Official Panasonic PT-AE3000U OWNERS Thread. - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 09:31 AM
Member
 
bachusTheOld's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regarding a dust blob occurring in the first 5 hours of use;

AFAIK In terms of the statistical laws of nature there is no reason to question that.

blu-ray Operas: 6
blu-ray Ballets : 1
There's a reason they're called the fine arts--buy them on blu-ray.
bachusTheOld is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ingeborgdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddahead View Post

Where have you been,Dust problems with the ae2000 were many many many.They knew of the bad design problem.Most occured after 40 hours as mind did.This is well documemted.Now one person allready has a dust blob after 5 hours.Wait intill all the guinea pigs have 100 hours and we will see if a pattern happens.Hopofully not.The ae3000 is tops on my list for my next fp.

I have talked to all the dealers. There was a lot of talk on here about it but most of the talk was by the same people. The dealers at PP that I talked to said they did not have many if any issues with dust blobs.
Ingeborgdot is offline  
post #363 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 09:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
JimmyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Runco Island CA.
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will, I know your computer savy. Go to the AVS "Calibration" forum where you can down load some really slick HD or BD, STD or HD video test disks... free. Copy them on your media then your good to go.
JimmyR is offline  
post #364 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 09:48 AM
Member
 
jhwu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
old member here, but only a few posts! I pretty much just enjoy the picture. I stepped up from a Sanyo PLV-Z1 and the AE3000U is fantastic as far as picture quality. Love how quiet it is and how cool it runs.

Since I'm building a new home right now, I just have it projected onto a white wall sitting on a table infront of us in our condo, I have not run any AVIA or DVE tests. No idea on convergence, color uniformity, dead pixels etc etc. I haven't tweaked anything and just watch it in Normal mode. Looks great to me and my wife concurs!

No fuzzy text from side to side, focus is very good. When using the remote, you can hold down the up or down button for a bigger effect on focus as you can actually hear the lens move. You can then click the buttons for subtle adjustment. I believe you can make subtle adjustments using the focus ring also.

Jim
jhwu is offline  
post #365 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 09:57 AM
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingeborgdot View Post

I have talked to all the dealers. There was a lot of talk on here about it but most of the talk was by the same people. The dealers at PP that I talked to said they did not have many if any issues with dust blobs.

I too have talked with Projectorpoint and projectorpeople and they said they have not had many units returned for any dustblob issues. I have owned the 500U the 700U the 900U the PT-AX100 (which did have an iris shut down issue) (sent to Heartland and had it fixed)...Just sold my 2000U and now own this awesome 3000U and zero dustblobs on any units.
dogone is offline  
post #366 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ingeborgdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is the point I am making is that you don't know if some of these people on here are just full of dust or it really did happen. And if you look and count the posts it is always the same people talking about it. If I get a dust blob I will be the first to come on here and admit it. Not happily but I will.
Ingeborgdot is offline  
post #367 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr2Spyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own the panasonic ae900 (500 hours), ax200 (200 hrs), and the ae2000
(130 hours) and have had zero dust blobs (knock on wood). My ae2000 is also ceiling mounted. One problem I have had with all three projectors is convergence? When I put up a white image I get some discoloration (pinkish hue). Not noticeable/bothersome under normal viewing conditions.
Mr2Spyder is offline  
post #368 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Got my RMA from ProViewDigital for an exchange due to minor convergence, but major stuck pixel issue. It feels like we're playing Russian Roulette w/these. Okay, maybe not so bad, but you cross your fingers & hope you get a mostly issue-free unit. If my exchange is also bad, I'm going to get a BenQ W5000 DLP. Pray I don't have to & get a decent AE3000U however. It does throw an awesome image.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #369 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
jayrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love how this entire thread is mostly made up of people trying to find things wrong with their new projector, using test patterns and things that aren't anywhere near normal viewing conditions. I don't think for 2500 you are going to get a flawless unit, just a pretty awesome one.
jayrader is offline  
post #370 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Darth Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brajesh, could you tell me about your bad stuck pixel problem? I love this projector thus far but do have some stuck/dead pixels that I'm concerned about and wondering if I should get exchanged.
Darth Indy is offline  
post #371 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received the AE3000 and looking to confirm an observation. I'm projecting onto a 2.35AR 115" diagonal (45"H x 106"W) screen. Per the Throw Distance Matrix on page 14 of the Operating Instructions Manual, the throw distance for a 2.35AR 120" screen should be between 12'5" min and 24'11" max. To fill my entire 115" screen with an 2.35 movie (LOTR's), I'm zoomed all the way out and at 16'. Am I misinterpreting the manual or missing something? Can someone explain or confirm?

Gene
gene4ht is offline  
post #372 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:48 AM
 
buddahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingeborgdot View Post

That is the point I am making is that you don't know if some of these people on here are just full of dust or it really did happen. And if you look and count the posts it is always the same people talking about it. If I get a dust blob I will be the first to come on here and admit it. Not happily but I will.

Do you really believe P -PEOPLE -P POINT or any other dealer would tell you their was a problem with the ae2000.Wake up DUDE.Go to the ae2000 thread and count the different ones who had issues.As my dad said their is one born everyday.
buddahead is offline  
post #373 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:50 AM
 
buddahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also I have the ax100 200 and had the 900'Never one dust blob.I am a panny fanboy.Check my post.But the ae2000 had big problems with dust.My house is very clean and myae2000 had 3 duast blobs in 40 hours.Thanks
buddahead is offline  
post #374 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 10:54 AM
Member
 
arobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone interested, here's a link to a post which shows what seems to be a dead pixel column in my new PT-AE3000

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post15004288
arobot is offline  
post #375 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ingeborgdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have counted and there are not that many. Sure I believe the people at PP etc. What do they have to lie about. Like my salesman said I could just send it back if it happened. You can believe anything you like. Buy what you want. Don't tell me to wake up again as I have been up for hours.
Ingeborgdot is offline  
post #376 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ingeborgdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh yeah, I didn't agree with you. That is why you have a problem.
Ingeborgdot is offline  
post #377 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 11:00 AM
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey!...I heard from a friend of a friend, that Big Foot bought a Panasonic and it had a dust blob!...LOL...
dogone is offline  
post #378 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ingeborgdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, my friend said his blob was bigger than your blob, so there.
Ingeborgdot is offline  
post #379 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
den110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone list the proper test patterns I should be looking at from the DVE Blu ray disc for convergence and all the other problems others are reporting from the 3000?

"It's time to nut up or shut up."
den110 is offline  
post #380 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
JimmyR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Runco Island CA.
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by den110 View Post

Can anyone list the proper test patterns I should be looking at from the DVE Blu ray disc for convergence and all the other problems others are reporting from the 3000?

see post #359
JimmyR is offline  
post #381 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uther View Post

BTW, has anyone messed with the gamma adjustments yet? I threw up a 7.5 to 100 IRE image from Avia and used the waveform to do a rough eyeball calibration making each of the levels from 10 to 100 approximately the same distance from one another and ended up with Low Gamma of +8 and Mid Gamma of +6 in Cinema 3. Anyone else seeing the same thing?

I missed this one in my last reply, but I think those gamma settings seem a bit high. I don't truthfully know if "making each of the levels from 10 to 100 approximately the same distance from one another" is the correct thing to try to achieve. Maybe someone more experienced than me could comment? However I have noticed that if you use the split screen function and push the low gamma up much more than +1 or +2 then any skin tomes seem to start looking very strange (not very technical I know ). I used the split screen mode on my old AE2000 as it helped me to learn what effect each control has on the picture...I find it and the waveform monitor really useful myself.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...
Kelvin1965S is online now  
post #382 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:13 PM
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elburritoloco View Post

I got the AE3000U. I fabricated a mounting plate to fit my current mount. I carefully installed everything and made all connections. The 360 works well, the PS3 works well, the Denon 5900 not so well. I am running everything through the Onkyo PR-SC885. For some reason, the signal from the 5900 is not getting to the projector. All other signals are fine.

I have checked all the hdmi port on the back of the Onkyo and they are all working great. The only way that I can get this signal to the projector is to plug it directly into the projector. Can anyone shed some light on to why this is?

I called Panasonic. They sugested I get a repeater to ensure the signal is getting there fast enough. I am not sure why this is the case when my old Sony VPL HS51A had no issues. At this point I am racking my brain....cannot figure it out. I am waiting to talk to my buddy about it, but I thought I would see if anyone had any thoughts.

Try input #2 on the projector and let me know what happens.
dogone is offline  
post #383 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
den110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyR View Post

see post #359

thanks

"It's time to nut up or shut up."
den110 is offline  
post #384 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
R o d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gene - sorry, can't help you with the throw (my 3000 hasn't arrived yet), but I'm curious about your screen. What is the gain and what is your seating distance?
R o d is offline  
post #385 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:47 PM
Member
 
Eskimo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by relder View Post

You mean they looked like what they were?

No, more that the movement of them across the screen was a little jerky, whereas when blurred, it was smoother. Very scientific, I know..

No replacement for displacement...
Eskimo1 is offline  
post #386 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Darth Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are you guys' thoughts on a few dead or stuck pixels? Return for exchange or try to block it out and forget about it.
Darth Indy is offline  
post #387 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TF Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Under the new floor in my basement
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where are the pixels located and how noticeable are they?
TF Ghost is offline  
post #388 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:51 PM
Member
 
BrandonH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had previously posted that my unit seems to be loosing focus slightly after being left off for a while and my last thought on the subject was that I was accidentally moving the focus ring when taking the lens cover off and on, but that actually doesn't seem to be the case as I noticed the exact same problem last night even after I had stopped using the lens cover a few days ago. Is anyone experiencing a similar issue. I've contacted Projector People, and because I have 23 hours on the bulb that is too many hours for them to do anything and set me up to send it in to be serviced by Heartland. I'm a little hesitant to even send it in, when the focus is not off by that much, two or three clicks brings it back in line, but I still hate to do that every time. I found a post by a couple users in the AE-2000 thread that had the same issue: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...t#post13958376

And I see that Kelvin1965S posted this in his review:
"In common with the AE2000 and most other projectors, the focus drifts a little from switch on, plus it is easy to disturb the focus when removing the lens cap."

So is anyone else seeing this? I really don't want to send it in for "repair" if this is just to be expected.

BrandonH
BrandonH is offline  
post #389 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Darth Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One is upper left hand of screen towards top (stays black), one is just alittle to the right of that one and below (stays black). The other is kinda midway between center and top of screen (stays blue). I thought I had one dead center of screen but after testing it looks like it was something that was acutally on the Order Of The Phoenix Blu-ray for about 10 minutes towards end of movie. That might be a disc problem, transfer problem, or its on the actual movie film itself. That one threw me off big time since it was right in middle of screen and showed up on their faces easily. I was freakin'.
Darth Indy is offline  
post #390 of 4832 Old 11-04-2008, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Eskimo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed the focus was a little off on mine, but I had been putting the lens cap on.. I've left it off, and I'll let you know what I see when I look again tonight.

Gran Turismo 5 on this thing is great, though I have to use "dynamic" mode to get the kind of brightness I want. (Though I am shooting from just about 21' away onto a 106")

No replacement for displacement...
Eskimo1 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off