Official Planar PD7130 owners thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reconlabtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NoVA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpf717 View Post

Quick question about Eco vs Standard mode. I definitely like the noise better on Eco mode and it really doesn't seem that much dimmer. But there seems to be some discussion about break-in period here:

Do we need to run the lamp on standard mode to "break in" the bulb?

No such thing as lamp break in. Just run it in whatever mode you want. Your brightness will settle down around 100 to 250 hours and you may need to recalibrate your brightness and contrast at that time.
reconlabtech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by reuben9376 View Post

well it looks like the 7150 and the 7130 have different lens.

My lens is the larger one (larger optic surface) 7150 - I'd guess the statement above is accurate.
two-rocks is offline  
post #633 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-A-G-L-E-S View Post

two-rocks.....please explain further your diy CIH.

My DIY screen is a 2.35 surface.

I use the zoom so that I can zoom out and have a 1.78; then with a 2.35 source I zoom in as far as it goes to get the black bars off the screen....of course I have to use the lens shift to get the image where it needs to be.

This will also require 3-way masking, where the ideal is only a side masking system. Due to the limited zoom range on this PJ, it can't do a true poor mans CIH.

It is not convenient, nor easy - heck, not really even practical. I just have a 2.35 screen. After some more playing with it we may forgo the idea, I wouldn't want someone else f-in with it trying to change the AR.
two-rocks is offline  
post #634 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 08:18 AM
Member
 
fauldsde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibby115 View Post

Hey Folks,
First post here, I have been following this thread after I bought this PJ off woot. This is my first PJ and am excited to get it running...and there in lies the problem. I have a call in to Planar as of late last night so hopefully someone will call back. My problem is, when I plug in the power I get an alternating Green---Red---Green---{Pause} ---Green---Red---Green...etc. I have tried reseating bulb and power cord, still no joy. The manual doesn't have anything in it about this. Anyone know what that means?

BTW, the PJ will not power on...

When I turned mine on for the first time it went red and would not throw a picture... nothing I could do to get it to do anything else.

I called Planar this morning and they give you 2 options since it is under warranty.

1. Ship the unit back to them, they repair, and then ship back to you.
2. Provide a credit card. They ship you a new unit with shipping labels to ship the old one back. They put a hold against your credit card for the MSRP of the projector. In my case a little over 3K (7150) They give you 14 days to get the projector back to them... if not they charge you the MSRP for the one they shipped you.

Very good customer service. I was only on the phone 2 minutes and they committed to taking care of things without hassle!
fauldsde is offline  
post #635 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
gibby115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called them as well, it seems I needed to turn on a source to get it to turn on. After laughing at myself I hung up and turned receiver on and an xbox 360. Still doing the same. So I did what he suggested and plugged it directly into the xbox 360 and still no joy. I repeated the same with a ps3 and nothing. I'm beginning to wonder if it is the cable I bought from monoprice. (HDMI DVI Tin-Plated CL2 Rated (For In-Wall Installation) Cable (22AWG) - 25ft)

I guess next I'll try to hook up the ps3 directly with some component cables.
gibby115 is offline  
post #636 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Grayson73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Potomac, MD
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by snickel View Post

I have watched mine for three nights,temporary mounted on blocks The picture is about 2" lower on the left.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gagaliya View Post

very, about 25 degrees, i am putting some magazine's under 1 leg right now just so i can tilt the projector a bit. Anyone else having this problem? for those of u just got it, can you try set it in the upright mode first to see if the picture is crooked

I have the exact same problem with the PD7150. I had to put some paper under the left leg. I was playing around with it for a while, checking with laser level, etc. Glad to hear that it's a universal problem!

I upgraded from the Acer PH530 and it is much better in color vibrancy (pop), shadow detail, sharpness, and brightness, and this is all out of the box. I haven't calibrated it yet.
Grayson73 is offline  
post #637 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayson73 View Post

I had to put some paper under the left leg. I was playing around with it for a while, checking with laser level, etc. Glad to hear that it's a universal problem!

Before ceiling mounting, I put in on a stand and it was perfectly level - only a very minor adjustment of the extending foot was required.
two-rocks is offline  
post #638 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
two-rocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I got a PM and it has been stated earlier to change the title for the thread to include the 7150 model number....

BUT, I can't seem to be able to edit the title. I guess I could ask the mods?
two-rocks is offline  
post #639 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bosng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
7150--

setting mine up was very quick and painless. didn't have to do anything with adjusting the leg.
bosng is offline  
post #640 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
gibby115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I called them back and it appears to be a problem with the unit...they are sending me a new one. Very easy to work with, exceptional customer service. :-) Apparently the green/red/green actually means there is a problem with the fan which is why it won't even power up.
gibby115 is offline  
post #641 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Grayson73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Potomac, MD
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Technically this should be in the over $3000 MSRP thread too. What a great deal we got!
Grayson73 is offline  
post #642 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
quick review,

model 7130
elite 120" screen
onkyo 805


great picture, couldn't make out the pixels sitting 10 feet back from 120" 1.0 gain screen. Picture was bright and punchy, definealty had the pop, colors were on, contrast was great. only watched 1 movie, Ironman blu ray and the skin tones were on target. had an setup issue with the PS3 on automatic mode, wouldn't find the signal on DVI input, onkyo did all the switching, XA1 worked fine, so did 360 and wii, but ps3 resulted in no picture. turned out PS3 was forcing 1080p/60 which this projector chokes on, plugged the plasma back in and set PS3 to 1080i forced, plugged in connector back to planar and picture came up, went to setting and changed to 1080p/24 and worked, however i got major image tear up transformers, switched back to 1080i setting and looked great, celing mount isn't going to work as i cant lens shift far enough right, will have to mount on the back wall, looking at this option..


http://www.theplasmacentre.com/produ...1553&menu=left


can anyone suggest a wall mount that will work with this projector?

Regarding noise, i have been using a davis clone for last 10 years so this thing was total quiet to me, sitting right next to the projector.
Vasim Pathan is offline  
post #643 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Grayson73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Potomac, MD
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I started a tweakers and calibration thread here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=14855920

Also, here's a link to the Audioholics PD7150 review. They have a few suggestions for calibration there, which I've posted in the calibration thread.

http://www.audioholics.com/reviews/p...ojector-review

There's also a PD7150 review on E-Gear:

http://www.e-gear.com/story/productr...tory&sid=54685
Grayson73 is offline  
post #644 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
naschbac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR (updated)
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd just like to give a big ++ to Planar Support.

Very friendly, very efficient, and very helpful. I don't know if this will get back to you Adam, but thanks again for your help!
naschbac is offline  
post #645 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 11:37 AM
Member
 
ronep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vasim Pathan > PS3 was forcing 1080p/60 which this projector chokes on, plugged the plasma back in and set PS3 to 1080i forcced, plugged in connector back to planar and picture came up, went to setting and changed to 1080p/24 and worked, however i got major image tear up transformers, switched back to 1080i setting and looked great,

What firmware revision is installed on your projector? Rep @ Planar said 2.59 was the latest rev to allow 1080P 24 hz input capability on the 7130/7150.
Thanks,
Ron
ronep is offline  
post #646 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
didn't check the firmware, will check tonight. one thing is for sure for those getting this projector, auto mode on PS3 doesn't work you need to force it.
Vasim Pathan is offline  
post #647 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 11:58 AM
Member
 
ronep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasim Pathan View Post

didn't check the firmware, will check tonight. one thing is for sure for those getting this projector, auto mode on PS3 doesn't work you need to force it.

Sounds like no one is getting the 7130/7150 to display 1080P properly with the PS3. He asked if I had another source that output 1080P 24hz to check. Unfortunately, I don't. Also, for firmware updates you have to send the projector to Planar. I was hoping we could update firmware ourself using the RS-232 plug in like they do on the 7170.
Thanks,
Ron
ronep is offline  
post #648 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
themiz69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronep View Post

Sounds like no one is getting the 7130/7150 to display 1080P properly with the PS3. He asked if I had another source that output 1080P 24hz to check. Unfortunately, I don't. Also, for firmware updates you have to send the projector to Planar. I was hoping we could update firmware ourself using the RS-232 plug in like they do on the 7170.
Thanks,
Ron

7060 owners were able to do a firmware update using a usb cable. this isnt an option?
themiz69 is offline  
post #649 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Grayson73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Potomac, MD
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
E-Gear review says "PD7150 is still a 720p machine that’s incapable of processing a 1080p/60Hz signal. (It does accept 1080i and 1080p/24Hz). "
Grayson73 is offline  
post #650 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i watched a few mintues at 1080p/24Hz but honestly there was very little difference in the smoothness of the picture, i found the image tearing to be more distractive every 5 seconds or so.
Vasim Pathan is offline  
post #651 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 02:20 PM
Member
 
rmh724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used my desktop to output 1080p/60hz signal and it looked completely fine on my projector.
rmh724 is offline  
post #652 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 02:35 PM
Member
 
ronep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by themiz69 View Post

7060 owners were able to do a firmware update using a usb cable. this isnt an option?

Unfortunately not like our 7060's. No usb slot.
ronep is offline  
post #653 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 02:42 PM
Member
 
ronep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmh724 View Post

I used my desktop to output 1080p/60hz signal and it looked completely fine on my projector.

You have confirmed what the Planar rep said with 1080P/60 hz. Now if we can figure out the problem with our PS3's. Thanks.
ronep is offline  
post #654 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i bet 100% the PS3 timings are different, its 60Hz is really 59.825Hz. lol
Vasim Pathan is offline  
post #655 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jumbo11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The proctor displays my Xbox360 @ 1080/60 just fine.

What exactly are you guys having issues with?
jumbo11 is offline  
post #656 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 03:03 PM
Member
 
ronep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayson73 View Post

E-Gear review says "PD7150 is still a 720p machine that's incapable of processing a 1080p/60Hz signal. (It does accept 1080i and 1080p/24Hz). "

I e-mailed Clint over at Audioholics to elaborate on this statement in the 715 0 review: Hopefully he'll e-mail me back. It did say the firmware rev. was 258 on the 7150 they had for review. New rev is 259.

Cons
No support for downscaling 1080p/60 source material via DVI-D (support of 1080p/24 and 1080p/60 supported via component)

Basic Setup and Installation
Our reference source player was the Denon DVD-3930CI which was able to output 1080p as well as 480i via HDMI - and the Planar correctly handled and identified both formats with no problems.

Did they mention what rev. they had on the 7150 for their evaluation?
ronep is offline  
post #657 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
naschbac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR (updated)
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice to know that they can handle 1080p/60 so long as it's not from a PS3, but what about 1080p/24? It displays on my 7150 from my PS3, but there is visible screen tearing, which is a different kind of sync issue.
naschbac is offline  
post #658 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 03:28 PM
Member
 
tgferg67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Clinton Twp. Michigan
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by naschbac View Post

Nice to know that they can handle 1080p/60 so long as it's not from a PS3, but what about 1080p/24? It displays on my 7150 from my PS3, but there is visible screen tearing, which is a different kind of sync issue.

I have a Samsung Blu-Ray player, the projector does not handle 1080P properly 60hz or 24hz.
tgferg67 is offline  
post #659 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 03:33 PM
Member
 
ronep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by naschbac View Post

Nice to know that they can handle 1080p/60 so long as it's not from a PS3, but what about 1080p/24? It displays on my 7150 from my PS3, but there is visible screen tearing, which is a different kind of sync issue.

I guess if we can isolate the problems to the PS3 using 1080P 24/60 hz ,this would be helpful to Planar to provide a solution.

So far:
+1 for 1080P/60 > PC
+1 for 1080P/60 > Xbox 360

How about members with HDDVD Players that will display 1080P 24/60?
ronep is offline  
post #660 of 1583 Old 10-13-2008, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
to me the image tearing is an issue, but not a show stopper, will try from the PC but i have feeling it will work ok.
Vasim Pathan is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off