The Official Kd-34xbr960 Thread - Page 273 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8161 of 8178 Old 06-30-2014, 12:04 PM
Member
 
ArmorOfGod7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post
Keep in mind the auto-degauss circuit needs time to cool off. Some TVs without thermal or timer protection will fry the circuit if you get crazy turning it on/off quickly; the ones that do have it you'll notice you won't hear the whomp sound right after the first try.

Now if yours is working (whomp sound?) and you haven't moved it then it should be sufficiently degaussed from normal usage. I have heard that it's better to plug it directly into an outlet for degaussing; I've personally never had an issue with using a surge protector though.

My Panny has a corner problem but it looks like it may have been dropped on that corner. I've never popped it open to see if a magnet broke off or maybe the degauss coil somehow slipped over the corner. For the time-being I've just stuck some old pieces of ferrite (or weak magnets) on the outside around the corner to improve the color; these pieces came from a scrapped CRT, the ones on the back of the tube for alignment.
Thanks for the additional info. I'll try plugging it directly into the wall and do a few power on's with time in between. If that doesn't help, I'll just give the thing away.
gary777 likes this.
ArmorOfGod7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8162 of 8178 Old 06-30-2014, 03:08 PM
Member
 
ArmorOfGod7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerging View Post
I remember somebody claiming that leaving it unplugged for a while before plugging it directly into the wall socket and turning it back on would be more effective but I can't remember their reasoning.

If not that, it's possible convergence is off which can be altered in the service menu.
I don't see convergence anywhere in the menu, where exactly would that be?
ArmorOfGod7 is offline  
post #8163 of 8178 Old 06-30-2014, 06:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,416
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmorOfGod7 View Post
I don't see convergence anywhere in the menu, where exactly would that be?
It's in the service menu, not the user menu.
DSperber is offline  
post #8164 of 8178 Old 07-01-2014, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
THE SONY SERVICE CODES - Articles, Comments, Discoveries

The service menu isn't friendly to novices and can brick your television if misused. Don't "reset" to pre-factory settings. It may be useful to see a picture of what is going wrong
gary777 likes this.
homerging is offline  
post #8165 of 8178 Old 07-01-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Doesn't sound like a convergence problem:

http://www.repairfaq.org/samnew/tvfaq/tvcrtpca.htm
gary777 likes this.

Floydage is offline  
post #8166 of 8178 Old 07-06-2014, 10:33 AM
Member
 
ArmorOfGod7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Posted it over in the Classifieds section if anybody is interested:

Sony WEGA FD Trinitron 34" KD-34XBR960
ArmorOfGod7 is offline  
post #8167 of 8178 Old 07-06-2014, 05:25 PM
Member
 
BTV Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Bulk tape eraser

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidSnake View Post
If the only problem is discoloration, then yes that's fixable. The screen needs to be degaussed. Multiple off-on states should do this, but if it remains, a manual degaussing with a degauss wand will fix the problem.
(Sorry...I haven't checked this site for a couple weeks.)

Yes, this works! I have used a hand-held "bulk tape eraser" many times on various CRT's over the years. It takes a little "courage," but gets rid of the most stubborn colored blotches.

Here's the procedure: Turn the TV on. Place the bulk tape eraser an inch or two from the screen. Switch it on. (Expect to see a "rainbow" pattern. DON'T WORRY...things will be OK.) Move the bulk eraser slowly around the affected area of the screen, in a slow circular motion. Then, slowly...slowly...pull it away from the screen until it's at least 10 feet away. Then switch it off.

The problem should be gone. If not, repeat the above steps. You'll get it.

Now, the hard part may be finding the hand-held bulk eraser. They used to be very common, but of course they're rare now. I have a Videoraser Model VX-1401. Here's a link to an e-Bay auction:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sonar-Radio-...item58b166f4e0

Here's an e-Bay listing for a Radio Shack model, again an e-bay auction:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/311000576394?lpid=82


Good luck!

Mark
homerging likes this.
BTV Mark is offline  
post #8168 of 8178 Old 07-09-2014, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by BTV Mark View Post
(Sorry...I haven't checked this site for a couple weeks.)

Yes, this works! I have used a hand-held "bulk tape eraser" many times on various CRT's over the years. It takes a little "courage," but gets rid of the most stubborn colored blotches.

Here's the procedure: Turn the TV on. Place the bulk tape eraser an inch or two from the screen. Switch it on. (Expect to see a "rainbow" pattern. DON'T WORRY...things will be OK.) Move the bulk eraser slowly around the affected area of the screen, in a slow circular motion. Then, slowly...slowly...pull it away from the screen until it's at least 10 feet away. Then switch it off.

The problem should be gone. If not, repeat the above steps. You'll get it.

Now, the hard part may be finding the hand-held bulk eraser. They used to be very common, but of course they're rare now. I have a Videoraser Model VX-1401. Here's a link to an e-Bay auction:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sonar-Radio-...item58b166f4e0

Here's an e-Bay listing for a Radio Shack model, again an e-bay auction:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/311000576394?lpid=82


Good luck!

Mark
Hi Mark,


Still, unplugging the set for about five minutes and then plugging it back directly to the wall socket is probably the easiest way of eliminating both the color distortion and also returning the picture to it's most vibrant quality (somehow they go hand in hand). Even without the magnetic build up, I do this once a month and do notice the "pop" returning to it's stunning picture.
Joseph Dubin is offline  
post #8169 of 8178 Old 07-09-2014, 07:35 AM
Member
 
BTV Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Dubin View Post
Hi Mark,


Still, unplugging the set for about five minutes and then plugging it back directly to the wall socket is probably the easiest way of eliminating both the color distortion and also returning the picture to it's most vibrant quality (somehow they go hand in hand). Even without the magnetic build up, I do this once a month and do notice the "pop" returning to it's stunning picture.
Absolutely agreed, Joseph. My procedure is definitely something to do only when normal trouble-shooting methods don't work. I should have mentioned this. In my case, this procedure is necessary once or twice a year.

Mark
BTV Mark is offline  
post #8170 of 8178 Old 07-13-2014, 05:01 PM
Newbie
 
baklakiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got an xbr960 & the picture seems a bit out of focus/blurry. Is there some kind of focus pot i can adjust or change in the service menu?
baklakiller is offline  
post #8171 of 8178 Old 07-17-2014, 06:41 PM
Member
 
gary777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Macomb, MI. US
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by baklakiller View Post
I just got an xbr960 & the picture seems a bit out of focus/blurry. Is there some kind of focus pot i can adjust or change in the service menu?
Can you post a photo of the screen with the blurry picture. I would also ask the sell if he ever had the back off and touched anything.

You might want to post this question here also:
You have a Sony that won't power on and the standby light blinks... Help and suggesti

Last edited by gary777; 07-19-2014 at 09:34 AM.
gary777 is offline  
post #8172 of 8178 Old 08-20-2014, 07:59 AM
Member
 
BTV Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Free to a good home

Well, the time has come, and we're looking at a XBR-55X850B 4k set to replace our wonderful '960. (Any comments on whether that's a good choice for an upgrade?)

I thought I'd offer it here first, rather than letting the dealer haul it away. So "free to a good home"--if you can pick it up. My bad back won't be able to help. The TV and Sony stand are in the basement rec. room in North Suburban Chicago. The TV had the two "flashing light" driver chips replaced about 3 years ago, so it's in perfect shape.

Mark
BTV Mark is offline  
post #8173 of 8178 Old 08-21-2014, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTV Mark View Post
Well, the time has come, and we're looking at a XBR-55X850B 4k set to replace our wonderful '960. (Any comments on whether that's a good choice for an upgrade?)
There is a review here
http://www.avforums.com/review/sony-...v-review.10556

You could try putting the XBR960 on Craigslist or eBay as a dealer would just send it to be junked.
homerging is offline  
post #8174 of 8178 Old 08-21-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTV Mark View Post
I thought I'd offer it here first, rather than letting the dealer haul it away. So "free to a good home"--if you can pick it up. My bad back won't be able to help. The TV and Sony stand are in the basement rec. room in North Suburban Chicago. The TV had the two "flashing light" driver chips replaced about 3 years ago, so it's in perfect shape.

Mark
Very noble of you! I was going to tell you there's a classified section on AVS but I see you posted there too. In the event there's no AVS takers indeed try CL. You can even make a few bucks there especially with the stand, heck the stand is more valuable to most folks to place their big screens on and much easier than the TV to move.

Wish you were here,
Pink Floydage

P.S. Been up that way a few times when I worked for Motorola. Mostly Arlington Heights and surrounding suburbs but a few trips downtown for fun. Love the food, especially the pizza!

Floydage is offline  
post #8175 of 8178 Old 08-22-2014, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm curious, how high off the ground does the stand measure?
homerging is offline  
post #8176 of 8178 Old 08-22-2014, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
And is it the "Sony stand" that is made for and nicely matches up with a 960? (That was my assumption).

Floydage is offline  
post #8177 of 8178 Old 08-25-2014, 07:04 AM
Member
 
BTV Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sony Stand

Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post
And is it the "Sony stand" that is made for and nicely matches up with a 960? (That was my assumption).
Yes, it's the matching Sony stand.

It "stands" 18" high, which puts the bottom of the TV frame at 19."

Regards,

Mark
Floydage likes this.
BTV Mark is offline  
post #8178 of 8178 Old 08-25-2014, 07:05 AM
Member
 
BTV Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerging View Post
There is a review here
http://www.avforums.com/review/sony-...v-review.10556

You could try putting the XBR960 on Craigslist or eBay as a dealer would just send it to be junked.
Thanks! This is a very nice review.


Regards,

Mark
BTV Mark is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off