Few pics from my HC1500. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2008, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The room is not completely done yet. When I get the time Im going to paint the walls a darker color so they don't reflect so much light. I still need to hide the wires. I also still need furniture.

The projector is a Mitsubishi HC1500. It is a DLP 720P projector and is being projected onto a 100" diagonal 16:9 screen. Screen shots are from The 5th Element (obviously) on blu-ray and are being played on a PS3.

So far I am VERY impressed.










Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2008, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Infamous1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow didnt realize the projector was this sharp. Lookin good.
Infamous1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wytchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LaPlace, La.
Posts: 4,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Wytchone is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luis Gabriel Gerena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 2,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Congrats on the PJ...nothing beats FP setups. BTW, not sure if its the color balance on the pictures but you may want to make sure you are using 6500 color temp..then again, its yours eyes the ones you need to please. :-)

Mario Lemieux is GOD!
Go Pens!!!
Aguante Boca!!!
If dolphins are so smart...why do they live in igloos?
Luis Gabriel Gerena is online now  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I havnt really messed with the picture settings all that much with the exception of the brightness. I was pretty happy with the way it looks. I may see if I can dial it in a bit over the forth. How do you achieve a 6500 color temp?

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Few more. Couldn't get these to turn out quite as good though. But all of these are just downloads from the playstation network. So they aren't as sharp as blu-ray to begin with.










Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
elmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Your black level looks good - what size

Current Projects:
IN PROGRESS (80%) - Building 3D Theater room.
IN PROGRESS (30%) - Building Lounge/Hallway Area.
IN PROGRESS (15%) - Building Home LAN (4 PCs).
ON HOLD - Building Home Gym.
ON HOLD - Building Simulation Room (Eyefinity).
ON HOLD - Building Theater room (Sim2 HT380, 2.35 14ft wide).
elmalloc is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
theshadow1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great Pics! Looks Awesome Dude. Thanks.
theshadow1234 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
hokie93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mechanicsville,Va
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice pics! Put some in the screen shot thread.
hokie93 is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
fishfeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what are you using for your screen?
fishfeet is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
PeteReynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Bob,

Those pictures look great! Do you have your pj ceiling mounted? If so, what mount did you use? Just wondering, as I am looking to mount my HC1500.

Pete
PeteReynolds is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the screen from a guy on ebay. His screen name is shoppingdeals. He can custom make any size you need. He was very good to work with. He answered all my questions. Plus his price are quite good IMO. He is using one of my pics as a picture in his ads. Here is the item number to one of his screens currently for sale. 230270445516

I am using a monoprice mount. Though I can not recommend it. Its a piece of crap. It very difficult to get it adjusted properly and will not stay in one place.

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmalloc View Post

Your black level looks good - what size

the camera makes the black levels look better than they actually are. Don't expect miracles in that department.

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 09:33 AM
Member
 
Harry Muscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
May I ask which input (HDMI, VGA, Component, etc.) you are using?

Thanks,
Harry
Harry Muscle is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All the pictures above are displayed using a PS3 through HDMI.

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Tank6585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South, NJ
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminatorbob View Post

I bought the screen from a guy on ebay. His screen name is shoppingdeals. He can custom make any size you need. He was very good to work with. He answered all my questions. Plus his price are quite good IMO. He is using one of my pics as a picture in his ads. Here is the item number to one of his screens currently for sale. 230270445516

I am using a monoprice mount. Though I can not recommend it. Its a piece of crap. It very difficult to get it adjusted properly and will not stay in one place.

I have the same mount, it is a pain to ajust and make it stay no matter how tight the screws are. Once it is set, you really cant beat $16 or expect much from it.
Tank6585 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 10:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tank6585 View Post

I have the same mount, it is a pain to ajust and make it stay no matter how tight the screws are. Once it is set, you really cant beat $16 or expect much from it.

Yeah I guess for $16 it not bad if your on a budget. But perhaps you have had more luck with yours then I have. I currently have it bungied at different places just to try and make it project where it needs to. I hate it.

That reminds me, I just got Gears of War back from a friend today that I let borrow it. I have yet to play it on my new projector, time to lock and load!

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wytchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LaPlace, La.
Posts: 4,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminatorbob View Post

That reminds me, I just got Gears of War back from a friend today that I let borrow it. I have yet to play it on my new projector, time to lock and load!


Beware GOW is very dark, had to up my brightness and contrast to play it.
In fact setting 2 is my GOW setting. Only game I need it for so far
Wytchone is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminatorbob View Post

I bought the screen from a guy on ebay. His screen name is shoppingdeals. He can custom make any size you need. He was very good to work with. He answered all my questions. Plus his price are quite good IMO. He is using one of my pics as a picture in his ads. Here is the item number to one of his screens currently for sale. 230270445516

What about the quality of the screen? I just purchased an HC1500, have no interest in DIY and want to keep my cost on a first screen down. This guy seems to fit all the criteria, shipping is even cheap.

I'd love to hear any/everything you have to say about the screen.
Down is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 08:38 AM
Member
 
spectramr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminatorbob View Post

Yeah I guess for $16 it not bad if your on a budget. But perhaps you have had more luck with yours then I have. I currently have it bungied at different places just to try and make it project where it needs to. I hate it.

That reminds me, I just got Gears of War back from a friend today that I let borrow it. I have yet to play it on my new projector, time to lock and load!


bob,

how high are ur ceilings? and how high is your screen off the ground? Thanks!
spectramr2 is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectramr2 View Post

bob,

how high are ur ceilings? and how high is your screen off the ground? Thanks!

My ceilings are 8ft, I can't seem to find my tape measure at the moment to give you an accurate measurement on the screen height, but just guessing I would say between 3-4 ft from the floor. The screen is actually mounted on top of a window. If you look at the first picture you can see that it is sitting on the little platform at the bottom of the window. So the height would be just a few inches higher from where the bottom of a window would be in a house. If there is a standard for that.

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 02:52 PM
Member
 
ionyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The blacks are a little too black, it's too sharp and the colors a little too ...well colorful. I can see why you're disappointed so I'll take it off your hands for you so you don't have to throw it into a landfill as it's not biodegradable.
ionyou is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 03:03 PM
Member
 
spectramr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminatorbob View Post

My ceilings are 8ft, I can't seem to find my tape measure at the moment to give you an accurate measurement on the screen height, but just guessing I would say between 3-4 ft from the floor. The screen is actually mounted on top of a window. If you look at the first picture you can see that it is sitting on the little platform at the bottom of the window. So the height would be just a few inches higher from where the bottom of a window would be in a house. If there is a standard for that.

Did you do any adjustments since the calculator says that you need 17.9" from the projector? I have followed the calculator to the tee and the image is wonderful, i just would like to raise my screen a lil bit, but didnt want to mess with the settings too much.

Thanks for the response.
spectramr2 is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionyou View Post

The blacks are a little too black, it's too sharp and the colors a little too ...well colorful. I can see why you're disappointed so I'll take it off your hands for you so you don't have to throw it into a landfill as it's not biodegradable.

Disappointed? Not at all. I do wish I had went 1080P but thats about it. As I said above though the camera makes it look a bit better than it actually does. At least when your talking black level.

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectramr2 View Post

Did you do any adjustments since the calculator says that you need 17.9" from the projector? I have followed the calculator to the tee and the image is wonderful, i just would like to raise my screen a lil bit, but didnt want to mess with the settings too much.

Thanks for the response.

I have the zoom set almost as wide as it will go. Not ideal. But I wanted the biggest picture possible. Thats the only thing I have adjusted. I have not had to use keystone at all. My throw distance is around 11-12ft, if I remember correctly.

Im at work right now. But if I can find my tape measure tonight, I will post some more specific numbers later tonight.

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 04:13 PM
Member
 
spectramr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminatorbob View Post

I have the zoom set almost as wide as it will go. Not ideal. But I wanted the biggest picture possible. Thats the only thing I have adjusted. I have not had to use keystone at all. My throw distance is around 11-12ft, if I remember correctly.

Im at work right now. But if I can find my tape measure tonight, I will post some more specific numbers later tonight.

Thanks for the fast responses and info! I will post my screenshots of mine when im finally done!

Appreciate it!
spectramr2 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Down View Post

What about the quality of the screen? I just purchased an HC1500, have no interest in DIY and want to keep my cost on a first screen down. This guy seems to fit all the criteria, shipping is even cheap.

I'd love to hear any/everything you have to say about the screen.

Bob,

Not to be a pest, but just in case you missed my question from earlier in the thread. Thanks in advance!
Down is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
antwon412's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Leandro, CA
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HOW FAR DO YOU SIT FROM THE SCREEN?

I SIT 14' FROM WHERE I PLAN TO PUT A pj AND AM WONDERING IF I CAN EXPECT THE SAME AS WHAT YOU HAVE.

whoops, caps lock

Xbox360 / PS3 / Failed HDM Supporter
I have no idea what you are referring to
Gamertag: antwon412
(A/V)Ignorance is Bliss -------- sweet, cheap bliss
antwon412 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Down View Post

Bob,

Not to be a pest, but just in case you missed my question from earlier in the thread. Thanks in advance!

Oh sorry about that.

The screen is pretty good quality in my opinion. But keep in mind, this is my first projector as well. I have no idea what the quality of other screens are. But for the price I don't think you can beat it. Im very happy with the picture it produces. If you order from him give him about 3 weeks or so to build it for you.

It was really easy to set up. The screen is easy to stretch but is much easier with two people (one to pull and the other to tighten.)

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
terminatorbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by antwon412 View Post

HOW FAR DO YOU SIT FROM THE SCREEN?

I SIT 14' FROM WHERE I PLAN TO PUT A pj AND AM WONDERING IF I CAN EXPECT THE SAME AS WHAT YOU HAVE.

whoops, caps lock

I sit about 9ft from my 100" screen. I think its about right to my eyes. But you can see some SDE which is only really noticeable in bright scenes in movies or games. At 14' I don't think you would see any individual pixels except perhaps for in certain extreme conditions.

Panasonic TH-42PH9UK
terminatorbob is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off