Reddish Faces on Sony KV-30HS420 - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 157 Old 04-20-2006, 05:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
nick2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It depends on the DVD player but the tv's cinemotion is better then most DVD player's progressive scan output. You will still need diffrent settings for the DVD and HDTV input though cause DVD's require a diffrent amount of sharpness and vm then a good HDTV program because of the lower resolution.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nick2003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 157 Old 04-20-2006, 05:14 AM
Member
 
hudsonkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im using component cables on this DVD player going into kv-30hs420's input 6. Does that change much in terms oh how I should be adjusting the numbers?

And thanks for the quick reply to my last question.
hudsonkm is offline  
post #153 of 157 Old 04-20-2006, 05:40 AM
Member
 
hudsonkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ahh Im new to this..

Ok re-reading your post suggests that I should be using the HD settings for the DVD player through the HD input with component cables?

Where I am confused is that I read for DVD as being for _any_ DVD player. But in truth do you mean use default only if the player is going through the non HD component cable input?
hudsonkm is offline  
post #154 of 157 Old 04-20-2006, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hudsonkm
Nick, a quick question.

Ive been playing around with your settings and noticed the different suggestions for DVD and HD.

Now, my DVD player has a progressive scan output toggle. My question is should I use that and setup with your HD numbers? Or should I keep it off and let my set convert via the cinemotion setting and set the individual toggles in question to default?
It's all about which one does the better job at de-interlacing, either the TV or the DVD player.

It's best to keep the signal in the Digital domain and to do this it must have the de-interlacing coming from the player,but like Nick said many players don't have good de-interlacers and the tv does the better job at doing progressive scan.

In my case my DVD player beats my tv hands down in every respect,i own a Sony 775 12 bit 108MHZ DAC DVD player, it's "Precision Cinema Scan" is top notch compared to my tv's "Cinemotion".
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #155 of 157 Old 09-15-2006, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
gab2409's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick2003
Here you go:

These are for an hdtv input, The color settings and almost all of it will be the same for the DVD input but the sharpness and vm settings and also Brightness level will vary with other inputs. For the DVD input i'd suggest using just your factory settings for the VM and sharpness settings (The ones to change are marked below) Also you might need to adjust UBOF even with your HD input sense you may have a diffrent box then me. Dont adjust your brightness till you have inky blacks because you will lose shadow detail so its best to have it not really dark.

In the usermenu:
Set picture 4 clicks to the left of the middle or just in the middle but i like a little less contrast (makes the picture more detailed)
Everything else in the center with neutral color mode and Clearedge VM off

In 2103-1 (change these to)
YLEV 19
CLEV 25
SCON 8
SCOL 6
SHUE 11
YDLY 0
SHAP 4
SHFO 3
PREO 1
BPFO 3
BPFQ 2
BPSW 1
TRAP 0
LPF 1
AFCG 0
CDMD 3
SSMD 2
HMSK 1
HALI 0
PPHA 7
CBO1 26
CRO1 43
CBO2 21
CRO2 39
ATPD 0
DCTR 0

In 2170P-1:
YOSW 0
TCOF 0
YOF 7
CBOF 37
CROF 37
SBRT 29
RDRV 30
GDRV 28
BDRV 23
RCUT 43
GCUT 24
BCUT 22
WBSW 0
SBOF 7
RDOF 30
GDOF 31
BDOF 32
RCOF 30
GCOF 31
BCOF 32
DCOL 0

2170P-2

PICO 1
RGBS 7
BLKB 3
RGBL 2
YLMT 3
AGNG 0
AKBO 0
CLPP 3
CLPG 0
CLPS 0
PPAD 3
SYNP 0
HVBT 0

2170P-3

SYSM 3 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
YMLV 0 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
VMCR 0 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
VMLM 0 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
VMFO 0 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
VMDL 0 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
SHOF 1 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
SHFO 1
PROV 3
F1LV 0
LTLV 0
LTMD 1
CTLV 0
UBOF 4 (For HDTV, Varies for each input so adjust accordingly)
UCOF 0
UHOF 0
MIDE 20
VM 0 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
VMH 0 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
VMM 0 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
VML 2 (for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings)
VGAP 5
VGAS 5
VGAB 5
VGAC 5
VGAV 5

2170P-4:

YCON 1
SPIC 0
SCOL 36
SHUE 30
SPIO 7
SCLO 7
SHUO 7
UPIC 31
UBRT 31
UCOL 31
UHUE 31
USHP 31
UTMP 1
RYR 14
RYB 14
GYR 6
GYB 4
GAMM 0
GAMS 0
GAMR 0
GAMG 0
GAMB 0
BLK 0
DCTR 0
APED 0
DSBO 7
IDSW 0
ABLM 0
ABLT 0
SPOF 0
DPSQ 1
LRGB 3

Change these in MID5 to:

Leave to factory default for DVD but change for HDTV

POP 20
MHLY 0
MHLC 0
MVLY 0
MVLC 0
MHYR 0
MHYL 1
MHYE 2
MHYO 0
MHCR 0
MHCL 0
MHCE 0
MHCO 0
MVYR 0
MVYL 0
MVYE 0
MVCR 0
MVCL 0
MVCE 0
SHLY 0
SHLC 0
SVLY 0
SVLC 0
SHYR 0
SHYL 0
SHYE 0
SHYO 0
SHCR 0
SHCL 0
SHCE 0
SHCO 0
SVYR 0
SVYL 0
SVYE 0
SVCR 0
SVCL 0
SVCE 0

man, what a great thread. I am a little lost, and kentech's thread intimidates me. lol. I won't have hd for about 6 months, so I'm setting it(30hs420) up for dvd mostly. so, do I only change the settings that dont have "for dvd set to factory default for hd use my settings" by it? or, should I just change the values at the start of the thread(RYR, RYB, GYR, GYB)?

also, are the subcategories(2103-1, 2170P-1, etc.) for the different inputs, or are they seperated for another reason? thanks to anyone who may be able to help! I plan to do the SM adjustments, then use my DVE disc to set the user options. thanks again.
gab2409 is offline  
post #156 of 157 Old 09-15-2006, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
nick2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gab: These settings are outdated, I would suggest looking threw Kentechs Thread. I would work my way from the last page to the front so you get the latest info and also check out the front pages sense there is alot of info there.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nick2003 is offline  
post #157 of 157 Old 12-26-2006, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Gunnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought Kentech's thread was about the XBR's. nick2003 I have used your settings for the KV30HS420 them seem pretty sweat any changes since you last post.
Gunnett is offline  
Closed Thread Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off