Official Planar PD7130 owners thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1583 Old 10-08-2008, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When you are over 10' away a slight upwards tilt is not an issue. Unless you are a back row sitter in theaters you look up there as well.
But to each their own.

For this PJ to be used for 2.35:1 you will need an 'expensive' anamorphic lens.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1583 Old 10-08-2008, 10:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElectricLegs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Corpus Christi TX
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-A-G-L-E-S View Post

When you are over 10' away a slight upwards tilt is not an issue. Unless you are a back row sitter in theaters you look up there as well.
But to each their own.

For this PJ to be used for 2.35:1 you will need an 'expensive' anamorphic lens.

Or some blackout strips.... Or a HTPC with Zoomplayer or similar to move the source around. I use Zoomplayer and a 4x3 Dalite pull down that has a 2" black aluminium strip hanging off the case so my top image edge stays the same and I just pull down the screen far enough to catch the bottom edge for any aspect ratio. ZP presets sets it perfect with a keystroke. Ceiling mount of course. -EL

Oh sure, I've been abducted. Heck, we've all been abducted.
The trick is to keep them from reading your thoughts.
Wear a hat and try to remain thoughtless at all times.
ElectricLegs is offline  
post #273 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 03:43 AM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got mine last night (7130) and set it up next to my infoucs 7210. Projecting on a 100" light gray screen. A couple of things I noticed. (no adjustments made to the planar) Planar has better blacks and shadow detail. The color is about the same. I don't see a whole lot of difference here, they both do a great job.
I think the 7210 is a tad sharper to my eyes and is brighter for sure.
the remote response is horrible on the planar for some reason it has like a 10 second delay from the time a press a key for it to respond.
I'll post some screenshots tonight
reuben9376 is offline  
post #274 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 03:51 AM
Member
 
Michael F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hou, TX
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reuben9376 View Post

I got mine last night (7130) and set it up next to my infoucs 7210. Projecting on a 100" light gray screen. A couple of things I noticed. (no adjustments made to the planar) Planar has better blacks and shadow detail. The color is about the same. I don't see a whole lot of difference here, they both do a great job.
I think the 7210 is a tad sharper to my eyes and is brighter for sure.
the remote response is horrible on the planar for some reason it has like a 10 second delay from the time a press a key for it to respond.
I'll post some screenshots tonight

Slow remote confirmed. I hope I can set it up and never touch the remote again.
Michael F. is offline  
post #275 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 05:27 AM
 
mjg100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by two-rocks View Post

THe 7150 has no offset, only shift. Zilch, zero, nada offset. The lens can NOT be outside the edge of the screen - unless you want to use keystone correction.

DLP lens shift is not the same as LCD - for whatever reason.

My panties are not completely, totally in a wod

I know that it is lens shift. I own a DLP with a generous amount of lens shift. I used the word offset because that is what you called it in the post I quoted.

Also DLP lens shift can be the same as LCD, but you would need to look at some of the higher end DLP's. I have a DLP with vertical lens shift. It allows 200% upward and 100% downward shift of the image.

If the lens of the projector was mounted 52" above the floor using a 106" image you would be able to place the image anywhere from floor to ceiling in a room with 10'-10" ceilings.
mjg100 is offline  
post #276 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjg100 View Post

Also DLP lens shift can be the same as LCD, but you would need to look at some of the higher end DLP's. I have a DLP with vertical lens shift. It allows 200% upward and 100% downward shift of the image.

What projector? I read a few runco models and none were impressive.
two-rocks is offline  
post #277 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 05:36 AM
Member
 
jpm42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received a 7130, with the two stickers on the bottom that indicate it may be a refurb. I'm about to fire off a nastygram to woot.
jpm42 is offline  
post #278 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 05:41 AM
 
mjg100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by two-rocks View Post

What projector? I read a few runco models and none were impressive.

Look at the Marantz projectors.
mjg100 is offline  
post #279 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-A-G-L-E-S View Post

Unless you are a back row sitter in theaters you look up there as well.
But to each their own.
.

That's to pack more people in and sell more tickets...

Other than IMAX, I haven't been to a 'theater' in years, so maybe they have corrected their viewing angles
two-rocks is offline  
post #280 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjg100 View Post

Look at the Marantz projectors.

Good information, looks like both models I looked at had about 33% offset (if they use 1/2 height). I guess I can deal with my $600 'lens shift' projector

................................

If I get a refurb, it's going back to Woot - they pay shipping, or I do a charge back.
two-rocks is offline  
post #281 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
jumbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do the bulb counters say on people's projectors? If they were refubs, it wouldn't be zero since I think the non-technical people who buy and return toys such as these, do not have the knowledge to even perform a timer reset.
jumbo11 is offline  
post #282 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 06:12 AM
Member
 
jpm42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumbo11 View Post

What do the bulb counters say on people's projectors? If they were refubs, it wouldn't be zero since I think the non-technical people who buy and return toys such as these, do not have the knowledge to even perform a timer reset.

If it's non-zero, that pretty clearly indicates refurb. However, being zero doesn't prove that it's new. The counter could easily have been reset during the refurb process. I was sold "new", and I want proof of "new".
jpm42 is offline  
post #283 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 06:45 AM
Member
 
Michael F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hou, TX
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 7150 has a double "do not remove" sticker over the screw hole on the bottom too. Lamp counter had no hours on it except the 1 hr I put on there. Projector looks like new and smelled like a new startup. I'm very pleased with mine. The manufacturer may make updates to there own product stock and place on a new label with out it being considered a refurbished item. All protective plastic film was in place on mine and all appeared to be new. They include a warranty as new also! So mine is NEW! I wouldn't get to excited about it if they have a double sticker. It was a steal of a deal.

Mike
Michael F. is offline  
post #284 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jumbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think some of you guys might be freaking out a bit. Planar, being the company the higher-end company that they are, who knows what kind of process their projectors go through.

Maybe the stickers come from inspection at the factory, maybe quality control. The $4k price must be for a reason.

As long as the 2-year warranty is valid - ok.

I am just speculating.
jumbo11 is offline  
post #285 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'll bet it was a factory update to handle 1080p/24
two-rocks is offline  
post #286 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 07:45 AM
 
dysfunction26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I won't pick mine up until about 6pm tonight. Has anyone called Planar about the stickers on the bottom of their units?
dysfunction26 is offline  
post #287 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 07:45 AM
 
dysfunction26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by two-rocks View Post

I'll bet it was a factory update to handle 1080p/24

According to the review on Audioholics it only does that via component, right? Unless they did some sort of update.
dysfunction26 is offline  
post #288 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dysfunction26 View Post

According to the review on Audioholics it only does that via component, right? Unless they did some sort of update.

I only have HD DVD, not sure what it outputs or even how to check that.
two-rocks is offline  
post #289 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricLegs View Post

Or some blackout strips.... Or a HTPC with Zoomplayer or similar to move the source around. I use Zoomplayer and a 4x3 Dalite pull down that has a 2" black aluminium strip hanging off the case so my top image edge stays the same and I just pull down the screen far enough to catch the bottom edge for any aspect ratio. ZP presets sets it perfect with a keystroke. Ceiling mount of course. -EL

Could you explain this even a little further, along with where to lok to read up and possibly buy?
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #290 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by two-rocks View Post

I only have HD DVD, not sure what it outputs or even how to check that.

Which player?

****The 7060 took 1080p/24Hz over DVI, so the 7130 MUST as well.
****Someone who already has their's....please play a 1080p/24Hz disc and tell us what it does via DVI.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #291 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 08:40 AM
 
dysfunction26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-A-G-L-E-S View Post

Which player?

****The 7060 took 1080p/24Hz over DVI, so the 7130 MUST as well.
****Someone who already has their's....please play a 1080p/24Hz disc and tell us what it does via DVI.

I have an HD-A35 and HD-A20, I don't have the latest firmware on either player, not sure which version, I would have to check. Which discs are 1080p/24Hz, I will try and check tonight?
dysfunction26 is offline  
post #292 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
jumbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All HD DVD discs should be recorded at 24Hz.
jumbo11 is offline  
post #293 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They will state it in the specs on the rear of the disc's box.
Both of your players do 1080p/24Hz. Only the A2 is limited to 1080i.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #294 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
silvereyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own hd-a20. In your setup, set your display to 1080p/24 and force the output to 24hz. once you play a dvd or hd-dvd hit the display on the toshiba remote. if it says 1080p/24 then it indicates that your projector will accept that signal. If only 1080p then it doesn't. The question still is if the projector itself outputs it at 60hz or at a multiple of 24hz.
I too jumped on this projector deal. I currently own the infocus In72. I didn't know much about projectors and I jumped on it when I got a good deal on it. That was three years ago and my experience was excellent. I've waited for a while to jump on an hd-projector and I couldn't pass such a deal. I can't wait till it arrives on friday.
silvereyes is offline  
post #295 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 09:12 AM
 
dysfunction26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvereyes View Post

I own hd-a20. In your setup, set your display to 1080p/24 and force the output to 24hz. once you play a dvd or hd-dvd hit the display on the toshiba remote. if it says 1080p/24 then it indicates that your projector will accept that signal. If only 1080p then it doesn't. The question still is if the projector itself outputs it at 60hz or at a multiple of 24hz.
I too jumped on this projector deal. I currently own the infocus In72. I didn't know much about projectors and I jumped on it when I got a good deal on it. That was three years ago and my experience was excellent. I've waited for a while to jump on an hd-projector and I couldn't pass such a deal. I can't wait till it arrives on friday.

Funny how many of us are upgrading from the IN72. As long as this has the Infocus build quality and reliability I will be fine with it, I'm not too picky.
dysfunction26 is offline  
post #296 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It should be better in every single regard.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #297 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
anotherhawkeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received a 7150. Now starts the long process of building the screen, preparing the unfinished basement ready, etc.
anotherhawkeye is offline  
post #298 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 09:32 AM
Member
 
mphinne2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Response from Woot about the question of new vs refurb projectors.



Early update here:These are in fact new units, some of these were destined for the European market and Planar had to change out the power cable to make them US compatible, which is why the "Do Not Open Case" stickers on some have been removed. They are new and have a full Planar warranty.
mphinne2 is offline  
post #299 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Figured as much.
Planar is an elite company along the lines of Runco, Vidikron, M&O, etc.

We are SOOOOOOOOO lucky to have stubled upon these PJ's.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #300 of 1583 Old 10-09-2008, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where can i purchase one of these projectors? if its good, im thinking about PD8150 as the next upgrade.
Vasim Pathan is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off