New 970 owner, a few questions. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-02-2007, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
daschrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my 970 for 2 days now, and I love it! Discovery channel in HD looks amazing, better than any other set I've seen!

Now, for the questions.

When I initially turned on the TV for the first time, I set up the tilt correction etc, but, each time I continue to turn my TV on, it prompts me to do this every time. Am I not saving these settings correctly?

What does Auto Wide actually do? Will it automatically widden a 4:3 image with whatever my prefered zoom function is? The manual really doesn't give a good description on this.
daschrier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-02-2007, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
like.no.other.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Set Mode Memory to ON. Auto Wide gives you option on how to stretch a 4:3 image or you can
set it to off.

There is always someone out there that gives you opinion of a product that they don't even own.
like.no.other. is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-02-2007, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
G-Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by daschrier View Post

When I initially turned on the TV for the first time, I set up the tilt correction etc, but, each time I continue to turn my TV on, it prompts me to do this every time. Am I not saving these settings correctly?

I think you have to go through the whole setup process, including letting it do a channel scan, before it saves those settings. Are you exiting the menu before it scans for OTA channels?
Quote:
Originally Posted by daschrier View Post

What does Auto Wide actually do? Will it automatically widden a 4:3 image with whatever my prefered zoom function is? The manual really doesn't give a good description on this.

I'm not sure what auto wide does. I think it might automatically play 16:9 480i/480p content (like an anamorphic DVD) in "full" mode instead of letterboxed. That's just a guess, tho...
G-Bull is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-02-2007, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
daschrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I wasn't doing a scan, because I didn't see the point, with me using the HDMI input for the cable box. I'll do the scan next time I turn it on I guess, or look for that memory mode setting.
daschrier is offline  
Reply Direct View (single tube) CRT Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off