Old 08-28-2003, 08:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
robert123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know when they will become available, but Zenith's new C27V36 (which will supercede the C27V22) will have 2 component inputs that will both accept 480i/480p/720p/1080i.

Robert
robert123 is offline  
post #3 of 215 Old 08-29-2003, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Tripp1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that is exactly what i need. looks like i will be taking this one back this weekend


so is sony going to ever come out with a 27" HD?
Tripp1269 is offline  
post #4 of 215 Old 08-29-2003, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new Zeniths look very, very interesting:
http://www.atscforum.org/pr-newprodu...DirectView.pdf

ATSC tuner, Faroujda DCDi and Zoom features to mention just a few. Hopefully they have the audio sync problem mentioned in the CC reviews addressed with the new chip.

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #5 of 215 Old 09-06-2003, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by hardwired
The new Zeniths look very, very interesting:
http://www.atscforum.org/pr-newprodu...DirectView.pdf

ATSC tuner, Faroujda DCDi and Zoom features to mention just a few. Hopefully they have the audio sync problem mentioned in the CC reviews addressed with the new chip.
This does look very interesting. Anyone seen this unit anywhere? Any "MSRP"?
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
post #6 of 215 Old 09-07-2003, 05:39 PM
Member
 
stealthg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The C27V36 is now out at circuit city... I'm in the market for a 27-32" inch HDTV. Is it worth it to kick out the extra money for HDTV at that size or should i just get an analog tv and wait until i can afford to get an bigscreen TV in order to go HD?

Thanks,
Ant
stealthg2000 is offline  
post #7 of 215 Old 09-07-2003, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Srgtfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Laguna Niguel, Ca., USA
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Ant,


Which CC has this piece?

Thank you very much

Fury
Srgtfury is offline  
post #8 of 215 Old 09-08-2003, 01:33 PM
Member
 
jamesavery22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even the C27V22 looks like a great deal. But what is the Jack Pack? It says it has a VGA input which is what, I think anyways, makes this a great buy. But is the Jack Pack just an external converter?
jamesavery22 is offline  
post #9 of 215 Old 09-08-2003, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Charles O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Peoria, Arizona
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 37
The Circuit City in Honolulu has the Zenith C27V36...so I imagine most should have it.
Charles O is offline  
post #10 of 215 Old 09-09-2003, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Circuit City has the C27V36 at the warehouse but apparently no local stores in the Boston area have them. And the price is about the same as a Sony analog Wega! The 30 day return policy has me tempted but I really want a 32".

Anyone know if the new Zenith's can do the vertical squeeze for 16:9 enhanced dvd's?

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #11 of 215 Old 09-09-2003, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a respectable review on the 2002 Zenith 34" 16:9 model. Considering the 16:9 shared the same chassis as the 4:3's, it looks like Zenith has been addressing the shortcomings in the new model.

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #12 of 215 Old 09-09-2003, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
robert123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hardwired,

The 32" C32V36 should not be far behind the 27".

Robert
robert123 is offline  
post #13 of 215 Old 09-09-2003, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,

Do you have any experience with the Zenith's?

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #14 of 215 Old 09-10-2003, 05:36 PM
Newbie
 
humuhumupukapuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got an open box Zenith 27V22 this weekend at circuit city for $449 and it looks really good. It has the sony enhanced widescreen squeeze which is really good for anamorphic DVD's and HiDef viewing.

Looking at the specs for the Zenith C27V36, it looks even better. It has the Faroujda DCDi and Zoom and 2 progressive components instead of 1. And it is also the same price as the V22 at $649. Good deal. Plus I believe Circuit City also has $75 Gift card promo right now.
humuhumupukapuk is offline  
post #15 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 07:53 AM
Member
 
jamesavery22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by humuhumupukapuk
I just got an open box Zenith 27V22 this weekend at circuit city for $449 and it looks really good. It has the sony enhanced widescreen squeeze which is really good for anamorphic DVD's and HiDef viewing.

Looking at the specs for the Zenith C27V36, it looks even better. It has the Faroujda DCDi and Zoom and 2 progressive components instead of 1. And it is also the same price as the V22 at $649. Good deal. Plus I believe Circuit City also has $75 Gift card promo right now.
Does the 27v22 have the VGA input? If so have you experimented with it at all?
jamesavery22 is offline  
post #16 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 08:29 AM
Member
 
coryk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought Zenith C27V36 at $599 from CC web on Monday and delivered on Wed. Adding 3yr service & VA sales tax, it came down to $719. Delivery was free. I asked them where it was delivered from. And they said it was delivered from Richmond, VA.

My direcTV HD install will be done tomorrow so I cannot tell you how HD looks on this. But SD looked surprisingly good on this. DVD looked good as usual (you won't see much diff. between 480i and 480p). Haven't really tested too much with this. I'll post after I get HD installed.
coryk is offline  
post #17 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 08:33 AM
Member
 
coryk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, I bought this as someone robbed my house during my vacation and took all my TVs/DVDs/Computers/PS2..etc leaving me one 13' VCR/TV combo unit.

And my new Panny 50LC13's being delayed another 2 weeks... So I bought this thinking I might return this after having Panny in the house. Now, it looks like this is a keeper.
coryk is offline  
post #18 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cory,

Sorry to hear about the theft.

Can you confirm that your V36 has vertical squeeze for 480i & 480p input from a dvd player, zoom feature, and PIP?

Also, for upconverting ntsc, does the set do only 480p via the DCDi or can you also output at 1080i? And does it upconvert 720p input to 1080i or downconvert to 480p per the manual.

Tell us what else surprises you about this Zenith. I liked the deep black tinted tube on the 32v23 I saw recently.

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #19 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 11:06 AM
Member
 
jamesavery22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone using the VGA input on their zeniths???
jamesavery22 is offline  
post #20 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 11:54 AM
Member
 
coryk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Until I get HD source (hopely at the end of tomorrow), I won't be able to test 720p input.

I have ATI 9600pro (I think it has DVI out) but no DVI cable unless I open this Samsung T160 box (I assume it comes with it?) so I can't test that with my PC either. I didn't buy one assuming Samsung T160 comes with it as well as Panny 50LC13.

Now, I'm not quite sure I can control the output between 480p and 1080i. I see Scan mode selection in the menu - interaced and progressive. And I'm quite sure this is not the input mode selection. So I'm just guessing the interaced mode is for 1080i and progressive mode is for 480p. BTW, this, by default, was set to 'interaced' - 1080i if my assumption is correct.

And yes, no matter what the input source is you can set this to either one of them - including NTSC composite input. For PQ from SD, I was watching ESPN from NTSC composite source, it looks pretty good. I looks as good as DirecTV S-video source (at least). But again, I think the size of my TV is too small to see any dramatic difference.

Now, if my assumption is correct, I should be able to manually control the 'up/down' conversion from any input source. The problem is I cannot verify it is really doing that on 27inch screen w/ my set of eyes. And it doesn't seem to show any information on the current display resolution/mode.
coryk is offline  
post #21 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 12:10 PM
Member
 
coryk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, my NTSC feed has pretty good strong signal as Cox installed amplifier right over my block as I complained it really hard due to my cable modem showed -10 thru -17 db and was losing connection quite often. W/ the amplifier, it boosted the signal to 0 (that was ideal for my cable modem) at least for the analog range for my Cable TV feed and Cable modem freq. range. Digital source range was already strong before the amplifier got installed. Anyway, you may get different poor PQ if you have poor/week signal.
coryk is offline  
post #22 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 03:37 PM
Newbie
 
humuhumupukapuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jamesavery22
Does the 27v22 have the VGA input? If so have you experimented with it at all?
VGA input? I guess you are refering to the computer monitor-like input plug. (I thought that was called the RGB input...) I have not had a chance to use it and I don't really anticipate using it since I don't have a hd box yet.
humuhumupukapuk is offline  
post #23 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Nightanole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: akron,ohio,usa
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
anyone else notice that the new v28 zeniths can sync to 600p, aka 800/600 svga, soposaly without overscan. This would be sweet, i wouldnt have to fiddle with odd 540p timings. They seem to have pulled the 600p spec but kept the 37.9khz sync.

" Quality does not matter to most of the Bose buying public." - Lasher
Nightanole is offline  
post #24 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Nightanole
[soposaly without overscan. [/b]
Oh my gosh...you either went to Ohio State U. or the "Maurice Clarett School of Phonics." :D :eek:
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
post #25 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Dark-007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TXN2771HF has an option in the Service Menu for PiP.

Just thought I'd add that.

Emotiva + Energy = Love
Dark-007 is online now  
post #26 of 215 Old 09-11-2003, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hardwired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cory,

I would have thought the manual would have spelled out the 720p -> ?, 480i -> ? conversion, but it appears that the new sets may have user selectable up/down conversion from your description.

It looks like the predecessor 27v22 can do the squeeze, and also a vertical stretch(zoom?) at least for 480i using the Aspect Ratio feature. Can't go to wrong for the $449 huma grabbed one for IMO. I am wondering if the V36 can do this for any source (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i).

Can't you connect a cheap UHF antenna to that Samsung STB and get HD enabled already...hehehe

TI Purepath Digital:
Quote:
An audio revolution from the source to the ear...found in $99 DVD receivers to audiophile-grade $10,000 audio systems.
hardwired is offline  
post #27 of 215 Old 09-12-2003, 12:56 PM
Member
 
Zombeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fairfax VA
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
coryk,

I've checked at CC in Rockville, Wheaton & Tysons - haven't seen a C27V36 yet. Were you able to look at one first anywhere in this area? I've been comparing the Sony KV27FV310, the Zenith C27V22, the Samsung TXN2745FP and the Samsung TXN2775HF. Wasn't as impressed with the Zenith C27V22 as I hoped, but it could have been how I set it up (I adjust all these in the store with custom settings to reduce all garbage settings, but kind-of hard to do with a calibration DVD and player setup).

I was planning on checking the Fairfax store on the way home from Rockville today - I seem to recall that they had a Samsung that was set up that impressed me very greatly last time. It was before I started researching things, and I kept thinking what a nice picture. Then, like an idiot, I buy my wife a Panasonic 27" CT27SL13 flat-panel Tau last week for a quick birthday present. Boy, does DirecTivo look terrible! My 13 year old Proton 31" VT-331 and 9-year old 19" Sony look better - everyone looks like Bizarro Superman, dark backgrounds fade in and out. Back it goes to CC.

I'm really trying to convince myself that I don't want a Samsung with all of it's problems, so am leaning toward the Sony, but really hope that the so I'm hoping the Zenith C27V36 will do the trick!
Zombeezy is offline  
post #28 of 215 Old 09-14-2003, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Zombeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fairfax VA
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, checked with the Fairfax VA store - no C27V36. Only the C27V22 on the shelf, although the salesdude knew that the C27V36 units were at the warehouse. Couldn't give a timeframe that the set would be in the store to look at. "Same price" he said, so it sounds like they will wait until the C27V22 TVs are gone first!

Reading on the Faroudja DCDiâ„¢ chip at the dcdi_video_com site (can't post URL since I am a new poster), it sounds like this should be the line doubling technology to have in a set, since most everything Faroudja comes up with is great stuff. What was Zenith using for line doubling in the C27V22? Also, if the C27V22 use a 3-line digital comb filter, what about the C27V36 (3-line or 3D?). Oops, never mind - I looked on the CC site - 3D Y/C Digital. However, can I believe this? The CC sites also says the C27V36 has DVI w/ HDCP, yet the Zenith link says the C32V36 on up has it, not the C27V36.

Reading more about the new Zeniths from the link previously posted in this thread, why do they promote DVI + HDCP (Digital Visual Interface with High-Bandwidth Digital Copy Protection) as a feature? The way things have always been, copy protection in any product I remember is always a minus feature to have. It's a feature for the industry, not the consumer. "... elevates the home entertainment experience to unprecedented levels by allowing consumers to view first-rate Hollywood movies in high-definition formats without leaving their living room." Does this mean that if a set doesn't have DVI + HDCP, that you can't view first-rate Hollywood movies in high-definition formats without leaving your living room?
Zombeezy is offline  
post #29 of 215 Old 09-14-2003, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
robert123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The link posted earlier was a press release from January. Some things have changed. The C27V36 does have DVI (instead of VGA on the C27V22) and also the 3D comb filter.

The C32V37 just started shipping. This is the 32" model with built-in ATSC and unencrypted QAM tuners.

Robert
robert123 is offline  
post #30 of 215 Old 09-14-2003, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Nightanole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: akron,ohio,usa
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
zomb- The hdcp feature does not hinder a set, it helps it. Lets say you get a set without hdcp. That means that the the set will only work with dvd player and set top boxes that dont have encription. On the other hand if you have hdcp with your set you can hook up just about anything to it. Some people have projectors that have a dvi port but no hdcp, they can not use the new dvd players that are coming out that use a pure digital signal. They have to buy uncertified dvd players that dont have hdcp on them. the only thing that hurts you is in recording. You cant record a hdcp signal, but on that note, you cant record a dvi signal either, so its a mute point.
So if you buy a set now, you will be about to use all the new dvdplayers, odds are the new hd dvd players, and the sat boxes that are starting to use dvi too.
Remember hdcp only hurts for recording, not playback or quality. They did the same dumb thing with color stream pro. When the specs came out there was no macrovision, then the dvd players came out that had macrovision, then the really early hd sets couldnt work with the new dvd players. I had a couple of zeniths that needs a hardware patch to work with the new dvd players. Same thing, content protection on a media stream that you cant record anyways. Kinda dumb ant it.

" Quality does not matter to most of the Bose buying public." - Lasher
Nightanole is offline  
Closed Thread Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off