Official Planar PD7130 owners thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
jumbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why does being in the minority bother you? If you need a bit better placement flexibility, then this is the better machine.

I was surprised how easy it was to just slide the image perfectly between the frames of my screen. Great feature.
jumbo11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
hector369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jumbo11, you are right. This is my first projector and all this is new to me. Are you planning to buy the bulb warranty?
hector369 is offline  
post #543 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jumbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hector369 - Yes, a bulb warranty is a must. I'm still researching but I'll think I go for the Mack warranty which is the cheapest @ $77 and you can register it within 30 days. I already bought one from these guys before:

http://www.limitedgoods.com/itemView.php?ProdID=71832

I keep hearing contradicting statements regarding the terms of purchase of the other warranties so I think Mack is the safest.
jumbo11 is offline  
post #544 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
gagaliya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Tabletop Setup:
-This is a nightmare, the image is crooked and there is very little adjust you can do in term of physical placement using the projector leg. I ended up putting magazines of different thickness under the legs until the picture becomes relatively even.
-The vert lens shift can only move the picture down, so if you have a low coffee table it doesnt move the image up.
-I used a monoprice dvi/hdmi converter and hooked my ps3 to the projector without any problems. PS3 is set to auto detect and the projector status show 1080 resolution/60HZ
-The backpanel connectors is badly designed for tabletop viewing, you cannot close the door once the cables are plugged in.
-Overall very bad experience, compared to HC1500 setup.

Picture:
- Brightness is more than enough in econ mode in an apt(with some street light) setup, it's of course not as bright as hc1500 but i dont think it's a problem at all like it was with the vp12s4.
- Out of the box configuration is slightly grayed out, i prefer a more pop look. So increased the gamma up 2 levels to 2.3ish, other than that didnt change much.
- The picture / contrast is noticeably better than HC1500, especially during the dark scenes you can see details that were not visible on the HC1500. I used blu-ray black hawk down, underworld, and happily everafter(for the bright color images). So the improvement to black and details are definitly noticeable and better, but it wasnt night and day like when you upgrade from 480p to 720p.
- The picture wasnt as detailed as VP12S4 but very close, however it's much brighter and with a big pop. I hated the vp12s4 picture with a passion (sold it for a hc1500 instead).
-DVD looks a little better, but it wasnt as a big improvement as with blu-ray

Other:
- This thing is huge, about the size of 4x HC1500
- The remote control that comes with it is garbage, but it's a non-issue as i just put it into logitech universal remote
- I am not sure if it's the blu-ray disc or my setup, but i noticed when i play tina fey's Baby Mama bluray the picture is almost full 16:9 screen(without blackbars on top and bottom). I say almost because there is a very narrow black bar on top and bottom of the screen, which seems very weird. I tried other discs and they are all normal (grey anatomy bluray is full 16:9 without any black bars, black hawk down is true widescreen with normal black bars on top and bottom).
- Also if i watch standard 4:3 tv like cnbc, there is an extra vertical black bar on the right of the picture in additional to the 2 normal vertical black bars.
- Noise wasnt a problem, i never understood the big deal with it anyway as you will have the sound on.

All in all, was an ok buy considering the price i paid.
gagaliya is offline  
post #545 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:07 PM
Member
 
SauceXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
gagaliya I wouldn't sweat the small bars. Since the PJ is showing the image as 1:1, you're seeing the things that are cropped out on other displays. I have a few moves in 1.85:1 that still do this. Same with broadcast channels.
SauceXX is offline  
post #546 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
bdbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dysfunction26 View Post

Did they replace it because of dimming, or it blew? Did you have to purchase it, then get reimbursed, or did they send you one?

They just sent it out. i did not have to front any money. I am very happy with them!

Mine was getting very dim--it did not blow.
bdbaba is offline  
post #547 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
bdbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snickel View Post

You have to look everyday. I have spent way to much money on Woot.

Thanks. I guess I will just have to do the same! WOuld have liked one of these for $600!
bdbaba is offline  
post #548 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hector369 View Post

Well, I got the 7130, and it wouldn't bother me except that it seems that the 7130 are the minority. I called planar yesterday because component 1 & 2 inputs wouldn't detect any signal. Planar is shipping another one to me Monday for exchange.

This is good to hear,they warranty it. Did you have to pay for shipping?
snickel is offline  
post #549 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bosng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by two-rocks View Post

I calibrated with Avia and the brightness and contrast most defiantly do something. Your gamma may be too high, I left it at 2.2 and the color seems spot on to my eye using the RGB filters that come with the disk. I'll play with it more this evening.

I did reduce the brightness by a decent amount (I have a dedicated room, no windows, dark fabric on the walls, etc..) and raised the contrast. All in line with what the test patterns indicate.

can you comment on whether or not the "color" button in the picture/options menu was accessible? i have no way of adjusting color besides "gamma" "white balance" and "color space"
bosng is offline  
post #550 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosng View Post

can you comment on whether or not the "color" button in the picture/options menu was accessible? i have no way of adjusting color besides "gamma" "white balance" and "color space"

The color button works on mine with HDMI cable.
snickel is offline  
post #551 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
hector369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
snickel, Hi, no they said they would send me another pj in 2 days( thats the type of warranty we all have) and it would come with a prepaid shipping label so I have to return it back within 14 days otherwise the credit card that I gave them will be charged.

Jumbo11, Thanks for the info on the mack warranty. When you decide which warranty you buy and from where, could you please post it. Thanks.
hector369 is offline  
post #552 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:56 PM
 
mjg100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dysfunction26 View Post

This warranty is good, even if you did not purchase the projector from them. Call them and they will give $100 off the $199 price:

http://www.newworldvideodirect.com/p...ProductID=1087

I have seen and purchased 3 year Mack bulb warranties for less than $100 and no you do not have to purchase it from the place that you bought your projector nor do you have to purchase it at the time that you buy the projector.
mjg100 is offline  
post #553 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so far colors look great,I have no reason to adjust them.
snickel is offline  
post #554 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbaba View Post

They just sent it out. i did not have to front any money. I am very happy with them!

Mine was getting very dim--it did not blow.

This seems to be to good to be true,all bulbs dim with time.I may have to buy a warranty.
snickel is offline  
post #555 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:02 PM
 
mjg100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosng View Post

hooked up the 7150 last night and played a few things in hddvd. the picture is very good. definitely sharper than my jvc g11 but not as smooth or as colorful. i can see the screen door a bit more clearly with this projector.

i had to set my gamma to 2.8 to get the colors and blacks to where i like.

changing brightness and contrast doesn't seem to do anything to the picture. does that seem wrong?
also the color controls are greyed out and i can't access it.
the pq is very good i just want to tweak a bit to see how much better it can be.

i noticed that when i bring the menu up the "dvi" in the source menu is greyed. it is going from hddvd player via hdmi to dvi to the projector.

anyone else having these adjustment problems?

Usually when an area like that is grayed out it means that you are on factory preset standard settings. Go to one of the custom settings and then you should be able to make the adjustments that you want to make.
mjg100 is offline  
post #556 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:20 PM
 
dysfunction26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by artkit View Post

ceiling, shelf, or table mounted?

Shelf mounted, well actually on top of a bookcase.
dysfunction26 is offline  
post #557 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dysfuntion26 did you get your ps3 to work?
snickel is offline  
post #558 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or was it a Wii.I am thinking of buying a Ps3 for blue-ray so its on my mind.
snickel is offline  
post #559 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:36 PM
 
dysfunction26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snickel View Post

Dysfuntion26 did you get your ps3 to work?

Oh, I was having an issue with my Wii. I forgot to post it, but reconlabtech was correct. When moving the projector, the red component cable came out. I did not see that until I looked again, the Wii looks amazing now. I own a HD DVD player, no PS3 yet, the HD DVD player works perfectly.
dysfunction26 is offline  
post #560 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:37 PM
 
dysfunction26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjg100 View Post

Usually when an area like that is grayed out it means that you are on factory preset standard settings. Go to one of the custom settings and then you should be able to make the adjustments that you want to make.

What is considered a custom setting, my color is grayed out as well?
dysfunction26 is offline  
post #561 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:39 PM
 
dysfunction26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumbo11 View Post

hector369 - Yes, a bulb warranty is a must. I'm still researching but I'll think I go for the Mack warranty which is the cheapest @ $77 and you can register it within 30 days. I already bought one from these guys before:

http://www.limitedgoods.com/itemView.php?ProdID=71832

I keep hearing contradicting statements regarding the terms of purchase of the other warranties so I think Mack is the safest.

Do they send you all the documentation, do you register the Mack warranty online?
dysfunction26 is offline  
post #562 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:47 PM
Member
 
SauceXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Strange, just checked the resolutions on the 7150's DVI input. It accepts 1080i and 1080/24p, it won't accept 1080p correctly though. Also unless the player can force 1080 resolution, the player will default to 720p probably because of the PJ's EDID. Because of this I can't get my HD-A20 to output anything higher than 720p.

gagaliya, I should have mentioned you can also use the crop feature to remove those bars.
SauceXX is offline  
post #563 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there some where in the menu where it tells you what the resolution the projector is in I cant find it?
snickel is offline  
post #564 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 06:56 PM
Member
 
rpf717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gagaliya View Post

Tabletop Setup:
-This is a nightmare, the image is crooked and there is very little adjust you can do in term of physical placement using the projector leg. I ended up putting magazines of different thickness under the legs until the picture becomes relatively even.
-The vert lens shift can only move the picture down, so if you have a low coffee table it doesnt move the image up.


Crooked? Hmmm. . . I tried mine on a coffeetable and it was perfectly even, not crooked at all . .

Can only move down? Give or take, it can move the image up to the point that the projector is even with the bottom of the screen or even with the top of the screen.

Maybe something is wrong with your unit?
rpf717 is offline  
post #565 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
benareeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 2,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
crooked would just mean it's not square to the screen...very simple to correct.

I got the 7150 and I'm mighty impressed...smooth and natural image with great flesh tones.

1080p/24 over dvi works, but the picture shows an artifact...like a wobble through the picture. It seems unstable or something. Hard to describe, but it's not quite working 100%.

The only issue for me is the noise of the projector...I am a stickler for this though...a lot more than most.

Back down to the cave for some more viewing!
benareeno is offline  
post #566 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpf717 View Post

Crooked? Hmmm. . . I tried mine on a coffeetable and it was perfectly even, not crooked at all . .

Can only move down? Give or take, it can move the image up to the point that the projector is even with the bottom of the screen or even with the top of the screen.

Maybe something is wrong with your unit?

I believe he has a 7150 which one do you have?
snickel is offline  
post #567 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 07:23 PM
Member
 
rpf717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snickel View Post

I believe he has a 7150 which one do you have?

7150

I also notice the noise. There are plenty of "silent fans" from the Computer community. I wonder if it would be possible to mod the unit and switch out the fan (would probably void the warranty I imagine though).
rpf717 is offline  
post #568 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 07:58 PM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone notice with the 7130 if you shift the lens up that the corners have something dark in them blocking the light.
reuben9376 is offline  
post #569 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
snickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South central Kansas
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had mine all the way up and down, no problems.
snickel is offline  
post #570 of 1583 Old 10-11-2008, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jumbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dysfunction26 View Post

Do they send you all the documentation, do you register the Mack warranty online?

The Mack warranty, you register online.

I've had one for my HC1500, never got to use it though. Seems to be the best choice.
jumbo11 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off