The OFFICIAL KD-36XS955 Thread... - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JamisonBWolsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Review of other 955 sets are coming in!!! check the other threads. The PQ with SD is Good quality!!!! I cant wait to get mine! I will do a FULL in-depth review!
JamisonBWolsh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Adam Tyner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Admittedly, my expectations for SD quality could be unrealistic, and other people's thresholds for what's good could very well be completely different than my own. As it is, it's watchable and teeters on 'okay', but I'd rather watch analog stuff on an analog set and stick with digital stuff on this digital set.
Adam Tyner is offline  
post #123 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
DWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JamisonBWolsh
Review of other 955 sets are coming in!!! check the other threads. The PQ with SD is Good quality!!!! I cant wait to get mine! I will do a FULL in-depth review!

I cant wait for you to get your set too. I might be able to read a few posts...ah nevermind
DWhite is offline  
post #124 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by DWhite
I cant wait for you to get your set too. I might be able to read a few posts...ah nevermind

What other threads?? !! ??


bob
spongebob is offline  
post #125 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Adam Tyner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by spongebob
What other threads?? !! ??

The threads for the 30XS955 and the 34XS955.
Adam Tyner is offline  
post #126 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
But those are 16:9, right? I thought the big issue is whether 4:3 sd/analog will look better on this set than on a widescreen hdtv?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #127 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Adam Tyner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I was just linking to what JamisonBWolsh is referring to.

So far, I don't think anyone but me has commented on the way SD cable looks on the 36XS955. It's watchable, but not great, in my opinion. I haven't spent a lot of time messing with the settings to improve it (I don't really watch anything other than DVDs and HD, so I haven't felt motivated to give it much effort), and its appearance out of the box may not be representative of the best the set can offer with tweaked settings.

Some of the positive comments about the way SD looks on the smaller widescreen models could be possibly be attributed to their smaller size.
Adam Tyner is offline  
post #128 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 01:26 PM
Member
 
lahaina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JamisonBWolsh
You got it Goldflow. Its not the 955. Its HDTV sets in general. HDTV sets is meant for HDTV programming. HDTV sets picks up the SD signal and clearly displays it. What you see is all the problems with sd material. Analog sets cannot see these problems because it does not have the capabitlities to do so (not digital).

Here is the rub. Some tv sets displays BETTER sd then others. Why you ask? Simple. Its the hardware the manufactorers use in their sets. Supposedly Sony uses the best (Digital Reality Circuitry as well as a few other devices) followed by panasonic. The 910/960/955 all use this tech (the 960 is adjustable).

In the next few years will they make new tv's with better abilities to view sd programming? Maybe next years models, but i dont see them investing alot of money in research because HDTV will be here soon (5 years maybe?)

But owners of the 960 (myself as one- before I returned it), can accomplish a good PQ with SD programming if you follow the steps as I listed earlier. If you have cable, you can also add an Amplifier to your cable and supposedly that works as well (worked for one 960 user).

To me, what you say makes ultimate sense. Just the slight bloom from the phosphor in a CRT is going to cover a lot of small sins. A little tweaking, and a decent signal and I'd have a very hard time believing that a 4:3 set from Sony can't offer a very good to excellent SD picture. Also, just the fact that a set, any set, is bigger is going to reduce the perceived quality when picture on same is viewed close up. Sit back (and I do mean back) a little, pop a cold one and enjoy.
lahaina is offline  
post #129 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You guys need to so some research. Hd sets have to upconvert all signals to native 1080i, including 480i. This is where the big problem is, not the SD signal. It's the poor quality of the conversion from 480i to 1080i that is the problem. Analog sets are native 480i. I'm sure that just like audio gear, the quality of the conversion is critical. I have (IMO) the best analog set ever made, the Sony 32 XBR Squared (xbr-100). I guarantee my set will blow away any hdtv on sd/analog material.

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #130 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 05:31 PM
Member
 
GOLDFLOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avrev.com/news/0904/21.silicon.html

"Silicon Optix Announces The Realta Chip - Bringing Teranex's Hollywood Quality Video to the Home"

This may solve our upconversion problem. I hope it can be utilized in the CRT product lines.
GOLDFLOW is offline  
post #131 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
spongebob is offline  
post #132 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Shivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like that Realta chip might just be for pixel-type purely digital displays. This might be the boost that non-CRTs need to improve PQ. Oh well, it's probably a while off, and a lot of it is probably marketing smoke and mirrors.

Standtallandshaketheheavens.
Shivan is offline  
post #133 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JamisonBWolsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back to the 36xs955!!!! Anyone have one yet? Mine is scheduled to be delivered Friday. Someone else must surely have this 4:3 set....
JamisonBWolsh is offline  
post #134 of 965 Old 09-21-2004, 06:05 PM
Member
 
bhenley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by spongebob
You guys need to so some research. Hd sets have to upconvert all signals to native 1080i, including 480i. This is where the big problem is, not the SD signal. It's the poor quality of the conversion from 480i to 1080i that is the problem. Analog sets are native 480i. I'm sure that just like audio gear, the quality of the conversion is critical. I have (IMO) the best analog set ever made, the Sony 32 XBR Squared (xbr-100). I guarantee my set will blow away any hdtv on sd/analog material.


It doesn't take much research to find HD sets that don't have to upconvert all signals to native 1080i. A lot of direct view sets support both 480p and 1080i natively. My lowly Sanyo does. Samsung TXPs do, as well as several others. http://www.samsungusa.com/pdf/SamsungHDTV.pdf says:

DynaFlat HD Monitors include:
Native resolutions 1080i (HD) and 480P (progressive scan)

Any of these sets only need a good line doubler to display good SD at 480p. It also eliminates the time lag waiting to generate the upconverted 1080i. The set I had that did convert to 1080i introduced audio sync issues when I was sending audio directly to an AV receiver and had audio coming from the TV. No similar delay with the Sanyo (or Samsung).
bhenley is offline  
post #135 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 02:34 PM
Member
 
metman2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine was scheduled for delivery Monday but the driver said he didn't have the equipment to move it 13 steps into my basement...should get it tommorrow...wonder if they will forget to do anything else this time...not mpressed with the "white glove" service.

Those who received it...did they set up the "free" stand and then get the TV running?
metman2003 is offline  
post #136 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JamisonBWolsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the stand today. I will set it up later. I thought my tv was going to be delivered friday, but the date is actually the date it will get to Logistics warehouse. 24-48 hours later, they will call me and have the set delivered. Im thinking next wednesday for me???

BTW, they do NOT setup the stand for you..... your going to have to do that yourself and have a friend lift the set up to the stand
JamisonBWolsh is offline  
post #137 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Adam Tyner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The guys who delivered mine offered to set up the stand, but I declined. (I still had a 230 lb. TV on another stand I had to get out of the way first.)
Adam Tyner is offline  
post #138 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 03:44 PM
Member
 
maryjef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The place that was supposed to deliver mine said they would bring both at the same time, set up the stand and connect the TV. On a side note the delivery people called on Monday to say both the TV and the stand arrived. The TV was damaged during transit to them. she stated she did all the paper work to get a replacement and it would be around 10 days until it arrived. On Wednesday, todays date I called Sony to see if they could get it delivered faster. The guy at customer service told me that Sony will mark my TV as returned when they received it back and I would have to place a whole new order. I told him that was ridiculous and then I talked to a manager who stated the same. He said they could get the new one to me in early October. I told him I was definitely not reordering through them. I guess it was not meant to be.
maryjef is offline  
post #139 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JamisonBWolsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So sorry about your ordeal!!! What are you going to do now? Why dont you try it a 2nd time? there really is not a 4:3 set that can come close to the PQ of this set.....
JamisonBWolsh is offline  
post #140 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 04:49 PM
Member
 
weesleekit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You people have got me scared with all this talk about a digital set's poor picture when showing an analog signal. We watch cable all day on Dish and some cops and robbers now and then at night. (I do get a signal from Raleigh - fringe but OK usually - about 60 miles - that we use fairly often) My set is dyijg (an old 32" XBR) and I thought the 36xs955 was what I wanted but now maybe I should look at something like the KV-36FS320. Maybe the HDTV set should be put off for a couple of more years. What do you think?
Jerry
weesleekit2 is offline  
post #141 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JamisonBWolsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As stated several times- as well as from people that have owned the other versions of the 955- IF PROPERLY callibrated with avia or other type dvd, THERE IS practically NO DIFFERENCE!!!!!
JamisonBWolsh is offline  
post #142 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Artwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hoover, Alabama
Posts: 4,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 197
The old 40XBR800 could do 960i and 1080i. Too bad nobody can do that trick anymore.
Artwood is offline  
post #143 of 965 Old 09-22-2004, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Adam Tyner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JamisonBWolsh
As stated several times- as well as from people that have owned the other versions of the 955- IF PROPERLY callibrated with avia or other type dvd, THERE IS practically NO DIFFERENCE!!!!!

That is a worthless statement. Settings that look good for DVDs as calibrated with Avia are not ideal settings for analog cable. There's a reason the picture settings are input-specific.
Adam Tyner is offline  
post #144 of 965 Old 09-23-2004, 03:01 PM
Member
 
metman2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They just deleivered mine 15 minutes ago...2nd try and they still had a hard time getting it down the steps to the basement. They marred up the front a liitle bit which is really only notoicable to me...they plugged it in... saw static and said that's all they do. They did not wear white gloves.

I'll put together the stand, set up tonite, and then report
metman2003 is offline  
post #145 of 965 Old 09-23-2004, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JamisonBWolsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So you did not plug in the cable yet? I would be too excited to wait...
JamisonBWolsh is offline  
post #146 of 965 Old 09-23-2004, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Bari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keep us posted
Bari is offline  
post #147 of 965 Old 09-23-2004, 06:03 PM
Member
 
BigLouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My first Sony TV was a 20" that I bought about 20 years ago. I, to this day, remember how vivid and bright the picture was on that set. The 20" died a bout 5 years ago and I upgraded to a Sony 32". I remember getting the 32" delivered and setting it up on the same cable outlet that I had my 20" on. I turned on the 32" set for the first time and was shocked by how bad the picture was. I was disgusted by the cable picture on the 32", especially since the 15 year old 20" looked so good on cable.

I though something was wrong with the set until I put a DVD on. Wow, was a difference, the DVD looked great, so for the first time I discovered just how bad a picture cable provides. Some channels looked OK, some were pathetically bad. I called comcast, they came out, made adjustments with their stuff, but still a really bad picture on some channels.

Moral of story, IMHO, the better the TV, the worse the SD PQ is. It's the source that is the problem, not the television
BigLouie is offline  
post #148 of 965 Old 09-23-2004, 11:38 PM
Member
 
maryjef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To answer your question Jamisonbwolsh, I'm not sure. I'm gonna wait it out a few and see what the reviews are and then maybe buy it somewhere.
maryjef is offline  
post #149 of 965 Old 09-24-2004, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
shpankey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glenpool, Ok. USA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:


Originally posted by JamisonBWolsh
As stated several times- as well as from people that have owned the other versions of the 955- IF PROPERLY callibrated with avia or other type dvd, THERE IS practically NO DIFFERENCE!!!!!

Just not true. The difference is substantial. ANalog TV's display analog source much much better, period. You are fooling yourself and misinforming people.

26 What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul?

Matthew 16:26 NIV
shpankey is offline  
post #150 of 965 Old 09-24-2004, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JamisonBWolsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess all the 960 and 955 owners are fooling themselves also??? I know many 960 owners on this very forum that are extremely educated in SD and digital signals. EVEN they say the same thing that I said "Once calibrated correctly, the SD quality can almost equal that ofanalog sets". No misinformation here. Only FACT.

But Lets get back to the 36xs955. The point of this thread. If you want to further discuss this, create your thread!
JamisonBWolsh is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off