The Official Kd-34xbr960 Thread - Page 278 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8311 of 8366 Old 11-05-2015, 04:50 PM
Member
 
captainsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I adore my 960 purchased used locally a few months ago...that is after I spent ages and ages tinkering with Geometry hell in the Service menu. Eventually I had to live with a tiny sliver off of the left and right for overscan, and a tiny curving outward on the upper corners for anything 4:3 or 1.66.
What would anyone recommend for calibrating? I used the AVS patterns, my old DVE DVD, DVE LD for one of the AV inputs for my LDs but no matter what I can't seem to get the contrast and brightness settings down. I find myself continually tweaking with every single movie, some it's just right, others get lost in darkness where they shouldn't be.
Also, is there any way to adjust the zoom modes? I'd love to be able to have a simple non cropped zoom for non-anamorphic DVD. It works fine when the source isn't HD or on the other AV SD inputs such as running LD.
My biggest problem is the phosphor motion trails. They're big, huge and depending on how much darkness is in the image and how long something is stationary before moving, downright distracting. They drive me nuts. has anyone ever at least been able to lessen these? They seem to not be as prevalent on the SD inputs but they are still there.

Now I need some kind of scaler. Every inherent problem in both LDs and my player are supremely magnified on this. Forget classic gaming too, the exact same thing happens. Good thing I held onto my slightly older Sony 480i 4:3 tube...only problem is I no longer have a stand to run that too because of this huge wonderful beast.
captainsolo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8312 of 8366 Old 11-11-2015, 08:15 PM
Member
 
Bracamonte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now there's a new problem I've been having with my 960 since late september. Whenever the screen is dark, the screen seems to 'shrink' and has a purplish hue, and goes back to normal size when its bright. The symptom is that there are two black vertical bars on the sides. Magnetic issue or capacitor wear? I had this TV for nearly 2 years and never had this issue until now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20151111_224829.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	154.7 KB
ID:	1052457   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151111_225031.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	221.4 KB
ID:	1052473  

Last edited by Bracamonte; 11-11-2015 at 08:27 PM.
Bracamonte is offline  
post #8313 of 8366 Old 11-14-2015, 05:18 PM
Member
 
GeneraLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Is the Super-Fine Pitch a post-processing effect? I ask because fancy post-processing effects creates input lag for video games, and I don't want SFP if it'll create display/input lag.
GeneraLight is online now  
post #8314 of 8366 Old 11-23-2015, 12:22 PM
Member
 
captainsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Man, most SD looks pretty horrible on this. After much hair pulling I finally managed to make LD somewhat presentable on composite and via my DMR-es25 for comb filtering but everything else-particularly older games with less impressive video i.e. Nintendo systems look hideous.
PS2 is okay running component, Genesis is unwatchable as is Gamecube/N64. I don't see how some claim this as a great gaming TV. For PS3 and higher, absolutely. Everything else, hell no.
captainsolo is offline  
post #8315 of 8366 Old 11-23-2015, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
LiquidSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainsolo View Post
I don't see how some claim this as a great gaming TV. For PS3 and higher, absolutely. Everything else, hell no.
Easy, it's very low in latency (even with its processing) and it has excellent colours. It won't do interlaced games quite the same as you are expecting though. If that was your biggest gaming concern you really should have gotten a CRT that does not do progressive at all.

These two Sony Trinitron CRTs are different. Can you see how? Which one do you prefer?

Edit: not sure if the image is showing both TVs, it should be animated. Here's a link to it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ggggggggrdzxn.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	287.5 KB
ID:	1075370  

Last edited by LiquidSnake; 11-23-2015 at 02:30 PM.
LiquidSnake is offline  
post #8316 of 8366 Old 11-25-2015, 11:36 AM
Member
 
captainsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ah! Good thing I still have my old 4:3 480i set!

Can anyone tell me what the heck the custom drc presets are?
captainsolo is offline  
post #8317 of 8366 Old 11-26-2015, 12:11 PM
Member
 
GeneraLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I want the XBR960 for 480p (Enhanced Definition) Wii and GameCube games.

All the NES, SNES, etc. that only do 480i I'll use on my SD Sony CRT with component inputs.

No one ever answered my question though. Is the Super-Fine Pitch a post-processing effect and does it add input lag to video games?
GeneraLight is online now  
post #8318 of 8366 Old 11-26-2015, 05:55 PM
Member
 
hoffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneraLight View Post

No one ever answered my question though. Is the Super-Fine Pitch a post-processing effect and does it add input lag to video games?
No it's not an effect. It's a tighter aperture grille (finer pitch) which means higher resolution vs a non SFP set. That's why it's among the most sought after HD CRTs.
hoffo is offline  
post #8319 of 8366 Old 11-27-2015, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
LiquidSnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Super fine pitch is exactly as it says, a very high density of the aperture grille used to display your image. All of the high definition CRTs still have some lag but it is not due to post processing, and the tech of CRT mitigates this lag a great deal, you are probably only talking about a few ms of lag with these CRTs so it's very usable still. captainsolo was just noticing the difference in the way the interlaced tubes display, and the way that the HiScan & Super Fine Pitch tubes display. They are still superb tubes, but the way that they scan the image across the tube is different, and this affects the look of broadcasts that were designed to always be interlaced at a lower resolution. You can still tweak and manage a decent enough image from it when using these kinds of tubes, but it will never look quite the same. Old video games like the Super Nintendo game I linked to, are much lower in resolution than movies and TV, so they can look vastly different.
LiquidSnake is offline  
post #8320 of 8366 Old 12-01-2015, 02:39 PM
Member
 
captainsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Should I just leave DRC alone on custom preset 1 (1,25) for all SD 480i sources? I've tried the Interlaced, Progressive, CineMotion and think just leaving it on Interlaced for LD composite is best.
captainsolo is offline  
post #8321 of 8366 Old 12-01-2015, 04:03 PM
Member
 
GeneraLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 17
How do I remove the anti-glare coating on the XBR960?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidSnake View Post
Easy, it's very low in latency (even with its processing) and it has excellent colours. It won't do interlaced games quite the same as you are expecting though. If that was your biggest gaming concern you really should have gotten a CRT that does not do progressive at all.

These two Sony Trinitron CRTs are different. Can you see how? Which one do you prefer?

Edit: not sure if the image is showing both TVs, it should be animated. Here's a link to it.
Yeah, the 960 is only meant for games being played at 480p (Wii, GameCube, N64 on Wii VC) and above (PS3, XBox 360, etc). For 480i and 240p (NES, SNES, N64, PS1, etc.) you're better off with a 4:3 SD CRT that only does 480i and 240p.
GeneraLight is online now  
post #8322 of 8366 Old 12-23-2015, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 167
I wish that I had this set back in the 80's when I was playing video games
GeneraLight likes this.
JA Fant is offline  
post #8323 of 8366 Old 01-03-2016, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Shaocaholica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a XBR960 locally. Took a chance on it even though it had some visual defects which I'm hoping can be fixed or reduced. The upper left and bottom right corners are color shifted. If I recall, its purple in the upper left and green in the bottom right. When I lift the TV just a few inches on either side the color shift changes and sometimes seems to go away. I made sure I wasn't close to any big magnets but the TV isn't in its final place yet so I have yet to test there.

So is this something that can be fixed?

Also, it didn't come with the original remote. I take it I need the original remote to fiddle in the service menus instead of the front panel buttons.
Shaocaholica is offline  
post #8324 of 8366 Old 01-03-2016, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaocaholica View Post
I just picked up a XBR960 locally. Took a chance on it even though it had some visual defects which I'm hoping can be fixed or reduced. The upper left and bottom right corners are color shifted. If I recall, its purple in the upper left and green in the bottom right. When I lift the TV just a few inches on either side the color shift changes and sometimes seems to go away. I made sure I wasn't close to any big magnets but the TV isn't in its final place yet so I have yet to test there.

So is this something that can be fixed?

Also, it didn't come with the original remote. I take it I need the original remote to fiddle in the service menus instead of the front panel buttons.
Do you know if the previous owner had it near any big magnets?

You will need a remote to navigate the service menu. Just about any Sony remote should do the trick.
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #8325 of 8366 Old 01-03-2016, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Shaocaholica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGZ28 View Post
Do you know if the previous owner had it near any big magnets?
No idea. Didn't even buy from the previous owner, had to go through another person.
Shaocaholica is offline  
post #8326 of 8366 Old 01-03-2016, 10:32 PM
Member
 
Shaocaholica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I'm looking at used XBR960s locally, what should I look for as far as screen defects? What kinds of issues are reasonably fixable and what aren't?
Shaocaholica is offline  
post #8327 of 8366 Old 01-04-2016, 08:22 PM
Member
 
Shaocaholica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the XBR960/970 supposed to have any kind of feet on the bottom? I looked under a XBR960 and all I saw was plastic at the same depth. No pieces sticking out that looked like feet of any kind. Seems like it would slide around a lot on a smooth surface? I know its heavy but wouldn't it be dangerous if bumped off its perch?
Shaocaholica is offline  
post #8328 of 8366 Old 01-05-2016, 07:53 AM
Member
 
Shaocaholica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaocaholica View Post
I just picked up a XBR960 locally. Took a chance on it even though it had some visual defects which I'm hoping can be fixed or reduced. The upper left and bottom right corners are color shifted. If I recall, its purple in the upper left and green in the bottom right. When I lift the TV just a few inches on either side the color shift changes and sometimes seems to go away. I made sure I wasn't close to any big magnets but the TV isn't in its final place yet so I have yet to test there.

So is this something that can be fixed?

Also, it didn't come with the original remote. I take it I need the original remote to fiddle in the service menus instead of the front panel buttons.
Well that was short lived. Took it home, powered it on and the discolored corners were gone. Just some slight geometry and convergence adjustments needed.
Shaocaholica is offline  
post #8329 of 8366 Old 01-05-2016, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaocaholica View Post
Well that was short lived. Took it home, powered it on and the discolored corners were gone. Just some slight geometry and convergence adjustments needed.
Might be the power-on auto-degauss did the trick for ya, unless it's now positioned in a more favorable compass orientation or less e-mag interference. When you looked at it at the seller's locale had they just moved it?

There were matching OEM stands for these TVs, so that could explain the feet.
Ratman likes this.

Floydage is offline  
post #8330 of 8366 Old 01-05-2016, 11:44 AM
Member
 
Shaocaholica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floydage View Post
Might be the power-on auto-degauss did the trick for ya, unless it's now positioned in a more favorable compass orientation or less e-mag interference. When you looked at it at the seller's locale had they just moved it?

There were matching OEM stands for these TVs, so that could explain the feet.
No idea what the seller was doing with it. It was in a garage and I'm assuming it had been stored for some time. It was on the concrete floor next to some washers and dryers. I tried moving it away from those which have motors but it didn't affect the colored corners although I didn't have much time or patience to troubleshoot on site. $80 well spent but a gamble.
Shaocaholica is offline  
post #8331 of 8366 Old 01-05-2016, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaocaholica View Post
Is the XBR960/970 supposed to have any kind of feet on the bottom? I looked under a XBR960 and all I saw was plastic at the same depth. No pieces sticking out that looked like feet of any kind. Seems like it would slide around a lot on a smooth surface? I know its heavy but wouldn't it be dangerous if bumped off its perch?
We recently moved our XBR960N and its the same way, smooth underneath (no feet etc sticking out) it sits on a glass TV stand but never had any issues with it sliding over the years.
Mathesar is offline  
post #8332 of 8366 Old 01-05-2016, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Shaocaholica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
We recently moved our XBR960N and its the same way, smooth underneath (no feet etc sticking out) it sits on a glass TV stand but never had any issues with it sliding over the years.
What kind of support do you have on the glass? 200lb box on glass....
Shaocaholica is offline  
post #8333 of 8366 Old 01-05-2016, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaocaholica View Post
What kind of support do you have on the glass? 200lb box on glass....
It's a Z-Line designs TV stand (forgot actual model #), 300lb weight capacity on the top glass shelf, it was basically made with the XBR960 in mind, I still use it today without any issues although the XBR960 is no longer our main HDTV (Kuro Plasma).

Pic I took nearly 9 years ago:

Mathesar is offline  
post #8334 of 8366 Old 01-11-2016, 01:13 PM
Member
 
captainsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If I could figure out the DRC, dial back the zoom stretch so it didn't crop so much picture off and combat the phosphor trails this would be flawless.
GeneraLight likes this.
captainsolo is offline  
post #8335 of 8366 Old 02-01-2016, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Nice! pic- Mathesar.

I use an all glass Bell O' stand for my 960. 12 years and going strong!
JA Fant is offline  
post #8336 of 8366 Old 02-03-2016, 02:29 PM
Member
 
GeneraLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I wish I could find a matching stand for my 960.

This is probably the best overall TV for 6th Gen gaming and watching HD TV Channels. Wii and GameCube will output in native 480p through component, and it looks amazing. You could also play Wii games in native 480p on the Wii U through HDMI. Since TV broadcasts max out at 1080i, the XBR960 is perfect for watching HD TV Channels. Deep inky blacks and amazing colors, zero motion blur and Super Fine Pitch.
GeneraLight is online now  
post #8337 of 8366 Old 02-04-2016, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Floydage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneraLight View Post
I wish I could find a matching stand for my 960.
If you're in or near the D/FW area let me know. I see them occasionally with the TV if you can temporarily deal with the TV part of it. Saw a combo not long ago for free. Now I don't know if there's matching stands by themselves for sale since I'm doing a TV search.

There's also a classified section on AVS.

Floydage is offline  
post #8338 of 8366 Old 02-04-2016, 10:27 PM
Member
 
GCAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneraLight View Post
I wish I could find a matching stand for my 960.
What's it worth to you?
GCAVS is offline  
post #8339 of 8366 Old 02-05-2016, 05:43 AM
Member
 
GeneraLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCAVS View Post
What's it worth to you?
Stand by itself? $25
GeneraLight is online now  
post #8340 of 8366 Old 02-06-2016, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
ModernMode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
2 Digital Tuners?

I own a Sony KD-34XBR960. It has one digital tuner and one analog tuner. I am wondering if I could get my hands on a digital tuner, could I remove the analog and replace it with the digital? Having the 2 digital tuners would restore my Twin View double picture. (I receive TV on over-the-air antenna).
ModernMode is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off