The Official Kd-34xbr960 Thread - Page 281 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8401 of 8427 Old 11-27-2016, 05:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Welcome! Forest Shepard
JA Fant is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8402 of 8427 Old 11-27-2016, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Welcome! JKonrad 1993
JA Fant is online now  
post #8403 of 8427 Old 12-11-2016, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello Forum. I have a 34XBR960 that I bought new in 2004. It has died last week. I turn it on see three red blinks and the tv shuts off. Is this an easy fix? I had the set calibrated in 2005 and I have never seen a better picture.
JA Fant likes this.
boonrag is offline  
 
post #8404 of 8427 Old 12-12-2016, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Dean_KS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Typical problem is a certain IC fails. There are two and one has failed. You would replaced both.
IF 6 OR 7 BLINKS.

http://nickviera.com/av/sony_wega/

3 blinks is a power supply problem. Either the power supply or IC 6505 that reports the problem.

----------------

6-7 blinks continued

Are you able to do work on IC boards with fine traces? There are two 16 pin IC's to remove.
You need a fine tip temperature controlled soldering iron, solder wick and solder sucker.

The back cover is removed and the IC is then exposed.

It is not an easy job. You need decent skills/experience. But if you fail, not much lost.

There is a repair kit with the two IC's and two sockets. The cost of the kit is trivial.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
boonrag likes this.
Dean_KS is offline  
post #8405 of 8427 Old 12-12-2016, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
vash32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Just got a used KD-34XBR960 for just $50 and love it a lot.. however for just $50 is does have some problems that I'll like to get fixed. I've more or less removed all the overscan but I have some convergence problems & I think the disk magnets need to be adjust as the corner are not right. (or can the magnets go bad over time?)
JA Fant likes this.
vash32 is offline  
post #8406 of 8427 Old 12-13-2016, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
vash32

Welcome! hope you receibe the help requested to fix your 960. I have had mines for 11 years, built in 2004, w/o issues.
There is a wealth of info in this thread. Keep reading from the beginning and good luck!
JA Fant is online now  
post #8407 of 8427 Old 12-13-2016, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Dean_KS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by vash32 View Post
Just got a used KD-34XBR960 for just $50 and love it a lot.. however for just $50 is does have some problems that I'll like to get fixed. I've more or less removed all the overscan but I have some convergence problems & I think the disk magnets need to be adjust as the corner are not right. (or can the magnets go bad over time?)
These TVs are sensitive to external magnet fields. If there is or has been non shielded speakers near by you can have problems.
JA Fant likes this.
Dean_KS is offline  
post #8408 of 8427 Old 12-13-2016, 02:13 PM
Newbie
 
vash32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA Fant View Post
vash32

Welcome! hope you receibe the help requested to fix your 960. I have had mines for 11 years, built in 2004, w/o issues.
There is a wealth of info in this thread. Keep reading from the beginning and good luck!
I've seen some info on hare so far & its be very helpful. I be sure to keep reading. The problems are not very bad but all the HD CRTs that I tired out so far all got the same problems. I used two Hi-Scan models before this god or a home CRT.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean_KS View Post
These TVs are sensitive to external magnet fields. If there is or has been non shielded speakers near by you can have problems.
I'm not sure if anyone has does this to it before or not, I know I have not. It does has this in the manual:

Disk magnets or rotatable disk magnets correct these areas a-d. Its only the four corners that same to have this problem. Its not seeable for more things but I can see it in games as I'm using the menu. I can also see some red, greed & blue lines some parts of the screen, that most likely the convergence.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF9349.JPG
Views:	103
Size:	293.8 KB
ID:	1827945  
JA Fant likes this.
vash32 is offline  
post #8409 of 8427 Old 12-13-2016, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Keep me posted -Vash32
JA Fant is online now  
post #8410 of 8427 Old 12-14-2016, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Dean_KS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by vash32 View Post
I've seen some info on hare so far & its be very helpful. I be sure to keep reading. The problems are not very bad but all the HD CRTs that I tired out so far all got the same problems. I used two Hi-Scan models before this god or a home CRT.

I'm not sure if anyone has does this to it before or not, I know I have not. It does has this in the manual:

Disk magnets or rotatable disk magnets correct these areas a-d. Its only the four corners that same to have this problem. Its not seeable for more things but I can see it in games as I'm using the menu. I can also see some red, greed & blue lines some parts of the screen, that most likely the convergence.
The demagnetization coil really only works properly when there is no external field, ie from an shielded speaker.

If there is an external magnetic field, the demagnetization will imprint the magnetic field, not erase it.

Above may not have any application to your situation.
JA Fant likes this.
Dean_KS is offline  
post #8411 of 8427 Old 12-14-2016, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
vash32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean_KS View Post
The demagnetization coil really only works properly when there is no external field, ie from an shielded speaker.

If there is an external magnetic field, the demagnetization will imprint the magnetic field, not erase it.

Above may not have any application to your situation.
I'm not sure but from what I've seen online, I may need to position my yoke or move it back as it sames that can move off a little over time.
I'm thinking I'll need up just opening it someday soon & just do most of the things in the service manual.

Like what this guy has done to a older 36" that I may do the same from my old 28" that the same model type.
youtube com /watch?v=3SsLwcSKIOY
vash32 is offline  
post #8412 of 8427 Old 12-17-2016, 07:11 PM
Senior Member
 
The Lizard King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What's a fair price to pay for one with and without the modular SONY stand?
The Lizard King is offline  
post #8413 of 8427 Old 12-18-2016, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Lizard King View Post
What's a fair price to pay for one with and without the modular SONY stand?
I would say $100-200 depending on condition. Make sure that the set has never been in a non-climate controlled space.
JA Fant is online now  
post #8414 of 8427 Old 12-18-2016, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
The Lizard King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA Fant View Post
I would say $100-200 depending on condition. Make sure that the set has never been in a non-climate controlled space.
If it's stored in a garage, that's a problem?
The Lizard King is offline  
post #8415 of 8427 Old 12-20-2016, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Yes- a tv such as this should never store in a garage, basement nor attic. Climate -controlled conditions only.
JA Fant is online now  
post #8416 of 8427 Old 12-24-2016, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Merry Christmas- All
JA Fant is online now  
post #8417 of 8427 Old 12-30-2016, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Getting ready to start another New Year w/ my 960N
JA Fant is online now  
post #8418 of 8427 Old 01-01-2017, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Happy New Year!
JA Fant is online now  
post #8419 of 8427 Old 01-06-2017, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Here's to another year w/ my 960N
JohnGZ28 likes this.
JA Fant is online now  
post #8420 of 8427 Old 02-08-2017, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Hope you guys are still enjoying your 960/960N CRT sets.
JA Fant is online now  
post #8421 of 8427 Old 02-11-2017, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
The Lizard King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA Fant View Post
Hope you guys are still enjoying your 960/960N CRT sets.
I've never owned one, but I own two KD-36XS955 sets, and they are both still working just fine.
JA Fant likes this.
The Lizard King is offline  
post #8422 of 8427 Old 03-02-2017, 01:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Lizard King View Post
I've never owned one, but I own two KD-36XS955 sets, and they are both still working just fine.
very nice! Lizard King
JA Fant is online now  
post #8423 of 8427 Old 03-10-2017, 05:37 PM
Member
 
captainsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TN, USA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I love my set and got used to the slight problems with the curving of the upper left corner and a touch of side overscan once I did service menu tweaking.
What really drives me nuts are the phosphor trails. Otherwise it's a total beauty.
My current settings are:
Picture 20
Brightness 40
Color 31
Sharpness 27
Pro mode

I think my brightness may be a tad too high for movies and games seem to need a bit more.

My question is about inherent sharpness. I've seen some things appear that seems bit like edge enhancement halos and wasn't sure if there's some type of service menu controlled EE within the set itself. I have the menu VM totally off.
JA Fant likes this.
captainsolo is offline  
post #8424 of 8427 Old 04-21-2017, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I've had a 960 for about four years. Been lurking here for all that time, and managed to fix a 40XBR800 thanks to the info here. Dragged the 960 with me from Arizona to California and don't think I'll ever get rid of it.

Anyone know if CRT calibrators are still around? I've spent many hours tweaking and taking notes on the service menu options, but I just can't get the geometry on point or the overscan when I try to reach something close to what a 1:1 pixel map would be. It hasn't bothered me until recently when I hooked up a PS4 Pro to it. Blu-Rays, DVDs, Laserdiscs, etc. still look fantastic, but either my TV is at its limit and new games are far too detailed to expect much clarity in the small text or the settings are way off. I'm thinking of either going the calibration route if that's still a thing or just grabbing a 9G Kuro and delegating the CRT to LD and old game duty. The anti-glare coating is pretty far gone too, but it's not noticeable at night at least.
JA Fant likes this.
lowibu is online now  
post #8425 of 8427 Old Today, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by boonrag View Post
Hello Forum. I have a 34XBR960 that I bought new in 2004. It has died last week. I turn it on see three red blinks and the tv shuts off. Is this an easy fix? I had the set calibrated in 2005 and I have never seen a better picture.
Welcome! boonrag

hope you can find a repair tech.
JA Fant is online now  
post #8426 of 8427 Old Today, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowibu View Post
I've had a 960 for about four years. Been lurking here for all that time, and managed to fix a 40XBR800 thanks to the info here. Dragged the 960 with me from Arizona to California and don't think I'll ever get rid of it.

Anyone know if CRT calibrators are still around? I've spent many hours tweaking and taking notes on the service menu options, but I just can't get the geometry on point or the overscan when I try to reach something close to what a 1:1 pixel map would be. It hasn't bothered me until recently when I hooked up a PS4 Pro to it. Blu-Rays, DVDs, Laserdiscs, etc. still look fantastic, but either my TV is at its limit and new games are far too detailed to expect much clarity in the small text or the settings are way off. I'm thinking of either going the calibration route if that's still a thing or just grabbing a 9G Kuro and delegating the CRT to LD and old game duty. The anti-glare coating is pretty far gone too, but it's not noticeable at night at least.
Yes, there are many ISF CRT calibrators in California. Look at the ISF Calibrator section of these forums and post your request
JA Fant is online now  
post #8427 of 8427 Old Today, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Display Calibration - top link for ISF providers.
JA Fant is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off