Reddish Faces on Sony KV-30HS420 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 157 Old 01-04-2006, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jaycook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think this is the notorious "red push" problem and I ordered the Avia DVD Disc, but anyone know how to get rid of this 'reddish" skin tone? I have tried messing with the Hue, but I only get "too green" that way.
Thanks!
jaycook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 157 Old 01-04-2006, 11:12 PM
Member
 
mattford11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While their at it, can anyone post their Settings while they are at it? I'd love to know who's running " pro " or "vivid " and @ what settings for SD /HD

:)
mattford11 is offline  
post #3 of 157 Old 01-04-2006, 11:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sparco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've always felt that Pannys and Sonys had too much of a red push..

I'm not an expert, take my advice at your own risk.
Sparco is offline  
post #4 of 157 Old 01-05-2006, 12:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a simple service menu adjustment to get rid of the red push.Theres an item called RYR and RYB set these both to 15 and the red push is gone!
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #5 of 157 Old 01-05-2006, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jaycook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mattford11, I am using the "Pro" setting and everything is at the middle except brightness which is 6 clicks to the right.
And SurfingMatt27...hwo do I access the service menu to get rid of the red push?
Thanks!
jaycook is offline  
post #6 of 157 Old 01-06-2006, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
justsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaycook
...how do I access the service menu to get rid of the red push?
Thanks!
Do NOT enter the SM unless you intend to record all values for any and all settings you may tweak or change.

To enter the SM on a Sony tv use the remote control. By "hit" I mean press and release these buttons on the remote, in this order:

-with tv off
-hit the "Display" button
-hit the "5" button
-hit the "Volume Up" button
-hit the "Power On" button

That's it. To navigate through the settings, use the remote's "1" and "4" buttons. To change values use the "3" and "6" buttons. To save and write a change first hit "Mute" and then "Enter."

Good Luck!
justsc is offline  
post #7 of 157 Old 01-06-2006, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks steve for saving me a paragraph;)

Looks like you have been taught well my young apprentice lol :D

Had to do a hint of star wars there. lol:)
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #8 of 157 Old 01-06-2006, 11:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I tried setting both of them to 15 and it looks much better; no more bleeding reds.
ChrisPC is offline  
post #9 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 12:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
nick2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you get your avia disc you'll probably want to adjust the other colors by looking threw each color of the filter as well, Be sure to check out the sony service menu thread.

Other then that, Always use Pro mode with the color temp on neutral and ClearEdge VM off. Then when you get your avia disc calibrate the contrast, brightness and sharpness.
nick2003 is offline  
post #10 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisPC
I tried setting both of them to 15 and it looks much better; no more bleeding reds.
Your very welcome Chris :)

You should'nt have to touch the other colors i would just leave them alone as i did with mine: this control is GYR to GYB.

The whole point of RYR-GYB is to correct color push errors,it does'nt actually change the color of red or green it just get's rid of a color push problem.

Here are my settings:

RYR-15, RYB-15, GYR-9, GYB-6
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #11 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
nick2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfingMatt27

You should'nt have to touch the other colors i would just leave them alone as i did with mine
I'd half to disagree with that Matt, While the green push isnt as noticeable as red sense fleshtones bring out red push the green push was definatly there on my set. If you just do red then your not getting completly accurate color.
nick2003 is offline  
post #12 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But if you don't notice a green push then i would leave it alone, that's my point.

in my case i just left it alone. lowering GYR and GYB causes a green push.it's up to you. it does'nt change the actual color of green just get's rid of color push problems.
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #13 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick2003
I'd half to disagree with that Matt, While the green push isnt as noticeable as red sense fleshtones bring out red push the green push was definatly there on my set. If you just do red then your not getting completly accurate color.
Just curious since your set is ISF'd, where are your GYR-GYB settings set at?

Could you please check for me since i would love to check your out and try it on mine to see any difference. It's just that when i use DVE or avia when i set green it's always seems like theres a green push with the settings GYR-6 and GYB 3. :confused:
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #14 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jaycook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justsc
Do NOT enter the SM unless you intend to record all values for any and all settings you may tweak or change.

To enter the SM on a Sony tv use the remote control. By "hit" I mean press and release these buttons on the remote, in this order:

-with tv off
-hit the "Display" button
-hit the "5" button
-hit the "Volume Up" button
-hit the "Power On" button

That's it. To navigate through the settings, use the remote's "1" and "4" buttons. To change values use the "3" and "6" buttons. To save and write a change first hit "Mute" and then "Enter."

Good Luck!
I just tried this with my remote and I cannot get the service menu to come up...any ideas???
jaycook is offline  
post #15 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It should work keep trying. also make sure your tv is off first.
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #16 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
nick2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Matt:

Well he changed quite a few things in it and im not sure which besides the obvious so here are all my settings in that section of the service menu. When i look threw the filters with dve the colors are spot on. Hope my settings work out for you guys.



In 2170P-1:
YOSW 0
TCOF 0
YOF 7
CBOF 37
CROF 37
SBRT 28
RDRV 53
GDRV 35
BDRV 26
RCUT 60
GCUT 19
BCUT 27
WBSW 1
SBOF 7
RDOF 31
GDOF 34
BDOF 45
RCOF 31
GCOF37
BCOF 63
DCOL 0

2170P-2

PICO 1
RGBS 7
BLKB 3
RGBL 2
YLMT 3
AGNG 0
AKBO 0
CLPP 3
CLPG 0
CLPS 0
PPAD 3
SYNP 0
HVBT 0

2170P-3

SYSM 3
YMLV 0
VMCR 0
VMLM 0
VMFO 0
VMDL 0
SHOF 1
SHFO 1
PROV 3
F1LV 0
LTLV 0
LTMD 1
CTLV 0
UBOF 1
UCOF 0
UHOF 0
MIDE 20
VM 0
VMH 0
VMM 0
VML 0
VGAP 5
VGAS 5
VGAB 5
VGAC 5
VGAV 5

2170P-4:

YCON 1
SPIC 0
SCOL 36
SHUE 30
SPIO 7
SCLO 7
SHUO 7
UPIC 31
UBRT 31
UCOL 31
UHUE 31
USHP 31
UTMP 1
RYR 13
RYB 15
GYR 2
GYB 0
GAMM 0
GAMS 0
GAMR 0
GAMG 0
GAMB 0
BLK 0
DCTR 0
APED 0
DSBO 7
IDSW 0
ABLM 0
ABLT 0
SPOF 0
DPSQ 1
LRGB 3
nick2003 is offline  
post #17 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, Matt and Nick. I tried Nick's settings and it looks even better! The blacks are so blacker now, and the fleshtones are really rich.

BTW, changing picture modes will also change some of these settings.
ChrisPC is offline  
post #18 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
nick2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisPC
Thanks, Matt and Nick. I tried Nick's settings and it looks even better! The blacks are so blacker now, and the fleshtones are really rich.

BTW, changing picture modes will also change some of these settings.
No problem Chris, Yep with my settings you want to be sure that your using the Pro mode, Neutral Color and Clearedge VM off, Also set sharpness to the middle if it isnt already. Now im pretty sure that them settings i posted also did the brightness and contrast calibration sense he did it in the service menu so you will want to set the brightness and contrast to the middle also.
nick2003 is offline  
post #19 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Nick!

but those settings for GYR GYB would give a huge green push, i'm guessing he adjusted something else correct?

I will fiddle with mine tommorow since it's getting late.

Matt~
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #20 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 09:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
nick2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfingMatt27
Thanks Nick!

but those settings for GYR GYB would give a huge green push, i'm guessing he adjusted something else correct?

I will fiddle with mine tommorow since it's getting late.

Matt~
Yeah he adjusted the DRV's and CUTs and stuff to, Compare all of the settings i posted to yours.
nick2003 is offline  
post #21 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 10:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick2003
No problem Chris, Yep with my settings you want to be sure that your using the Pro mode, Neutral Color and Clearedge VM off, Also set sharpness to the middle if it isnt already.
That's what I had it set on already. It looked pretty good, but your menu settings made it even better.
ChrisPC is offline  
post #22 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 10:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jaycook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys are all great...but I still can't get the service menu to come up :(
I really want to tweak this bad boy!
jaycook is offline  
post #23 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 10:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
nick2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaycook
You guys are all great...but I still can't get the service menu to come up :(
I really want to tweak this bad boy!
So your turning off the tv, pressing display (directly under tv/video), Then 5, Volume up (only 1 press) and then pressing the power button? How fast are you pressing it and are you pointing it directly at the tv? Try pressing them fast while pointing directly at the tv.
nick2003 is offline  
post #24 of 157 Old 01-07-2006, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jaycook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will give it a shot hitting the sequence fast and report back tomorrow...getting late here :(
jaycook is offline  
post #25 of 157 Old 01-08-2006, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SurfingMatt27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You don't have to hit it fast, just one button at a time.
SurfingMatt27 is offline  
post #26 of 157 Old 01-08-2006, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jaycook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the double post, but I got into the service menu. I have a question. I was hitting the 1 and 4 buttons and all these # started changing. Did I mess it up or do you have to save your changes somehow before they take effect? If I did in fact change values...how do I get them back so I can just change the specific ones for red push?
Finally, how do you exit the service menu? By turning off the TV or do I have to do something else?
Thanks!
jaycook is offline  
post #27 of 157 Old 01-08-2006, 08:20 AM
Member
 
jjmilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jaycook
The 1 4 keys only select the items for a particular category in your service menu. They do not change the values. This is done with the 3 6 keys. Furthermore nothing is saved unless you press the mute followed by the enter key. If you have not done this. Then simply turning off your TV will negate any unsaved changes you have made. Under threat of sounding redundant, make sure you copy all your original values before making any changes.
jjmilo is offline  
post #28 of 157 Old 01-08-2006, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jaycook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjmilo
Jaycook
The 1 4 keys only select the items for a particular category in your service menu. They do not change the values. This is done with the 3 6 keys. Furthermore nothing is saved unless you press the mute followed by the enter key. If you have not done this. Then simply turning off your TV will negate any unsaved changes you have made. Under threat of sounding redundant, make sure you copy all your original values before making any changes.
Yes...I WILL write down everything before I even attempt to change anything...I just thought when I hit the 1 and 4 keys I had done something to some of the values..and I was not sure how to exit the service menu. So the only way out of service menu is to turn off the TV I presume? Now, how do I get to the values to change the red push? I am a Pharmacist and not a TV Technician and I just want to do that ATM and not screw with anything else...
Thanks!
jaycook is offline  
post #29 of 157 Old 01-08-2006, 04:39 PM
Member
 
jjmilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jaycook
First use the 2 5 keys to go to the proper category; in this case 2170P-4. Then use the 1 4 keys to go to the proper item: in this case RYR. Then use the 3 6 keys to change the value. Repeat steps two and three for each of the other recommended items to change. When you are satisfied with these changes you then press the mute followed by the enter key. You will get an indication that the data is being written (green lettering) then being finalized (red lettering). When you are finished you can exit the Service Menu by turning the TV power off on the remote. You can confirm these changes have been made by reentering the Service Menu and checking the values of the items you have changed. Take your time and be careful. With a little practice ,before you make any permanent changes, you will feel comfortable with the process. Remember if you feel you have messed you can always turn the TV off and negate any changes made prior to writing the data with the mute enter keys.
jjmilo is offline  
post #30 of 157 Old 01-08-2006, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jaycook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks alot jjmilo :)
I shall print and follow your steps as well as write down ALL values before AND after changes made.
I sure am glad I did not do anything earlier this morning...I was worried ;)

Also..thanks to SurfingMatt27 and the others who have helped me here :)
jaycook is offline  
Closed Thread Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off