Vertical bar on Zenith C32V37 - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 257 Old 04-14-2004, 06:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump

Definitely this thread has to stay alove and viable....

;)

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 257 Old 04-14-2004, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mentioned this in another thread but I thought I'd "chirp" in here too: I also have the 720p sound from the built-in tuner. Not a problem for my useage, but it's there.
cinemagotham is offline  
post #183 of 257 Old 04-14-2004, 09:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, turn your volume all the way down and you can really hear it.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #184 of 257 Old 04-14-2004, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I can only really pinpoint it when the TV is really low or on mute. And that was standing right next to it.
cinemagotham is offline  
post #185 of 257 Old 04-14-2004, 12:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems louder than that for me... Either that, or I have real sensitive hearing.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #186 of 257 Old 04-14-2004, 12:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Q of BanditZ
Seems louder than that for me... Either that, or I have real sensitive hearing.
Or I'm half deaf, which is pretty much true. Too many rock concerts.
cinemagotham is offline  
post #187 of 257 Old 04-19-2004, 03:39 PM
Member
 
pgran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, the dreaded white bar! Is there any update on this? I was watching Sopranos last night and could see it VERY clearly, which is the first time I've seen it at all since adjusting the picture settings immediately after getting the t.v. Has anyone noticed that it varies by channel, content, phases of the moon, etc.?
pgran is offline  
post #188 of 257 Old 04-19-2004, 08:57 PM
Member
 
bigdog6060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah i got it 2, not a big deal just kinda weird only when i watch abc, which is 720p
bigdog6060 is offline  
post #189 of 257 Old 04-19-2004, 09:01 PM
Member
 
pgran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haven't noticed it on ABC, but I'll check that out tonight. I don't really want to switch the input to DVI---an expensive cable and some feel that the PQ isn't as good via DVI as it is via component. Apparently though, using the DVI input gets rid of it.
pgran is offline  
post #190 of 257 Old 04-20-2004, 07:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVI gets rid of it. I thought the picture looked just fine via DVI myself.

This white bar, we've concluded, only happens at 1080i with a device via component video input. In this case, most of us are talking about cable STBs.

As for the chirping? It only happens at 720p broadcasts when you watch those just with the TV and direct connection. No STB or middleman device involved. ABC and FOX are 720p stations, and you will hear it on those. Guranteed.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #191 of 257 Old 04-20-2004, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC, I believe, is 720p, so that might not show it.
I registered my TV with the Zenith site last night and sent them a query about this, including a link to this thread. We'll see if I get a response.

Oh, and my main problem with DVI is that it doesn't automatically change the ratio for HD stations. I like the "set by program" setting and "Zoom" for 4:3 content on HD channels.
cinemagotham is offline  
post #192 of 257 Old 04-20-2004, 08:54 AM
Member
 
bjcleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe I see the white bar via device component on ABC as well. Noticed it while watching Alias on Sunday. Will double-check.
bjcleaver is offline  
post #193 of 257 Old 04-20-2004, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bjcleaver
I believe I see the white bar via device component on ABC as well. Noticed it while watching Alias on Sunday. Will double-check.
Possible. Could be because the set doesn't do 720p native and upscales it to 1080i. Dunno. Didn't notice it during Alias but maybe I was just so into the show ;)
cinemagotham is offline  
post #194 of 257 Old 04-20-2004, 09:02 AM
Member
 
bjcleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, I remember switching to DVI halfway through because the line was buggin' the crap out of me. Good episode, though.
bjcleaver is offline  
post #195 of 257 Old 04-20-2004, 10:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heh. If our theories hold, and that things shows up at 720p, I'd be hazarding to guess it probably is going to be either slower or faster, some kind of frequency difference. Maybe even brighter or dimmer...

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #196 of 257 Old 04-21-2004, 04:33 PM
Member
 
lgmayka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 1080i and 720p only come over the antenna jack or the DVI input. Thus, I neither see the white line nor hear the chirp.

Should I try to get either or both of these fixed anyway, before my 90-days-labor warranty is up? I have no easy way to bring in HD over component video. Will the service center say, "We have to see/hear the problem on your set before we'll replace anything"? They have already visited three times before finally deciding to fix the well-known arc-ing/zapping problem by replacing the video output module, for which they will require a fourth visit.
lgmayka is offline  
post #197 of 257 Old 04-21-2004, 06:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very good questions.

Since you're using the antenna jack, tune into Fox or ABC and kill the volume on your set completely. See if you hear anything at all.

DVI is the work around so you don't have the white line to worry about there.

There are no official bulletins from Zenith about either of these problems, but the way you would show them is like I have said here about 720p, and if you had a cable HD STB plugged in via component and you were on a 1080i broadcast, like HBO HD. Sopranos is on right now, for example. Plenty of dark scenes where you can see this line, albeit faint. It's not the end of the world, but it's there...

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #198 of 257 Old 04-21-2004, 07:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, it's not the end of the world but it really should be fixed. I'm not a stickler for stuff like this but I don't have the cash to throw around on half-working stuff. Q, when you and I get our DVB318s (!) we'll probably be pissed all over again to discover 1080i shows the line there too. Grrr...
cinemagotham is offline  
post #199 of 257 Old 04-21-2004, 07:25 PM
Member
 
bjcleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm tempted to pick up the Toshiba HD-DVD that Best Buy now carries just to try it out and see if the line is there over component. Just a little purchase and return experiment.
bjcleaver is offline  
post #200 of 257 Old 04-21-2004, 07:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by cinemagotham
No, it's not the end of the world but it really should be fixed. I'm not a stickler for stuff like this but I don't have the cash to throw around on half-working stuff. Q, when you and I get our DVB318s (!) we'll probably be pissed all over again to discover 1080i shows the line there too. Grrr...
Yeah, I know it.

Here's what I'm hoping happens. Since I don't have anything really concrete to offer my Zenith service/dealership to these two problems (i.e. Zenith has not officially recognized either of these problems...)

I am hoping maybe in a few months, a newer batch of c32v37's hit the market. Meaning past February.

If that happens, I am going to have him swap my TV out for the newer one and see if that does it. That's the last hope plan.

In the interim, I am still trying like mad to get concrete information and to nag Zenith about it every so often.

My dealer/service man is willing to go to the moon for me, but he needs to have clear cut instructions and a diagnosis to fix the problem. So long as Zenith doesn't think either of these things exist, it kind of puts us in limbo.

I have all intentions of testing that DVD player at 1080i component immediately upon delivery.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #201 of 257 Old 04-21-2004, 07:53 PM
Newbie
 
Dave@Bakers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Q and Others,

If you can produce the ill effect(s) at home for your service man to see with his own eyes he can replace the digital board under warranty without any authorization or official recognition of the problem from Zenith. I have reason to believe that the digital board currently listed on the replacement BOM is a rev or so up from the original because the BOM part number does not match the artwork shown on the copper pattern n the service manual.

If the problem goes away...great...if it doesn't...we still need to work on Zenith. Either way your service center gets reimbursed for the parts and their efforts. Nothing to lose in pushing them on a warranty replacement. As I posted earlier, this is a low/no risk service...a simple edge board swap.

For what it's worth....

Support your local independent CE retailers and service centers.
Dave@Bakers is offline  
post #202 of 257 Old 04-22-2004, 05:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very well then! :) Thanks!

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #203 of 257 Old 04-22-2004, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
cinemagotham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bjcleaver
I'm tempted to pick up the Toshiba HD-DVD that Best Buy now carries just to try it out and see if the line is there over component. Just a little purchase and return experiment.
I believe it does NOT upscale to 1080i over component (only DVI), so that would be a waste of time. Also, it is not an HD-DVD player. It is a standard DVD player that does an upscaling on the image to utilize the TV's native 1080i resolution. But it's not true HD. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
cinemagotham is offline  
post #204 of 257 Old 04-22-2004, 08:27 AM
Member
 
lgmayka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Q of BanditZ
Since you're using the antenna jack, tune into Fox or ABC and kill the volume on your set completely. See if you hear anything at all.
OK, I do hear a very small whirr at the upper-right corner of my screen when watching 720p (ABC). This whirr goes away when watching 1080i (CBS) or 480p (FOX). But the whirr is so minor that I myself couldn't possibly imagine complaining about it with a straight face.
lgmayka is offline  
post #205 of 257 Old 04-22-2004, 08:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are correct.

Your room may be more noisy than mine or larger.

I have my TV upstairs, so there's no AC noise or anything. It's loud to me.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #206 of 257 Old 04-22-2004, 10:05 AM
Member
 
bjcleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cinemagotham, thanks for the info on the Toshiba, hadn't really looked into it but you just saved me a trip!

Anyway, I can confirm the white line on 720p(ABC). :(
bjcleaver is offline  
post #207 of 257 Old 04-22-2004, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No way! :(

With or without an STB?

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #208 of 257 Old 04-25-2004, 03:48 PM
Member
 
pgran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is semi off topic, but what is this Tosh DVD player all about? I picked up a decent Pioneer prog. scan, but if there's something theoretically better, I wanna know!
pgran is offline  
post #209 of 257 Old 04-25-2004, 04:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe the Tosh player in question, like the Zenith DVB318, upconverts DVD's all the way to 1080i. The Tosh might only do it via component video, the Zenith does it both ways.

I just got the Zenith yesterday - AMAZING!

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #210 of 257 Old 04-25-2004, 04:49 PM
Member
 
lgmayka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Supposedly, the Zenith C32V37 HDTV already does an essentially similar upconversion (e.g., from 480i or 480p to 1080i). Presumably, the result should be somewhat better if the upconversion is performed in the DVD player, prior to the digital->analog->digital conversion through component video. Can you actually see the difference when outputting to a C32V37?
lgmayka is offline  
Closed Thread Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off