Zenith C32V37 with integrated HDTV tuner - mini review - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 458 Old 02-26-2004, 02:31 PM
Member
 
hdphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: california
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what ever you do don't go through dvdsseller at amazon.com for your dve
disk i'm still waiting 4 mine ,been bout 2 weeks since i ordered it!
FYI
hdphil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 458 Old 02-26-2004, 02:33 PM
Member
 
dman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by hdphil
what ever you do don't go through dvdsseller at amazon.com for your dve
disk i'm still waiting 4 mine ,been bout 2 weeks since i ordered it!
FYI
Thanks for the advice. I'm thinking about just paying the retail $24.95 and picking it up at my local Barnes & Noble. They have it in stock and I hate waiting.
dman78 is offline  
post #183 of 458 Old 02-26-2004, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://store.yahoo.com/dvdinternational/dve.html How 'bout straight from the source?

Question: Do I have to have an OFE controller and worry about going into the setup menu with this TV, or will chances be that I'll be pretty happy with it up front.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #184 of 458 Old 02-26-2004, 06:38 PM
Member
 
hdphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: california
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good question, a guess it seems most people are happy with their picture,
at least if you have to "tweak" your picture it is possible and that is
important to consider.
some of us are a little picky, and we have to adjust everything we buy. i have
noticed that some cable programs are better than others for color controls.
shopping channels seem to be a little crisper than others.
we need a another thread just devoted to the service menu setting and adjustment and interaction.

i wished i had knowed barnes had it
hdphil is offline  
post #185 of 458 Old 02-26-2004, 07:11 PM
Member
 
dman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by cdcooker
If you get this free TV stand, you really get a hack of a deal. This TV stand is kind of cheap looking though. But it is free!

Best Buy usually won't price match online store. Your store manager probably need to meet some sales target by the end of this month.
I picked up the free stand tonight without a problem. All in all, that worked out really well. The stand looks alright in the picture, but we'll see once it's put together. You may be right about the manager. I guess you just never know when you're going to run into a really cool one.
dman78 is offline  
post #186 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 05:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the one advantage of buying from a huge, national chain like a Best Buy: They can mark down the prices down a lot. I would have loved to have gotten by at that price, but I guess in my case, I live in a smaller town where Best Buy is an hour away, so I am paying for the personal touch and basically lifetime coverage.

That is a STEAL at $999, especially with a stand! And the stand looks really good with the TV. It looks like one seamless unit. You won't be disappointed.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #187 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are people buying the in-home service plan? It's $250 from Best Buy. What's the deal with warranty?
cinemagotham is offline  
post #188 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 10:09 AM
Member
 
kevlo9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up this set today at Best Buy.

Right out of the box the picture settings looked BAD. After a few minutes with S&V setup disc picture looks ALOT better.

Curious...

what are everyones picture settings. Just want to make sure mine aren't way off.

THANKS.
kevlo9 is offline  
post #189 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 11:38 AM
Member
 
Bremerton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted mine and they are somewhere in this thread i think a page back;)

Contrast: 51 (high 40s is good)
Brightness:61 (60 is borderline)
Color:40 (you can go as low as 35 still looks great)
Sharpness: 39
Tint: R1
Color Temperator: Cool
Z View: On

And in Option I have tilt at +3

note: Color Saturation and Tint was a little itty bitty off in Service menus
You can set a Blue,Red or Green Filter in service menu 019 code, 018 code is for Over the air only!!!!
Bremerton is offline  
post #190 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 11:42 AM
Member
 
dman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by cinemagotham
Are people buying the in-home service plan? It's $250 from Best Buy. What's the deal with warranty?
I didn't buy the warranty. Since I only paid $820 for it, I couldn't justify 30% of the TV cost for 3 years of extra warranty. I have a feeling that if my TV goes out after more than a year, I'd rather just spend the $250 on upgrading to a new TV. I think it would be different too if we were talking Plasma, LCD, or DLP. Those TVs all have new technologies that I would think are more likely to go bad. Plus, if you're spending $3k on the TV, then the $250 is only 8% of the price. Even projections often need to have the bulbs replaced and might deserve a warranty. I've had several Tube TVs though, and none of them has ever gone bad. The basic technology is very solid. I guess if it dies in a year and one day from now, I might regret my decision, but I don't think that's likely.
dman78 is offline  
post #191 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 11:45 AM
Member
 
dman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by kevlo9
what are everyones picture settings. Just want to make sure mine aren't way off.
I think we should start a Zenith C32V37 picture settings thread. Once my TV is delivered, I'm going to tweak it with an OFA remote and the DVE calibration disk. I'd be happy to post my results once I'm finished, and I'd love to see other peoples' to compare.
dman78 is offline  
post #192 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Bremerton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LMAO it would be cheaper then 250 bucks to get it repaired, Because the CRT Tube is Covered for 2 Years already.

Dont get that Warranty its a rip!
Bremerton is offline  
post #193 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Bremerton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright ill post the major settings once the thres is started!
Bremerton is offline  
post #194 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 12:32 PM
Member
 
dman78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Bremerton
Alright ill post the major settings once the thread is started!
The new settings thread is started. It is called Zenith C32V37 Settings (Standard and Service Menu). I've posted copies of a couple of the posts from this thread to get it started.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=372604
dman78 is offline  
post #195 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 03:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bremerton, I used your settings as my base. Nice! I find that I like to have my sharpness in the mod 50's. Guess it's just personal tastes.

I have had the TV on for four hours straight so far, tweaking, adjusting, burning in...and I am simply in awe. Perfection! :) :)

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #196 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Bremerton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya I found those settings after many hours of tweaking and adjusting, If you can find a better combination let me know, or post the exact settings your using ill try em out!
Bremerton is offline  
post #197 of 458 Old 02-27-2004, 07:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Basically I did yours exactly except I put sharpness up to 55. Text is nice and clear, but it isn't overdone.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #198 of 458 Old 02-28-2004, 05:38 PM
Member
 
hdphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: california
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just picked up a zenith xbs344 home theater system, to go with the v32v37
sweeet!
the only thing that is lacking is setting the clock on the VCR
hdphil is offline  
post #199 of 458 Old 02-28-2004, 06:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you like that home theater system? I currently have the Sony HT5500D that came out before there was progressive scan. So, it's a good 600 watts. Interestingly enough, the DVD component output on it went haywire on me a while ago, so I knew I'd need a new DVD player.

Now that I have the Zenith c32v37 and found out about their forhcoming DVB318, I'll simply connect that to the HT5500D. It's a tad round about, but the sound system part is fine so I don't need to replace that.

Best home theater Zenith had was only 350 watts, which didn't blow me away vs. the 600 I have.

I am sure it's a quality product nonetheless...

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #200 of 458 Old 02-28-2004, 08:07 PM
Member
 
hdphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: california
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the xbs344 has only 225 watts which is fine 4 my small room,i could see if you had a living room setup you would need 300+ watts.
hdphil is offline  
post #201 of 458 Old 02-29-2004, 07:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heh. I have 600 watts in a bedroom. Works for me! ;)

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #202 of 458 Old 02-29-2004, 04:16 PM
Member
 
thess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just put in my order for my C32V37 using Best Buy's current weekly special, which is a $100 Gift Card rebate. Have to wait a few weeks for that to arrive, but it's better than the TV stand, which we didn't need.

Delivery Friday. Can't wait!
thess is offline  
post #203 of 458 Old 02-29-2004, 04:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent. You won't be disappointed! :) Enjoy!

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #204 of 458 Old 02-29-2004, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the TV at Best Buy + the stand (which I do need, even though I think it's ugly) and a JVC XV-N50BK. Everything is all set up and ready for the TV, which won't arrive until Saturday (so I can be here when they arrive) I'm pretty damn psyched. They wouldn't price match me for that HDTV website (oh well) and I wanted the free stand, so it wasn't the deal I wanted but it still worked out. Now I have to wait 6 days... Arrrghh!!!
cinemagotham is offline  
post #205 of 458 Old 02-29-2004, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Jon7athan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cinemagotham,

You are in for a treat! I had no idea Sean Connery's teeth were so bad:) Oscar's in 720p is pretty spectacular. My local BB did price match the hdtvtime.com site. I took my Dodge Dakota with me and drove the set home. Zenith has an indoor Digital HDTV antenna they have at best buy and I got that as well. So, 5 minutes after unboxing, hooking up receiver and antenna, and letting the set EZ Scan I was watching over the air HDTV. This has got to be the best set in it's price range.


P.S. Q of Banditz, Your settings were perfect for my 5 disc DVD changer on progressive using Component 2.
Jon7athan is offline  
post #206 of 458 Old 02-29-2004, 10:15 PM
Member
 
hdphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: california
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how were the settings, between "off"-your preference "normal" and "digital preset" just curious
hdphil is offline  
post #207 of 458 Old 02-29-2004, 11:17 PM
Member
 
frakyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know the zoom will bring the HD material to the 4x3 format, but does it zoom the non HD channels? I have a Dish 6000 receiver, if I turn on the HD mode on the receiver, I was wondering when I switch to the non HD channels will they fill up the whole screen too?Anyone care to comment? Thanks
frakyle is offline  
post #208 of 458 Old 03-01-2004, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Jon7athan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By default the SD channels fill the 4X3 screen. The thing is that a network will broadcast their 4X3 camera shots across the HD channels. Like all the morning news shows on CBS, NBC, & ABC this AM. So, you have this funky 4X3 box in a 16X9 feed. It looks really ridiculous. At this point, you have 3 settings. 4X3 which tries to squeeze the HDTV 16X9 signal into a 4X3 form while the 4x3 feed sits in the middle, really ridiculous looking. 16x9 or set by program, the default of the major networks is the 16x9 format but then you have black bars on the top, bottom, and sides. Or zoom which fills up the screen like it was a SD channel. I have a UHF/HDTV antenna hooked up to Antenna 2 input. And the cable signal split to Antenna 1 input. You can switch over to your non-scrambled cable channels at this point and watch an 'unaltered' 4X3 signal. Again, there's no zooming of Standard Digital cable channels. It displays the channels in there native 4X3 format. The set groups the channels and you can easily see which feed you're watching.
Jon7athan is offline  
post #209 of 458 Old 03-01-2004, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those of you plugging the cable directly into the TV and getting unscrambled HD channels, here's a question for you: What cable do you have? DTV or standard?

Also, if you're going straight to the TV with cable how to you have your VCR hooked up? Composite out from the TV? I'm thinking Composite out from the TV to the VCR and optical out to the stereo receiver with stereo A/V to the VCR.
cinemagotham is offline  
post #210 of 458 Old 03-01-2004, 09:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't bothered with a VCR in years. I never recorded much to begin with, and I still don't.

My rule of thumb: Always optimize connections wherever possible. VCR? Go S-Video if you can. Sounds like your audio will be just fine, but go ahead and connec the analogs to the TV in addition to the optical to the stereo. Just so you can have it both ways for convenience. ;)


I have Time Warner Digital Cable. I have it hooked in with component video and I am cranked at 1080i and 720p. Everything looks great, including "normal", non HD material. Awesome!

For laughs, I have a PIP splitter so I can have the cable directly hooked into the TV as well and therefore can use my PIP. That's going to be a must when football season starts up again. Nice set at Radio Shack for a good price.

The Time Warner HD box I have does have a DVI output...but inexplicably no digital sound out, so I don't want to bother with it. Plus, I am saving the DVI for the new DVB318 Zenith DVD player I intend to buy soon. ;)

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
Closed Thread Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off